BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cody Pools Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cody Pools Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cody Pools Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 16, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1994 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 10/28/2003 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Church, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Church, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
Tips for avoiding a pool construction nightmare

Additional Locations

  • 12307 W Highway 71

    Bee Cave, TX 78738 (512) 835-6541

  • 19422 Us Highway 281 N Ste 101

    San Antonio, TX 78258 (210) 249-9129

  • 21195 Ih 10 W Ste 2106

    San Antonio, TX 78257

  • 2300 W Parmer Ln

    Austin, TX 78727 (512) 835-4966

  • 5115 S Interstate 35

    Georgetown, TX 78626 (512) 948-0036 (254) 680-2639

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (254) 680-2639(Phone)
  • (512) 948-0036(Phone)
  • (877) 474-7665(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cody Pools provided unprofessional service and an inferior product and when asked to provide appropriate service and a quality product before final payment stated a mechanical lien would be placed on our home if final payment was not made. Final payment was made while I (**** ******) was heavily medicated. I did not write the final check, as I was unable to, the superintendent wrote the check and then I signed it, my husband was not there. Stop payment was placed on final check, because I was on heavy medication when it was written and would not have done so in a normal state of mind because issues were still unresolved (cracked gunite, I was told I would get an e-mail from the superintendent that it was not an issue and the superintendent stated final payment would not be expected until we were happy with that and any other issue we may have - this was stated a few days earlier and my husband was part of the discussion). The next day after signing the check, I had e-mailed the superintendent (***) asking what was discussed when he wrote the check because I couldn't remember the discussion. Since I had mistakenly signed it my husband and I had hoped for the best, but as with most steps in this process, that is not what we received (see below). The final check was stopped, and the superintendent immediately notified that I had taken this action, when it became clear the company did not have plans to provide us with what we paid for or provide quality workmanship or correct safety issues. The following is a quick list of what occurred: Deficiencies include, orange fencing never put in place, fence left open/unsecure by workers, rusty steel used; pool equipment located in wrong location, designer (****) never on site, but he had stated when trying to close the deal that he would work closely with superintendent throughout process to ensure the homeowners were happy with end result, wooden deck damage by bobcat driver and homeowners never notified, crack gunite (3 locations), stained peppletec post 1 day, stained spa floor post 2 days, missing equipment, oil stain on coping/concrete, nonworking equipment, poor quality workmanship, damaged retaining wall, line of rust coming from spa light 2-days post water fill up, construction debris left in yard for homeowner to clean up. Self-cleaning system does not adequately clean all areas of the pool. Excess qunite on exterior wall, missing brown coat, numerous rusty wires (safety issue) sticking out of back of bubbler wall. Spillways do not work as stated, they do not spill water, they spit water and bubblers (design feature) splash water on and over the coping company unwilling to resolve issue, company was notified but did not respond, missing safety grip in deep end (safety issue), missing spa/pool control, missing umbrella stand, control panel does not work as should, spouse verbally abused and insulted by subcontractor, workers' children brought to work site on at least two occasions (homeowner informed superintendent first time aware and stated children were not welcomed on property), stain in pebbletec 1-day post application, paint/spots on coping, sloppy tile job, exposed cable lines cut homeowners not notified, gas personnel needed access to lock garage left the garage door open/unsecure and left without notifying homeowner to close/lock door, plumbers cut exposed sprinkler pipes, decking has cracks appearing, grout applied separate days do not match in color. Worker lunch/snack trash left repeatedly in yard that homeowners needed to pick up daily, design of deep end creates safety issue for small pets and children asked company for remedy but they did not respond -- the design issue were caused by the yard grading and the homeowner was not aware until gunite was sprayed at which time the company was notified of the design flaw.

Desired Settlement: Finish the Job Correctly.

Business Response: We would like to dispute the allegations in this complaint. We are actively working with Mr. and Mrs. ****** on resolving the few remaining concerns that they have with their swimming pool. We have reached out to them, and gotten no response, regarding the final payment that they still owe in the amount $6,539.90.

The Contract between ****** and **** ****** and Cody Pools states that “Final payment must be made at Pre-Plaster Stage”. On Tuesday, August 27, 2013 the Cody Pools Superintendent emailed Mr. ****** asking if he could stop by and collect the final payment on the contract, as the pool was to be plastered the next day. Mrs. ****** responded that she was home. Later that day the Superintendent went to the residence where Mrs. ****** asked him come in and after some small talk about their dogs she asked him to write out the $6,539.90 check and she would
sign it.

After the pool had already been plastered the ******* contacted the Superintendent letting him know that they were putting a “stop payment” on the check as Mrs. ****** was under the influence of medication when the check was written and that they have a few concerns about the swimming pool.

At no point during the time when the check was being written or during the entire construction process did the ******** mention anything about Mrs. ****** being under the influence of medication.

The Cody Pools Superintendent had addressed all concerns that were brought to his attention pre-plaster and the concerns that were being brought to his attention after the stop payment was made were new concerns. He plaster date had actually been moved twice to assure that the concerns had been addressed.

Since Saturday, August 31, 2013 the Superintendent has had contact with the ******* in attempted go by their residence to resolve the emaining concerns, however, they will not allow him access to the pool area and the gates have been locked on the few occasions that they have said he would have access.

The list of allegations that were submitted with this complaint are listed below followed by the corrective measure that was taken. We have been in contact with Mrs. ****** and the 6 remaining concerns are going to be addressed by one of our technicians on Wednesday, September 18, 2013 (5 of which are included in the allegations and 1 has been brought to our attention since then).

1.  orange fencing never put in place – Orange fence was not installed due to the original fence panel was put back up and secured with wire to hold it in place. The orange fence would not keep their dogs in the back yard and Mr. ****** had built a fence across part of the back yard for the dogs before construction had started.

2.  rusty steel used – A certain amount of rust is normal on steel rebar and the steel used meets the industry standards and will not cause an issue.

3.  pool equipment located in wrong location – The ******* added a spa to the design after the pool had already layed out. This addition resulted in the size of the equipment pad to have to be doubled to allow for the additional equipment that would be needed. Due to safety code and compliance the larger equipment pad could not be located where it was originally intended to be. The Cody Pools Designer and Mrs. ****** went over the new options for placement. After checking the codes, the Superintendent met with the *******, painted out the area where the pad would be located and discussed that they would be putting a fence around the equipment.  

4.  wooden deck damage by bobcat driver and homeowners never notified – When the pool was being excavated the excavator hit a corner of the wood deck and splintered an areas about six inches long by about a half inch wide. The access was extremely tight and the entry into the pool was right next to the deck with not much room to spare. With the new deck up against the wooden deck it is not incredibly noticeable. We would not have been able to match the stain of we tried to repair it and it would have looked worse. In regards to the homeowner not being notified, there was no time to report it to her, as she had already emailed the designer of the incident the same day it had occurred. The contract between ****** and **** ****** and Cody Pools also states “Contractor is not responsible for damages to improvements and appurtenances located in or reasonably adjacent to the access route or the pools site including, but not limited to, such items as curbs, sidewalks, driveways, patios, lawns, trees, shrubs and sprinkler systems.”

5.  crack gunite – The cracks in the surface were normal and caused by the weight of the wet gunite shot on top at the end and they were surface cracks only and did not go all the way through. When this was conveyed to Mrs. ****** by the Superintendent as well as the representative from the gunite company who met with to assess the areas of concerns.

6.  stained peppletec post 1 day and stained spa floor post – The discoloration in the plaster was caused when the pool was being acid washed. Mrs. ****** brought this to the Superintendent’s attention when the pool was filling, he let her know that this was common and the plaster
company came out when the pool was finished filling and removed the discoloration.

7.  missing equipment – The ******** believed that they were missing their wireless controller, however, the wireless controller is not brought to the customer until the time of Pool School. Mr. ****** received the controller at Pool School on Wednesday, September 11, 2013

8.  oil stain on coping/concrete and paint/spots on coping –This is plaster residue that was not completely cleaned up by the plaster company. The Superintendent has attempted to gain access to access, but has not been allowed access. This will be cleaned by the technician on Wednesday, September 18, 2013.

9.  nonworking equipment, self-cleaning system does not adequately clean all areas of the pool and control panel does not work as should – When the technician went out to start up the pool the run time for the infloor system had not been set due to the pool not being full. At the time
of Turn Over and Pool School all systems had been turned on and were working properly.

10. damaged retaining wall – The Superintendent has attempted to gain access to access, but has not been allowed access. Then the technician
there on Wednesday, September 18, 2013 he will assess and the appropriate action will be taken at that time.

11. line of rust coming from spa light 2-days post water fill up - This will be removed by the technician on Wednesday, September 18, 2013.

12. excess qunite on exterior wall and missing brown coat – The excess gunite has been chipped out and the entire area has been re-brown
coated to the grass line.

13. numerous rusty wires (safety issue) sticking out of back of bubbler wall – The wires have been cute to industry standards and are not a
safety issue. They will be cut shorter by the technician when he is there on Wednesday, September 18, 2013

14. Spillways do not work as stated, they do not spill water, they spit water and bubblers (design feature) splash water on and over the coping company unwilling to resolve issue, company was notified but did not respond – When Mr. ****** met with the technician at Pool School the function of the system were explained to him and this is no longer an issue.

15. missing safety grip in deep end (safety issue) – This is not a safety issue as a safety grip is not required due to the depth of the water being 5 foot and there is a swim out on the entire end of the pool.

16. missing umbrella stand - This will be installed by the technician on Wednesday, September 18, 2013.

17. sloppy tile job –The tiles in the area of concern are 1 inch squares that have been strategically cut to form around the round area that is the bubbler/waterfeature.

18. exposed cable lines cut homeowners not notified and plumbers cut exposed sprinkler pipes – When the ******** notified the Superintendent that the lines were cut he took immediate action to have them repaired. The Owner Protection/Layout Approval Form that was signed by the ******** states the “Owner understands Cody Pools is not responsible for damage to sprinkler system, unless otherwise specified, or any underground utilities. Owner may remove heads and valves of sprinkler system in poolside area.” and “Owner understands that during the course of construction cable and phone lines may get cut.  Cable and phone lines are not in conduit and typically lie immediately beneath the grass and are easily cut when digging or trenching.  If Owner chooses they may call their phone or cable provider to have lines run above ground during construction so that digging in the yard will not potentially interrupt cable or phone service.”

19.  decking has cracks appearing – The Contract between ****** and **** ****** and Cody Pools states that “sidewalks and concrete decking are not warrantied against non-structural cracking, chipping or shifting” and the Owner Protection/Layout Approval Form that was signed by the ******** states the “Buyer understands that sidewalks and concrete decking are warranted only for structural cracking, chipping or shifting. Shrinkage cracks and hairline cracks are normal and not warranted.”.

20.  grout applied separate days do not match in color – Three days after the original coping was installed, per the ******* request, a few pieces of cooping were removed and replaced with new coping. Since the original grout had already cured it took a little linger for the new grout to “bleach” to the same color as the original.


Consumer Response: Complaint: *******-I am rejecting this response because: We am rejecting this response because:  The information provided is false.  At no time was the superintendent denied access, he was recently requested to schedule arrival and departure time as open access would no longer be possible after a very long 72+ days project time.  Yard gates are locked because three dogs have full use of the backyard and for property security, they are not locked because of issues with a pool company.  The company failed to meet its obligation as the contract stated and we were under no obligation to submit final payment when items stated in the contract were not provided and have not been provided. There is no stop payment on the check at this time, but to our knowledge the company has never attempted to cash the check.  No attempts of "reaching out" have been made to receive payment.  They have sent a letter dated 15 September signed by Mr. ****** that states they will no longer honor the warranty until payment is made.  As of 18 September, the date Mr. ****** stated issues would be resolved, the rust stain still exist, the wire is still exposed, and the excess gunite is still exposed never chipped away.  The contract states safety grip, if not provided a reimbursement should be made.  The cut lines were on top of the ground not underneath.  Company never offered to fix/repair deck.  The spillways remain an issue.  There were no request concerning the retaining wall.  Mainly, the different color grout is that of the contracted pool coping and retaining walls, not as indicated in response because Mrs. ****** asked for something special.  The company has not addressed the claims of subcontractor children on our property (at least twice) or the homeowner's wife being verbally insulted by a subcontractor, as well as, trash daily left across yard.  As far as the final payment check, a look at the signature on the check clearly shows someone who was heavily medication and this was stated to the superintendent when he was met at the door by Mrs. ****** who was wearing pajamas.  Again indicated by an e-mail the next day.  Mr. ****** had stated it was our fault we did not receive everything on our contract because Mrs. ****** should have told the superintendent at that drugged up pre-plaster meeting if items were missing.  He put their failure onto the homeowner, which he attempts to do in the response as well.  The equipment pad was not placed in the secondary location that was sprayed out but was moved even further up on the property, at that time when equipment was already in place the homeowner suggested the fence resolution.  No delays were caused by the homeowners, delays were caused by the company either not being on the job site, or being on the job site but performing so  poorly the superintendent had to do the work for the company's subcontractors.  The orange fencing was requested several times and never provided, thus Mr. ****** delveloped a work around solution.  Also, please let the own know our last name is ******. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: On Thursday, September 26, 2013 we re-deposited the check in the amount of $6,539.90 that had previously been returned by our financial institution due to a stop payment by the ******’s. As of Thursday, October 3, 2013 the payment has not returned and the ******’s do not have an open contract balance. Since the contract is now paid in full the ******’s warranty will now resume.

We are currently investigating the alleged children that were present on the job site as well as the alleged verbal insult. Upon investigation the proper action will be taken regarding the
concerns.

Although the contract states “safety grip”, safety grips were not required due to the depth of the water being 5 foot and there is a swim out on the entire end of the pool. There was not charge on the contract for the safety grips. If there would have been a charge for the safety grips the cost would have been (4) four safety grips at $10.00 each. If the ******’s feel they should be reimbursed for this, we will reimburse them the $40.00 that they would have been charged.  

As of Thursday, October 3, 2013 we show that all previous concerns, related to the pool, have been addressed and there are no outstanding concerns.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
- To date excess gunite remains.
- The issues of the subcontractor's children on the homeowner's property twice and subcontractor's verbal insult of spouse must be resolved. 
- The company's fulfilling their open contract obligation is needed.  Payment of $40.00 or installation of safety grips. 
- Safety issue requires correction, as there is no swim out across the length of the deep end of the pool, and small children or pets could not get out. 
- The two end bubblers need to be capped to resolve the company’s water feature design flaw; leaving the one in the center.
- Acknowledgment of the daily trash left by the subcontractors is needed.
- Acknowledgment that the company failed to be put orange fencing in place is needed. 
- An apology for our overall experience would be appreciated.



Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1