Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LoneStar Fiberglass Pools, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LoneStar Fiberglass Pools, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on LoneStar Fiberglass Pools, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2007 Business started: 10/01/2004 Business started locally: 10/01/2004 Business incorporated 10/22/2007 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Owens, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Owens, President/Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LoneStar Fiberglass Pools, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15655 E Highway 90

    Kingsbury, TX 78638 (830) 875-6903 (830) 875-6900 (866) 471-6900

  • 25620 N Highway 281

    San Antonio, TX 78258 (830) 980-3483

  • 862 I-35 South

    New Braunfels, TX 78130 (830) 606-7665 (830) 625-7946 (830) 379-7946

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As you know, this pool has been plagued with problems since it was first installed by your company. Among the worst problems are leaking plumbing, a defective waterfall, leaks near the water basket, and inadequate surface coating. Your company subcontracted the warranty work on the surface coating to Acrylicrafters, but Acrylicrafters failed to replace the gel coat that my client was promised and instead coated the pool with a rough coating that is not at all equivalent. You also committed the false, misleading or deceptive practices as indicated below, in that you:(a)represented that an agreement confers or involves rights, remedies, or obligations which it does not have or involve, or which are prohibited by law; (b) represented that the pool and your services have sponsorship, approval, characteristics, ingredients, uses, benefits, or quantities which they do not have; (c) represented that the pool and your services are of a particular standard, quality, or grade, or that goods are of a particular style or model, if they are of another; and,(d) failed to disclose information concerning the pool and your services which was known at the time of the transaction with the intention to induce me into a transaction into which they would not have entered had the information been disclosed.By failing to properly install the pool, you have also breached the express warranties given in connection with my purchase of the pool along with the implied warranty of good and workmanlike performance.(d) failed to disclose information concerning the pool and your services which was known at the time of the transaction with the intention to induce my clients into a transaction into which they would not have entered had the information been disclosed.

Desired Settlement: Notice is hereby given under Section 17.505 of the DTPA that I sustained damages in the form of the cost to repair or replace the pool, loss of use, loss of time and severe mental anguish in the estimated amount of $50,000, plus attorney's fees of $750 reasonably incurred by me to date in the assertion of this claim, for a total amount of $50,750.

Business Response: Dear *** *********, This is Lone Star Fiberglass Pools of Texas’ timely response to the complaint filed by *** *******.   It is unfortunate that we were unable to ultimately satisfy *** *******.   We enjoy an excellent reputation and pride ourselves on providing quality pools and installation.   Our customers are our neighbors, friends, and members of the community, and we have numerous testimonials from happy customers.   In those rare instances where a customer is not initially 100% satisfied, it is our goal to ensure that the pool is installed to the customer’s satisfaction.  Some of *** *******’s complaints are too general and/or appear to be ‘legal language’ and therefore are difficult to address specifically.   *** ******* does state in his complaint that he has suffered ‘severe mental anguish’ and seeks $50,000.00 for mental anguish (and attorneys’ fees).  However, his general concerns appear to be the leaking plumbing, a defective waterfall and inadequate surface coating.  The following is a timeline of events, confirmed by emails and documents signed by *** *******: *** ******* had previously had a pool installed by another company.  He apparently was dissatisfied with that pool, had it removed, and Lone Star.  One of his concerns with the prior pool was severe surface discoloration.   Discoloration can occur for various reasons, but generally the homeowner must treat, per the instructions provided, for hard water, calcium and scale.  *** ******* had the same problem with the pool we installed, which may be an indication of failure to follow those instructions. Defective WaterfallLone Star did not install the waterfall.  *** ******* hired his own contractor to install the waterfall. Leaking plumbing/cracks*** ******* reported leaks and cracks.   The leaks and cracks were repaired at Lone Star’s cost.  *** ******* sent us an email confirming his satisfaction (attached).  Inadequate Surface Coating*** ******* complained that he was not happy with the surface coating.   Lone Star thereafter contacted an independent contractor, *** ****** with Acrylic Crafters, who specializes in application of acrylic color to pools, to recoat the pool.   This was done at Lone Star’s expense.  *** ****** thereafter met with *** ******* to discuss the process.  *** ******* chose a light silver color for the recoating, to minimize the appearance of any future discoloration.   *** ******* signed a Letter of Agreement on 9/12/13 with Lone Star, agreeing that Lone Star’s gel coat warranty would be replaced an superseded with the gel coat warranty given by Acrylic Crafters, as Lone Star was not performing this service (attached).   *** ******* also signed the Acrylic Crafter’s warranty on 9/9/13 (attached).  Acrylic Crafters completed the job on 9/19/13.  *** ******* sent Lone Star an email on 9/29/13 stating that the work had been completed and that he was happy with the job (attached).  Please let us know if you need any further information. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My concerns and rebuttals to this
nightmare of a pool experience is based on a very poor / rushed install that resulted
in:  

1. Major and minor leaks
2. Poor plumbing installation of the lines
3. Poor quality of the fiberglass and gel coat quality which led to the pool
    having white spots, fading and cracking in less than six months. 


I will address the reply made by Lone Star Pools below:

1.    Leaking plumbing. 
All the factory lines / return lines were not factory sealed thus
causing leaks.  The return skimmer basket
was factory installed but when lowered in the ground by **** it was pinched
back 12-18 inches and slammed forward causing the multiple seal issues between
the fiberglass and skimmer basket seal. 

2.    A defective waterfall
The water fall rocks were properly sealed and the plumbing in the
ground had to be replaced from the pool to the intended waterfall because the
PVC pipes leaked not the waterfall.  Thecontractors I hired also worked for Lone Star pools and my concern has always
been the poor pool installation and poor quality of the materials used to
construct the pool, fiberglass and very poor gel coat. Not the waterfall itself
but the PVC line installed to the waterfall.

3.    Inadequate surface coating. 
The gel coat is constructed of a very poor quality material which
started with white spots then fading and hairline cracking.  Lone Star came out to claim it was hard water
/ calcium and implied poor maintenance. I can assure you as a RN I have taken
plenty of chemistry and science classes and can maintain people’s lives with
more complex issues thus, provided this pool with the correct care and maintenance
needed to use the pool.   The poor gelcoat was confirmed by using a Calcium remover which causes a bubbling reaction
to the gel coat surface. However, the pool below the water line did not react which
verifies it was defective coating vs. hard water /calcium.  I was informed that his company went to a
cheaper quality gel coat product from China which is the primary reason for the
white spots, fading and fine lined cracks.

4.    The following is a timeline of events, confirmed by emails and
documents signed by *** *******: *** ******* had previously had a pool
installed by another company.  He apparently was dissatisfied with that
pool, had it removed, and Lone Star. 
This is incorrect.  The previous pool was present when I bought my house.  My reason for purchasing a new different pool
was based on plumbing issues and the shape of the old pool.

5.    One of his concerns with the prior pool was severe surface
discoloration.  
I did have surface discoloration from in my old Viking pool which was present when I
purchased the house, however the plumbing and shape was the reason for
purchasing a new pool. And it was promised to me that this new Lone Star Pool
would not have this discoloration issues, even with hard water, by your sales
person.  The Lone Star Pool sales person **** ******* (now resigned) promised a night and day pool product with regards to pool strength, pool gel
coat, warranty, installation process, and ease of maintenance.  None of these promises were delivered.

6.    Discoloration can occur for various reasons, but generally the
homeowner must treat, per the instructions provided, for hard water, calcium
and scale.
Once again I did treat this pool with the correct pool products to control and reduce calcium
and scale but this is a poor gel coat quality issue not a chemist / Texas hard
water issue.  The product is advertised as an easy to maintain pool but they blame the ***** if and when the gel coat
goes bad.  The gel coat would have gone bad even if I filled the pool with 25,000 gallons distilled water.

7.    Waterfall- Lone Star did not install the waterfall.  *** ******* hired his own contractor to install the waterfall. 

8.    Leaking plumbing of the PVC 2 inch lines.
During installation Lone Star workers placed a PVC line over one
of the LED lights casing and when the pool shifted it cracked the casing
causing a major leak and the loss of that light. The Lone Star pool originally
had 3 lights and now it has 2 led lights which does not supply enough lighting for that size of a pool.

9.    Cracks *** ******* reported leaks and cracks.  
The leaks and cracks were repaired at Lone Star’s cost.  *** ******* sent us an email confirming his satisfaction
(attached).
The poor / fast install and mixed back fill of sand and crushed
rock caused major shifting resulting in major floor cracking and leaking in a
less than 1 year old pool.    The ***** pushed his brother **** to hurry up and finish the job.  I did hear 2 conversations of him screaming on the phone.

10. Inadequate Surface Coating *** ******* complained that he was
not happy with the surface coating.   Lone Star thereafter contacted
an independent contractor, *** ****** with Acrylic Crafters, who specializes in
application of acrylic color to pools, to recoat the pool.   This was
done at Lone Star’s expense.  *** ****** thereafter met with *** *******
to discuss the process.  *** ******* chose a light silver color for the
recoating, to minimize the appearance of any future discoloration.  

The major problem with this event with this contractor is that you led me to believe the fiberglass work and
gel coat work could be remedied with the use of Acrylic Crafters- (which went out of business).  
Issues: he fixed the fiberglass and the leaks in the pool and backfilled a few areas with concrete.
However, I was tricked to believe that I was getting a Fiberglass gel coat and
they applied a cheap sprayed on Acrylic product that started peeling and fading
after one week of signing for the completion of the work.   You also would not replace the pool but
hired ****** ****** to now cover the “gel coat warranty”.  Also, you would not
do any repairs unless I signed this agreement leaving me no choice but to use
him after I asked for references about his work and other replacement options. 
I did pick silver vs. royal blue based upon the color fade spots on the original Lone Star Pool. I did this because of the
difficulty of dealing with Lone Star Pool to remedy the problem and if the pool
spotted or faded again, a lighter color would not be as noticeable as the royal
blue original color.  Lone star pools also makes the pools themselves and a replacement would have been the best remedy so, they could also back fill it correctly. Thus, preventing  the chance of additional shifting and cracking.

11. *** ******* signed a Letter of Agreement on 9/12/13 with Lone
Star, agreeing that Lone Star’s gel coat warranty would be replaced an
superseded with the gel coat warranty given by Acrylic Crafters, as Lone Star
was not performing this service (attached).   *** ******* also signed
the Acrylic Crafter’s warranty on 9/9/13 (attached).  Acrylic Crafters
completed the job on 9/19/13.  *** ******* sent Lone Star an email on 9/29/13 stating that the
work had been completed and that he was happy with the job
(attached).  Please let us know if you need any further
information. 
Again I thought the gel coat was fixed, however less than 1 week after the repair job it
started to peel, fade and scratch when one would use a standard pool brush.  I was scammed on the material /
labor with and was misled that the pool was receiving a new gel coat but an acrylic paint on product was applied that failed.  
Lone Star picked this company and the terms; now because of the poor
product and service of Lone Star I have a $40,000 pond not pool.

12. Some of *** *******’s complaints are too general and/or appear
to be ‘legal language’ and therefore are difficult to address specifically.
*** ******* does state in his complaint that he has suffered
‘severe mental anguish’ and seeks $50,000.00 for mental anguish (and attorneys’ fees).  
My above list of tragic events and exploitation is concerning for
me and my family.  As a Desert Storm Army Veteran that works hard taking care of other Vets I am disappointed to date
with overall remedies that Lone Star Pools has provided to me and my
family.  This pool was to help me reduce stress not multiply it.  
 

I am seeking a new pool replacement or my money back. Otherwise, I will be forced to continue with
legal actions and class action options for over $50,000.00







Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Unfortunately the homeowner is still dissatisfied and has retained an attorney.  He has sent Lone Star a letter stating he intends to sue.  We continue to firmly stand by our product and installation, and respectfully disagree with (or have no knowledge of) many of the statements set forth in the homeowner's response.   However, since the homeowner has threatened legal action, we will seek guidance from the judge and attorneys regarding the appropriate venue for fact discovery and exchange of documents that support Lone Star's position. We value the BBB's role in providing valuable information about businesses to the general public and do not want to use this site as an inappropriate venue to respond to threatened litigation.   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I am open to the ***** of Lonestar pools to call me on my cell within 3 business days to step up and do the right thing and replace or reimburse me for the pool.   ###-###-####

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Per our attorney; "Lonestar is not permitted to contact the homeowner directly since he has retained an attorney and we respectfully decline to make further response.  Our attorney will be in contact with his attorney." 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

8/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a fiberglass pool from Lonestar several years ago. Within six months, the concrete started cracking and we could fit a quarter in the cracks which was supposedly under warranty with Lonestar. They contracted out the concrete portion to ***** Construction. When we contacted Lonestar, they told us we need to contact ***** and we received the run around from both companies (***** told us he would come out on behalf of Lonestar to repair it five plus times and never showed up and Lonestar kept deferring) until the warranty ran out after one year. Now our pool has a leak (which appears to be in the fiberglass, but I'm sure they will determine this to not be under warranty or give us the run around until we do something ourselves) and it has been almost a week and no one has come out. We are losing 5 inches plus a day in water, are under water restrictions, may incur a fine from the city since we are consuming so much water to replenish it daily and we keep getting told they will send someone out and it has not happened. I feel so far on both accounts, their warranty has proven useless. The people that installed the pool were wonderful, the customer service staff and owner have been nice when we have talked to them, but their service and follow through on the warranty has been severely lacking.

Desired Settlement: Repair to both the concrete (since they do have documentation we called for an extended period within the one year warranty and after for the concrete) and for the fiberglass. Both these repairs are costly and whether it is the fiberglass or plumbing, if it goes out so quickly, the work is subpar, just like the concrete work that was done.

Business Response:

Good morning Mrs. ****.  I tried to call the number I have for you and it just rang and rang.  So I thought I would try the email I have for you.  I had talked to our office manager on Friday after you called, once she was in the office.   I do apologize for not getting back to you, I was under the impression she was going to call you.  Either way, I did do a service order for you on Friday and you were on the board for Tuesday for the guys to come out and pressure check the plumbing lines to see if they can find the leak.  This morning I was told about the BBB complaint, saying we had not helped you on this matter of the leak. 

 

I have talked to ***** about the complaint,  He has said that we will be sending out our guys to check the plumbing and see if they can find the leak, but he would like you to retract the complaint since service orders do take time, we have to wait on the results of the bucket test to see how much water you are actually loosing, then it gets scheduled.  Our guys not only do repairs they are the ones who install the pools.  So the Service schedule and the installation schedule go hand in hand.   I have talked to ****** our production manager and he has said he could come out today instead if this would be good with you.  If you would let me know so we can get started finding the leak you have mentioned.  You can either email me back or call me at the office.

 

** Per our conversation (above) I have talked to ***** and ****** and being there today, and since you or your husband want to be there and today is short notice for work.  ****** will be at your house in the morning between 7-8am  Please let me know if this is good with you.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

We would like to retract the below complaint.  We were able to work out the issue directly with Lonestar and they have been very responsive to our concerns. 

 

Thank you for your help in this matter.



Regards,

**** ****

7/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a (DIY) kit from lone star pools in new braunfels tx. No problems with installers or sales crew. Installers did all piping and plumbing as per contract. Included in install was an automatic chlorinator,installed by lone star in the process of pressure testing the lines. No paperwork was given to the ****** household on this device. Device failed within 30 days of install, possibly due to chemical problems. No information was given to the ****** household on this peice of equipment, was informed by installers at end of install that (any typr of chlorine is ok) Contacted lone star corp about warranty, office staff were not helpful, insisting that papers were given to us but also that I installed the chlorinator and therefore it was my problem. To quote( you don't get pool school with a DIY) office staff falsely informed the pentair rep who contacted my about the item that we had mixed chemicals and that we had installed the item. Have no real problem with install however office staff seemed hostile, was promised a phone call by the owner 8 or 9 days ago. Have received to contact. This could have been resolved with a chlorinator body in the mail, cost between 60 and 75 dollarse

Desired Settlement: wish to have a working chlorinator with information about proper chemicals

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

"...with regard to a Chlorinator problem. I was contacted by Lone Star today and they have agreed to supply me with a replacement Chlorinator."

Regards,

***** ******