Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Laden Pools, Inc

Phone: (210) 732-2521 Fax: (210) 732-9771 1234 W Olmos Dr, San Antonio, TX 78201 http://site.ladenpools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laden Pools, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laden Pools, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Laden Pools, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1968 Business started: 01/01/1953 in TX Business incorporated 05/06/1963 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Laden, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Laden, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Removal Swimming Pools - Maintenance

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • 1234 W Olmos Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 732-2521

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

Mr. *****,

As a reminder,
you refinished a pool for me, finally finishing late this summer (Aug 2013). As
I recall, I made complete payment for the pool to be refinished in May 2013,
and you did not finish until the beginning of Aug 2013.

As you will recall, when the pool's leaking area had not even been
patched, you began to plaster, without even fixing the pool (cracks had not
even been completely patched). When I insisted you fix the pool as contracted,
you eventually removed all the old and new plaster, and finally at a very later
date, the pool was re-plastered correctly.

Once we were
ready to plaster again, this time you placed the plug in the bottom of the
pool, that had been removed previously, only upon my noting that the plug
needed to be reinstalled. Had I not reminded you, you would not have
reinstalled this plug before the pool was plastered again properly.

Once the final and
correct plastering was completed, the pool was filled with water. However, the
top of the cracked line that required plugging at the drain, was not plugged
properly, and as a result, that broken line was filled with water. You only
plugged that line, once the pool was full, and obviously water leaked into this
broken line, and as a result, the high clay-concentration soil next to the
pool.

As you recall,
obviously, the resurfacing of this pool, from the time you started, until the
time you felt it was complete, mistake after mistake occured, exceedingly
contrary to the excellent reputation of ***** Pools. The reputation of *****
Pools was the only reason we did not seek other quotes, and never questioned
you pricing. I have come to regret that.

Since you last
inspected my property, as you would expect and know, there are still holes in
the fence that you made to get equipment in and out of our back yard, that
still need to be fixed. Additionally, an old full bag of concrete still needs
to be picked-up, and a trench you dug for the pool water auto level still needs
to filled-in, as does the area where you re drilled holes and replaced piping
for the pool's filtered return water.

In respect to the new piping you installed, this was we contracted
approx. $1500 dollars to fix the pools entire return water system, to include
all the piping to the pump. However, upon working these piping issues, you
independently noted and agreed that the piping to the pump was ok and all that
was needed was the installation of replacement piping immediately adjacent and
through the pool wall at a total of just $500.00. That leaves the $1,000.00
refund you agreed to that date.

To add insult to
injury, now this evening, I have noticed where all the area around where this
piping work was done, is now wet and my feet pretty much sink in the mud. In
this work too apparently, something in the replacement of the return lines
replaced, was not done properly and is/are leaking.

As you recall,
when we let the pool dry-out for a better portion of the summer (while you were
working higher value work in other communities), the pool had pretty much
achieved even keel. Now the pool is again cocked, and although the unplugged
line may have contributed (that is now plugged on both sides, under my request
now), the high volume return line is undoubtedly the primary culprit in cocking
the pool. This poor repair of this piping is inexcusable and had taken away
from all value of the repairs approximating the $8,000.00 you were paid by us.

Request you immediately:

-           
Remove the unused bag of cement

-Fill the trench you left from installing the Pool automatic water level
-Level the ground where the Filtered water return lines are that you
"fixed" with the pile of dirt you took from the area (that dirt is
now piled against the house) . -Fix the fence

-           
Return the
$1,000.00 refund you promised, from the repair of the return lines not costing
so much (not having to replace the lines all the way to the pumps).
-           
Fix where the water is not leaking, where the pipes were replaced by you.

Pis rectify all of the above at as soon as reasonably possible. I guess as with all of the
other mistakes throughout this whole evolution, I will need to personally
witness the repair of these pipes and pipe joints, where the current leaking is
obviously occurring. That will be more time off from work that I should not
have to take and I really don't appreciate that.

Please advise immediately as to you plan to immediately rectify this matter, by return
correspondence.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Thank you *********;  This is the first time I have received any thing from you that I know of about this.  I will call him tomorrow and set a time to go pick up the cement and fix the fence and ditch.  I have all the paper work that shows I never charged him for the new pipe and have told him that, but I will show it to him when we go.  Thanks for the update and I will be in touch.

**** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Needless to say, Mr. ***** was constantly reminded of the refund that we had coming, since he said he was not going to fix the rest of the water line, and he agreed. His very last words to me were, I will look at the paperwork to see how much I owe you, and send you a check. He readily admitted though-out the job, upon frequent reminders, that he owed us money, and he always expressed full agreement. Never in one of those times, did he offer that he did not specifically charge us for the pipe. I know I would never insult anybody by making such a ridiculous statement like that. The pipe couldn't be much more than $50.00, and he had initially valued that part of the work at $1500.00 for that aspect of the repair.

From another angle Mr. ***** may wish to sustain this ridiculous argument. It is true that Mr. ***** never charged us for the pipe, as piping in that part of his proposal was not separately priced. In negotiations, Mr. ***** agreed to do all listed in the proposal for $10K, as that is the amount we paid for on our cancelled check), and I want the refund he promised when he said he was not going to do the rest.

However, if Mr. ***** still does not want to do the pipework back to the filter, and wants to stick by the higher price he collected, and not honor his word to do everything for $10K, given the numbers on that quote, he owes us $325.00, as we have a cancelled check for $10k, that he had agreed to for all the work for that day we paid him. I would be happy to provide that check if you need it. Never at any time did we agree to a tip or gift of $325.00. The total of $10K was to do all the work as listed in the proposal.

 


I paid the $10K and took Mr. *****'s pledge to do all the work, for $10K, in respect of the reputation Mr. *****'s mother and father had built in ***** Pools. Had I known what the end result of his work now, would have never called him. However, seeing his Better Business Seal of Approval, I had no concern that the same reputable service was being accomplished by the *****'s son. Regardless of my difficulties with Mr. *****, but just given what Mr. ***** has written you giving his written word, vice what he has actually done since (nothing), I could not have been more wrong.

As to Mr. *****'s response, as detailed in your letter to me, Mr. ***** never contacted us, never picked up the concrete, filled in the ditch, or fixed the fence. Request you direct Mr. ***** to make this right, refund the money he did not earn, and again, require him to do what is expected of him, especially


when giving prior assurances to the customer, and especially after when the Better Business Bureau is involved.

Clearly he knew what I would tell you what he eventually did, once I received your letter. Would it be true that he did not care if-and-when you found out, that he did nothing to make this good? Please explain to Mr. *****, that is not how the Better Business Bureau considers things resolved.


Thank you, 


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

 Did Mr. ***** confirm with you that we had cleared up his complaints and even did some extra work for him after he broke a pipe while we were standing there.  So I just wondered if he was a quick to clear it up as he was to fill it.  Either way, just wanted you to know if was all done.  Thank you for your attention to this matter and thanks for working with all of us like you do to help resolve things.

**** *****