BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Greater San Antonio Transportation Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Greater San Antonio Transportation Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Greater San Antonio Transportation Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1973 Business started: 02/01/1973 Business started locally: 02/01/1973
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Bouloubasis, General Manager Ms. Lisa Marie Resendez, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bouloubasis, General Manager
Business Category

Taxicabs Transportation Services Wheelchair & Disability Transportation Airport Transportation

Alternate Business Names
Alamo Cab Co. Checker Cab Company Checker Cab Company of San Antonio San Antonio Yellow Cab Defensive Driving School Taxi Express Texas Star Limousine & Tour Yellow Cab Company Yellow Checker Cab

Additional Locations

  • 9600 N Ih 35

    San Antonio, TX 78233 (210) 222-2222 (210) 650-8600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 650-8600(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharging. The posted rate is $2.50, and I have been charged $3.50 drop rate diametrically opposed to the taxi signage.

Desired Settlement: Change the in cab signs

Business Response:

It was explained to Mr. ******* that the meter drop rate changed from $2.50 to $3.50 between the hours of 7:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. per Chapter 33 of the San Antonio City Code of Ordinances.  It was further explained to him that the GTU of the San Antonio Police Department had not yet printed and posted the new rate stickers in the cabs due to the possibility of additional information being added.  This is a budgetary decision designed to prevent the tax payers from paying for two very large print jobs.

He acknowledge that he understood and stated he would withdraw his complaint. 

****** ****

Driver Services Manager

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

(210) 650-8605

******@yellowcabsa.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested yellow cab service to pick me up at a specific time from the dispatcher. The driver arrived at that time and drove me 1.6 miles to my destination. The meter read $6.66. The cab drive said it will be $10.50. When I asked why, he said it was because I asked for a specific pick up time and that has a minimum cost of $10.50. The dispatcher never stated this information and it is not posted anywhere in the cab. I feel cheated and deceived.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $3.84 and require cab company to disclose their fees before service.

Business Response:

The issue regarding BBB complaint ******** has been resolved.  *** ******* was informed that Chapter 33 of the San Antonio City Code of Ordinances does, in fact, permit the practice of charging a minimum amount or the metered amount (whichever is greater) for reservations or “time calls.”  The reason for that particular ordinance was explained to her as well.

*** ******* is a valued customer and will be refunded $3.84.

 

****** ****

****** ******** *******

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their driver rear ended me at a red light on Sept 2, 2013, filed a false report and they aren't repairing my car and I was told they had to side with their driver because they have a contract with him even though he not only lied but has committed a crime, not his first, his criminal history is questionable and I would be concerned if he was driving me or anyone for that matter. I have presented proof their driver is lying and filed false complaint, along with contacting traffic investigations with SAPD and they agree but sstill having to fight them. They are self insured which means that they have no insurance according to Texas Department of Insurance. The person who handles claims has a license from state but is employeed by GSAT. I was told to file with my insurance and that's fraud waste and abuse all over the place.

Desired Settlement: Fix car and compensation for all my inconvenience and what I have had to deal with trying to do the right thing. I didn't play the sue, personal injury game, even though I was hurt, just not bad. I don't believe in lawsuit abuse. This shows the lack of integrity this company has and I have spoke with owner.

Business Response:

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company (Yellow Cab) is in receipt of the complaint submitted on 11/25/13 to the Better Business Bureau by Ms. ******* ***.

 

We are actively working on this case.  Because SAPD is involved, we are awaiting more information from the detective in charge, as well as other information.  Once we receive all the facts, GSATC will respond to the alleged incident accordingly.

 

We will keep the BBB updated.

 

****** ****

Public Relations Manager

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/14/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had reserved a car from ***** *** San Antonio - which is run by Yellow Cab San Antonio, which is owned by Greater San Antonio Transportation Company. The car service was to pick me up at 5:30 am on 25 October to get to the airport. I called the afternoon before to reconfirm the reservation. The morning of the 25th there was no car at 5:30. I called their customer service number and was told they didn't have a driver that wanted the fare. I would have to sit there and wait for them to find a car, and call them back every 15 minutes until they could get me a car. No service was provided. No call was made prior to warn me that they didn't have a car for me. No attempt to get a car for me that day was made. I was forced to pile into my car at the last minute and drive to the airport, barely making my flight. This is unacceptable behavior for a transportation company. Their business practice is that all cars are contractors and they can't Guarantee service. I had someone that was going to pick me up at the airport, but since I had to drive, I had to pay twice what it would have cost me if they had provided car service as promised.

Desired Settlement: 1) Compensation of $50 dollars for the parking fees incurred 2) All car services run by Greater San Antonio Transportation Company should be required to warn customers making reservations that they can not Guarantee transportation.

Business Response: On November 4, 2013, I spoke with *** ********** about this
incident.  He accepted the offered apology and explanation.  He sent
a receipt for the time his vehicle was parked at the airport.  After
deducting what the estimated cab fare would have been, a check for $50 and
issued and mailed to *** **********.

 

****** ****

****** ********* *******

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

***** ********

**********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was stationed at Fort Sam Houston for some military training during the month of July. I used ****** *** twice during my stay, and was overcharged (double charged) both times. I question the ethics of the company, and drivers- when they will stoop so low as to scam active duty military personnel. The first trip was from my hotel (**** ******* ****** **** *** *** ******** **) to a local restaurant (*** * ******* **** *** ******** **). The total trip mileage according to ******** is 3.0 miles. The estimated fare for this 3.0 mile trip according to the online Yellow Cab fare estimator is $10.81. I was charged $18.62, and left a $5 tip in addition to the charge. The return trip was from a gas station/strip mall area (**** ***** ******** *** *** ******** **) to my hotel (**** ******* ****** **** *** *** ******** **). The total trip mileage according to ******** is 1.04 miles. The estimated fare for this 1.04 mile trip according the online Yellow Cab fare estimator is $5.65. I was charged $11.74, and left a $2 tip in addition to the charge.

Desired Settlement: Refund 100% of the monies I paid for the scammed taxi fare, and institute policies ASAP to prevent future scams.

Business Response: The customer alleges that in two separate incidents in July
of 2013 she was overcharged for cab fare.  In parenthesis she wrote the
words “double charged.”  A double charge implies that she was charged
twice the amount shown on the taxi meter.  She is requesting a refund in
an amount equal to only the fare for two taxi rides plus gratuities she
voluntarily gave to drivers in spite of her allegation of overcharging.

The Yellow Cab Fare Estimator does not offer exact quotes on
fares.  There are many variables that may affect the final meter reading
such as time of day, detours, traffic delays, waiting for the passenger to
board the taxi, processing at the Fort Sam Houston gate, etc.  ********
does not take into account the gate closures at Fort Sam Houston nor the route
taxis take on Post.

We have a record of the trip from **** ***** Wurzbach to
3325 ****** Road.  We can see the route taken.  The route taken,
along opposite sides of the golf course and National Cemetery, is the most
direct.  We have no record of the trip from ****** Road to *** E.
Grayson.  No information regarding either taxi or driver was given.

The Independent Contractor Drivers that lease goods and
services from this company are professional business men and women who have a
profound respect for the men and women who serve this country and proudly wear
the uniform, and protect our freedom and liberty.

With apologies to *** ******* for any inconvenience, no
refund will be authorized.

 

****** ****

****** ********* *******

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

###-###-####

Consumer Response: To Whom It May Concern:

 

The above complaint has not been resolved.  The company has
not contacted me, and their response did not directly address both
situations.  Instead of stating I was "double charged" I should
have said the taxi driver purposefully took a LONGER route in order to make the
taxi charge higher.  I don't know the technical term that the taxi company
uses for such behavior.  I know that the online fare finder is only an
estimate, but my actual fair should not be 2-3x as much as an estimate. 
Furthermore, after spending 8 wks at Ft. Sam I became somewhat familiar with
the territory, and the routes that the taxi driver took me were NOT direct
routes.  The taxi drivers purposefully took me on a LONGER route in order
to add miles to the trip. 

 

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called for a cab to be taken from **** ****** ***** **** back to **** main campus. We had 7 indivduals. We were told we could only have 6. One person exited the cab. Another moved to the front. We were then asked for a deposit. We asked how much the ride would be and the driver said $25-$30 but wanted $50 deposit. We told him we were uncomfortable with larger deposit than fare would be. For no reason he told us to get out. We were 6 college girls between the ages of 17 and 20. He then pointed pepper spray in the face of the individual in the front passanger seat and told her that if she did not immediatly get out he would pepper spray all of us. The driver had no reason to respond like this. We simply told him we would not give him a deposit twice the amount of the fare and we had never been asked for a deposit before. He continued to scare and threaten us. We were scared for our safety.

Desired Settlement: I want the management to apologize. I want the driver to be disciplined apporpriately and tell him that he cannot point pepper spray in the faces of young female college students faces.

Business Response:

I spoke with the customer and offered an apology that was accepted.  I told the customer I would speak with the
Independent Contractor Driver to listen to his side of the story.  The customer was very pleasant and
acknowledged that there are always two sides to every story.

The ICD says he was at **** ******* ***** **** on the night in question.  He believes the 7 people that entered his cab
had consumed adult beverages prior to boarding. He told them he could only take
6 and that it was going to cost them twice as much because they would need a second cab. This was the first
misunderstanding.  He did ask for a
deposit (as permitted by Chapter 33 of the San Antonio City Code of Ordinances)
but denies asking for an exorbitant amount. 
The young man in the group quietly exited the cab and offered to find
himself a ride.  He left the front
passenger door open.  The young lady
seated directly behind the driver moved to the vacated front seat.  The driver alleges that the young lady angrily
pulled the door shut and slammed it in doing so.  The driver got annoyed and proceeded to
lecture the young lady about being respectful of other people’s property.  

The driver says that there were,
“Several people needing a taxi,” and that while he was getting ready to ask the
young ladies to exit the cab, a man (who was apparently in need of a cab)
approached the driver from his left side. 
The man was large, and was aggressively demanding to be
transported.  The driver was now trying
to deal with two issues.  The driver told
the aggressive man tom “Back away from the cab.”  The man wouldn’t.  The driver says that at this point he warned
the man at the door that he had pepper spray and would use it on him if he
didn’t back away.  This was the second
misunderstanding.  The man
retreated.  The driver says he did not
show the pepper spray canister to anyone and denies ever threatening the young
ladies with it.

The young ladies exited the cab,
and the driver transported a different party. 
The driver says that upon completion of that trip he attempted to
contact one of the young ladies with an offer to transport them but got no
response.

The driver felt threatened by
the large man demanding a ride.  He did
not feel threatened by the young people in the cab.  He was contrite and fully understands that
the threat of using pepper spray on the young ladies would have been the worst
thing he could do in that situation.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agent hung up on me while I was calling for a ride to work. I needed help with location and he said "find out & call back" then hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: i spoke with a supervisor who would tell manager who would call me back. NEVER GOT THAT CALL BACK

Business Response: The customer alleges that a Yellow Cab call taker hung up on
her.   All in-coming calls are recorded and this one was located and
listened to by management.  The call taker asked the customer several
times for an address.  The customer did not know it and could be heard
asking others around her for an address.  The call taker, who has a
straight forward no-nonsense personality, instructed the customer to find the
address and call back.  At this point he disconnected from the call. 
He was not rude to the customer.  The call taker was not able to offer
more assistance because of limited internet access and his personal lack of
familiarity with that area of town.

               
The Yellow Cab ** ******* called and spoke with Ms. ****** and offered an
explanation and apology for the inconvenience.

 

****** ****

****** ********* *******

Greater San Antonio Transportation Company

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my phone and wallet inside a taxi cab that I utilized on the 22nd of august and Customer service has been throwing me around saying that I have not left anything in there, even though I was on my phone during the taxi ride and that is when I dropped my phone.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have my phone and wallet delivered to me or replaced. I had a substantial amount of money in my wallet ($200) and military identification, driver's license, and I have spent a lot of money trying to get new Identifications and credit cards back to me. I would like a refund of the amount of money I have spent.

Business Response: I spoke with *** ***** ** ***** regarding the misplacement
of his phone and wallet.  He alleges that these items were left in a
Yellow Cab on August 22, 2013.  He was unable to provide any information
that would help us locate and identify the Independent Contractor Driver who
was operating the taxi he rode to his destination.  The Call Center was
not able to confirm the trip on the night *** ***** called to report the
loss.  It is possible that he rode in another company’s cab since he
boarded the cab at a location where many cabs stage to wait for
passengers.  I explained to *** ***** that if he did, in fact, leave his
personal items in the taxi, a subsequent passenger may have found and kept
them.

I apologized to *** ***** for the loss of his items and
explained that I am not able to refund, replace, or reimburse him for his lost
items.  I told him that I would inform the BBB.  He replied, “I
understand.  Thank you for your help.”

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1