Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Platinum Custom Pools

Phone: (210) 520-1200 Fax: (210) 509-7665 7515 Grissom Rd Ste 111, San Antonio, TX 78251

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Platinum Custom Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Platinum Custom Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Platinum Custom Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Chetwood, President Mrs. Isabel Chetwood, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Isabel Chetwood, Vice President
Principal: Mr. John Chetwood, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Service & Repair Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Fireplaces Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Outdoor Kitchens Concrete Contractors Gazebos Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Deck Builder

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Platinum Custom Pools has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7515 Grissom Rd Ste 111

    San Antonio, TX 78251


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When Platinum Custom Pools build my pool I noticed some cracks developing on the pool surface. I told Mr. ******** that I was concerned about the cracks because I had heard that pools would leak and the float to the surface. Mr. ******** told me not to worry that these hair line cracks were only on the surface. He also assured me that in all the years that he had been building pools not once had he had one of his pools leaked or floated to the surface. The cracks got bigger and Mr. ******** refused to repair them in anyway. I told Mr. ******** that when winter came the cracks would only get bigger because water would get inside and freeze which would expand the cracks. I also noticed that the pool was not even one year old and that it was coming out of the ground. Mr. ******** told me that the pool was not coming out of the ground and that had to understand that since they had build such a large hole the dirt was just settling and that it would do so for two or three years. He stated all I had to do was just put some dirt around pool and it would eventually settle. That made sense to me so I did not push the issue. I had several leaks before the pool was even one year old which fixed only after I complaint and got upset with him. All these issues happen before the pool was a year old. I left to Iraq 13 months and when I came back things had gotten worse but Mr. ******** only talked with me one time when he told me the pool was already over a year old and that all repairs would be billed to me. I e-mail Mr. ******** about two weeks ago and he has stopped e-mailing me back. My phone calls are not answered I am thinking of taking legal actions.

Desired Settlement: I have been told by several (four) that this pool was not designed or engineered right. It will cost me between $20,000 to $30,000 to correct the problem and there is no guarantee that I will not have issues in the future because of the pool was not that build by them.

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ****** service issue dated October 24, 2014, Mr. ****** has been advised that his pool is not under warranty due to uncontrollable Acts of God, including severe droughts causing the earth to shift therefore shifting his pool.  The pool was placed under pressure before we completed his project back in November 2007, proving there were no leaks.

See attached contract page 3 paragraph G – Warranty Platinum Custom Pools  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Mr ******** was told of the issues I am complaining about before the year was up. I have e-mail correspondence which have the dates on them and several other complaints.
 I am sure Mr. ******** knew what was happening and was just stalling for the year to be over. I say this because once the year was over Mr. ******** called me and informed me he would not be servicing our pool any more.
I had other pool companies look at the pictures that I took and they have pointed out there were a couple of things that should have been done that weren't done.  Why is it that my pool is the only one in this neighborhood
who has these issues. The pools are within a block of our home and they are not coming out of the ground.  Anyway, Mr. ******** call me telling me he was suing me for
defamation of character.  I am not lying just stating facts of correspondences between the two of us.


**** ****** 


5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Platinum Custom Pools was hired to complete a renovation on the swimming pool at *** ***** **********. According to the contract, all work should have been performed in accordance with standard industry practices, including APSP codes & in accordance with all applicable building codes. They failed to pull permits for any plumbing or electrical work. The electrical work was not completed up to code & left us in a situation where we were forced to hire another electric company. The pump room had to be re-wired (and inspected) which led us to believe that all/or part of the underground wiring was incorrect also. We had to cut into the new deck & the electric company had to bond the new lighting & stairs which then passed building codes. Attempt was made several times for Platinum to take care of this themselves, however, they would not respond........

Desired Settlement: Platinum Pools to reimburse us the cost of what we were forced to pay to bring his job up to code...

Business Response: I called **** ******** to discuss the concern. We are scheduled to meet tomorrow.