Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (855) 427-8193 Fax: (888) 355-3084 720 Brazos St Ste 300, Austin, TX 78701

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sparefoot meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sparefoot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sparefoot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 2009 Business started: 08/08/2008 Business started locally: 08/08/2008 Business incorporated 08/08/2008 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chuck Gordon, CEO Mr. Barry Finder, Client Relations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Barry Finder, Client Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. Chuck Gordon, CEO
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sparefoot has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 720 Brazos St Ste 300

    Austin, TX 78701 (855) 427-8193


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made reservation thru SpareFoot online site for small space @$65 month and move in on or before July 1. I moved in and the reservation and amount not honored. I got a bogus story about how reservations are only good for 1 week, not a month. I was htere with a truck and load that had to be moved in. They scammed me for additional $11 per month. These guys are con artist and liars. The facility look old and dirty, not well maintained. The people at the office will look you in the eye and lie. Find some where else, I wish I had. Reservation # *********.

Desired Settlement: Change rate to $65 per month which was the online special promised. Refund over charges.

Business Response: Hi ****,

I'm reviewing your complaint and am very sorry to see that you've had such a bad experience with our company (SpareFoot) and with the storage facility where you reserved your unit (******* **** * ********* * ****** ***.).

I think there's been a bit of confusion about the two companies and what they do. SpareFoot is a free storage finding service, and you have not paid us anything. You reserved a unit (a 5X10 for $65) on our site. The $65 price was added by ******* **** (not by SpareFoot). And, the choice not to honor that price (and instead to charge you more) was also theirs. I'm going to reach out to the store today, as well as to our contacts in their corporate office, to see if we can convince them to lower your monthly rate. However, since SpareFoot has not charged you a single penny (and in fact we've sent you a $50 rebate - out of pocket for us - to try to make things right), we certainly can't issue you the refund you're requesting.

Rest assured, if Storage Pros does not have a good explanation for what went on, we will most likely need to remove them from our site, as it is unacceptable for them to mis-advertise their rates and to treat customers poorly. I just want to be sure that you are aware that SpareFoot (the company with whom you filed this complaint), is not the company that misrepresented pricing or that charged you anything.

I will follow back up once I've been able to touch base with ******* ****, and hopefully I'll have good news to report.

All the best,

Business Response: Hello,

I'm a bit confused by your rejection here. As we mentioned, facilities who use our service are required to honor our reservations, and we remove facilities from our site when they don't comply. I called the facility where you reserved your unit, and the manager was simply confused. She claimed that she didn't realize you had reserved a unit for $65 when you signed your lease for $75. She said that you left the office without incident and only later realized the rate had been switched. She also told me that you had only paid $1 for your first month (a promotional rate) and she had adjusted your rate in their system to charge you $65 going forward, not $75.

Of course, we take full responsibility for ensuring that customers who use our service have a positive outcome with the facilities who advertise with us, but I'm still troubled by your comment that we create "lease contracts" (which we don't) and posted "false rates" (which we didn't). Ultimately, the issue here was with the facility, not with SpareFoot, and it seems that the facility made an honest mistake that was swiftly corrected, with assistance from SpareFoot.

If there is anything else I can do, please let me know.

***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: ***** is a complete liar. The situation only got corrected after I filed the complaint. And Sparefoot did nothing to help and has refused to acknowledge that the reservations they make are not legitimate. 

I have not even had an apology and acknowledge of wrong doing.  Yes I have corrected the situation but only after threatening legal action. This company is cheating people everyday and needs to be stopped.


**** ********