Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Platinum Custom Pools

Phone: (210) 520-1200 Fax: (210) 509-7665 7515 Grissom Rd Ste 111, San Antonio, TX 78251 http://www.platinumcustompools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Platinum Custom Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Platinum Custom Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Platinum Custom Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Chetwood, President Mrs. Isabel Chetwood, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Isabel Chetwood, Vice President
Principal: Mr. John Chetwood, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Service & Repair Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Fireplaces Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Outdoor Kitchens Concrete Contractors Gazebos Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Deck Builder

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Platinum Custom Pools has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7515 Grissom Rd Ste 111

    San Antonio, TX 78251 (210) 520-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a house 7/2015 with a pool built by platinum custom pools in 2008. There are several cracks in the pool which are leaking. Our water bill is at $700 this month. I have a copy of the contract between previous owner and platinum custom pools with lifetime warranty stating:" platinum custom pools warrants its pools to be watertight for the life of the pool to the original owner and transferable to the new home buyer". Owner was contacted several times but never answered. finally owner was emailed and his response was "You are not under warranty. I will not respond to any other requests. Have a good day. "

Desired Settlement: I was just asking owner to come inspect the pool and tell us whats going on. if its something under warranty, he should take care of it.Owner continues to avoid other customers per google review.

Business Response: Mr. ***** ****** ****** called to Demand a warranty
service. 

Platinum Custom Pools did not build a pool for this owner. 

This is the first time he is ASKING for a pool inspection. 

Explained to Mr. ***** ****** ****** that two steps were required
for warranty transfer:

               1-Notify
Platinum Custom Pools Prior to purchase of house to fully inspect pool and
equipment.

               2-Account
must be paid in-full.

This pool is NOT UNDER WARRANTY.

The previous owner did not pay off total balances due.  Interests accrued along with this balance and
balance was finally written off.  Therefore
the contract is null and void.

In addition, the previous owners never notified us of any
issues or leaks since 2008.

Regarding the water bill:

-The pool has a negative water feature when in operation or
not this feature will displace water over pool wall.

-Many SAWS customers are also experiencing a huge increase
in their water bills.  Perhaps this could
be an underline issue to his water bill.

We would be happy to inspect the pool but if any related
work is needed it will be billed accordingly.


Please advise if you still have any questions or require
additional information.

****** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Platinum custom pools do not respond to their phone. They were called in May 2015, June 20th,21 and 22 prior to purchase of home for an inspection. They were again contacted in July, August and September with numerous left messages. Phone records prove those dates. I finally decided to email and thats when they responded saying they will not service the pool with a very rude and short email offering no explanation. Now that this has become a public affair, they have become more descriptive. Previous owner reports that entire balance was paid and will provide proof.
Regardless, I would like someone to look at the pool and fountain as well as spa.

Regards,

***** ******

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We've been having constant issues with completion of our pool. I have emails after emails that contain concern of non communication on behalf of Platinum Custom Pools. I sent the owner, **** ******** an email yesterday in regards to our pool not being complete by completion date and he has not responded. I texted him again today, no response. I then emailed him again today to notify him that he left me no choice but to file this complaint, still no response. Very un professional on his part. I had planned a pool party for my daughters birthday this weekend, invitations sent out, and now this. I'm left with this HUGE investment on the line. When you've invested over 100k, you expect delivery of work and communication. I am forced to find someone else to complete this project. I would not want this to happen to anyone else. This is why I'm filing this complaint. I've developed anxiety and lost sleep over this. This should have been an exciting and fun project. It has turned into a nightmare.

Desired Settlement: Business should have the responsibility to complete projects. Constant communication between business with its customers.

Business Response:

Attached photos and communication between Platinum Custom Pools and ******* ******

Mr. & Mrs. ****** are in breach of contract for going outside of our signed contract and completing the final step - Plaster - by others.

Mrs. ******’s project in Midland TX was well planned due to the area and distance located from our home base San Antonio.  Careful planning of work schedules, crews and materials from our vendors and local vendors were coordinated for this distant project.  Others companies would have taken way longer and charged more for the project her size.  See details regarding the communication and schedules around her construction. 

We did experience a rock terrain that was not expected for her area. And even though we were on an aggressive schedule we brought in additional equipment to progress thru the initial phases.

The only extended delay we experienced was due to not having the complete rock material order delivered from the rock quarry outside of the area and calls and messages were sent to her to inform of our work status. Platinum Custom Pools had all phases completed on Mrs. ******* ******’s project other than the final step, plaster.

From Excavation to steel and plumbing followed by gunite all was completed ahead of schedule.  See attached photos/video.

The masonry work took more time than other phases due to the artistic intercut workform and quality required for this phase.  This too was communicated to them on the onset. 

In order to make up for delays on rock delivery we had a local mason team team start on the flagstone work but they did not follow my work instructions.  Instead I scheduled my San Antonio team to take over the following week. The entire patio deck was completely flagstone, the masonry work included rock work to 3 tier custom fireplace, natural boulder waterfall and front and back slide rock walls.  The magnitude of rockwork was completed within a matter of weeks, including clean up after every phase.

The initial slide design pointed left into the pool but the entry would have given a smaller swim area to exit.  In efforts to allow for more swim space the slide was changed and this change order was made immediately to accommodate the ordering directly from the manufacture since it was not in stock.  Both Mr. & Mrs. ****** were very happy with our work and even referred two customers in their area.  Before we came to a close they added a wireless remote to complete their grand project with all the amenities.  We did not expect this type of feedback or complaint from them.  This leaves us to believe they were not intending to pay for the final phase as everything was completed as outlined in our construction contract until the final phase to set plaster.    

 

Attached is the communication where **** ******** did respond to ******* ******’s swimming pool project.  **** ******** attempted to reach out to Mrs. ****** via phone to discuss her project and come to a settlement for her choosing to scheduled plaster thru others,  but she denied contact.  ******* ****** instructed to stop calling her and clear remaining materials and belongings from her property.  **** ******** cleared all materials from her property on 8/12/15. 

 

Inclosing, our rating should not be penalized as we have gone above and beyond to satisfy our commitment to a quality and authentic customer service.   

 

Please advise if you still have any questions or require additional information.

****** ********

 

 

**** ********

Platinum Custom Pools
Office: (210) 520-1200
Cell: (210) 378-6673
www.platinumcustompools.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I can NOT believe the response from Platinum Custom Pools.  After reviewing previous complaints filed against this company, sounds just like them NOT take responsibility for anything.  I have attached emails, and have many more where those came from but was not allowed more files on this response.  I will try and attach the rest, if I can.

Yes, this company was hired to do our pool because they were about 6k lower than our local pool guys here in Midland, TX and because he assured me a six to eight week completion.  But what does this have to do with there lack of communication and professionalism?  Excavation was completed in ONE day!  Before Mr. ******** took on the project, he was well aware of rock terrain, my builder told him about it.  Please do not try and use this as an excuse.  I can very well get a signed letter from him to verify.  They mention project was being completed in a timely matter, it was not.  He was having trouble with his mason guys because they were NOT getting paid, not because I added a remote.  The slide, the slide was ordered incorrectly, I have emails showing that too.  The slide had been ordered weeks ahead of time and was never checked to see if it was the correct one, up until they were going to install it. 

Mr. ******** explains how he was moving quicker than maybe any other company, I beg to differ.  As a business owner myself, I know time is money.  The sooner you complete a project, the less you have to pay your hourly employees.  He tried to use this on my husband when we were told by Mr. ******** we would have to pay him an additional 6k for extra machinery he rented.  Why is that our problem?  So you rented an additional backhoe to your advantage and turn around and stick the charges on the customer?  How professional.  So guess what, Mr. Chetwood?  Your "cheaper" pool, with the additional 6k totaled our local pool experts.  I have another email showing a promised completion date of July 31st. Pool was not completed by that time, who's in breach now?  I refused to talk to Mr. ******** over the phone only after several failed attempts to locate him via email, phone and text messages.  Oh, and after the complaint was filed.  I wanted every word documented, this is why I suggested he no longer call me, but instead email me.  What kind of company asks for money before each phase?  That should of been a RED flag, but I trusted Mr. Chetwood. 

He could of very well taken my money and not completed any phase.  I guess you live, you learn.  Lesson learned on my behalf.  Before I forget, I had told Mr. ******** that my neighbor was needing a pool, I don't know how that's a recommendation.  After what I went through, my neighbor has since hired someone local.   

Regards,

******* ******

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When Platinum Custom Pools build my pool I noticed some cracks developing on the pool surface. I told Mr. ******** that I was concerned about the cracks because I had heard that pools would leak and the float to the surface. Mr. ******** told me not to worry that these hair line cracks were only on the surface. He also assured me that in all the years that he had been building pools not once had he had one of his pools leaked or floated to the surface. The cracks got bigger and Mr. ******** refused to repair them in anyway. I told Mr. ******** that when winter came the cracks would only get bigger because water would get inside and freeze which would expand the cracks. I also noticed that the pool was not even one year old and that it was coming out of the ground. Mr. ******** told me that the pool was not coming out of the ground and that had to understand that since they had build such a large hole the dirt was just settling and that it would do so for two or three years. He stated all I had to do was just put some dirt around pool and it would eventually settle. That made sense to me so I did not push the issue. I had several leaks before the pool was even one year old which fixed only after I complaint and got upset with him. All these issues happen before the pool was a year old. I left to Iraq 13 months and when I came back things had gotten worse but Mr. ******** only talked with me one time when he told me the pool was already over a year old and that all repairs would be billed to me. I e-mail Mr. ******** about two weeks ago and he has stopped e-mailing me back. My phone calls are not answered I am thinking of taking legal actions.

Desired Settlement: I have been told by several (four) that this pool was not designed or engineered right. It will cost me between $20,000 to $30,000 to correct the problem and there is no guarantee that I will not have issues in the future because of the pool was not that build by them.

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ****** service issue dated October 24, 2014, Mr. ****** has been advised that his pool is not under warranty due to uncontrollable Acts of God, including severe droughts causing the earth to shift therefore shifting his pool.  The pool was placed under pressure before we completed his project back in November 2007, proving there were no leaks.

See attached contract page 3 paragraph G – Warranty Platinum Custom Pools  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Mr ******** was told of the issues I am complaining about before the year was up. I have e-mail correspondence which have the dates on them and several other complaints.
 I am sure Mr. ******** knew what was happening and was just stalling for the year to be over. I say this because once the year was over Mr. ******** called me and informed me he would not be servicing our pool any more.
I had other pool companies look at the pictures that I took and they have pointed out there were a couple of things that should have been done that weren't done.  Why is it that my pool is the only one in this neighborhood
who has these issues. The pools are within a block of our home and they are not coming out of the ground.  Anyway, Mr. ******** call me telling me he was suing me for
defamation of character.  I am not lying just stating facts of correspondences between the two of us.

Regards,

**** ****** 

 

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Platinum Custom Pools was hired to complete a renovation on the swimming pool at *** ***** **********. According to the contract, all work should have been performed in accordance with standard industry practices, including APSP codes & in accordance with all applicable building codes. They failed to pull permits for any plumbing or electrical work. The electrical work was not completed up to code & left us in a situation where we were forced to hire another electric company. The pump room had to be re-wired (and inspected) which led us to believe that all/or part of the underground wiring was incorrect also. We had to cut into the new deck & the electric company had to bond the new lighting & stairs which then passed building codes. Attempt was made several times for Platinum to take care of this themselves, however, they would not respond........

Desired Settlement: Platinum Pools to reimburse us the cost of what we were forced to pay to bring his job up to code...

Business Response: I called **** ******** to discuss the concern. We are scheduled to meet tomorrow.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Platinum Custom Pools
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart