Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Keith Zars Pools

Phone: (210) 494-0800 Fax: (210) 496-6559 17427 San Pedro Ave, San Antonio, TX 78232 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Keith Zars Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Keith Zars Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1986 Business started: 05/24/1985 Business started locally: 05/24/1985 Business incorporated 03/29/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Keith Zars, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Zars, Partner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Keith Zars Pools Ltd
Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Keith Zars Pools has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17427 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 494-0800


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for pool repair/maintenance from Keith Zars since they built/installed our large pool in 2013. No complaints with service until this year beginning in the March/April timeframe. Their repair tech came out numerous times for the same unresolved problem. He would employ the basic repair procedure of backwashing the filter, and would say that everything was working fine. However, after 24 hours, the problem would return. My son called and spoke with ***** **** directly, and was told there was nothing that needed to be done. That the issue was the type of chemicals we were using. He was not helpful, and was a bit rude. After giving them two more attempts to rectify the problem, I was forced to find another pool service company, as we were not able to use the pool that we had Paid Zars over $100,000 for. On August 3, I had the owner of "* ******* ****" come to diagnose the pool problem. Within 5 minutes, he was able to find the roots of the problem that the Zars tech had spent several months being unable to resolve. On August 16th, I sent a claim letter to Zars asking for reimbursement for all the costs to "* ******* ****" plus the amounts that I had paid Zars for service visits that were of no use. The items that needed replaced should have been paid for under our yearly pre-paid service contract that was in effect until June 5, when we put our house up for sale. After that, we paid per visit. I sent Zars copies of all invoices with the 8/16 letter. After hearing no response, I called and spoke with the billing manager, *******. She advised me that she had received the claim letter and attachments and had given them to the Service Mgr. ****. She spoke with **** while I was on hold, and advised me that she needed to speak with ***** ****, who had just returned from out of town. I waited, and waited. No response. On 9/21, I called and left a voice mail message for ****, detailing the reason for my call. Still no response. I am seeking a total of $922.44 for my out of pocket expenses. I am not yet claiming a portion of the annual service contract that I paid for, but will include that if this matter has to proceed to small claims court.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $922.44

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

This complaint has been satisfactorily resolved by the Business.


**** ******

7/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: KEITH ZARS POOLS IS NOT HONORING THEIR WARRATY!! In the last few weeks, I have contacted Keith Zars Pools 5 times through their on-line service department portal and by phone to request help with my pool plaster. Despite numerous attempts to get help, no one from Keith Zars Pools has bothered to call me back. The defect with the pool plaster is not a new issue. During the first year of owning the pool I had to call the owner of the company on two separate occasions to complain because the service department would simply ignore my request for service. It was only after I spoke to Mr. Zars did the service department send out their technicians to address some minor issues. However, currently, they are ignoring the bigger problem with my plaster. I have voiced my concerns with the technicians that have come out for minor repairs that my plaster on my pool is defective and that I needed someone to address that for me. The technicians simply say that they will let the service department know and that someone will be calling me back. However, THEY DON'T!! I have tried calling and no one in the service department seems to care about my problem but simply say that they have no record of my inquiry. Even then, no one calls me back. The last service request I posted on their website informed them that I was fed up with the lack of communication from them and that if I did not hear from someone soon that I was going to hire an attorney to address this issue. It has been over a week now and no one has called me back. Consequently, I had no choice but to seek legal counsel. The response from the service department is always the same, “we never received your request for service” even though their website indicates that the request was submitted and that someone from their office will be calling me back to schedule a time to service my pool The plaster on my pool does not look like it is suppose. This is not a new issue, as a matter of fact, the company had to come out to drain and acid wash the pool during the first year because it changed color. There is definitely a defect with the plaster I choose as an upgrade and paid more for. I have kept the pool chemistry as required by the company but still continue to have this problem. I even paid extra to have the extended warranty to cover any major issues with my pool but that has been of little value to me given the companies lack of commitment. The company also assured me when I bought my pool that I had a 10 year warranty on the plaster upgrade. Unfortunately, that has not helped my situation at all.

Desired Settlement: I need Keith Zars Pools to honor their warranty and to address the pool plaster issue.

Business Response: I have been in touch with the customer and we are currently addressing his concerns on his pool.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I heard from the company but nothing has been resolved yet.  However, they appear to be working on it.  I will let you know once they resolve the issue.

Thanks for your help.
****** *******

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contracted with ***** **** to build a pool at my address. The pool was finished in excess of 4 months ago. I have called multiple times to ***** **** and requested them to return to my home to repair a gutter that they damaged during the process of building the pool. They performed an inadequate repair about 3 months ago and I reported this to them at the time the last check was given. I have also called them mutliple times to schedule the final inspection of the pool which they still have not completed. Every time I speak to a "supervisor" they have stated that they will send someone out to have it done but it still has yet to be completed.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to replace the gutter that they damaged in its entirety and schedule the final inspection of the pool in a timely manner.

Business Response: We have a gutter company scheduled to replace the gutter this week. I apologize for the delay.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** *******

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2009 ***** Zars Company contracted my pool and spa for residential use. At that time it was recommended by the establishment to install “******” very sophisticated automation system. Since 2009 automation system has been malfunctioning and spa failed to heat up to proper temperature. Numerous service calls regarding this issue were made and multiple visits from the maintenance department to address the issue, each following an invoice for services. The problems continued till March 2014, when one of the service employees informed me that: 1. Spa malfunction was an easy fixed – I should off been informed to contact CPS for an updated gas meter as the current meter wasn’t not set up to accommodate 4400btu of gas require for appropriate spa functioning. An very simple fix, however one that ultimately cost me money for the numerous visits and not mentioning the fact that I wasn’t able to fully enjoy my spa 2. “****** automation system” – at the same time I was also informed that “******” automation system is inappropriate for residential pool and should be primarily use for commercial pools. Based on my research that type of system is in a range of $6000. During that time I had independent pool company test the water, and was told that pool was unsafe for human use as the system was dispensing acid on hourly bases. 3. The maintenance personal was send to remove the automation system and correct pH and water quality I contacted ***** **** with my concerns and ask for either financial reimbursement, which was declined or replacement of automation system appropriate for residential pool free pool; at the same time I also inquired about separation tank which is a system use for backwashing a pool which prevents water wastage and prevents demolition of landscape during backwash process. I was not happy that this system was never offer to me at the first place. ***** Zars agreed to installed separation tank free of charge and was going to inquire about ways to compensate me for the ****** automation system. It has been a long and very frustrating several months of calls for service promised during our initial meeting. As of today despite my e-mails to ***** Zars the status of their service is as follow: 1. Automation system still not installed 2. There were 3 attempts to install the separation tank appropriately where water is being recycled back to the pull. Each time there was invoice created for the service, the last invoice claimed that technician spent 4 hours on the job correcting problems from a service call from a week before and finally installing the separation tank as it should have been done during an initial visit (~ April). Billing department send me an invoice and informed that they will be charging my credit card for services. In writing I advise them against this practice and warrantee that once ALL the work is completed I will be more than happy to pay by check. 3. Within couple of hours I received another call from billing department that they were able to access my credit card information and were proceeding with charges. 4. At that time I contacted Mr. ***** Zars with all my concerns as listed below: a. Automation system still not replaced – nor did I received reimbursement b. Technical knowledge of his service people is questionable c. Fraudulent charges against customer wishes d. Non-existing customer service e. Finally cancelling his pool cleaning service as a result of negative satisfaction with this corporation My e-mail remains unanswered.

Desired Settlement: Refund check for ****** system and replacement of appropriate automation system for my size and type of pool

Business Response: We thought we had a good relationship with the customer. The equipment had a 3 year warranty which expired on 5/28/2013.This work was preformed a year past the warranty date. It was our understanding that they wanted the ****** system removed. If they want it replaced we can do that . If they want a different type let us know and we will look into installing that.

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently purchased a home. The home had a pool installed by Keith Zars Pool. The home was being serviced weekly by Keith Zars Pool service.. The pool was covered by a warranty and the seller purchased extended the warranty for us (new buyer). The service provided by Keith Zars was not acceptable so we hired a new pool service provider. Immediately, he showed us an area in the pool was rusted with rebarb protruding out. This should have been addressed by the Keith Zars pool service that had been used for a year and up to a week before the new pool service was started. We have been calling Keith Zars to take care of this problem for over a month. They have records to show that the pool is covered by warranty, but still have not come over to assess and repair the damage to our pool.

Desired Settlement: I want the warranty to be honored by Keith Zars Pools and the pool repaired up to original standards.

Business Response: Customer was contacted and repairs are being made today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, representatives of Keith Zars did come out on 3 Sep and start repairs.  It is our hope that repairs will be finished by this weekend, and that resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Keith Zars Pools
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart