BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Stephen Korbar Pools LLC

Phone: (210) 481-9450 25111 Fairway Springs, San Antonio, TX 78260 http://www.stephenkorbarpools.com ! There is an alert on Stephen Korbar Pools LLC !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stephen Korbar Pools LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 2009 Business started: 08/01/2008 Business started locally: 08/01/2008 Business incorporated: 08/05/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Korbar, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Korbar, Owner/President
Business Category

Swimming Pools - Private Patio & Deck Builders Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    25111 Fairway Springs

    San Antonio, TX 78260

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have multiple warranty issues and Mr.****** does not respond to my requests to fix them.

Desired Settlement: Take care of all warranty issues as promised.

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stephen Korbar Pools LLC ***** ******* ******* *** ******** ** ***** ***** ******** ***** ****** the owner of Stephen Korbar Pools LLC, as soon as we signed a Pool/Cabana Project Agreement, started in a good way completed the excavation then finished the Gunite and was eager to complete those phases to get close to $80,000 or close to 60% of the contract. After that did not show up by giving us many excuses like rains, crew took money and did not show up for work and finally came back with a huge story about personal financial problems, and that he wasn’wasn't in this to steal our money but he has no money to complete the project. He disappeared. I called him like once a week, and most of the time doesn’t return our calls. I sent emails after email. Two months went by with NO one to work on my pool project. I will write a complaint to the county Prosecutor's office because I believe you may have done what he did intentionally. 90-day deadline is over and still waiting to be finished!! And the work was done is falling apart!! What it boiled down to WAS: the work that was left to be done much more than what we owe ***** Korbar, the owner of Stephen Korbar Pools LLC Money that I was paying him, he was supposed to have used it to buy material and pay his sub-contractor along the way - but he used it elsewhere! To me, that's not right, if he has accepted the project with the intention to just drew money without completing the pool project that may consider as a FRAUD He is in default, and I'm demanding a refund or a project be completed, he was giving a 10-day notice to occur his default otherwise we will be filing Complaints against Stephen Korbar Pools LLC, ***** ******* ******** *** ******** ** *****, with the Better Business Bureau, Texas Attorney General, TRCC, City of San Antonio, RipoffReports as well as San Antonio Police Department.

Desired Settlement: He is in default, and I'm demanding a refund or a project be completed

Business Response:

We experienced delays with weather and subcontractors.  Projects is underway.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Stephen Korbar Pools, LLC and the owner ******* ****** doesn't have the ability nor the desire to complete the pool project, owner of the company lies and didn't work on my house since two months, he got my money and didn't even pay subcontractors. Always excuses, rains, cold, crew doesn't show up or his company ran out of money. He was asking for more money even though he got more than $70,000 and he spend them else where.

At this point we don't trust him, he doesn't keep up his promises and we can't wait any longer, so we demand a refund otherwise we will take all legal measurements to make him understand what he did to us was absolutely wrong. It seems that he got our money and didn't have the intention to complete the pool. We mad a mistake contracting him to build our pool, I'll advise my family and friends not to deal with him.

We're demanding a refund for our money since he breached the contract agreement.

Regards,

**** *******

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stephen Korbar Pools LLC constructed an outdoor kitchen that was admitted by owner to be defective and has not honored a written agreement to repair properly at cost to company owner. Numerous emails, phone calls, letters, go un answered. The owner of this company is unwilling to honor the repair agreement and customer service is very poor.

Desired Settlement: Proper repair of defective construction at Stephen Korbar Pools LLC expense.

12/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are experiencing major issues with our pool and ***** does not return our phone calls. We are still in the warranty period. We have called many, many times and left messages for him to call us. He has not returned our phone calls or sent anyone out to resolve the issues we are experiencing.

Desired Settlement: Fully repair problems that are under warranty and to respond to our phone calls when we call him with problems.

Business Response: I always return calls or texts within 24 hours.  The issues he is experiencing are not warranty issues.  His initial call was a wall pvc wall fitting that broke.  I explained how to remove and replace.  Simply unscrew the fitting and replace with a new one $20 part.  He attempted to remove the fitting and broke the part.  Now he is claiming that it is a warranty claim because it was "stuck".  This is a bogus claim which should not even be posted.  I explained to the customer that he needs to remove this from the BBB site asap.

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have attempted to have a swimming pool leak repair per warranty contract since February. The leak has not been repair. Has been extremely difficult to get even a return call regarding the issue and not call/contact since 2 March 2013. Approximately 9 April finally got an answer to our phone call. Mr ****** said they would be out Friday 12 Apr. ONE SHOWED UP or CALLED! Called and again no answer, so left message. No response as of 3:45PM, 12 Apr.

Business Response: SKP Representative addressed the issue in person at 4:15 Friday April 12 2013

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Original message incorrectly addressed to BBB.  I am extremely disappointed in "service after the sale" with Korbar Pools.  as of 22 May, I have still not heard from them since 13 May concerning the completion of the job.

Though this would never happen...

----- Forwarded Message -----

From: *** ***** *******************>
To: "info@stephenkorbarpools.com"
Cc: "info@centraltxbb.bbb.org"

On 25 Apr expoxy was placed in pool area thought to be leaking. After several days leak seems to have stopped.  Called Korbar Pools around 30 Apr and advised that leak seems to have stopped.  Was told they would return and complete work.  Called 6 May and was advised would be out to complete job. No word from business 13-20 May although numerous messages have been left.  This will be my last effort to get this repair completed with you.  If not completed by 24 May, I will have it completed be another business and I will go to court to get reinbursed if necessary. 

Regards,

Danny Adams

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable