Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Keith Zars Pools

Phone: (210) 494-0800 Fax: (210) 496-6559 17427 San Pedro Ave, San Antonio, TX 78232 http://www.keithzarspools.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Keith Zars Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Keith Zars Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Keith Zars Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1986 Business started: 05/24/1985 in 0 Business started locally: 05/24/1985 Business incorporated 03/29/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Keith Zars, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Zars, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Keith Zars Pools, Ltd.
Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Keith Zars Pools has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17427 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 494-0800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contracted with ***** **** to build a pool at my address. The pool was finished in excess of 4 months ago. I have called multiple times to ***** **** and requested them to return to my home to repair a gutter that they damaged during the process of building the pool. They performed an inadequate repair about 3 months ago and I reported this to them at the time the last check was given. I have also called them mutliple times to schedule the final inspection of the pool which they still have not completed. Every time I speak to a "supervisor" they have stated that they will send someone out to have it done but it still has yet to be completed.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to replace the gutter that they damaged in its entirety and schedule the final inspection of the pool in a timely manner.

Business Response: We have a gutter company scheduled to replace the gutter this week. I apologize for the delay.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2009 ***** Zars Company contracted my pool and spa for residential use. At that time it was recommended by the establishment to install “******” very sophisticated automation system. Since 2009 automation system has been malfunctioning and spa failed to heat up to proper temperature. Numerous service calls regarding this issue were made and multiple visits from the maintenance department to address the issue, each following an invoice for services. The problems continued till March 2014, when one of the service employees informed me that: 1. Spa malfunction was an easy fixed – I should off been informed to contact CPS for an updated gas meter as the current meter wasn’t not set up to accommodate 4400btu of gas require for appropriate spa functioning. An very simple fix, however one that ultimately cost me money for the numerous visits and not mentioning the fact that I wasn’t able to fully enjoy my spa 2. “****** automation system” – at the same time I was also informed that “******” automation system is inappropriate for residential pool and should be primarily use for commercial pools. Based on my research that type of system is in a range of $6000. During that time I had independent pool company test the water, and was told that pool was unsafe for human use as the system was dispensing acid on hourly bases. 3. The maintenance personal was send to remove the automation system and correct pH and water quality I contacted ***** **** with my concerns and ask for either financial reimbursement, which was declined or replacement of automation system appropriate for residential pool free pool; at the same time I also inquired about separation tank which is a system use for backwashing a pool which prevents water wastage and prevents demolition of landscape during backwash process. I was not happy that this system was never offer to me at the first place. ***** Zars agreed to installed separation tank free of charge and was going to inquire about ways to compensate me for the ****** automation system. It has been a long and very frustrating several months of calls for service promised during our initial meeting. As of today despite my e-mails to ***** Zars the status of their service is as follow: 1. Automation system still not installed 2. There were 3 attempts to install the separation tank appropriately where water is being recycled back to the pull. Each time there was invoice created for the service, the last invoice claimed that technician spent 4 hours on the job correcting problems from a service call from a week before and finally installing the separation tank as it should have been done during an initial visit (~ April). Billing department send me an invoice and informed that they will be charging my credit card for services. In writing I advise them against this practice and warrantee that once ALL the work is completed I will be more than happy to pay by check. 3. Within couple of hours I received another call from billing department that they were able to access my credit card information and were proceeding with charges. 4. At that time I contacted Mr. ***** Zars with all my concerns as listed below: a. Automation system still not replaced – nor did I received reimbursement b. Technical knowledge of his service people is questionable c. Fraudulent charges against customer wishes d. Non-existing customer service e. Finally cancelling his pool cleaning service as a result of negative satisfaction with this corporation My e-mail remains unanswered.

Desired Settlement: Refund check for ****** system and replacement of appropriate automation system for my size and type of pool

Business Response: We thought we had a good relationship with the customer. The equipment had a 3 year warranty which expired on 5/28/2013.This work was preformed a year past the warranty date. It was our understanding that they wanted the ****** system removed. If they want it replaced we can do that . If they want a different type let us know and we will look into installing that.

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently purchased a home. The home had a pool installed by Keith Zars Pool. The home was being serviced weekly by Keith Zars Pool service.. The pool was covered by a warranty and the seller purchased extended the warranty for us (new buyer). The service provided by Keith Zars was not acceptable so we hired a new pool service provider. Immediately, he showed us an area in the pool was rusted with rebarb protruding out. This should have been addressed by the Keith Zars pool service that had been used for a year and up to a week before the new pool service was started. We have been calling Keith Zars to take care of this problem for over a month. They have records to show that the pool is covered by warranty, but still have not come over to assess and repair the damage to our pool.

Desired Settlement: I want the warranty to be honored by Keith Zars Pools and the pool repaired up to original standards.

Business Response: Customer was contacted and repairs are being made today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, representatives of Keith Zars did come out on 3 Sep and start repairs.  It is our hope that repairs will be finished by this weekend, and that resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

7/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Keith Zars Pools was contracted to provide an in ground pool at my home residence. All process and financials were completed to start the project by March 27 and work was supposed to begin by April 17. The work has been continuously delayed and ***** **** has failed to address the issue. The work did not begin until May 23 and continues to have entire weeks without any services provided due to a lack of available resources from ***** ****. Upper management has been notified and not responded to any of the complaints. ***** **** now estimates the job will complete in mid July, 2.5 months behind schedule. Each time I complain, the only response I get from sales representatives and construction managers is that, it's simply the way it is and the schedule will not change. No direct reasons for the delays have been provided. Upper management has failed to get involved to assist with the issue and each week the job falls further and further behind with ***** **** accepting no responsibility for the inability to deliver or lack of customer service.

Desired Settlement: ***** **** should immediately address the issue to have the job completed with full quality and warranty by June 30. If they cannot then they should be responsible for refunding portions of the construction bill.

Business Response: ****** *****'s pool project is schedule to take 5 1/2 weeks construction time. This project started 5-23-2013. The estimated completion date is July 3, weather permitting.We are sorry for the initial delay.