BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Team Express

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 348-7000 Fax: (210) 402-3353 View Additional Phone Numbers 5750 NW Parkway Ste 100, San Antonio, TX 78249 http://www.teamexpress.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Team Express include:

  • 30 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Team Express include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Team Express
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 2000 Business started: 08/01/2000 Business started locally: 08/01/2000 Business under new ownership as of: 01/09/2013 Business incorporated: 08/21/2009 in DE
Business Management
Ms. Debbi Machac, Administator
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Retail Clothing - Retail Sporting Goods - Wholesale & Manufacturers Sportswear - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Baseball Express Cheerleading America Football America Softball Sales Team Express Distributing, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5326 Wapiti Trail

    San Antonio, TX 78228

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5750 NW Parkway Ste 100

    San Antonio, TX 78249

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 344-9080 (Fax)
  • (210) 525-9339 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.softball.com
  • http://www.baseballexpress.com
  • http://www.cheerleadingamerica.com
  • http://www.footballamerica.com
  • http://footballamericana.com/m_index.html
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March I ordered several items, none of which showed out of stock. I then received an email stating that the batting gloves I wanted were out of stock and would be shipped later. They even gave an estimated date which came and went. After almost two months of waiting I gave up that they would ever ship so I sent an email to their team with a request to swap out the batting gloves with some wiffleballs I even offered to pay the difference of $1.50. I received a ticket number from their automatic response system stating that someone would contact me about my request. One week later I got an email stating that my batting gloves have shipped. I called Customer Service at that point and now I have to refuse delivery and wait for them to go back before I can be refunded. I work and won't be home when they are delivered so now I have to take the time to go ship them back and to top it off will have to pay for the shipping.

Desired Settlement: I want Team Express to pay for shipping to get the item back and then refund my money. Or just ship me the wiffleballs at their expense and no additional charge to me and I can try and sell the batting gloves to someone else local.

Business Response: At Team Express we strive to provide the best products and prices to our customers.   Unfortunately, the glove that Mr. ***** ordered was on backorder at the time the order was placed.  When he emailed to change the order it had already begun to ship.  However, since Mr. ***** is no longer in need of the glove we will gladly pay for the return label.  We have been attempting to call him for several days to process the request.  Please call us at your earliest convenience so we may pickup the glove at no cost to you.  We can be contacted at ###-###-####.  Again, we apologize for the backorder.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Best Regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Team Express claims that the item had shipped before my email change the order. Not true. I have proof by email and a ticket number that I was assigned by Team Express. My email and ticket confirmation to them was a full week before the item shipped. 

Also, if attempting to call me for several days counts as one phone call to my home then I guess that part is true. So far my caller id shows they made one phone call and I wasn't at home.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

At this time Mr. ***** has been refunded for the Franklin 2nd Skinz glove in the amount of $8.49 that he was billed.  He does not need to return the item.  If you have any additional questions please let us know.

Best Regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a custom made glove from Baseball Express on April 2, 2014. On their website it was stated that the glove ships in 3 weeks. On April 16th when I went to check the status of the order it said that my glove has been shipped but I had not received a tracking number. When my mother emailed the Baseball Express requesting a tracking number they informed us that the gloves estimated date of delivery is May 23rd. The response that we had was why would the status say shipped on April 16th if my glove will not reach it's destination until late May. When getting a response we were informed that my glove was on back order. Seeing how it's a custom made glove this raised concerns because it is not pre-made it is made to my specifications. After contacting Baseball Express they once again informed me that the material to make the glove is on back order and the material to make my glove would be arriving on May 23rd for them to make and I would not receive my glove until after they make it which takes 3 weeks to make. So I would most likely not receive my glove until early June. Upon hearing this news I asked to speak to a supervisor. When I spoke to her I asked why they would put on their website that they guarantee to ship the glove in 3 weeks. But I had a simple solution to fix the issue, I asked for them to upgrade my glove to the next highest model ($40 difference) and asked them to take ownership of the difference since they guaranteed to ship the glove in 3 weeks. This way I would not have to wait six weeks for my glove to be shipped to me. The supervisor couldn't confirm that and was very hesitant to answer any of my questions and just made excuse for why it was taking so long.

Desired Settlement: The outcome that I am looking for is that they upgrade my glove and start manufacturing the glove as soon as possible so that I do not have to wait a total of 9 weeks to receive the product that I ordered.

Business Response: At Team Express we strive to provide the best products to our customers at the lowest price possible.  The item Mr. ********* ordered comes directly from Rawlings.  Rawlings offers several types of personalized gloves, from quick turn which typically take 3 weeks from order date to full custom that takes up to 12 weeks.  Unfortunately, we were informed by Rawlings at the 3 week date the product is on backorder until 5/23/14.  As this product is manufactured by Rawlings we are unable to control the date of shipment.  All custom orders are billed prior to shipment after the cancellation/order modification period (48 hours after order placement) has passed.  The email Mr. ********* received was to let him know the order has been billed.  We apologize for any miscommunication.  Since the cancellation/order modification period has passed we are unable to change the order with Rawlings.  However, we will be issuing a credit of 15% off and shipping the shipping charge of $6.95 due to the inconvenience.  The refund total will be $48.95.  Again, we sincerely apologize for the delay caused by the backorder.  We hope this does not deter you from ordering with us again in the future.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions.

Best Regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on the Team Express website for some glasses. I received an email a few days later saying that item was on backorder & asked if I wanted to cancel the order. After a few days I decided to go ahead & cancel the order. That was on Sunday, April 27th @ 2:25 pm. Instead of cancelling the order like I asked the to they sent me an email @ 5:35 saying "This is getting ready to ship out Monday for you -- would you still like to proceed with the cancellation?". At 6:51 I said "Yes, Please Cancel". On April 28th @ 1:27pm they said "Unfortunately these have already shipped out. If you refuse shipment when delivered UPS will send them back to us and you will be refunded." Well it is kind of hard to refuse shipment when it is placed on your doorstep when you aren't home. My issue is they should have cancelled my order when I 1st asked them to instead of questioning my decision especially since it was so close to the day they were going to ship. They should have checked for my response back to them before shipping. Now I am going to have to pay to ship this back to them & the money is out of my account. I wanted this order cancelled because I found product cheaper at different place and purchased it.

Desired Settlement: I want full refund of product back to my account ASAP including the extra charges I will have to pay to send product back.

Business Response: At Team Express we strive to provide the highest quality products and service to our customers.  Unfortunately, the item Mr. ****** chose was backordered at the time of purchase due to high demand.  When we were notified of the cancellation request we immediately emailed to confirm the cancellation as the order was scheduled to ship the next business day.  The response to cancel came after our email team had left for the day on Sunday.  We did receive the confirmation to cancel the next morning after the order was already with UPS.  Due to the delay we will be glad to send a UPS label to the email address on file to prevent Mr. ****** from paying additional shipping charges to return the product.  Once the order is back to our warehouse he will receive a full refund for the order.  We apologize for the delay in receiving your email.  It was never our intention to ship something against your wishes, we simply wanted to clarify since the product was about to be shipped.  The UPS call tag will be emailed to the email address we have on file for the account.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions.

Best Regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me IF full refund is received promptly.  In the future a confirmation to cancel is not needed if the customer has already requested to cancel.  Oh & if your representatives leave early on Sundays maybe you shouldn't put this on your emails when replying: Service representatives are ready to assist you 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. CST. Yes that message was sent to me on a Sunday.


Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Glove was defective had to return it. cost me $ 10.60 to return it and they do not want to refund my out of pocket expense. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

Desired Settlement: Refund my out of pocket expense

Business Response:

At Team Express we strive to provide the very best products and service to our customers.  Unfortunately, items can be damaged or defective within the warranty period.  Mr. ******'s glove was original purchased on 2.1.14 and shipped from our warehouse on 2.2.14 via UPS surepost tracking # ****************** and delivered to his home on 2.7.14.  We stand behind all of our products and will replace any damaged or defective items with no cost to the customer within 30 days.  Some products carry an additional warranty after 30 days per the manufacturer.  We will replace or refund these items (depending on the stock availability).  However, if the product is not defective within 30 days the customer is responsible or paying the return shipping to us on the defective item.   Mr. ****** contacted us on 3.26.14 stating the glove was ripping at the top.  We immediately placed a new no cost order with next day air shipping for Mr. ******.  However, since the product was outside of the 30 warranty window the customer is responsible for the shipping back to us.  We apologize for the original item becoming defective however we do not pay for return shipping outside of the 30 day warranty window.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Best Regards,

******* *.
Team Express Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dating back to September 2012 I have been trying to resolve an incorrect order of baseball apparel from Team Express. I have dealt with multiple sales people who assured me this would be resolved and recently escalated the issue to the ** ** ***** ***** *****, who I spoke with initially on January 17th. I was finally able to get in contact with him again the following week and he agreed to replace the order and along with shipping an additional 3 jerseys that I paid for. ***** personally corrected the order and assured me I would have it middle to end of the first week in February. I called today February 5th to confirm the order was in route to be told that yet again nothing had been done with the order. ***** was not available today but was told by another member of the team express staff that they would try to get this fixed. At this point I have little faith in the company or its ability to meet it's commitments to me.

Desired Settlement: I need my order completed and shipped to me asap as our team has a tournament February 15th and 16th. Without our Jerseys we can not field a team. I need a phone call immediately telling me of the corrective actions and an exact date of delivery.

Business Response:

At Team Express we strive to provide the highest quality products and service to our customers.  In this instance we did not provide the very best service due to internal errors on the order.  At this time we have replaced all jerseys as requested per Mr. ******.  The replacement items have been shipped at no cost via UPS tracking #******************.  The package is scheduled to arrive today.  Again we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and errors that occurred on this order.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Best Regards,

*******
Team Express Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid extra for 2 day shipping and did not receive our items. Then called customer service and was told it would be here on the Friday following purchase however it was not received. Phoned UPS and they have not received the package to this date. Called customer service and they are "looking into the issue". We have not received the cleats that were purchased 2 weeks ago and no refund

Business Response:

At Team Express we strive to provide the highest quality products and service to our customers.  In this instance we did not succeed.  We sincerely apologize for the delay.  We do show the order was received and processed as normal.  However, the tracking number does not show any movement on the package and an incorrect weight.  We take full responsibility for the issue.  At this time, in accordance with the customer's request we have issued a full refund of the order.  The total refund of $29.98 for the shoes and $14.95 for the shipping cost.  While researching this order I also noticed the customer had replaced the order with next day air service.  We will issue a refund of $24.95 for the upgraded shipping cost due to our error.  Again, we sincerely apologize for the delay and inconvenience experienced on this order.  We will utilize this experience to prevent further issues from occurring in the future.  Please let us know if there are any additional questions or concerns.

Sincerest regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a Christmas present for my son on December 11, 2013 and was told I would have it in 7-14 days. It is now January 19th and I still have not received the item. When I call the customer service number (which I have done three times) I am told that the item has been shipped and should be arriving soon. Sadly I have not received the item.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to deliver the product that I ordered for my son.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the delay and inconvenience our customer has experienced.  Unfortunately, this item is not shipped directly from our warehouse.  It is being shipped directly from the manufacturer.  Due to a stocking issue the vendor is currently having, the product has not become available yet.  We have reached out to the vendor for an additional update this morning, to be told the product back order date has been extended again to the end of January.  Again, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience and delay.  We have requested the product be shipped next day air when it becomes available at no additional cost.  However, if this will not work we can cancel the order.  The customer's card has not been billed for the item, as we only charge once the product is shipped.  Please let us know how she would like to proceed.

Our sincerest apologies,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a returning customer and receive catalogues from this company. In their October "Biggest Sale Ever" edition there was a Demarini DXVDC14 originally priced for $299.99 on sale for $169.98. I was wanting to purchase 2 of these bats for Christmas presents. I first tried to order on line and the price wasn't changed. I called to try and place an order and I was told that this was a typographical error. There is a big picture in their magazine advertising this bat and price. I was told that this was an error and that Demarini won't let them sell this bat for this price. I said I understand about Demarini not wanting to degrade the price of the bat but asked them to honor the price with a "store" discount to me that way the Demarini price wasn't degraded. This is when the tone of the phone call changed on their part. I was pretty rudely told that Baseball Express has a disclaimer at the bottom of the page and that they aren't responsible for errors they make in advertising. I told them that this was Bait and Switch and they knew what they were doing. Demarini is a well know bat that many kids and adults use. They used this price fixing to draw people into their store to purchase this bat and other items as well. I'm sure many others have called them out on this price. All I wanted were these 2 bats and wanted them to honor the price and they should have to.

Desired Settlement: I want to purchase 2 bats at the advertised price of $169.98. That's it. Honor what they advertised.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the recent picture error in our Biggest Sale Ever catalog.  It was not our intent to mislead any customer.  At Team Express we strive to provide the best product and services to our customers at all times.  However, we are human and mistakes do happen.  In this instance the incorrect image was used during the catalog layout.  We would never attempt to mislead or bait and switch a product to our customers.  We were attempting to provide the lowest price available on the 2013 Demarini bat, and simply used the incorrect image.  We do have a disclaimer listed at the bottom of page two stating we are not responsible for any errors that occurred.  As a result of this experience we have added additional safeguards to prevent future photo or typographical errors from occurring.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions.

Best Regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service
**************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Mistake or not they did nothing to try and make me happy as a customer who has spent a lot of money at their store over the years.  They also have my home address and my email address from being a customer.  Did they try and contact every person via email or mail after this happened?  The answer is NO. They could've put it on their homepage on their web site that this was an error and not the correct price, but they didn't. This just proves more and more that they misled repeat and new customers with this price. They chose to do nothing.  They used the cheap price on that bat to draw customers to their store.  I want 2 bats for that sale price for my kids for Christmas. They can offer me store credit towards the bats if they want.  I don't care how they do it. I have spent way too much money at this store to be treated like this.  It could have been prevented by letting everybody know about the misprint. It doesn't take that much time to display pop up on their site. They have one on there right now to enter to win a prize. If they truly wanted to warn customers about it, they would have done that. They are lying and can't cover their tracks.  They are trying to play the stupidity card and betting on the consumer being naive. I can't believe the BBB is buying into this.


Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate error that occurred with this misprint.  However, we are unable to honor the price.  We can upgrade your next phone order to next day air at no cost.  Please call **************, and reference your account # ******** to redeem the next day service.  Again, we sincerely apologize for any errors that have occurred. 

Best Regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service
**************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

No thanks.  The shipping you are offering isn't even close to the price of the discount on that bat.  You have lost me as a customer now.  I have spent way too much money at your store to be treated like this. My family's money is important to us.  If the BBB isn't going to make you honor the pricing, I guess I can take it to the internet.  I will post on all social media forms about this and every sale that you lose because of bad publicity about this will be a victory for me.  You can believe that too. I won't be slanderous, I will speak nothing but the truth because YOU are wrong.  With my  kids  teammates and parents that I know and stay in contact with,  the number will run into the thousands on FB, Twitter and Instagram. Let alone the people that will see it that I don't know.  That's the beauty of social medial.  I tried to my best, contacting you several times, and using this BBB form of communication obviously to no avail.  So I guess the only thing that will get your attention will be a loss in sales that will cost you more than the 2 bats that I wanted.  So take your hard ball stance. I'm done with you.  I'll wait 3 business days for your response and then I'll start posting.  I still have the magazine with the advertisement too.  That'll look nice on FaceBook.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed order with Team Express early September for a shirt hat was needed for football season. Called weekly to check on status due to timing was sensitive (season only lasts so long) was repeatedly told 'next week' for 6 weeks. Only to be called today and told they would refund my card since they don't think they can fulfill. Sporting merchandise is time sensitive. Vendors should not charge if they are unsure they can fulfill order. Setting false expectations with consumers about 'next week for sure' is extremely poor customer service. This vendor needs to be audited. I was told a manager would call me but never did.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and for them to withdraw doing business within the FISD school district so I don't run into this issue again with my kids and the team sports.

Business Response:

After researching the complaint we have been unable to locate the order, or even customer profile for this individual.  Can she please provide additional information regarding the order?  We have attempted to locate her records via the name, phone number, address and email provided without any results.  We are happy to investigate what occurred with this order, and correct it.  It is our procedure that any item not being shipped immidiately (within 1 business day) will have an automated email sent to the customer with the backorder date.  These automated email are sent on a weekly basis to update customers with the status of their order.  We do not bill the customer until the product has shipped, unless it is a custom item and non-returnable.  We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred and look forward to correcting this for our customer.  Please notify us when additional information is available.

Best Regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service
**************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incorrect item was delivered to me on Wednesday 10/23/2013.... (Wrong Size & Color)......Notified Company of issue. Was informed by CSR **** that she would call be back with information on receiving correct item and how to return incorrect item - No return Call that day Contacted Company on Thursday 10/24/2013.... Spoke with same CSR ****. Was informed by CSR **** that she sent info to company employee who handles account with manufacture and has yet to get a response from them.... So since she did not get the answer from that person, **** did not call with update. ..... **** stated she will call me back later - No return Call that day Contacted Company on Friday 10/25/2013...... Spoke with CSR ******....... she stated info was sent to company employee who handles account with manufacture and has yet to get a response from them........ I asked to speak with a Manager.... ****** informed me all "Managers" are busy on other calls........ I informed ****** I will hold to speak to one of the managers when one of their calls have ended... I added "one should be free soon" .......... ****** then stated the "Manager" is not available and will have to call you back...... When I pointed out to ****** that initially she stated "Managers" now it's a "Manager".... ****** had nothing to say

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund and how to return incorrect item or Immediate delivery of correct item and how to return incorrect item On a personal note - Due to the CSRs not returning my calls and not providing me with answers, I do not feel confident that I will receive refund without BBB intervention

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the error that occurred with this order.  It appears that an error occurred when we sent the order to New Balance to be placed.  This has now been corrected with our automated systems to prevent this from occurring in the future.  We will be happy to issue a replacement pair with next day air service at no charge to the customer, or send UPS to pick up the incorrect shoes for an immediate credit.  As soon as UPS has the incorrect item in their possession we will issue a credit in full for the amount of $104.98 the order total. Again, we sincerely apologize for the error and any inconvenience this may have caused.  We strive to provide the best products and services to our customers.  We will be using this experience to better train our employees to prevent errors from occurring, as well as quickly correcting errors if they do occur.  Please let us know how the customer would like to proceed so we may best serve his request.

Best Regards,

*******
TeamExpress.com Customer Service
**************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product from this company, football gloves (Nike Superbad 2.0's), and the internet posting and illustration showed a product they didn't carry. The gloves were unique, they are black and pink on the outside and I am uncertain what color they are on the inside. There is no doubt that this company carries the Nike Superbad gloves, but in other colors that I could easily attain in 3 local stores for 13$ less. The day after I placed the order I called customer service and they assured me that it was the glove I had wanted, I had asked the customer service representative why the description showed pnk/WHT. This was her explanation, "the gloves you are describing are white on the inside (palm area), but are pink and black like you are describing on the outside. So when I received the product I was furious, the gloves that came were the pink and white on the outside, not the ones I ordered which were pink and black. I contacted customer service and I spoke to a CSR named ***, he was rude and it was apparent to him that I was ignorant and he like the Ms. *****, the lady I spoke to above the supervisor, continued to ask me why I would place a order for pink and white gloves. I spoke to ***, ******* and Ms. ***** about the issue and ******* was the only one that acknowledged that illustrations are sometimes incorrect and updated. She was the only one that showed compassion and showed authentic customer service skills, it was Ms. ***** who laughed at me and refused to give me any kind of information of the owner or anybody above her to clarify the issue. I will admit Ms. ***** advised me that to mail back the gloves for a full refund but I was not going to go through that headache. I was to receive a UPS label through my email in 24-48 hours, I would have to go to the UPS store and a credit would have been issued when they received my gloves, this process taking about 5 days. I would then have to wait another week to order football gloves from a local retail store who didn't have the gloves in store and lose out on 2 weeks of football.

Desired Settlement: An apology, the opportunity to speak to the owner and a billing adjustment for $10.82 (sales tax and shipping and handling).

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for any descriptional errors that occurred on our site.  It appears that an incorrect image was listed at the time of purchase.  Team Express strives to provide the best products at the lowest prices to our customers.  However, due to the volume of products we offer mistakes can happen.  We incorrectly matched the picture with this description.  As a result we will happily pay for the return shipping and provide a full refund of the order total, including the tax and shipping.  We will also send UPS to your location to pick up the package so you do not have to venture to the UPS store to drop the package off.  Please let us know where you would like UPS to pick the item up.  If you would prefer to retain the gloves, we can certainly issue a refund for the $6.95 shipping charge.  However, we are unable to refund the tax charge of $3.87.  Again, we sincerely apologize for the error that occured on our site.  We are making changes to prevent this from occuring in the future. Please let us know if you have any additional questions.

Thank you,

*******

****** ******* ************ ******* TeamExpress.com 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I do not want UPS coming to pick up the package.

Regards, 

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Baseball Express Mail catalog advertises price of $169.98 for Demarini Bat model #DXVDC14. Online price is different so I called customer service who stated that advertised price is false and refuses to honor advertised price in print in catalog. ******, manager states refusal to honor advertised price after stating is was a misprint. False advertising!

Desired Settlement: Stop their false advertising, send them a warning letter. Ideally hold them accountable to honor their advertised pricing.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for the misprint that occurred in our most recent catalog.  We work very hard to obtain the lowest prices for our customers, on the highest quality products.  Unfortunately, we are human and a image was mistakenly used for the 2014 bat, when the discounted item is the 2013 bat.  The catalog does include a disclaimer on page 2 stating "Baseball Express is not responsible for printing or typographical errors.  Prices are subject to change without notice."  As this item is a minimum advertised price product per the manufacturer we are unable to sell the item at the misprinted price.  Again, we sincerely apologize for the error, but we will not be able to sell the 2014 bat at $169.98  This will be used as a learning experience to prevent future errors from occurring.  This was not intentional.  Please let us know if you have any further concerns.

*******
Baseball Express Customer Service
**************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $6.95 for original shipping as advertised. I was then charged $9.50 for the return shipping of an exhange item. If I had proceeded with the return, I would have incurred another shipping charge for $6.95, nearly $25 alone in shipping costs! Is Team Express in the business of selling sporting merchandise or in the shipping business?! I find this absolutely absured and price gauging! The competitors offer free return shipping and free shipping if an item is returned and then resent. Another issue is with an even exchange. Team Express would not honor the original price paid for the even exhange. Team Express would not process the order without me paying the difference for how much the item currently costs not what I originally paid. I orginally bought the item on promotion and the original price should be honored!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the $9.50 for the return shipping they charged me.

Business Response:

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your most recent TeamExpress.com purchase.  Our returns policy has recently been changed.  We previously used a **** based returns system with a return shipping charge of $9.50 for our newgistics return label.  We are now utilizing a UPS return label and have decreased the cost of the label to $5.95.  We have refunded the difference of $3.55 for the label back to your card.  Unfortunately, since you used the label there is a fee associated with the return shipping.  We do allow our customers to choose their own shipping method without a return fee.  The return fee for the label is listed on the back of our packing list, our websites and you were advised of it on 8.23.13 when you called to setup the return.  We will be happy to honor any price if you would like to reorder as a replacement for the exchange.  If a product is returned due to the sizing or color request, we will happily honor the original purchase price.  However, there will be another shipping charge on the order.  Please give us a call at ###-###-#### to place a new order for the item in a different color or size at the original price paid. 

Best Regards,

******* ******
Team Express Customer Service
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 31 I ordered a football helmet/facemask with the expectation of shipment in 3-10 days (as stated on the website). After 2 weeks I called to get a status on the shipment and was given a tracking number showing the item was sent to *******, FL (instead of my address in *************, PA). I called customer service again and was told they would contact the manufacturer, since it ships directly from them (******). Customer Service rep said they would call me back with an update. After 24 hours of them not contacting me I called again. I was told the same story - "we are waiting to hear from the manufacturer." Approximately 20 days after I placed my order and Team Express's inability to find out when I might receive my order I decided to cancel. I was told my charge of $287.00 would be credited back to my ****. 1 week after requesting the refund I called back to find the status and was told the refund was processed. Approximately 1 Week later (9/6/13) I called again because the refund was not processed. This time they told me they were waiting to hear from the manufacturer. before processing. As the consumer who paid Team Express (not the manufacturer) I feel 40+ days after ordering a product is MORE than enough time to get either the product or a refund. Team Express has made their issue with ****** my problem when in reality it is theirs. I would never do business with this company again.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund to my credit card

Business Response:

We are very sorry to hear that your recent experience with TeamExpress.com was not a positive one.  We have credited you back in the amount of $287.98 at this time.  Our sincerest apologies for the errors that occurred with your order.  We will be using this experience to better train our employees and prevent this from occurring again.  Please let us know if we can assist further.

Best regards,

******* ******
Team Express ******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was shopping online for some new ***** shoes, model #***** & had narrowed my search down to this seller & another one which was - "*****************".After deciding to buy from Team Express after seeing their "Low price guarantee-find it lower & we will match it" I emailed their customer service, got a reply saying to call them which I did & was finally told that they would not match the lower price because it would have to be a ship direct from *****. I had inquired about buying five pairs of these shoes for $38.99 each pair for a total of $194.95.These shoes were showing on their site as being in stock & no where on the site was any mention made of not matching because of a direct ship. ***** is in business to sell shoes any way possible & I feel that Team Sports just did not want to match the lower price.Awaiting your investigations results.Thanks.******* ******

Desired Settlement: We'd like to buy these shoes with Team Express meeting the competitive pricing including free delivery.

Business Response: We do price match items at the request of our customers.  Team Express strives to have the lowest price and best service for our customers.  However, we do have information available on every item page regarding our low price guarantee.  We reserve the right to decline to price match any order.  In this case the order cannot be processed with the lower price requested as the product is not stocked in our warehouse.  The item must be in stock in our warehouse and the competitor.  We apologize for any confusion and will take this opportunity to improve the clarity of the disclaimer.  However, again Team Express can decline to price match any item at any time.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions.

Thank you,

******* ******
******** ******* *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

If they offer the low price match guarantee on their site shown prominently on each products page & only in fine print on another page they have excused themselves from any price matching, they should REMOVE this low price guarantee from their entire web site !
Awaiting their second reply 


Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: At Team Express we strive to provide the highest quality products at the lowest possible prices.  We are constantly working with our vendors and distributors to sell their products at the best prices for our customers.  Our low price guarantee is designed to allow us to assist our customers and be competitive in today's market.  However, there are certain exceptions to our guarantee.  We apologize that the consumer has not found our resolution acceptable.  However, if we matched any price online without any regard to our policies we would no longer be in business.  Team Express clearly states the price match guarantee and its requirements on each product page.  We will take this opportunity to improve the clarity of the our guarantee and it's requirements, as our customer has stated it was unclear when she attempted the price match.  

Best Regards,

******* ******
******** ******* ******* 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Their use of this low price guarantee is only a marketing ploy & more than likely never actually used in their business.
I stand by my last rejection reason, to REMOVE this & any lowest pricing guarantee or meeting any competitive pricing offer.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order number: ******** I returned this item about 3 weeks ago and I am yet to receive a refund for the purchase. > ***** *** * ** ******** ******* ** *** *** * ******* ** ********** > > Items in Order: > > Nike Men's Woven Split Leg Shorts > > SKU# ********* > Quantity: 2 > Price: $8.97 > Total: $15.25 > > > TOTAL FOR RECIPIENT 1: $15.25 > ------------------------------ > > > Billing To: > ***** *** * ** ******** ******* ** *** *** * ******* ** ********** > > > Total Merchandise: $17.94 > Promotion Code: -$2.69 > Total Shipping: $6.95 > Total Tax: $0.00 > Order/Credit Card Total: $22.20 > I would like a refund of the cost of the items and postage - $22.20 total to my credit card on file. The items have already been returned per your returns policy, brand new untouched. They were pictured very diffierently on your website to what actually arrived.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the cost of the items and postage - $22.20 total

Business Response: At this time *** *** has been refunded for the purchase price of the item less the cost of the return shipping for utilizing our shipping label.  Please let us know if we can assist further.

Thank you,
******* ****** *************** ******** ******* ******* ************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of **** sweat pants from Team Express and they didn't fit. In the box thee was a *** packingbslipmthatbsaidnif you need to return this or exchange , please use the provided packaging slip. I followed the directions and never heard back about my exchange. I followed up a few weeks later and Team Express told me it could take up to 6 weeks. I waited a few more weeks and still nothing. After almost 4 months Team Express told me that my package went back to Nike directly and they can not find it. They will not refund my money and they will not send me the pants I wanted in exchange for the original ones I bought,

Desired Settlement: I eight want my money refunded or the exchange I requested.

Business Response:

We would be more than happy to refund Mr. ****** for his items, or exchange per his request.  However, we have not received the items back to our distribution center via our returns label.  We have also verified with ****, who shipped the product directly to his home in Illinois that they have not received his products back.  I have attached an image showing no scans have been received by the postal service for his return label.  We have repeatedly requested tracking information from Mr. ****** in order to refund his order.  If he is able to provide tracking information, we can research further to determine why a credit/exchange has not been issued.  Please see the attached images from our system showing no activity on his label.  If you have any questions please feel free to contact me directly.

Best regards,

******* ******

Customer Service Manager
TeamExpress.com
************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a volleyball from Team Express (Order number: ********), under assumption that the volleyball would be delivered in 5-6 business days. The invoice I received clearly stated the volleyball would come in 5 business days. When I called the customer service a week later, I was told that the volleyball had not even been shipped by the manufacturer. I asked to cancel the order because I was leaving the country. The customer service representative clearly stated "your order will be cancelled." However, I was charged for the item anyway -- and have no idea whether the volleyball ever came or not, given my overseas travel.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the money, because I never received the product and my credit card was charged despite asking for and being told that the order was cancelled.

Business Response: We strive to provide the best customer service to all your customers.  The item that Mr. ******* ordered is a drop ship item, and does not ship from our warehouse.  We do note this information on our site on the product page, the checkout page and the order confirmation.  As a result the order is shipped directly from ****** and shipped directly to the location requested at the time of the order.  On June 4th Mr. ******* requested that his order be cancelled due to the timeframe being longer than he could wait.  Our policy for drop ship cancellations is that we request the cancellation directly from the vendor (******) and cannot guarantee the order is cancelled until we have been informed from the vendor it will not be shipping.  I apologize for any confusion but we are unable to immediately cancel any drop ship orders.  I do show that the request was completed in a timely manner.  However, ****** stated that the order was in process and could not be cancelled.  It shipped on June 7th via *** tracking number ****************** and was delivered on June 13th in Bronx, NY as requested.  We were notified that Mr. ******* was out of the country and had requested a refund.  At that time we issued a calltag for the item to be picked up by *** and returned to us via *** tracking number ******************.  Once the item is returned to our warehouse we will refund Mr. ******* immediately.  Please let me know if you have any questions.

Best regards,

******* ******
Customer Service Manager
Team Express
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of batting gloves from Baseball Express (Team Express). My son has worn them for about 6 weeks and they are literally falling apart. One of them has a slit all the way up the palm, the gloves are pulling away from the band that goes around the wrist (so there are many holes), and the leather on almost all of the fingertips has worn through. He's just playing on his high school team now, but will be playing on two traveling teams this summer, so he has a lot of games yet to play this year. We have purchased many batting gloves through the years for our boys, but never had to replace a pair during the season. These gloves are obviously defective. They are called "******* *** ******* ******" and the price is $39.99. So I just got off the phone withTeam Express. I told the representative I spoke with about the gloves and she said there was nothing they could do because I purchased them more than 45 days ago, but they would offer me 10% off and free shipping on my next order (meanwhile they offer better deals than that almost every day on their website - I got 20% off when I originally bought the gloves). I told her I was not satisfied and asked if I could speak with a manager. I told him (*****) about the gloves and he basically said the same thing. I said I think you should replace them because they're obviously defective. He said he couldn't enter a new order in the system because it's past 45 days. I told him if he wanted to satisfy his customer he could just send me a new pair, and what I've learned from this is you don't stand behind your products so I will be sure never to order from your company again. He suggested I call ******* and see if they could do anything for me, so I asked him for their number and he didn't have it but said he'd look it up. He then said they don't have a contact number, you have to email them. What???? I said no thanks, I'll look it up myself.

Desired Settlement: Team Express should replace the defective batting gloves I ordered from them or refund my money.

Business Response: We make every effort to stand behind our products and their respective warranties.  However, we are advised by our manufacturers to advise them of warranty problems and assist our customers if the product is defective within 30 days.  If a product is defective within the 30 day timeframe it is immediately replaced with the same item. 

All of our manufacturers have different warranty timeframes for their products.  Batting gloves have a 45 day warranty from the manufacturer.  We apologize that the item you have received has begun to seperate in several areas.  Upon receiving your complaint I contacted ******* on your behalf to see how we can assist you.  I was advised *** ****** has been given a 20% discount on a future pair of batting gloves from ******* directly.  Please call ************ before 8.1.13 to receive your discount.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Thank you,

******* ******
Customer Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of shoes from the website of TeamExpress in February of 2013. Upon receiving the shoes there was a defect in the sewing of the shoe. I called the company and they agreed to send a replacement pair and I was to return the original pair not with the return label I received with the packaging but a new label that was to be emailed. I waited to receive the replacement pair and after some research realized they had shipped the shoes to the wrong address. I email to let them know they have sent the shoes to my billing address instead of my shipping address incorrectly. I got no response to my email. The shoes were delivered to my parent's home and I had to wait for the shoes to arrive to me. By the time I got the shoes the shipping label that was emailed to me had expired so I emailed the company again requesting a new shipping label. Again they never responded to my email. Last week I got a letter that I had been reported to a collection agency for the price of the shoes. I went to the website and used live chat to to request another shipping label again, I was was told I'd have to call. I called and spoke to the same person I had chatted with online, ***** ** He apologized and said he was sending a new shipping label that would arrive in 48 hours. It has been 4 days now and I still haven't received any emails from Team Express.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a shipping label to send back the defective pair of shoes which have been packaged awaiting a label since February. Also I would like for the company to completely resolve any issues with the collection agency. I feel this was a result of the lack of response by the company. I attempted several times to return the shoes and the lack of effort/response by Team Express(not myself) has caused the problem.

Business Response:

We strive to provide the very best service, and stand behind our products.  In this case the customer received a product that was defective due to the stitching.  We happily sent out a new pair without charging the customer.  *** ****** was advised at the time that she called originally (1.31.13) she would be billed for the shoes if they were not returned in a timely manner. 

I have checked all email records looking for where she emailed and never received a response regarding the incorrect shipping address and request for a new label to be sent.  I do show that we have issued 2 return labels to the email address *************** per her request.  We are more than happy to stop the collection on the shoes, if *** ****** will return the original defective pair.  In order to return those shoes we will now send *** to physically pick up the shoes, since the email labels did not seem to be received on her side.  Please let us know what address she would like *** to attempt pick up at. 

We will stop the collections once the shoes have been received back in our warehouse.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

i am willing to provide sent emails if necessary  please arrange for pickup of shoes at address below.

Regards,

******* ****** **** ******** **** ***** ****** **  *****



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a baseball bat "next-day" delivery. If I would have chosen normal delivery, it would have been free delivery. According to ******** ******* *****, it was ***** fault. So they said, oh well you won't get it "next day," but you will get it in two days. So we won't charge you for next day, just standard shipping, we could have charged you for two-day shipping. I did not want two-day shipping, that's why I ordered it "next-day." If I would have ordered it standard delivery, I would have received free shipping. How come it was their error, but they get to decide how to rectify the problem? Sounds like they pulled a fast one. I did not get the delivery I wanted, and they charge me for delivery anyway. What a scam. I will never use this place again, and I have been a loyal customer.

Desired Settlement: Refund all shipping costs.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******




















Business Response: We make every effort to honor our service and delivery commitments.  However, in this case we were at the mercy of *** to deliver the product on time. 

At the time the order was placed, we processed *** ******** order promptly in accordance with our procedures for upgraded shipping on orders.  We shipped *** ******** order on the same day with *** next day air service selected.  It was sent out on 4.29.13 per *** ******** request via tracking number #******************.  Unfortunately, *** had mechanical problems with the plane *** ******** order was traveling on and was delayed.  Upon being informed of the delay we did credit *** ****** in full for $24.95 at 2:51PM CST for the delay. 

It is very unfortunate that he choose to file a complaint as the problem had been resolved prior to his complaint being filed.  The credit had already been processed for the error that occurred on ***** part.  We are happy to work with our customers if one of our service providers fails to exceed our customer's expectations, as we did in this case.  Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Thank you,

******* ******
Customer Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2013 Delivery Issues
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Delivery Issues
5/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1