BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Soccer Factory meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Soccer Factory include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for The Soccer Factory include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Soccer Factory
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 03, 2012 Business started: 05/07/2010 Business started locally: 05/07/2010 Business incorporated: 05/05/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ivan Ontiveros, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ivan Ontiveros, Owner
Business Category

Sportswear - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Teamcast LLC

Additional Locations

  • 12066 Starcrest Dr Ste 100

    San Antonio, TX 78247 (210) 495-7676 (800) 987-6223

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 495-7676(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For several years, the school I coach at has used the Soccer Factory for team orders. The orders have always been tax exempt and payment has been provided by the school. Employee turnover is pretty high, so every year I end up dealing with different people to process the school's orders. For the most part, the orders are completed accurate. Although, the screening of products has at times been incorrect and can't be fixed (i.e. - wrong numbers screened on jerseys). Overall, service was satisfactory. However, that changed drastically with the last order placed November 2012. The school provided full payment for the order late November 2012 prior to receiving all of the items ordered. Most items were provided within a reasonable amount of time. Certain sizes never became available. It was difficult to get updates as the months went by. When it became apparent the items would never be available, I started to work a credit for the remaining $514 of items not delivered. Again it was extremely difficult to get responses/updates. Then I started to be given new requirements, like a new format for the already provided tax exemption forms (which were sufficient the previous 5 years of doing business with them). Then we were told a credit could not be provided until we supplied the check number used. It has now been over a year. The latest response is that they can provide a credit, but after factoring taxes over the entire order, significantly reducing the remaining credit.

Desired Settlement: Remaining credit of $514 should be refunded to the school ASAP. The Soccer Factory has accepted the school's tax exemption status for 5 years and has no reason to question it now and all of a sudden want to charge taxes.

Business Response: I started working on this complaint over a few months.  We have been trying to resolve the issue directly with the school due to conflicting information from our previous rep that originally handled the sale and from the customer.  We are not in disagreement with the credit.  In Fact the credit is valid and does belong to the school, organization or persons.  The problem we are having is trying to figure out who the credit belongs to.

At first the customer (****** **** ** *****) is wanting the credit to go to him so that he can "give the funds to the players".  This is a conflict with the tax exempt status that we originally had the order listed under.  The School, Incarnate Word University/High School is tax exempt, not the customer.  After I adjusted the credit subtracting the Tax I requested our floor manager **** to notify and explain to Mr. ** ***** the change.  Mr. ** ***** then stated that the check originated from the school and that the taxes should be removed.  With this response we notified him that the credit could not go directly to him, but to the school.  His response is then to state that the school does not handle credits.  After the exchange of emails, concerns were raised on where the check originated.

I know started to contact ******* ***** who is the Accounts Payable contact I have at the University.  The reason we contact the University for any payments is because all payments come from the University even if it is an order for the High School.  ******* confirmed with me that they have not provided any payment of $3770.35 to our company and nor does check #**** exist as a check for us.  Mr. **** ******** also confirmed this information with me via email.  Mr. ******** is the schools Business Office System Analyst.

******* then requested that i contact ****** *******, the Secretary to the Principal at the High School.  Mrs. ******* handles the payments for the organizations that are associated with the school for different school functions.  She also stated over the phone that she did not have any payments submitted for us.  She also admitted that it is a bit difficult to locate since there many accounts that could have been used for this.  This is when the schools Athletic Director, ***** ****** contacted me and stated that she would look into the matter as well to figure out where payment came from.  The last I heard back from the School was on 11/25/2013 and it was Ms. ****** who contacted me stating she would be working on the issue to resolve.

We never want to leave any of our customers unsatisfied but due to the different places the check might have come from does raise many questions that we need answered.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An ********* National Soccer Team Jersey with the ****** ***** numbers placed on the jersey was purchased on August **, 2013. The deal was to have ****** *****'s numbers place on the Jersery before August **, 2013 in time for son's birthday. A credit card transaction was swiped and a receipt was issued. We have followed up weekly and have been given the run around. We have spoken with the owner 3 times and the problem has not been resolved. They caveat answer is the number has been ordered and they can not provide us with a date when the item will come in.

Desired Settlement: I would like the item purchased delivered and a gift card for $50 for the excessive inconvience.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,
 
Starting out I would like to sincerely apologize again for the delay on your son’s birthday gift. Unfortunately, when the name kit was purchased we did inform you that there was not a guarantee that the order would be filled in that time frame but that we would try our best. When purchased, we did attempt multiple times to get a name kit order placed at once, but  due to the time of the year were unable to do so. This was because the transfer market was still open making it difficult to determine which players were staying where. This fact has little to do with *****’s international name kit since he will always be with *********’s team, but because it is part of the bigger name kit order for both The Soccer Factory as well as ****** *****, it was delayed until the end of the transfer market at the beginning of September. When we found out we would not be able to get the name kit order placed early enough for the party, I did offer to purchase the jersey from an online distributor such as ********** or ******************* myself and have it delivered to your residence to make up for any failure on our part to fill your order.  Beyond doing this, I have had no control in the haste at which these name kits came in. I have been in touch with you multiple times keeping you informed with the situation at hand and as told before, all we can do is wait for that order to come in from the distributor we have ordered from. Regarding a date given as to when the name kits would arrive, last we spoke I had informed you that they were scheduled to arrive mid-week of the current week. We have just contacted our sister store today for verification and the name kits have in fact come in so we can have your jersey ready for pickup this evening.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Well, none of these things were discussed when the items were purchased on Aug *, 2013.  Okay, I could possibly buy into transfer window that Soccer Factory had to wait for the ***** decals, maybe.  Okay, we were patient about it.  Transfer window ends in August, mid September my jersey should be ready, right?  If it would have been relayed that I would not be receiving the purchased items two months later, we would have went with a someone else.  Your company has never offered that they would purchase the jersey from another company for us, this is a lie. Why wouldn't we have taken you up on the offer?  We want the jersey with the ****** ***** numbers that was purchased Aug *, 2013.  I received some promising hopes this week Oct *, from a promising floor manager employee who gave me his cell phone by the way, explaining Mr. ******** I am willing to give you the tracking order number where I have placed the order myself.  And Mr. ******** when it comes in I will call you personally that the ***** numbers came in. I received a voicemail on Wednesday, Oct *, 2013, Mr. ******** the order came in and he would call you later that day when the numbers were placed on my purchased jersey.  I called on Thursday, Oct *, 2013 because I was on my way to pick up the jersey, I figured a full day and a half was enough time to put on number 10 on a jersey.  I spoke with the floor manager Thursday night, at **** ***.,  I can no longer help you with your order.  What I can do is refund the money on your credit card and offer you a 25% discount on your next purchase.  Was it this filed complaint that Soccer Factory doesn't want to no longer do business with me?   Why did it  take 2 months to come to this?  I feel that I have been victimized for 2 months of promises and reneging on a Jersey that was going to make a nice gift.  It is a let down, that now that someone has filed a formal complaint, that Soccer Factory does not want to own up to it's business deal and deliver their goods of service.  Through out this complaint, two months worth, talking with employees from Soccer Factory, that my items purchased would arrive the following week, I have never been given an exact timeline(Date and time) when I should receive my items.  I don't think Soccer Factory can give a timeline when my purchased jersey will be ready for pickup.  If they can't get the ****** ***** jersey numbers anymore then "The Soccer Factory" is falsely advertising in their store.    

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: The individual who is filing this complaint (***** ******** **.) is not the individual who made the purchase. He is the son of our customer (***** ******** **.). We discovered this after speaking with the father by phone yesterday.  Apparently the item in question was being purchased by the father to give to his son. The son is not familiar with all of the conversations we had with his father.

After speaking with the father, he advised  that he has been very happy with our service and understands the delay. He said he would be happy to contact BBB if needed.

Please advise.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved