Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TicketCity

Phone: (512) 472-5797 Fax: (512) 469-7682 View Additional Phone Numbers 5912 Balcones Dr Ste 102, Austin, TX 78731 http://www.ticketcity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TicketCity meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TicketCity include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on TicketCity
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 12/09/1993 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Caroline Edmondson, Vice President - Sales Mr. Randy Cohen, CEO Ms. Ashley Kubiszyn , Operations Manager Mr. Rafael Rivas, CSO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Caroline Edmondson, Vice President - Sales
Business Category

Ticket Sales - Events

Alternate Business Names
Ticket City, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TicketCity has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5912 Balcones Dr Ste 102

    Austin, TX 78731 (800) 225-2733 (800) 765-3688 (800) 880-8886 (888) 888-4253 (512) 472-5797

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ticket order was processed on June11,2015 for Billy Joel Concert on August 20th, 2015@Madison Square Garden. On several occasions prior to concert date I have been told that the tickets are in the process of being released or have been released. On August 6th, I called and was told that tkts. are being released that day and I will have them. Tickets did not arrive and I called on August 7th and was told by ***, that the prior instruction was not true and that they will now be released on August 13th. I am a bit uneasy at this point regarding the validity of tickets being delivered because of conflicting information. I have already purchased airline tickets to attend the concert.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written assurance from TicketCity that I will have these tickets and I would like them NOW vs. later.

Business Response: Thank you for your business! The tickets have been emailed to you. Have a fantastic trip!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****

7/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 tickets to a ***** **** Concert on July 7, 2015. The tickets were listed for $71 dollars and included a service charge of $20 per ticket It was purchased for a total of $182 at $91 per ticket. I called on July 7, 2015 to request a confirmation email that I never received and a customer service representative assured me that I would receive it. On July 8, 2015 I still did not receive a confirmation email. I called back and the customer representative (******), stated that the tickets that I tried to purchase the day before were sold to another individual who may have purchased it around the same time I did. He stated that he would be unable to match the price for me, but he would be able to provide me with tickets around the same section for face value (the same value that the company purchased them for). I asked to speak to a manager and was forwarded over to the customer service manager (***). I spoke with *** over the phone and he continued to tell me that the same information as ******. He stated he would be able to get me the seats within the same section for $115 each. He stated that this is the face value for which the company purchased them for. I asked over the phone if the service fee would be applied and he stated it would not. I agreed to purchase these tickets (although they were more expensive than I would of liked). I received the confirmation email shortly and the itemized email stated that the tickets were $109 each (which was the same cost that was listed on their website). The email gave me a subtotal of $218, however, when reading further, services charges were $0, taxes were $0, and the delivery method was $0, but my final total was $230. The total amount reflected the number that was verbally stated; however, they provided misleading information because it did not reflect the number in the receipt or the number that they were selling it for on their website. I called Ticket City back and spoke with ****** and *** once again. After being transferred over to ***, *** stated that they list the price cheaper on the website and make their profits through the service charge. As a costumer, I should be entitled to pay the money that is listed for sale and the amount that is listed in my receipt.The receipt does not specify where the additional charge of $12 comes from and I am entitled to my refund of $12. I also have the confirmation email and screen shots of the listing on their website for supporting documents.

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive a refund of $12 because ambiguous charge was not itemized on the receipt of the website.

Business Response: The client agreed to pay a total of $230 for the two tickets. That is exactly what was charged and what the confirmation email received stated. A technical glitch caused $12 of the $230 not to be itemized correctly but the total order amount was listed correctly as the agreed upon $230. TicketCity greatly values our clients so as a courtesy we will be refunding $12 and will consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

7/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought and paid for tickets through this vendor for a broadway show. At the time of the show, I arrived at the theater only to be told by the theater company that they have no record of my name in their system. When I called ticket city, they kept me on the phone for 20 minutes between them and their "reseller" at which point nobody gave me a clear answer as to what happened with my tickets or the money that I spent on them. I was assured a refund and was not given one. Emails have been unanswered and phone calls have led to promises of being called back to no avail. I was charged a significant amount of money for something that did not exist. The worst part was being told on site by the theater company on the day of the show that these are third party vendors that the theater does not do business with and that I need to step out of the line. It was an embarrassing and humiliating experience. I can obviously afford to attend events and being asked to leave the line after spending my money on a product was offensive, as well as the fact that my money has yet to be refunded.

Desired Settlement: I was told in writing by this vendor that I will be reimbursed for the full price of the tickets at 150% within 3-5 business days. As this did not occur, I am filing this complaint. Emails and phone calls have went unanswered.

Business Response: We have spoken to the client and worked this out. We value our clients experience and have taken the necessary steps to ensure a positive outcome to this situation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

6/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tickets were purchased through TicketCity on May 1st. I had several e-mails with a TicketCity specialist after the purchase to confirm the tickets were in fact legitimate, authentic at the listed price. This was confirmed and I was told the tickets were mine. Only then did we book flight, hotel, and travel accommodations, with flight and hotel being non-refundable. Then 29 days later on May 29th I receive a call from another specialist telling me the ticket pricing for my tickets seemed to be incorrect. "They were listed too low, and these were the defending Superbowl Champions so Tickets will be more expensive" The fact that the only reason why I'm being offered a refund or a new set of tickets is because someone from TicketCity or the seller noticed the tickets to be sold for too low a price, or there could be additional money to be made for the tickets is dishonest. I also didn't appreciate or believe the comment made stating "These are the defending Superbowl winning champions, so tickets should be actually be sold for more" should have an impact or justification of the bait and switch that is happening. I know who the Patriots are, if I were to have the same mindset for the purchase i would say, Tom Brady's suspension for 4 games extends to the Dallas Game because of their early week 3 Bye week which will keep him from playing, so the tickets should actually be sold for less than I bought them and I'm not going to pay unless they are cheaper... That wouldn't be acceptable right? According to TicketCity I should have "100% confidence in my purchase, and all sales are final." These are both untrue and misleading. There is no integrity with what is unraveling and our flights and hotel reservations are non refundable. I apologize for the seemingly harsh nastygram, which out of character for me, but this is a very important weekend for my gf and I which we took pride in budgeting and early planning especially this being the game my father had wanted us to go with him to before he had passed. Please speak with management regarding this issue, and our goal is to keep our tickets or receive comparable hall of fame tickets to the game, at the price that we paid. If there was listing price made, that honestly isn't our problem, and we would be more understanding if we were notified immediately after the purchase but this 30 days after the fact, e-mails confirming tickets were secured, and travel plans booked. If we had the additional money to just purchase another set without issue we would, but we would't have committed to traveling out of stat to Dallas for the game without the quality of seats we were able to originally secure. Please respond at the earliest convenience so we can try and resolve this issue with a sense of urgency.

Desired Settlement: Tickets to be honored at the bought price.

Business Response: This was an unfortunate miscommunication. The client will be receiving the originally purchased tickets at the originally purchased price.

3/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was unsure about which tickets to purchase since specific information was not listed so we called the 800 number on the website. We told the sales person we wanted to make sure we got seats for the univerity of Kentucky game playing at the KFC Yum center in Louisville. He assured us he could help and he understood why we called instead of using website. He then said we needed tickets for session one. It was at 12:00 on March 19, 2015. We purchased two tickets in section 209. Based on this information i then decided later to purchase two more tickets in section 303. On March 15 after the SEC championship game it was announced UK would be playing at 9:40 on March 19. That is not when the tickets they sold us are for. That would be session 2 tickets. They sold us session 1 tickets. We now have 4 tickets to an event we did not request. Have made several phone calls but they just keep saying it was a miscommunication and they did not know when ky would be playing when we ordered the tickets. This is now suppose to be a loss on my part. I will be happy to exchange the tickets for session 2 or even do an upgrade for session 3 on Saturday but do not in any way feel i should take a loss on this.

Desired Settlement: Would like to recieve tickets requested for University of Kentucky game

Business Response: complaint has been resolved ty

Consumer Response:

Complaint #******** has not been resolved as Ticketcity led me to believe. Salesman **** **** was to issue me new tickets as soon as the wrong tickets were Fed exed back. He said to call as soon as they were dropped off and we could get some new tickets for the correct event. We did as we were asked and then were then refused tickets until they actually received the first set. The event is now two days away and we still have no tickets or even have any tickets in transit to us. **** also stated to my son he would probably end up with upper arena tickets due to the increase in price. All problems we are experiencing with ticketcity are due to **** ****'s actions. He made the originally ticket selections for us which were incorrect and now although being very polite will not correct his error unless it is at my expense.
Would like the tickets we requested Session 2 NCAA tournament KFC Yum Center, Louisville, Ky in the general lower arena area and at the price they were when we purchased them on March 11, 2015
Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Per the clients request via a phone conversation with our sales rep a full 100% refund has been issued back to the MasterCard used for the original purchases. TicketCity now considers this matter closed.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

3/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought tickets to super bowl 49 from ticket city. I flew to Phoenix from Calgary. I paid for hotels meals etc. the day before super bowl I received phone call saying they would not have my tickets. They offered to refund me plus give me an extra 4000$. They claim to be part of the NATB which guarantees 200% return if tickets are not received. The 4000 did not even begin to cover my costs of getting to and staying in phoenix. I also lost almost 600$ due to currency exchange when tickets were refunded onto my credit card. Also because they charged my credit card before actually having the tickets in their possession to give to me. I was unable to buy tickets from a more reliable agency as my credit card limit did not leave me enough room and it was a day before super bowl.

Desired Settlement: Honour the natb policy and give me my 200% back. Make it more obvious on your website that you may not actually have the tickets that people are buying from you. And not in the fine print either.

Business Response: Our CEO, ***** *****, has made several attempts to contact the client.  Mr. ***** will follow up with Mr. ******** when he has returned from his work trip as agreed to. Please see below. The client has already received a full refund and agreed to an additional $4,000 in compensation on January 31, 2015.

******** *********
VP Sales

On Feb 19, 2015, at 8:49 PM, Hotmail <*********@live.ca> wrote:

*****,

I'm currently away at work. I don't get cell service where I am at and Internet is not easy either. I should be home in a couple weeks. I appreciate you getting back in touch with me. 

Thanks,
**** ********
403-********


On Feb 19, 2015, at 2:03 PM, ***** ***** <*****@ticketcity.com> wrote:

Hello ****, how are you?  Please reach out to me when your available.  You can call me at 512-******** or mobile 512-********.  We would like to make every effort to start earning back your trust in regards to the Super Bowl.

Thanks for allowing us to do this.

 
Best,
**

***** *****
Chief Energizing Officer
TicketCity
512.********
*****@TicketCity.com

 

3/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 3 tickets to a NHL game. I received an email from this business stating they will not fulfill my order due to an error. This company makes the person who sells tickets upload the desired tickets to be sold and what price they are to sell the tickets. Tickets are then ONLY uploaded after TicketCity contacts the seller to make sure the tickets are valid. The tickets were verified by TicketCity to be valid at the agreed upon price of listing. I purchased the tickets at the full listed price the seller stated as well as TicketCity stated on ticketcity.com. Ticket City sent me an email stating they were not going to honor the sale of these tickets due to an error.....How could there be an error when Ticket City goes through a verification process prior to the tickets ever being able to be applied to the site? Ticket City sent me a small coupon stating that I may use this on the next purchase of my tickets. This is 100% bait and switch. If I had made a mistake and purchased tickets in the wrong section or the wrong venue, Ticket City would make me hold up to my purchase and Wouldn't refund me the money based on my error...however when they say they make an error.....its 100% ok for them and just tell the customer take a hike!!!

Desired Settlement: I want the order that I placed to be 100% fulfilled. Nothing less nothing more.

Business Response: Upon check out on our website it is stated that the order is pending confirmation. Once an order is confirmed the tickets are guaranteed by TicketCity. Unfortunately the seller was not able to confirm this purchase.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Ticket City will not allow any tickets placed on their site without confirmation of tickets from sellers.  Ticket City would expect me to pay in full in the event I made an error on placing a ticket purchase.  If I purchased tickets and then called and stated hey I made a mistake on date or were I wanted to sit, ticket city would make me honor my purchase.  This is what I'm expecting Ticket City to do, honor what I paid for...nothing less nothing more....This is nothing more then Ticket City trying to get out of what I purchased due to the price I paid.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: We understand that this client is upset but unfortunately this was not a confirmed purchase. The credit card was not charged. The clients' perception of how our business works is not accurate.

Per TicketCity's Terms and Conditions which can be found via this link: http://www.ticketcity.com/terms-and-conditions.html

2. Order Processing & Confirmation
Ticket Request
When you check out on our website (or with a TicketCity representative on the phone, at our office, or in-person), you are submitting a ticket request which we must then confirm with our supplier. TicketCity cannot guarantee the ticket price displayed on our website, or even that the tickets will be available, until we can confirm your order with our supplier. If the ticket price goes up after you place your order, TicketCity cannot confirm your order at your submitted price and you must re-submit your order for the higher price. You will not be automatically charged the higher price.

Order Confirmation
Your order will be confirmed once TicketCity has verified the tickets are available with our supplier at the price you have agreed to. As soon as we confirm your order, we will charge your credit card the full purchase price (ticket price, service charge and applicable tax). Once your credit card is charged you will receive an Order Confirmation email that includes your invoice number. When TicketCity charges your credit card and sends you the Order Confirmation email, your order is protected according to the terms of our TicketCity Guarantee. We will then send your tickets or notify you when the tickets are ready. You may see a date on a ticket posting stating an “estimated arrival date” or “estimated ship date.” This is provided by the ticket supplier who has not yet received the tickets but who has an expectation of when the tickets will be received or can be delivered. It is an estimate only.

Unable to Confirm Tickets
If we are unable to confirm your ticket request, you will receive an email or phone call to notify you that your order could not be confirmed.


3/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was needing tickets for ** vs. ******** on Saturday 28th of February. Needing 3 i scrolled and found 3 and the price was $622.00 i thought that was for all 3 but after i ordered them i was only sent 1. I called to try to get my money back but they refused to do it. So therefore only one of us got to attend the game while the others had to find a place to watch it. I just think it is real poor advertisement.

Business Response: We have come to a resolution with this client. TicketCity now considers this matter resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

1/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 4th, I placed an order for 2 tickets for the College National championship game with TicketCity via their website. The purchase price was $1410. After I placed the order, I was informed that the tickets had already been sold. However, Ticket City had already processed a pre-authorization request on my account, which froze the total amount in my checking account as a pending transaction. I called ticket city the next day, and asked that they remove the funds hold on my account. They assured me that the hold would be removed automatically the next day, and also stated they would compensate me for the inconvenience on an additional ticket order. When transferred to their ticketing department, they attempted to sell me comparable tickets at an additional cost of $200 and wanted to place the order before the original hold was removed. After three business days the transaction hold was still present on my account, and I had to contact the fraud department at my bank to have the hold removed

Desired Settlement: 1. Apology 2. refund of additional cost for equivalent ticket order (final purchase of equivalent tickets from ticket city was $75 more than my original purchase price)

Business Response:

TicketCity and our client have reached an amicable solution to this issue.

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased tickets from TicketCity.com for the Thanksgiving game of the Philadelphia Eagles at the Dallas Cowboys for $190.52 and received invalid tickets. The ticket description originally showed that Star Suite tickets were being purchased at the AT&T Stadium but I was advised by a *** in Customer Service that the partner company, SeatGeeks, later updated the information because the original listing was incorrect... after the fact that I made the purchase. I called TicketCity to get a refund due to an incorrect listing on THEIR website and was advised they are not responsible for the listing on their website... That actually SeatGeeks is responsible for any incorrect information on THEIR website. I was refused a refund of my money which completely goes against their "Ticket Guarantee" of valid tickets. http://www.ticketcity.com/guarantee.html - Standard customer service would be to keep the customer happy especially in a situation such as this but their business practices are horrible. I would of considered using their service again had the transaction went smoothly but now I am out of $190.52 and I'm not receiving ANY tickets.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the charge of $190.52 refunded to my account.

Business Response: The client was issued a full refund of $190.52 back to his Visa on November 18th. The day after his initial transaction.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a total of 10 tickets for the SEC tourny. What I received is incorrect it was supposed to be 5 tickets for session 4 game and 5 tickets for session 5 both in the evening. What I received was 4 tickets for Thursday, 5 tickets for Friday afternoon(wrong) and 1 ticket for Friday Night(wrong).

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the correct tickets before we have to leave Thursday morning on the 13th of March so we are going to need the corrected tickets here by Tuesday March 11.

Business Response: This issue has already been resolved amicably with the customer.

 

Mrs. ****** ordered 5 tickets for Thursday night basketball
games and 5 tickets for Friday afternoon basketball games. With regards to the
tickets for Thursday night she was sent four correct tickets and  1
incorrect ticket by mistake. We corrected that issue by sending her the correct
ticket and made arrangements with her to leave the incorrect ticket she
received to be picked up by a TicketCity associate from her hotel.

 

Mrs. ****** received credit for the Friday afternoon tickets and
was able to purchase new tickets for the Friday evening games.

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

8/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 tickets for a college BSU football game on line with ticket city using my debit card as payment. When the charge was billed they charged me for 4 tickets for a total of $540.99. I called and tried to dispute the purchase and was told there was nothing they could do . They did offer to take the tickets and try and sell them on consignment for me but refused to reimburse me for the tickets.

Desired Settlement: either reimburse my account for the 2 extra tickets or just cancel the order.

Business Response: *** ******* purchased 4 tickets in error. He was refunded the requested $220.00 on 8/2 (the next business day) and only charged for the 2 tickets he orginally intended to purchase. This issue has been resolved.

4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service