BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pool Concepts By Pete Ordaz Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated: 12/31/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Vicki Ordaz, Vice President Pete Ordaz, President Mr. Ryan Ordaz, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Ordaz, General Manager
Principal: Mrs. Vicki Ordaz, Vice President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • 12340 Bandera Rd Ste 104

    Helotes, TX 78023 (210) 695-5111

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to construction being complete I receive a letter from pool concepts stating they were “done with construction. I sent the following e-mail. To '****** *******'; '******@pool-concepts.com'; '******@pool-concepts.com Subject : Finish my pool!!! Sent: 9/17/2014 You must be crazy!!!!!  I just received a letter stating my pool is done....NO WAY!!!!   1) No Jets in the hot tub!!!!  Not a one!!! 2) One hot tub fixture jet needs to be completely re-done…it sticks out. 3) Rock falling off retaining wall 4) Pool lights are faulted out...will not work...after the rain the GFCI breaker will not reset 5) Pool intakes not complete...two left without covers 6) Plaster everywhere...all over the rocks...big pile left in neighbor’s yard 7) Fence still needs to be repaired...we asked for a little time to bring in sod...but it still needs to be repaired where it was cut and where a truck hit it 8) Water fall values in the back not enclosed in value box   We told *** and I though he was going to fix it…and now you send me a letter that your done!!!  No you are not done!!!!  Long way from it!!!   Nothing happened... After the first rain storm the following e-mail was sent with pictures of the poor quality materials “****** ,     Here is a list of issues we are currently having.  *** is aware and we hope to get these resolved next week.  I did want to let you know that I am disappointed in you personally.  You assured us Pool Concepts was highly reputable and did high quality work.  The results have been less than advertised.  Poor quality coping material, poor grouting and the inability to secure plumbing materials (hot tub jets and pool intake covers) are not indicative of high quality. The issues we are having aren’t being “picky” they are significant issues.     In addition to this the “pool school” person ***** was a No-show on both dates (2-no-shows).  The first date he did not show/call nothing.  The second date he called to say he was going to be 30-minutes late…then at 30-minutes since he had not arrive and based on his history we left for dinner.  I can’t take time off of work to supervise the completion of our pool and I can’t continue to come home to discover we are getting no closer to being complete.  We choose Pool Concepts because of your salesmanship…its turning out to be a regret.      *** has been very responsive but he needs the full support of your office/company to secure the labor and materials to complete this project. Again here are our concerns:   Hot tub jets not finished – Our pool was filled on the 6th…we still don’t have all the jets   Pool intake covers not finished Grouting disintegrating (see attached pictures)  Will need to be re-grouted Plaster over spray – no more pressure washing allowed on my property…it just causes more damage.  Plaster needs to be cleaned by hand Fence repair – both where it was cut and where the truck hit it…lets not do this half-way…lets make sure the fence guy does a good job the first time. We need the rest of our equipment…*** is going to do our class now that ***** will not show up on-time.    I am telling you honestly there is no way I can look my friends in the eye and recommend Pool Concepts.  The project started off great…and has become very tiring.  These last items are probably 8 hours maximum of work yet we can’t seem to get them done.  What went wrong?   Very Disappointed **** This spurred ***** to call. He was from Pool concepts and came out after seeing the pictures, introduced himself as the owner and promised to “make things right”. However nothing happened. Additionally I showed him where the crew had left the Time Warner Cable unburied and he said he would get a crew right out…nothing happened. The on Oct 11th, we had another rain storm. Sadly the substandard materials are continuing to fall apart with every rain storm. Its not a question of “if substandard materials were used” that proof is evident in the continuing disintegration with every rain storm. It’s a question of getting pool concepts to live up to the mis-leading reputation.

Desired Settlement: Completely replace all substandard materials. Rock should be replace with colored flag stone (not gray slabs) Complete re-grouting of all joints Complete removal of all excess plaster No further damage to landscape or pool structure. (No more pressure washers…they cause too much damage to the substandard material) Life time warranty extend to ALL PARTS of the pool such as rock, deck, grout, plaster and drainage since materials used were substandard

Business Response: In response to BBB complaint re: Customer **** ******

This pool project was started July 11, 2014. 56 days later, the swimming pool was plastered on September 4, 2014.  The pool started to fill soon after and was
full on Sept 6th.  The pool was started up on Monday, Sept. 8th, , the customer does not need to be present at the start-up, unfortunately customer thought that he needed to be there and ***** (our start up technician),  didn’t show up when customer thought he was going, because there was no actual appointment made and ***** was not aware that the customer was waiting for him.    At Pool Concepts, we have a certain procedure after a pool is plastered.  One week after our pools are plastered a letter is sent thanking our customer for purchasing their pool from us.  The intent of this letter is not to insinuate that we are completely done with the project.  Often times there are several small things that still need to be done to complete the project, although the customer is able to swim in the pool.  Customer sent an email stating that we have not completed his pool and was upset by this letter.  Multiple Pool Concepts staff members responded very quickly to address his problems and assure him that we agreed that there were still multiple items already in the process of being completed.     All of his issues were addressed with him before he filed this complaint and many were completed prior to his complaint.  The only two items that remained at the time the complaint was registered were the flaking stone, minimal grout separation and some plaster splatter.  Pool Concepts was under the impression that the customer took our recommendation and decided to wait until the first freeze, so that any stone that was going to flake would complete the flaking process that some natural stones go through after initial application.  At a time after the first freeze and thaw we recommended that we would at that time replace any stones he wanted to replace.  We have emails and texts confirming that he was ok to wait so that they could all be taken care of at once.  In talking to him since his complaint, he was under the impression that we would replace the stones now and then wait and replace any more that flaked later after it froze and thawed.  This is exactly what we decided to do.  We have been in contact with the customer since the complaint.  We agreed
that we misunderstood each other and that we were always planning on replacing any stones they deemed necessary, it was just when this was going to take place
that was misunderstood.  We had the customer hand pick the replacement stones and each and every one of the stones they wanted to replace we have since replaced. 
We have also cleaned up any plaster splatter and filled in grout cracks.  These were the only items left to do since his complaint.  We are finished with all of the work and I believe that the customer will agree that everything has been completed to their satisfaction at this time.  We feel that the flagstone and all of the equipment used on this and every Pool Concepts pool is and has always been of excellent quality.  We are very proud of the fact that we use the best available products.    We were so
proud of the pool that when a prospective client in the area wanted to see some of our pools with scuppers on a raised wall, like this project, we asked if we could show the pool right after the customer complaint was issued and before we completed any of the requested work.   The stones were marked by the customer with blue tape that he wanted to replace and when the prospective customer asked why the tape was there we said that we are replacing these flagstones at the customer’s request.  The prospective customer was very impressed with the quality of our pool and all material. We have emails and texts to show all of our correspondence with our customer throughout the construction process.  We will gladly produce any and all correspondence at your request.  Our customers at very important to us and
their complete satisfaction is always our top priority.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:



I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   As  soon as this complaint
was filed, Pool Concepts took action to ensure all work was completed. All three issues were addressed  - The substandard rocks that were falling apart were replaced, the grout that was cracking and separated was patched and most of the plaster splatter was removed.  We mutually agreed on a new construction completion date of Oct 29th, 2014 which will add two months to the one-year warranty. Additionally pool concepts has agreed to come back out within a year of construction completion to make any necessary repairs.      

Regards,

**** ******

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted Pool Concepts for build of pool, started off OK, so I thought, with a very over eager sale person who would not let me get a word in edgewise. Once contract signed and first exchange of money started, transaction seemed to go downhill from there. Throughout build there was extreme lack of communication, quotes for additional work were given after work had been performed, promises made on deliver and quality of product never happened, when I expressed displeasure of above qualityof customer service things became even worse. Lack of proper onsite supervision of build resulted in below standard of workmanship. Have made calls to question efficiency of pool equipment and extreme use of chemicals needed to maintain after following given instructions and have received no explanation outside of how much I will have to pay them if they have to come out and check. Recently called to inform that some of the rock work they performed has come undone, particularly on the steps, and instead of receiving a return call as to what was going to happen I received a letter in the mail the next day stating my pool was "one year old" explaining warranty information and before any repairs could be performed I would have to sign this letter. However, my pool is only 6 months old. I think it is very unfortunate that this is how Pool Concepts conducts themselves and handles their customer service. I have first hand knowledge that this is not how **** ***** established his company. Unfortunately, there are new hands at the helm that now obviously have other driving factors for the company. I can only assume Pool Concepts now only wishes to do business or communicate with me on paper instead of a courteous return call.

Desired Settlement: Have calls returned properly, repair of poor workmanship and have an explanation of inefficiency of product without having to sign a piece of paper that states "your pool is one year old" albeit only six months old.

Business Response: See attached business response.

[BBB converted the PDF attachment; thus, formatting irregularities may occur.]

ID:
*******

7-8-13

BBB
Corporate Office:

Sorry
for late response to this complaint as the envelope was put in the wrong box
here at our office. Pool Concepts started this pool on September 13, 2012 and
finished 74 days later on November 26, 2012. The day we started digging, it
rained 4 straight days and 2 of those days were very heavy down pours. Then it
proceeded to rain another 6 days throughout construction. One rainy day can
delay construction up to 3 days. Even at that time of year which is considered
our "off season" Pool Concepts was still very busy at that time. It
is hard to judge how our communication was during construction so it may have
not been up to our standards but the supervision was as best as we could have
done. Our supervisor was on site at least twice per week and probably just once
per week on those days where our guys were not working on site. Each one of our
crews have a supervisor so even though they are sub­contractors, there is still
supervision 100 percent of the time. In regards to customer writing:
"quotes for additional work were given after work had been
performed". Pool Concepts does not do additional work unless requested by
the customer. In this particular case, a "ball park" or guestimate if
you will was given and the actual bid came in a few hundred dollars more. In
the end we only charged for the original "ball park quote". So in
this instance we worked it out with the customer.

Customer
called in May 16th and the complaint was that they could not keep
the chlorine level consistent. A technician was sent out May 17 and found that
the cyanuric acid level was in range (35ppm) which helps protect and keep the
chlorine in the pool. Chlorine was at 4 which is high. pH was a high at 8.0. A
high pH level could cause chlorine to be inconsistent. The filter pressure and flow
to the chlorinator seemed to be ok. It should have been suggested to do a
backwash of the filter to increase flow to the chlorinator but our tech did not
communicate this with the customer which is our fault for not following up
completely with a full report. Pool Concepts at this time is willing to do a
complete filter clean and do a full chemical analysis at no charge to get the
chlorinator working properly.

On June 17th customer
called with the complaint that 2 stones had come loose from a step location and
from a retaining wall. The next day we sent a letter to the customer. This is
Pool Concepts policy before any work is done within one year of pool
completion. I have attached the letter for your records. The letter just
clarifies our warranties and states that we will do a courtesy repair within
the first year. Now it does say 1 year checkup because we typically do not do
crack or mortar repairs until one year after pool completion which gives the
cement and concrete products ample time to settle and expand and contract with
our rainy/drought like weather conditions. As most people know concrete is not
flexible and will crack at some point in time. (Just look at any sidewalk or
driveway). Pool Concepts has not denied service to the customer at any time and
we are willing to do whatever it takes within reason to make them happy. Pete
Ordaz is still very active in what happens here at Pool Concepts and is
informed about complaints but does not handle complaints due to health reasons.

In conclusion I would like to apologize to
the ******* family for the way they feel about Pool Concepts and I am confident
we will work things out. We are a family run business and think of our
customers as extended family. It is our goal to try to do things the right way
which is why we have such a good rating with BBB. In the future, after we work
this out, I encourage the ******* family to call and talk to me direct with any
issues or concerns they may have. I will return calls from now on in a timely
manner. We have already taken the proper action regarding lack of communication
from our staff. Also, at this time Pool Concepts will make the repair to loose
stones without customer having to sign anything. However, after this repair is
made, if there are any other issues with cement or grout, it is our policy to
have the letter signed and returned. Thank You!