Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Anthony & Sylvan Pools

Phone: (830) 980-9003 Fax: (830) 980-9013 33010 Us Highway 281 N, Bulverde, TX 78163 http://www.anthonysylvan.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anthony & Sylvan Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Anthony & Sylvan Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Anthony & Sylvan Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1946 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated 07/09/1997 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Van Horn, General Manager - Texas Mr. Alan Walker , VP of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Van Horn, General Manager - Texas
Related Businesses
Anthony & Sylvan Pools
Business Category

Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Swimming Pools - Private Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Anthony & Sylvan Pools has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 33010 Us Highway 281 N

    Bulverde, TX 78163 (830) 980-9003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed an agreement with Anthony & Sylvan San Antonio to install a complete in-ground pool and spa beginning on March 3, 2014. They were completely paid the balance of $52,000 for the completed job on or before May 10, 2014. Since that time I have had a number of previous problems that were not completed or were improper installation, including a violation of the Fire Safety Code. I sent an e-mail request dated September 29, 2014 to ***** ******, Project Designer. This letter requested them to complete their problems and mistakes within 60 days of the date of the letter. As of the date of this complaint it has been four months since my letter was written and they have yet to complete the problems associate with their pool build. This is a copy of the letter I sent to them on September 29, 2014: On March 3, 2014, I entered into a contract for your company to design and build and in-ground pool and spa combination. You did a wonderful job of designing exactly what I was looking for at, what I felt was a reasonable price. The project was completed on or about May 1, 2014 and PAID IN FULL to the amount of $52,000. Since that time there have been numerous issues that I have attempted to get resolved, that at this point are still unresolved. Unfortunately, your product and service has not met my expectations, especially those in the contract and I am hoping for a final opportunity for you to resolve the problems. To resolve the problem, I would appreciate your company performing the following work to fix the broken or incomplete items listed below: 1. Our spa/hot tub has three jets that put out maybe HALF of what the others do. Various plumbers have been out to address this issue, however three jets remain with minimal water output at best. 2. A MASSIVE oversight was placing the water filtration system right next to the existing above ground propane tank. Placing an electrical outlet next to a propane tank, or vice versa, is against regulations (specifically the National Fire Protection Association 58: Standard for Liquefied Petroleum Gases) and we are unable to get our tank refilled until this is fixed. During our conversation prior to excavation you assured me that even though the home was located out of city limits, that licensed professionals were performing the installation and that codes would be met for safety reasons. This particular code violation has created a very expensive situation, yet to be resolved. The only reasonable options are to either move the tank into the middle of the yard (not a very attractive alternative) or to bury the tank so that it is the minimum 10 feet away from an ignition source. It is considerably more expensive to bury, but is a much more aesthetic choice, therefore I am willing to pay the additional cost of having it buried if Anthony & Sylvan will pay the minimum charge of moving the tank. I have enclosed copies of estimates from Blue Sky Propane for these options. This should have been addressed at the time of installation, but your company denies that it has EVER crossed this problem before. This issue should be the first one addressed if possible because it is nearing the colder season and we will be utilizing substantially more propane and will not be able to have our tank filled until the code is met. (Pictures of spacing and tank location enclosed). 3. The auto-fill line at the spigot is constantly leaking. It has been replaced twice and continues to leak even though no one touches or mishandles it. Please construct a sturdier design since two repairs in four months seems excessive. (Picture of leak enclosed). 4. The deck paint needs to be completed as well, since it was also only half done due to the dirt base debacle. 5. The exterior base of the pool and decking is going to have to be re-spackled, sealed, and painted. The project manager had used construction material and miscellaneous dirt pushed up against the outside of the pool, even though no mention of fill dirt was specified in the contract. The dirt was pushed all the way around exposed areas, and then painted and finished. This included an area for a bar on the exterior side of the pool. I had to rent a machine to remove the dirt so that the bar section could be utilized. Upon doing so, it became evident that the exterior of the pool was not finished below the "dirt" level that was placed around the pool. Now there is a concrete gray bottom and sand brown colored top base of the pool, spa, and decking. It was suggested that we split the cost to resolve this, however, it seems like this should have been a natural part of completing this project and should be rectified by Anthony & Sylvan. (Pictures of unfinished exterior enclosed). I took the liberty of excavating the remaining junk fill material that was pushed around the exterior of the pool, so that at a minimum that cost was not handled by Anthony & Sylvan, however in the enclosed photos you can see the materials that were in the fill dirt surrounding the pool and spa. To me this is not an acceptable solution, especially when you ask that I pay for half of the cost to "finish" the exterior of the pool so that it looks complete. 6. The copper grounding wires are exposed and hazardous to anyone who goes near them, due to the unfinished construction. It is my understanding that your company feels this was per an agreement about the "dirt" pushed up against the base of the pool, but there is nothing in the contract citing that dirt would be used on the exterior of the pool. In fact, section 8a of the contract specifically states the customer is responsible for any additional fill dirt required. I am requesting that the exposed wires be covered to the ground level so that the exterior of the pool appears complete and I may proceed with landscaping the area. 7. The conduit leading from the light in the deep end of the pool is continuously leaking, making a constant water source for biting insects and other nuisances. I am requesting that the area be fixed so that the leak does not continue. (Pictures of leak enclosed). 8. There is an overflow portion of concrete under the bar, pictured, that was promised to be removed, and has yet to be. Please remove this so that I may utilize the exterior bar portion of the pool per the contract. (Picture of the concrete portion enclosed). I know it may seem that I am an angry customer looking to get more from a company than originally promised. I am actually a customer that has paid in full for a service and product that was promised and agreed to in a contract and there are outstanding issues that were not finished satisfactorily. For me this was a large investment and an improvement to my home that should be displayed proudly. I feel like my attempts for resolution have been pushed aside and delayed in hopes they would disappear. I now hope that with the busy Summer season gone I may see some effort put towards resolving these problems so that I can recommend your company and its warranty and satisfaction policy without hesitation. I have spoken with you and e-mailed you in attempts to have these issues resolved and am now writing a more formal letter with pictures so you might see why I need assistance in resolving these problems. I do appreciate the attempts that have been made and the sealing process and coping rock replacement that your company has done to prevent erosion of the beautiful flagstone. I hope the remainder of the problems can be handled quickly to satisfy both parties. I will wait for a reasonable 60 days to have the problems resolved before seeking assistance from the ***** Consumer Protection division of the Attorney General's Office or the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: I simply want Anthony & Sylvan to finish the original job that they contracted with me to do. The job at which they were paid $52,000 to complete. A job that should not be almost a year out from the begin date. I want them to be responsible as a business and when a commitment is made to build and then warranty an item it should be their responsibility to do such.

Business Response:

Dana we are working directly with Mrs. ******** and did have a site visit with her on Monday January 26th to review remaining issues and we will bring closure to them.

 

****** *** ****

******* *******

Anthony Sylvan Pools

***** Region


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Anthony & Sylvan Pools
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart