BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Gary Pools Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 341-5153 Fax: (210) 494-5351 View Additional Phone Numbers 13800 San Pedro, San Antonio, TX 78232 http://www.garypools.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gary Pools Inc include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gary Pools Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gary Pools Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 05/01/1954 Business started locally: 05/01/1954 Business incorporated: 12/28/1961 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leif Zars, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leif Zars, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Lawn & Garden Pond Dealers & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Gary Management Services Inc. Gary Pools Design Center Inc
Business Management

Mr. Leif Zars is the President of Gary Pools Inc. and is not affiliated with Gary's Pools and Patios which is owned by Mr. Gary Zars. A separate BBB report on that business is available at: http://www.bbb.org/central-texas/business-reviews/patio-equipment-and-supplies/garys-pool-and-patio-in-san-antonio-tx-90022444?gid=1&gen=1&lid=1.

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13800 San Pedro

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 341-3333 (800) 966-9605 (210) 494-4141

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    438 Sandau Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 341-5153

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 341-3333(Phone)
  • (210) 494-4141(Phone)
  • (800) 966-9605(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the process of purchasing a new hot water heater for installation, we were informed that our permit could not be issued or finalized due to the 'open' expired pool permit dating back 19 years. All permits are closed once the contractor initiates and passes the final inspection. After investigating with the City of ******, we discovered the reason the permit was never closed, was that the pool FAILED electrical inspection during construction. Gary Pools NEVER initiated the necessary electrical re-inspection or the FINAL pool inspections, which were and still are STANDARD requirements for all pool construction in the City of ******. Upon discovery of the expired permit issue, we emailed and telephoned Gary Pools customer service. I was told they needed to speak to the owner about this since it was a special situation. We telephoned again a day or two later, and was told 'we would be receiving a letter shortly'. We did receive this letter on 2/14/2013 which did NOT address any of our questions, and provided us with a bunch of mundane details about the 'process' with the City of ******, hours, etc. (I had already obtained all of this myself BEFORE contacting Gary Pools a week earlier!). Basically Gary Pools dumped the ball back into our court to handle and pay for their failure to pass standard required inspections. I emailed Gary Pools again after receiving their letter, but was referred again to 'the process statement in their letter of 2/14/2013'. After two full months or longer, we have now completed all work directly related to getting this 'expired' pool permit passed. However, we are still waiting final inspection. The additional costs of this work are: Permit fees $300 see receipt electrical repairs needed $ 973 see invoice repair of gas line to pool heater $1,815 see invoice (per plumber, line was laid 5" too shallow , and the piping was in short pieces instead of one long piece - photos available) TOTAL costs of expired permit $3,088 I am happy to provide all receipts, photos, and evidence of failed inspections should you require. We look forward to your assistance in working with Gary Pools to reimburse our costs for closing the expired pool permits which should have been done routinely as part of the STANDARD pool construction when it was built.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all additional costs incurred as per above.

Business Response: Dear *** ****:

As I discussed with you on July 12, 2013 apparently your original email regarding this complaint was misdirected and was not received by Gary Pools in a timely
fashion. I indicated that I would be out of town for approximately a week and would respond shortly thereafter. Accordingly my response is as follows:

We became aware of the ******* permit problem sometime in the month of February 2013 and responded accordingly with our letter dated February 14, 2013 by **** *****.(copy
attached)

Additional information regarding this matter would be as follows. 1. Gary Pools sub contracted the electrical work at the ******* residence to ***** ******** ******* in accordance with the attached invoice. 2. ***** ******** ******* in order to pull the required electrical permit with the City of ****** had to be a certified and bona fide electric contractor meeting all such requirements. 3. Data downloaded from the City of ****** website indicating the electric inspection failed does not show a date or cause, see copy attached (We had no knowledge of the failure prior to Mr. ******* response in February). 4. Also see copy of the section of the swimming pool construction agreement between Gary Pools and the ******* indicating "Owner's existing electric services must meet applicable codes and if not it is OWNER'S responsibility and expense
to upgrade the service to meet codes" as attached. 5. And to cap this entire matter, ***** ******** ******* is no longer in business and therefore unresponsive.

It appears that the information our Mr. ***** gave ***. ***** is still applicable and should provide relief to their requirements.

As a broader understanding of our position, the City of ****** recognized ***** ******** ******* as a bona fide electrical Contractor. We hired and paid a bona fide electrical contractor to do the work and it would seem to us that if this electrical contractor performed substandard work and is no longer available to correct same, the City of ****** in all likelihood should have some type of performance bond for that eventuality. It would appear that this is completely beyond the scope of Gary Pools responsibility.

Most Sincerely,

**** ****


Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Please see attached.

Regards,

**** * ******** *****

Re: **** * ******** ***** BBB Complaint ID #*******

I apologize for the delay in responding to the company's later, but as mentioned in my email I never received this the first time it was posted.
The ernails in the attached file "Feb 2013 Emails Gary Pools", explain that Mr. ******* letter did not address my request for copies of the passed permits, but instead explained how I should contact the City of ******
(obviously I already had done this which was noted in my email 3). You will see that I was asking for copies of the final pool permit and final electrical permits (showing they passed inspection) from Gary Pools (see email 6). I could not believe that they would issue us the final warranty on the pool (which they did) without ensuring that all contractors passed basic inspections and that the final pool permit was issued after construction was completed. Unfortunately, I was wrong.

You will also see from attached file "Permit Notices Gary Pools" that Gary Pools never even obtained the initial permit in December 1993 to build the pool until a warning notice was put up on January 13, 1994 demanding that they stop construction until obtaining the construction permit.
I will also address the points in Gary Pools letter, one by one.

1.     We contracted with Gary Pools, not their subcontractors. That was Gary pools responsibility — to ensure their subcontractors were obtaining the required inspections by City of ******.

2.     This is not relevant to us, but is to Gary Pools who should have ensured their contractor requested the relevant permit. This is What we paid Gary Pools for. We never knew who the electric company was until this response from them dated 7/24/13.

3.     We don't understand or believe that Gary Pools, who are in the business of constructing pools for many years and on a regular basis, could have no knowledge that a pool they are constructing, is not meeting the required city of ****** standards, ie. to pass all inspections. This must have been a requirement for every pool they built. Please see attached file "City Permit Statuses Gary 
Pools", which do show that they initiated and passed permits for both building layout and plumbing, and should have done the same for the electrical phase of construction.

4.      In "swimming pool construction agreement between Gary Pools and ourselves, it refers to the "OWNERS existing electric services must meet. ...". Our existing electric is that of our home, NOT the pool construction. The electric portion of the pool construction we contracted Gary Pools to do was noted as FAILED by the City of ******. See attached file "Home Permit" for our HOME construction that shows our home passed all Final inspections at closing right before the pool construction began on or about Dec 8th, 1993 aproximately 1-2 weeks later.

5.  It is not our problem that the Electric company is out of business. Our contract was with
Gary Pools.

Thank you in advance for helping us to resolve this matter without pursing legal action.

Sincerely,

**** * ******** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .******** , and find that Mediation is necessary.

Regards,

**** * ******** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was settled through BBB mediation

10/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a HAPPY Gary Pool customer until today, Weds., 08/21/2013. I have a 12,500 gal. in ground Gary Pool installed 01/1986. I ALWAYS used Gary Pools for all my service needs (3 pump motors, 2 pumps, misc. work) these past 27 years, both when Gary was in Austin and now that Gary is in San Antonio. My last major work was done 10/2007 for $459.88 for installation of a new pump motor. I was NEVER charged a "Service Repair Transport (One Way)" fee before. Today I was charged $119.33 for this fee. I only required a toggle switch for my 2-speed pump motor. The TOTAL bill was for $256.57. The last time I had Gary install a new toggle switch in 06/2005 the ENTIRE cost was $88.67. Sure I expected my bill to be higher this time but a $119.33 Transport fee? What gives? Besides the two man Gary crew was here in Austin for other service. I WAS NEVER TOLD ABOUT THIS CHARGE WHEN I SCHEDULED THE WORK. I was not expecting it since I never got charged for this in the past.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the for the $119.33 "Transport Fee" which WAS NEVER TOLD TO ME when I scheduled the service. Otherwise I would have used a local, Austin pool service company!

Business Response:

October
9, 2013

BETTER
BUSINESS BUREAU

Attn:
**** ****

**** ** ****** ***** ******* ***** *****

RE: ****** ***** ******

Dear *** ****:

In
response to your email dated October 9, 2013 regarding the complaint filed by
****** ******, please see our communications to *** ****** dated August 23,
2013 which clearly represents the re-verified facts regarding this case (we
re-confirmed this understanding with ***** ****** who originally took the call
and discussed the transportation charges with *** ****** before we sent the
technician to Austin). None the less we are willing to split this
transportation cost in half crediting his account in the amount of $57.67 as a
gesture of goodwill, if this would be satisfactory.

Most Sincerely,



**** ****








**** ****** **** *** ****** **** *** ******** ***** ***** ************








From:                     "****** ******* **********************>

Subject:                 RE:
Gary Pools

Date:                      Fri, August 23, 2013 10:58 pm

To:                         "***** *****"
<********************>

*****,

I was never told of this transportation fee when setting
up my

service call. I was told only that she would call the person coming to

Austin that day and see if! could be fit into their schedule. She called

me back and said that I could be fit into their schedule.

Here is what I also sent to Gary Pools yesterday via Gary
Pool's

website:

I have been a HAPPY Gary Pool customer until
today. I have a 12,500 gal, in

ground Gary Pool installed 01/1986. I ALWAYS
used Gary Pools for all my

service needs (3 pump motors, 2 pumps, misc,
work) these past 27 years, both

when Gary was in Austin and now that Gary is
in San Antonio. My last major

work was done 10/2007 for $459.88 for
installation of a new pump motor. I

was NEVER charged a "Service Repair
Transport (One Way)" fee before. Today

I was charged $119.33 for this fee. I only
required a toggle switch for my

2-speed pump motor. The TOTAL bill was for
$256.57. The last time I had

Gary install a new toggle switch in 06/2005
the ENTIRE cost was $88.67.

Sure I expected my bill to be higher this
time but a $119.33 Transport fee?

What gives? Besides the two man Gary crew was
here in Austin for other

service. Did all customers receive this
charge? I WAS NEVER TOLD ABOUT

THIS CHARGE WHEN I SCHEDULED THE WORK. I was
not expecting it since I never

got charged for this in the past. I am very
upset and will not use Gary for

any future work unless I get compensation for
this ridiculous charge!!! I I

am considering calling the BBB.

Regards,

**

---- Original
Message-------

From: ***** ***** [mailto*********************

Sent: Friday, August 23, 2013 10:15 AM

To: *******************

Subject: Gary Pools

Dear *** ******,

I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your experience. I
have spoken

with the service writer that took your call and she clearly remembers

talking with you and setting up your service call. She did in fact tell you

about the service transportation fee and that it would be less because we

were going to be in Austin already. You were charged for one half of what it

would have been had you been the only call in Austin.

The other
customer was charged the other half. This has been our policy for

several years now and will not be changing and we do inform customers of

this fee when we schedule service calls.







Sincerely,

***** *****

Gary Pools Service Department

************* ********************

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******


I am rejecting this response because:

Gary Pools keeps stating I was told about this transportation fee.  I was not.

Also, I do NOT have an account with Gary Pools.  I want a CHECK for the full amount

of $119.33.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1