Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sparefoot

Phone: (855) 427-8193 Fax: (888) 355-3084 720 Brazos St Ste 300, Austin, TX 78701 http://www.sparefoot.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sparefoot meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sparefoot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sparefoot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 2009 Business started: 08/08/2008 Business started locally: 08/08/2008 Business incorporated 08/08/2008 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chuck Gordon, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Gordon, CEO
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sparefoot has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 720 Brazos St Ste 300

    Austin, TX 78701 (855) 427-8193

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking for storage. I noticed that i could get tripple AAA Discount on a particular storage center by using Selfstorage.com (SPAREFOOT) I called the number spoke to ****. ***** basically signed me up. I went to storage center of whom had my info from SPAREFOOT but they didn't know how to do the free one month. I called on 3/22/2016 to find out how I would get my FREE gift CARD of$20 which was included in the package. Then the people at Sparefoot kept putting me on hold, transferring me to main system. Finally I asked to speak to supervisor but spoke to ****. Then she said she would take down my info. I asked again to speak to mgr and they put ******* on the line. Of whom I explained that the company that I went to did not understand how to do the paperwork and they needed to CALL to verify that I signed up so that I would get my $20 gift card. I had been trying to explain and find out info but NONE of the workers would listen. They didn't understand that the people at the facility didn't really understand how to set me up and they had to call people. THEREFORE they needed to verify by phone . The phone number that they had listed for company did not work it was 940.591.8209 which was WRONG. So I informed ******* and she said thanks. BUt I asked her to verify while I was on the phone. But they have TERRIBLE customer Service. It's VERY LOUD there. You can hear all these people talking. The workers do not listen they overtalk the customers and do not get clear understanding. They just want to SIGN us up and NOT give us our GIFT CARDS nor double check to ensure we've signed up. I don't believe for one minute that . I next spoke to ****** approx 11:40 a.m. 3/22/2016 I just needed them to verify that I signed up to send my gift card. They had WRONG phone number. They were not willing to look up proper phone number for storage facility. They said they had to wait 4 to 6 weeks for my bill to be processed. I asked them how they would be able to VERIFY my sign up. They really couldn't explain it. The person at the facility I signed up for was not COMPUTER SAVY that's why I wanted them to CALL and verify so that I didn't have to wait 4 months to get the card. I was told I would get the AMAZON card within 24 hours. I signed up because I am TRIPPLE A member and I wanted the $20 gift card. My RESERVATION code was

Desired Settlement: I would like my Gift card of $20 and for them to update the phone number of the company. I was then able to speak to ****** who tried to explain to me the information. He claimed that I would get the info by bill or etc. but he was not going to confirm by phone. My concern is that the lady at the facility didn't understand how to do the paperwork and I would like for them to to verify. I just wanted to make sure that the paperwork is filled out

Business Response: Hi ********, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the misunderstanding here, and we're glad to be back on the same page after our email exchange today. 


Thank you for your patience with our gift card redemption process. We are working to make this more efficient, and to improve communication with our storage facility clients. Our goal is to make the process seamless for future customers.

We issued the $20 gift card you requested at around 2:00pm CST, 3/25/16. We never want our customers to feel mistreated or neglected, so we hope this helps make things right.


Thank you for working with us.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you. I have the gift card to AMAZON. I appreciate you honoring your word and also taking time out to call me, email me and to make sure that this matter has resolved. In the future, I hope that you all can give good service to your customers and also listen to them. I hope that you will continue to work with your staff and help them to learn to LISTEN and take down information accurately and stop overtalking customers. I found some of them to be very rude. Thank you very much to your representative  ****** who was very helpful and he emailed, called me, and spoke to me on the phone. I appreciate you expediting my Gift Card to Amazon and also double checking with the service that I used. That's the type of service that I like.  Well done.

 

Thank you once again for your time and efforts. I consider this matter to be closed.

Regards,

******** **********

1/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sparefoot has consistently overbilled our company for services that we did not receive. I spoke with the representative there in December and the issue was to be corrected. Then in January's bill they overcharged us again for accounts that were not even with our store. I tried to get this resolved with the account manager and he proceeded to tell me that he could see that the charges were obviously wrong too but could not do anything about it and that the charges were final. I tried to resolve the issue in order to continue doing business with them moving forward, however the gentleman on the phone (****) seemed to get impatient with dealing with the issue and said that he could just hang the phone up on me and just keep charging the account. I found the situation completely unprofessional and told **** that I am done doing business with them, and that I do not wish to be billed incorrectly anymore and would take measures to protect our business from them charging our credit card without authorization anymore. I do not recommend any other business to work with this company. They will overcharge your accounts and then do nothing to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: We were charged $313.24 for December's service when we should have only been charged $87.25. We would like the $225.99 that was an obvious overcharge refunded back to us.

Business Response: Hi *********, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the misunderstanding here, and we're glad to be back on the same page after our phone call Friday.  

The attached contract was signed by the owner of your organization on 7/24/13. It outlines Jefferson Mini Storage‚Äôs agreement to reconcile your statement of reservations each month: You tell us how much to charge you based on which customers actually moved in. The contract also details the buy-out agreement required in the event of cancellation of services. Our team also reviewed this with you over the phone as recently as 1/21/16. 

We issued the $756 refund you requested at 2:18pm CST, 1/22/16. Although we do not owe this per the terms of the contract attached, we never want our clients to feel mistreated or neglected. We hope this helps make things right.
Thank you for working with us.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ******

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made some inquiries with Sparefoot last week about getting some storage space in one of their facilities in Omaha, NE. After calling a phone number beginning 1-866.... I spoke with a Sparefoot employee who was NOT based in Omaha. He put a reserve hold for me on storage space in Ralston, NE through 12-14-15. I told him I would visit the storage facility over the week-end. Since that time, I have spoken with someone at that facility and told her I wasn't able to visit before 12-14. I also said I wasn't interested in holding the storage space any longer than 12-14-15. Since then, I have received nearly half a dozen emails from Sparefoot. I do not want to be contacted by this company any more. In each of those emails, I clicked on the unsubscribe link, only to be taken to a page that says "Something bad happened. The page you are trying to reach isn't there."

Desired Settlement: I would simply like to opt out of subscribing to emails/notices from Sparefoot.

Business Response:

Hi ********,

I apologize that you've received unwanted emails, as that is never our intent. The emails you received were the standard follow up messages for reservations. While you told the facility directly that you wished to cancel your reservation, the information was not passed along to us, so our system still showed that you wished to keep your reservation. I apologize for that communication breakdown.

I also apologize that you received an error when attempting to unsubscribe to our emails. I've reported that bug to our Development team to resolve so that it does not happen to other consumers. In the meantime, I have cancelled your reservation in our system and manually opted you out of receiving further emails. I want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, and again, I do apologize for any inconvenience! Please let me know if there is anything else we can do.

 

All my best,

 

******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

10/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sparefoot advertized a free move for using Cubesmart storage. We do not have the advertisement, but in the email it said: "Online special: 15% Off and First Month Free & Free Move!" with no other detail. After we signed the contract with Cubesmart, they gave us a voucher for only 1 hour of moving with the moving company, Two Men and a Truck, which is not a full move. They said we could use the voucher for moving out instead of in. When we moved out in Dec 2014, they said we could not use the voucher for moving out. We had to pay for moving ourselves. It cost us $900 to rent two trucks and to have a moving company move our stuff from the storage unit into the trucks. This is clearly false advertising.

Desired Settlement: $900 from Sparefoot or Cubesmart

Business Response: ****************Hi ***,

What is the confirmation code associated with your SpareFoot reservation? I'm not finding any record of your interaction with us using the contact information you provided:

*** * ******* 
Daytime Phone: ***** ********
E-mail: *********************

Please let me know, and I'll be happy to dig in and see what went on here.

All my best,
***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

********* is the reservation number.  Thanks for looking into it.

Regards,

*** *******

Business Response: *********i ***,

Thanks for providing your confirmation code. I dug into your specific reservation, and I agree the way CubeSmart advertised their promotion ("15% Off and First Month Free & Free Move!") is unclear. With regard to your request for $900 to cover two moving trucks, I'd like to meet you somewhere in the middle. I think CubeSmart's "free move" promotion would realistically and reasonably only apply to one move with one truck, so I'd be happy to mail you a check for $450.

Please confirm if this is the best address:

*** B ******* 
** ********** **** 
********* * ** *****

Please let me know if you have any feedback or questions for me and if that address is the ideal location.

Thanks much,
*****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

Thanks for working with us.  I'm willing to settle this for an even $500.  I think a larger truck and the labor involved to move the stuff is an expected move.  We had a large truck and a smaller truck.  So, 500 is leaning a bit towards the cost of the large truck and labor.  I hope that makes sense.

Regards,

*** *******

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made reservation thru SpareFoot online site for small space @$65 month and move in on or before July 1. I moved in and the reservation and amount not honored. I got a bogus story about how reservations are only good for 1 week, not a month. I was htere with a truck and load that had to be moved in. They scammed me for additional $11 per month. These guys are con artist and liars. The facility look old and dirty, not well maintained. The people at the office will look you in the eye and lie. Find some where else, I wish I had. Reservation # *********.

Desired Settlement: Change rate to $65 per month which was the online special promised. Refund over charges.

Business Response: Hi ****,

I'm reviewing your complaint and am very sorry to see that you've had such a bad experience with our company (SpareFoot) and with the storage facility where you reserved your unit (******* **** * ********* * ****** ***.).

I think there's been a bit of confusion about the two companies and what they do. SpareFoot is a free storage finding service, and you have not paid us anything. You reserved a unit (a 5X10 for $65) on our site. The $65 price was added by ******* **** (not by SpareFoot). And, the choice not to honor that price (and instead to charge you more) was also theirs. I'm going to reach out to the store today, as well as to our contacts in their corporate office, to see if we can convince them to lower your monthly rate. However, since SpareFoot has not charged you a single penny (and in fact we've sent you a $50 rebate - out of pocket for us - to try to make things right), we certainly can't issue you the refund you're requesting.

Rest assured, if Storage Pros does not have a good explanation for what went on, we will most likely need to remove them from our site, as it is unacceptable for them to mis-advertise their rates and to treat customers poorly. I just want to be sure that you are aware that SpareFoot (the company with whom you filed this complaint), is not the company that misrepresented pricing or that charged you anything.

I will follow back up once I've been able to touch base with ******* ****, and hopefully I'll have good news to report.

All the best,

Business Response: Hello,

I'm a bit confused by your rejection here. As we mentioned, facilities who use our service are required to honor our reservations, and we remove facilities from our site when they don't comply. I called the facility where you reserved your unit, and the manager was simply confused. She claimed that she didn't realize you had reserved a unit for $65 when you signed your lease for $75. She said that you left the office without incident and only later realized the rate had been switched. She also told me that you had only paid $1 for your first month (a promotional rate) and she had adjusted your rate in their system to charge you $65 going forward, not $75.

Of course, we take full responsibility for ensuring that customers who use our service have a positive outcome with the facilities who advertise with us, but I'm still troubled by your comment that we create "lease contracts" (which we don't) and posted "false rates" (which we didn't). Ultimately, the issue here was with the facility, not with SpareFoot, and it seems that the facility made an honest mistake that was swiftly corrected, with assistance from SpareFoot.

If there is anything else I can do, please let me know.

Best,
***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: ***** is a complete liar. The situation only got corrected after I filed the complaint. And Sparefoot did nothing to help and has refused to acknowledge that the reservations they make are not legitimate. 

I have not even had an apology and acknowledge of wrong doing.  Yes I have corrected the situation but only after threatening legal action. This company is cheating people everyday and needs to be stopped.

Regards,

**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sparefoot
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart