This business is not BBB accredited.

J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping & Notary Services

Phone: (361) 887-6665 Fax: (361) 334-3546 View Additional Phone Numbers 5812 S Staples St, Corpus Christi, TX 78413 http://www.jgarmadillo.webs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping & Notary Services include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping & Notary Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping & Notary Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 18, 2009 Business started: 01/03/1997 in TX Business started locally: 01/03/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Internal Revenue Service
8626 Tesoro Dr., San Antonio TX 78217
http://www.irs.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 829-1040

Texas Secretary of State
PO Box 13697, Austin TX 78711
http://www.sos.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 463-5555
Fax Number: (512) 463-5709
sosdirect@sos.texas.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Jeannette Villarreal, Owner Mr. Robert Villarreal, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jeannette Villarreal, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Villarreal, Partner
Business Category

Tax Return Preparation Financial Services Bookkeeping Service Notaries Public

Alternate Business Names
Reals Tax Service
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping & Notary Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5812 S Staples St

    Corpus Christi, TX 78413 (361) 887-6665 (361) 793-5203

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J & G bookkeeping prepared by taxes in March 2015, along with my husbands. 3 weeks after, my husband received his refund. After 2 months of not receiving mine, I met with the IRS to see what the issue was. IRS stated that my refund was sent out on 3-30-15 and deposited in J& G's bank account instead of my account as indicated on my tax return. J&G closes their business for the remainder of the year until next tax season so there's no1 at their office. They had a website but it hasn't been working to send them an email. Since April, 2015, I have called 15-20 times a day but they don't have a voicemail set up to leave any messages. On June 2nd, someone finally answered their office line ************, she stated that the offices are closed and that the owner, ******** would be notified of the error and she would call me within the week to resolve the matter. Its now July and nothing. After calling the office everyday after this, I finally got that same lady to answer the office line, once again I told her my situation and she remembered my previous call and told me that ******** would call back that would resolve the matter on 7-9-15. 7-9-15 came and went and no phone call or anything. I have been to the office at **** ** *******, on 6 six different occasion; I live in ****** Texas. All I want is my refund that was deposited in her account and no1 see** to care to call me back or even look into the matter after all these months. please help

Desired Settlement: Irs stated that due to the agency's error, they would need to pay me interest until the time they give me my refund. The IRS also pays out interest when they make a mistake on some1's tax refund. If anything, I want the money that pertains to me; my tax refund. This place needs to be investigated for their unethical practices. Its see** that this isn't the first time this has happened to one of the clients... please help me get my money that have earned from these people. Help!

Business Response: Dear ********* *******,

My name is ********* ********** ***** of J&G Armadillo's Bookking & Notary Services at **** ***** ******* ******  *******, ** *****, sorry its has taken me a little longer to find out what was going on with the client above "******* *****".  On my investigation I found out that **. ******* ***** is not the name she file on our records it is ******* ****** this is why it took a longer to find out what was going on.  ** ****** should address her-self how she file on her tax return and it would of been a faster processing than having 10 of my staff looking and tracing what was going on with her case.  ** ******* ***** (******) came to our office and we prepared her income tax as what she gave us with her information and account number with routing number.   First of all she gave us the wrong account number so her tax refund was direct deposit  to the account she gave us on file.   *** ******* ***** (******) called us and spoke to ****** our office manager who filled out a form to correct her direct deposit that form was filled out and it is up to the bank or the irs to investigate why was the account number given incorrectly and in the first place.  Why I was doing my investigation and speaking with IRS agents **. ******* ****** refund did get return back to IRS so the IRS will issue her a check .  **. ******* ***** also mention that she had spoken to the IRS and they had told her that her refund was direct deposit to our company bank under "ARMADILLO'S Bank", occurring to the iRS they told ** ******* ****** that her refund was direct deposit to one of our Bank Product that we use to issue refund which was PPS which is Perfer Product Solution Inc Bank out of Waco, TX.   **. ******* ****** check had been floating between PPS and IRS because when she came to file in our tax office she came in as ** ******* ***** not ** ******* ****** and her accounting number did not match with her last name.  The IRS will be mailing her a refund check, it is out of our hands.  Our company does have a 24/7 answering service that collect all the info and does transfer it to my personal cell phone and other accountants who are assign in the office.  

Thank You,

********* **********
*** *****************

5/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business charged $350 to do me and my three childrens taxes. They did mine but spelled me name wrong and my address wrong. They did not even do my daughters. They submitted my sons paperwork with an incorrect social security number although she typed it while looking at the social security card. She also listed me as head of household and did not include that my husband is living with us. When I call to ask what is going on, they tell me something different every time. One time they said all of my children's socials were typed wrong, the next time they told me the IRS rejected our application without reasoning and when I went to the business the manager and lady who did our work refused to see me. They made an employee who knew nothing about the case contact me and tell me, "Do not contact anyone in the office anymore. This is my personal number. You will be contacting me through here from now on." She admitted that she ruined our taxes and refused to correct it. I called the police once because they kicked me out of the business. I had refused to leave until the manager spoke to me but they kicked me out. I got my taxes done for all of my children, including myself and my husband for $200. This lady now claims that my taxes alone costs $350. When at first she said it would be $350 for everyone in my family. They also claim that they did not take it out of the tax money that got deposited into my account but I checked my bank statement and the amount she told me that would get and I see that she deducted her amount. I can not show her this because she refuses to see me. I am a 50 year old woman with asthma, diabetes, high blood sugar and high blood pressure and she feels the need to have a security around when I am at the office. The entire ordeal is just rude and unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund. I deserve to get all of my money back based on the way I was treated and the embarrassment they caused me. But to be more realistic, I just want $250 back. I will pay the $100 for myself, although they don't even deserve that.

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used this company for tax services, as a means to properly submit all my tax documents to the IRS. However there was errors that were made dealing with social security numbers and falsifying our tax form with information that was not avaliable to verify on the date it was filed. Now after a IRS review of the incorrect social security numbers along with the the false information that was included in our file, we are stuck with a bill from the IRS for the taxes payed out. We are unable to recieve help from the business to correct or assist in correting the issue.

Desired Settlement: Would like for the business to help in correcting the issue and apologize for the mistake

Business Response:

Our company record show that we  did not file a tax return for ******* ******** for 2013.  He must have the wrong accounting firm.  Thank You  ********* ********** Owner of J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping ###-###-#### cell

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The file was from 2012, done on 2013, thank you


Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: My secretary ***** ********* has been working very close with Mrs. ******** for the past three weeks for her to bring in any education or training that was taking for 2012.  Mrs. ******** stated to my secretary ***** ********* that she did not tell the accountant ********* ********** that she had any education for 2012.  Looking at her folder for 2012, Ms. ********* ********** accountant asked all the required question for taxes and customer(s) ******** responded the Mr. ******* ******** had taken some Safety Council Training for his work and Mrs. ******** had taken some classes /training at Devry Univ-training.  Copy of this was given to the client during the tax interview.  My secretary explain to Mrs. ******** that the accountant asked the question during the interview and somehow someone answer her question and gave her that information because taxes are completed in front of the client right there with the accountant.  I ********* ********** tried contacting the client by phone but no answer, so I instructed my secretary ***** ********* to talk to her to get copies of any certificate or payment of any education courses she paid, and if she did not have anything that I would need to amend her taxes at no cost.  Our accountants are train and are highly educated and achieve all the test score with at min 98 average.  Mr. & Mrs. ******** did come to our office on Feb 5, 2013, not all documentation were available for download, but like we instruct all our clients that its their responsibility to make sure we get all the correct document or customer needs to hold on the documents if for any reason the IRS request a copy.   This is written on the customer profile folder that customer gets before they see the account.  The customer also signs the folder.

On July 18, ***** spoke to Mrs. ******** once again that we are here to assist her, but Mrs. ******** stated to ***** that she was going to hire an attorney.  We are not here to make any customers upset, we are here to help and assist the client.  We ask the client question about there taxes and clients respond to question.  But we also tell the client make sure every receipt and information we talked about on your tax return goes in your folder and file it away.   I will be glad to assist Mrs. ******** if she still would like for us to assist her with her 2012 taxes.  I am available Monday thru Thursday 11 am to 3 pm.   ask for ********* ********** Owner of J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping.  cell ###-###-####  email:  *******************13@yahoo.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Also I have filed a complaint with the irs for further review. Thanks for your help in this matter. 

Regards,



******* ********

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to J&G Armadillo to electronically file our 2013 taxes. Our paperwork had ********'s name on them, stating that she completed our taxes. But, she didn't do them. Her daughter is the one that did them. There were several errors. When I asked her where she was getting her totals; she stated that it "auto fills" the amount into that category. The amount that she said would be refunded to us was incorrect. Due to there being so many errors that her system was "auto filling" into the different sections of our taxes. You don't get the option to have your return direct deposited into your own personal account. Your only option is to have it sent to their bank account. Then they prepare a check to give to the customer. I have made several attempts to contact them and haven't been able to reach anyone. Their voicemail has been full and no longer accepting any messages since April 15th, 2014. I have gone to the irs.gov website to check the status of our return, and they don't have any record of it. I can't get a hold of anyone at J&G Armadillo Bookkeeping & Notary to ask them if they did electronically file our taxes or if they have received our refund?? It is June 17th, 2014 and we haven't received anything. Our appointment was on March 12th, 2014. It has been 3 months since they said that they electronically filed our taxes and we haven't heard from anyone or received anything. Their offices have been closed since the end of the tax season. So, we can't even go speak to anyone in person. For a fee of $400, you would expect your taxes to be done correctly and for the company to have the decency to contact their customers with updates.

Desired Settlement: An explanation. For our taxes to be corrected and done by a professional. Have they been electronically filed? Where is our refund check?

Business Response: The client ******** advise me that she drop the dispute  and she did receive her refund the next day.  I also looked at her return and review it with her and it was done correct.  

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited this place of business on 3/20/13 where I filed my taxes with ******** **********. During this visit, ******** stated that returns were being held due to education credits. She recommended that I come back for an amendment to then file the tax credit. She stated that the fee of $100.00 would be waived in which she documented in my file stating "no charge for amend" signed with her initials. She stated that I should bring this note with me so I agreed. My taxes were filed without the education credit since I would come back later to do so and $300 was paid to Armadillo for the filing. I returned on 4/10/2013 to conduct amendment with now ********. She quoted me a return of $1868.00 which was about $700 more then what ******** had told me. I simply asked if she was sure and she immediately became hostile and felt I had insulted her. She wanted nothing more with me and asked for the fee of $100. I stated that ******** waived the fee and showed her the initialed note. She said she would not honor it giving no reason accept that ******** had done that for a few consumers but she was no longer honoring them. She stated that I could take my business elsewhere. I wrote a check and was handed a receipt feeling humilated.

Desired Settlement: This was my second year doing business there and also recommended several family members. I understand the stress level in dealing with taxes especially since it was near the April 15th deadline, however, the treatment I received from ******** was unneccessary and very unprofessional. I would like for J&G Armadillo to honor the waived fee by refunding $100.00 to the address they have on file.

Business Response:

Re:  Complaint # *******

 

I ********* ********** Sr. Accountant for over 26 yrs and owner of J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping meet with  Ms. ******* ******** On April 10 for an amendment she wanted done on her 2012 tax return.  Ms. ******** was told by my staff and myself that I do not see any amendments nor do I do simple tax return returns with out an appointment!!!!!   My staff and I were nice to Ms. ********, told her that if she wanted her amendment done at no charged, that she needed to schedule an appointment with ******.  This was made very clear to her!!!!  During April 1 st through April 12th my schedule was booked the entire day working 16 hrs a day for 6 days only having Sundays off.  I had turn some of my own clients away who had not even done their 2012 tax return and told my clients to come on month of May since we were booked and exhausted.  My clients understood and booked an appointment for May.  Ms. ******** had done her taxes with ******, my daughter as well one of my accountants in the office and was told to schedule an appointment for ******.  Ms. ******** refused to come back that she agree to pay me the $100.00 fee for the amendment, I also told her that my office is divided by three other Businesses and that each accountant works for their own Business.  I ********* ********** is owner of J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping ,  ********* is owner of L& Z Armadillo's Tax Services, and ********* "******" is owner of Real's Tax Services, I explained to Ms. ******** that my business of J& G Armadillo's Bookkeeping did not prepared her taxes and that it was best for her to go back and schedule an appointment to see ****** who prepared her taxes and would honor her a free amendment.  This was all the conversation we had and I ********* ********** did do her amendment for $100.00 fee, all over the office they had signed posted any amendment are up to $100.00 fee.  This sign was posted up in the wall since the Jan 30th. 

 

********* **********, Owner
J&G Armadillo Bookkeeping
Office: ************
1503 Lipan St
Corpus Christi, TX 78401

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on J&G Armadillo's Bookkeeping & Notary Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart