This business is not BBB accredited.

Property Tax Assessor Records Corp

PO Box 140754, Austin, TX 78714


Click for BBB Rating on Property Tax Assessor Records Corp

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Property Tax Assessor Records Corp. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 2006
Business Management
Mr. John Fife
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Fife
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Alternate Business Names
Property Tax Assessor Records

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 140754

    Austin, TX 78714

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Property Tax Assessor Records Corp claimed it could save me hundreds of dollars in Property Tax for a fee. The end result was the only thing they were doing was verifying homestead exemption, which I had already applied for. They obviously already knew I had homestead exemption when they sent me the original mailing, because once I sent them my money, they sent back a letter saying my homestead exemption was on file and to just verify the information. They did not reduce my taxes at all but took my $55. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: Return of my money for false advertising and to put these scammers out of business. The attorney general should get involved in this scam and shut them down.

Business Response:

Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.
303 East Wacker Drive, Suite 1200
Chicago, IL 60601

November 26, 2013

Better Business Bureau
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752

RE: Case # *******: **** *. *** *******
Dear ****** *****:

Thank you for your recent letter regarding **** *** *******'s complaint to your office about Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.

As you may know, Property Tax Assessor Records Corp. informs and assists Texas homeowners in applying for and obtaining the homeowner's property tax exemption pursuant to Texas Law (Taxation Code Sections 11.13). Countless customers of ours have reaped substantial savings from this service, and often, if customers move, they will contact us in requesting us to process a new form on their behalf for their new residence. We charge a one-time $55 processing fee for our service.

Our records indicate that we received Ms. *** *******'s request to process her application for Homestead Exemption on or about October 24, 2013. On or about October 29, 2013 Property Tax mailed Ms. *** ******* the necessary application with instructions to fill out and send into the Appraisal District.

Property Tax Assessor Record Corp. maintains a customer satisfaction guaranteed policy and will refund the processing fee to a customer whose exemption application is denied or who otherwise expresses dissatisfaction with our service. Ms. *** ******* will be refunded.

If we can be of any further help in resolving this complaint, please contact us. Thank you for your assistance.

Sincerely,

Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

 I do not consider this case closed.  I responded to every request from the BBB for information that they needed, so your statement that I did not respond is in error.  I have never received a refund as indicated in the letter from Property Tax Assessor Records Corp which you forwarded to me over a month ago.  This issue is not resolved.

Regards,

**** *** *******

12/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company made it seem like my homestead exemption had not gone through with the tax assessor's office because I needed to give further information and pay $55.00. I provided a copy of my driver's license, car registration receipt, and SS# of my husband and myself. The tax assessor's office called me to tell me that I had been scammed and our homestead exemption had gone through before this company mailed me that paperwork. I sent a letter today directly to the company requesting a refund but I am doing this to make sure they are reported to keep others from doing the same thing in the future.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the $55.00 and all my personal information/documentation destroyed.

Business Response:

November 12, 2013

Better Business Bureau
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752

RE: Case # *******: ********* ***
Dear ****** *****:

Thank you for your recent letter regarding ********* ***** complaint to your office about Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.

As you may know, Property Tax Assessor Records Corp. informs and assists Texas homeowners in applying for and obtaining the homeowner's property tax exemption pursuant to Texas Law (Taxation Code Sections 11.13). Countless customers of ours have reaped substantial savings from this service, and often, if customers move, they will contact us in requesting us to process a new form on their behalf for their new residence. We charge a one-time $55 processing fee for our service.

Our records indicate that we received Ms. ***** request to process her application for Homestead Exemption on or about September 27, 2013. On or about September 27, 2013 Property Tax mailed Ms. *** the necessary application with instructions to fill out and send into the Appraisal District.

Property Tax Assessor Record Corp. maintains a customer satisfaction guaranteed policy and will refund the processing fee to a customer whose exemption application is denied or who otherwise expresses dissatisfaction with our service. Ms. *** will be refunded.

If we can be of any further help in resolving this complaint, please contact us. Thank you for your assistance.

Sincerely,

Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from the noted company sent on August 28, 2013, stating that I qualified for a property tax exemption & they required a fifty-five dollar fee in order to process the application to see if I qualified for an exemption. It stated that if the exemption was denied I would be refunded my $55 fee. I sent the $55 fee in by check & my check cleared the bank. Then I went to my local Randall County Tax Assessor & was notified that the service is free & that it is a scam targeted at new home owners. Additionally, I was informed by my local tax assessor's office that I had already been granted the exemption for 2013. The language in the letter also reads that "There is a one time $55 processing free for all exemption processed by Property Tax Assessor Records Corp. We will fully refund the fee if for any reason the exemption is denied." I would like a refund since my exemption had already been processed by my local county tax assessor's office.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $55 to be refunded since my exemption had already been processed and approved by my local Randall County Tax Assessor's Office.

Business Response: November 5, 2013

Better Business
Bureau

1005 La Posada Drive

Austin, TX 78752

RE: Case # ******* *********

Thank you for your recent letter regarding **** ******* complaint to your office about Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.

As you may know, Property Tax Assessor Records Corp. informs and assists Texas homeowners in applying for and obtaining the homeowner's property tax exemption pursuant to Texas Law (Taxation Code Sections 11.13). Countless customers of ours have reaped substantial savings from this service, and often, if customers move, they will contact us in requesting us to process a new form on their behalf for their new residence. We charge a one-time $55 processing fee for our service.

Our records indicate that we received Mr. ******* request to process his application for Homestead Exemption on or about October 3, 2013. On or about October 9, 2013 Property Tax mailed Mr. ***** the necessary application with instructions to fill out and send into the Appraisal District.

Property Tax Assessor Record Corp. maintains a customer satisfaction guaranteed policy and will refund the processing fee to a customer whose exemption application is denied or who otherwise expresses dissatisfaction with our service. Mr. ***** will be refunded.

If we can be of any further help in resolving this complaint, please contact us. Thank you for
your assistance

Sincerely,

Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.

5/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: first of all yall are just collecting money for services you cant provide. then you send me an envelope that has expired due to the fact that that business is no longer at that address and hasnt been for years and all my claims came back to me but not my check for $55, you managed to keep that. Please take me off your list and never send me anymore of your mail.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure how this Business got all my info but they need to be shut down , because they are fraudulent by asking for $55 that they cant provide a tax return and they sent you another form and tell you to sign it and send it to your tax distract with an enclosed envelope that is the incorrect address so it comes back to you -address unknown! and now they have your $55 and you have nothing but frustration. I would like to see them fined, closed and return my money

Business Response:   
Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.

303 East Wacker Drive, Suite 1200

Chicago, IL 60601

May 7, 2013

Better Business Bureau 1005 La Posada Drive Austin, TX 78752

RE: Case # *******: **** ***** 

Thank you for your recent letter regarding **** *****' complaint
to your office about Property Tax Assessor Records Corp.

As you may know, Property Tax Assessor
Records Corp. informs and assists Texas homeowners in applying for and
obtaining the homeowner's property tax exemption pursuant to Texas Law
(Taxation Code Sections 11.13). Countless customers of ours have reaped
substantial savings from this service, and often, if customers move, they will
contact us in requesting us to process a new form on their behalf for their new
residence. We charge a one-time $55 processing fee for our service.

Our records indicate that we received Mr.
*****' request to process his application for Homestead Exemption on or about
March 26, 2013. On or about March 28, 2013 Property Tax mailed Mr. ***** the
necessary application with instructions to fill out and send into the Appraisal
District.

Property Tax Assessor Record Corp. maintains a customer
satisfaction guaranteed policy and will refund the processing fee to a customer
whose exemption application is denied or who otherwise expresses
dissatisfaction with our service. Mr. ***** will be refunded.

If I can be of any further help in resolving this complaint, please
contact me. Thank you for your assistance.

Sincerely,



******* ** *****
Administrative Personnel