BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Andre's Pool House, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Andre's Pool House, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Andre's Pool House, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 18, 2005 Business started: 05/01/1989 Business started locally: 05/01/1989 Business incorporated: 03/22/2013 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andre Montwill
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andre Montwill
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance Outdoor Kitchens Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Pool House The Pool House The Pool House LLC
Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 4171 Sleepy Hollow St

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (210) 697-6300

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2013 The Pool House repaired cracks and re-plastered our pool cost was $7585.00. We purchased the home on 28 June and one of the selling points was the pool was newly plastered and the job had a 1 year warranty, a 2 year warranty if you retained The Pool house as a pool service provider, *** at the Pool House confirmed the warranty conveys with the pool. On 29 June I noticed the hot tub wasn't heating and the pool was noticeably leaking and had several cracks. I contacted the pool house and **** a service technician from the pool house came to my house and fixed the hot tub on 10 July. **** said he would come back another day and check the pool for leaks, and would have the owner ***** look at the cracks in the pool. After repeated efforts to contact the owner he did finally show up and looked at the pool from the surface (didn't enter the pool). I asked him (*****) what they were going to do about the cracks? He said he would have **** put Putty in the crack that was leaking at no charge, but they were not contractually liable to fix the cracks as all of their contracts state they are not responsible for cracks caused by movement and that my home is on "a fault line" and the quarry near our neighborhood blasts. He had several excuses, but never looked to see if the product was improperly applied. On 25 Aug 2013 I noticed the pool was still leaking and checked with die where **** placed the putty. It was still leaking and I patched it with pool putty. While I was in the pool I checked the rest of the pool and I found at least 10 large cracks, most are 2 to 3 feet long and the largest is approximately 15 feet long straight down the middle of the pool. The cracks are certainly due to a poorly prepped surface and an incorrect application of plaster and definitely not due to a fault line as there isn't a fault line in San Antonio.

Desired Settlement: The Pool House should repair the cracks that are leaking and repair not patch the cracks in the plaster.

Business Response: September 26, 2013

**** *********

Dispute Resolution Specialist

BBB Complaint ID *******

 

Dear Ms. *********,

            The Pool House was hired and contracted by the previous owners to work on the pool on **** *******.  Some of Mr. ****’ complaints are not even related to the work previously contracted by the previous owner.  We provided the previous owner with an extensive estimate and some of the work was done.  We only did the work approved by the previous owners.  Mr. **** contacted The Pool House with concerns to the cracks in the pool.  Our service technician went out and inspected the cracks.  Following that appointment I personally went out to inspect the cracks.  At that point I made the customer aware that there were cracks in the pool but that they were not related to the plastering of the pool; but instead structural cracks caused by shifting of the pool.  Even though the cracks were not covered under our plaster warranty; The Pool House went ahead and patched the cracks at no charge to Mr. ****.  At that time, I gave Mr. **** my personal cell phone number and told him to call me with any concerns or issues he may have with the pool in the future.  We have not heard from the customer in regards to anything with the pool until we received the BBB complaint.  The Pool House was not aware of any additional cracks in the pool.  Once I received the complaint I contacted Mr. **** and asked why he never contacted me; and he mentioned that just didn’t and maybe he should have.  However, I have agreed to send our service technician out the patch the cracks he has concerns with at no charge to him.  I also let him know once more that the cracks are structural due to the shifting of the pool and not related to how the pool was plastered.  I also made
Mr. **** aware that any repairs needed in the future will be at his expense.  I feel The Pool House has gone above and beyond the contractual agreement we had with Mr. **** and at no charge.  We pride our-selves in customer service and feel that if Mr. **** had contacted us directly we could have resolved his concerns quickly.  If you
have any questions please don’t hesitate to call.

 
Thank you,

 
***** ********
Owner & Operator
***** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Mr ******** has provided an inaccurate and dishonest response to my original complaint.

The Pool house contracted the following:
1-Drain Pool
2-Light acid wash
3-Remove old plaster
4-Repair gunite if required
5-Re-seal all skimmer faces
6-Hand trowel withy gray plaster
7-Install staple kit (repair cracks)

4-Gunite was not properly repaired as there are multiple cracks in our pool.
6-Hand trowel----if performed incorrectly leads to streaking and cracking as it does in our pool.
7-The staple kits were incorrectly installed....There are cracks where the staple kits were installed. If properly installed this should be the strongest part of the pool shell.

It is true after multiple attempts by me to get Mr. ******** to look at my pool he did come to my house. When he arrived he complained about having to leave his daughters birthday party early to look at my pool (this was on a Wednesday at 3:00PM) He NEVER looked at the cracks in my pool or attempted to get close to the water to look at the cracks. At no time has
Mr ******** inspected the cracks in my pool.

Originally he said the cracks in my pool were caused by a fault zone in my neighborhood and the materials company near my neighborhood blasting. Now in his response he says that the cracks are due to structural problems and the pool shifting. Mr. ******** has NEVER inspected the cracks in my pool, but will blame the cracks on anything but the actual cause which is the incorrect repair and plastering by his company.

I never said "maybe I should have called him" when he contacted me. I did tell him that I have attempted to contact his company multiple times and it had become a part time job with no response so I contacted the BBB.

Mr. ******** has provided the BBB with dishonest information in an attempt to shift the blame of my pool cracks to other causes. His company warrantied the crack repairs and the plaster application. Both of those have failed due to improper application. This is a dishonest company that doesn't stand behind their work or honor their warranty. 

Regards,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1