Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Premier Pools & Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Premier Pools & Spas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Premier Pools & Spas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2013 Business started: 03/17/2010 in TX Business started locally: 04/01/2011 Business incorporated 03/17/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation Principal Premier Pools Incorporated

Business Management
Mr. Bill Unger, President Mr. Tom Israel, G M Ms. Yolanda Unger, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Israel, G M
Principal: Mr. Bill Unger, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
H2O By Design, LLC
Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • 23127 Ih 10 W Ste 201

    San Antonio, TX 78257 (210) 375-3333

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We entered into a contract with Premier Pools & Spas on March 2, 2013. To date, our project is not complete as we had identified problems with the condition of the grout and Kool Deck expansion grooves beginning June 2013. We were assured by the general manager, ***** *******, and foreman, ******* **** ****, that we would be provided a punch list of problems/issues to be fixed prior to our final payment. However, we had to pay the balance of the pool as per our contract, yet were never provided a punch list for all the unfinished problem areas. Beginning July 8, 2013 to today, we have sent numerous emails, photos, and texts to Mr. ****, Mr. *******, and Mr. **** ***** (***** of PPAS) requesting that these problem areas be addressed. Many times we were told a crew was coming out to our house, however, then we would be told their subcontractors were no longer working for them. We went to the PPAS office in *** ******* six times to question when our project was to be completed. Each visit, we were assured by Mr. ******* and Mr. **** that all issues would be resolved. Mr. ******* made one visit in October 2013 after we made several complaints about the unfinished work. He took many photos and, again, assured us the unfinished work would be completed to our satisfaction. It was during this visit that he informed us Mr. **** was fired. Two men were sent in October 2013 to look at the grout. They told us that it was obvious that the pool and decking were just not finished. They began to try to correct the grout problems, but after several hours they left and never returned. Nothing was completed as promised before winter set in, and in March 2014, we began our telephone and email contacts again to Mr. **** *****. We were advised by Mr. *****'s office that Mr. ******* was no longer with the company. A new general manager, *** ******, had taken over. Mr. ****** contacted us and made a visit. He took photos again of all the unfinished areas, and even called our attention to additional problems. Upon leaving our house, Mr. ****** assured us he would ensure that our pool project would be completed before the end of May 2014. As of today, May 19, 2014, only one issue has been addressed regarding a rock causing a rust stain in the Kool Deck--that problem was identified by us September 2013. The poor grouting job, to include crumbling grout, grout that has broken off, grout that has peeled, and grout that was applied sloppily and never cleaned, still plague us. We also have a defective LED light that was reported to PPAS in October 2013. It has not been replaced to date. From March 2, 2013 to today, we have had to be the ones to initiate all communication. PPAS does not return our calls. In conjunction with the unfinished pool problems, we are very concerned about our warranty. We feel that our 3-year warranty should not begin until all unfinished work is completed. We feel PPAS is not fulfilling their contractual obligation, even though we have as the buyer. If needed, we have all our communications to PPAS to include photos, texts, emails documented and will provide upon request.

Desired Settlement: We desire the completion of our pool project--to include the additional problems Mr. ****** reported--to our satisfaction, and that our 3-year warranty will begin after said completion to our satisfaction.

Business Response: The deck stain was a piece of aggregate in the concrete that caused a rust stain to appear on the surface of the spray-crete texture finish. This stone was removed, the hole was sealed, filled, and the deck touched up to match.

The light was replaced. 

The mortar will be addressed next week depending on Mr. ******* availability and weather. 

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were recently quoted from Premier for a pool. We signed the contract and gave our deposit on 3/5. Our HOA approved the plans last week which was the last thing to be done before construction started. Today the sales rep and new GM came to our house to tell them that they misquoted us and it would cost $10K more than we were quoted on the contract. Obviously I'm irritated because we don't have an extra $10,000 and we have now wasted weeks with these people whereas we could have gone with a different vendor.

Desired Settlement: Honor the price and plan that has been contracted.

Business Response: This complaint should be closed we  all came to a agreement

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pool from Premier Pools And Spas in May 0f 2013, it took them more than 4 months to build my original Pool and I've had structural issues from day one. Before the Pool ever filled it cracked and began leaking. The Pool company assured us that it wasn't structural but after several visits and thousands of gallons of lost water they finally got serious about the problem.......or so I thought. My pool was completed in mid-September and had to be drained for repairs in mid November. It's now Mid January and we've had absolutely no work done and the pool is still empty. I have reached out to the General Manager And even the Owner......Nothing has been done and I've basically been ignored. They've delayed doing anything to fix my pool so long I've been forced to file with the BBB and hire representation to help resolve this issue. This may be the worst pool company in San Antonio in terms of construction and I haven't even touched the surface as to how poor their customer service skills are. Regards, ******* **********

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is a completed pool that doesn't leak and performs as intended.

Business Response:

Premier Pools is in the process of the pool repairs as of 2/5/14. As Mr. ********** stated in his complaint, “the pool was leaking before it was filled”. This is impossible for this to happen because there was no water in the pool. However, Premier Pools discovered a leak after the pool was plastered and filled. In order to find out why a brand new pool was leaking, Premier Pools contracted Arias & Associates to do concrete core samples on the structure. I have attached their findings, they are above the minimum P.S.I. required. This means the only reason for the cracks is ground movement. I have also attached a copy of our contract with the paragraph underlined showing that Premier Pools is not responsible for the leak. However, Premier Pools has decided to fix the leaks in good faith, at no charge to Mr.**********.

Thank You,

***** *******

******* *******

Premier Pools & Spas

23127 I.H. 10 West Ste. 201

San Antonio Tx, 78257

###-###-#### Office

###-###-#### Mobil

###-###-#### Fax

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: First..... it's absolutly possible for something to leak when its not completely filled.......it means it started leaking before the pool was full. Second, His document from the company that did the core samples was finished on 11-27-2013! The date proves exactly what I've stated in my complaint that this company has put me off and ignored me as long as they could. By his own admission they didnt try to repair the pool until 2-5-14. It wasn't until after I filed this complaint and got an Attorney that they began to respond seriously to my requests. Finally.....Mr. ******* while a very nice man is not an engineer and thus has no Idea why the crack is in the pool. One thing Mr. ******* does know is that we have pictures of the pool daily from the begining of the dig thru plaster....those photos include pictures of our Gunite shell the day after it was poured with a crack in the exact location the pool was determined to be leaking from. In addition we also have pictures from the day of plaster when it cracked in the exact same spot as the gunite. The bottom line is....I want the pool fixed correctly. Its comical that Premier Pools is acting like they're doing me a favor, I paid them nearly 80 thousand dollars and the pool was broken from day one.

 
Regards,

******* **********