BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers indoor and outdoor sign services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Build A Sign LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Build A Sign LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Build A Sign LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 05, 2006 Business started: 03/01/2005 Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated: 03/08/2005 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Graham, CEO Ms. Jolene Slama, CLT
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Graham, CEO
Related Businesses
Banners On The Cheap
Business Category

Signs

Alternate Business Names
BAS Wholesale BuildASign.com

Additional Locations

  • 11525 Stonehollow Dr Ste A100

    Austin, TX 78758

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 330-9622(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on 2/17/14 for two custom bumper magnets. The magnets were $8.65 each, and the total price for both magnets was $17.30. The total amount of $17.30 was charged to the credit card I provided upon checkout. I received my order on 2/26/14, however I only received ONE bumper magnet. I attempted to contact the company via phone and email, but my attempts were unsuccessful. I would like a partial refund in the amount of $8.65 for the magnet that I paid for but did not receive.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund in the amount of $8.65 to the credit card that was charged for this purchase.

Business Response: Hi,

Customer sent an email to our company yesterday 2/26/2014 at 3:55 pm. We responded to the customer this morning at 8:00 am stating we would refund them for the singular magnet. Please let me know if there is any additional follow up you require from me. 

Thanks! 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a banner from Buildasign.com for an important company event. The banner I received was awful, the company logo (even though vector art was provided) and the company's lettering (the lettering provided on their website) was blurry and not sharp at all. I asked for a reprint. The customer service rep told me that a banner is supposed to be viewed from a distance and even though a reprint will be done, it wont get rid of all the "noise". The banner ordered was supposed to be signed by all employees and then hung up, there is no excuse for poor quality. I received my reprint and it was way worse than the first one!! Is this a joke?? I'm not able to present this at our company event when this banner was the actual event. My event is on Monday, there is no fixing this in time. I'm so disappointed. This is the first time I use this company and I guarantee the last. I tried calling the toll free and local numbers but no one answers. I E-Mailed all of the E-Mails I can possibly locate on their site and to the rep who claimed I was making a hug deal about nothing. Pictures were sent to him for both prints showing him the terrible work/product I received. At this point all I ask for is my money back. Regardless, my event is ruined and they seem to not care. Poor customer service and quality at that. - ORDER # *******

Desired Settlement: At this point all I ask for is my money back. Regardless, my event is ruined and they seem to not care. Poor customer service and quality at that.

Business Response: Good Morning *****,

We want to apologize for your experience with our company. We strive to provide the best level of service to all of our customers. It sounds like we have disappointed you in this respect. I am going ahead and refunding you for the $34.76 you initially paid for your banner.

I reviewed your email correspondence with our representatives and I do see you reached out to us prior to your order printing to let us know you were worried about the graphics. **** reached back out to you, to let you know we were worried about the quality because although they fell within our printing standards, they were not optimal (the email is attached here).

It looks like you and *** worked together to improve the quality of the image and changed the company logo but you/we still did not change the background which had a lower quality than the text. I also see **** did help to get you a reprint of your banner and overnighted it to you. 

I would like to ask a couple of questions/favors. I really want to see where we failed here. If you could send us photos of the banner you received on Friday as a reprint, I would like to review them with our team to see what we could have done to print them better. 

If you are not able to take pictures, I can schedule a pick up of the banner to bring it back so we can review it as a team. 

During the time you discussed your banner with us, I see the background graphics were definitely still a low quality, did this ever come up in your conversation and were you o.k. with those graphics? The map of the world should have printed worst than the text but I don't see any mention of it by you in the emails. I want to make sure this was something we were addressing as well (I have also included the proof to see the difference in those graphic qualities).

Last, what could our team have done better to improve your experience with us? I would like to share that feedback so we can continue to improve our communication with our customers.

I appreciate your help and feedback. 

Thanks- ****** *****







Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me since there is no going back and fixing the issue. This morning's event was a complete failure. According to the E-Mail received from Buildasign.com, they requested pictures of the awful banner which I have attached to this E-mail. I want them to see the terrible job they did and hope that their Quality Assurance dept can do a better job for someone else as they have lost me as a future customer.



Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a product from the company and we were not satisfied with final product. I will concede that we are partially responsible for the product not being correct. They were willing to fix the problem, but they wanted us to pay the shipping costs. We decided that we wanted to return the product and we were within the 90 day window according to their refund policy. No were in that policy does it say the customer is responsible for shipping or waste cost. We had numerous email correspondences (The company was responsive in their communication). The company stated when if we would return the product and wanted a refund, I would have to pay for shipping costs as well as as a waste fee. The total loss to my company would of been close to $100 for the return. We decided to have the company fix the problem, and it cost our company $48 additional dollars to fix the problem. The company was not willing to assist us in the cost or try to satisfy their customer. I call this poor customer service. We did receive the product back and it is still incorrect, but we have chosen not to contest the issue as it would be an additional expense. I am dissatisfied this company and will pass on to my colleagues not to purchase products from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like the additional $48 back. for the shipping costs.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

Initially when this customer placed an order with our business, they were unhappy with the artwork that was printed on their license plates. In discussing the order with the customer, this error stemmed from the graphic file the customer provided us to print from. 

We offered several options to the customer to remedy their dissatisfaction. We offered to waive the cost of the reprinting the order (which was $371.00) and asked the customer to cover only the cost of shipping. We would not require the customer to ship back the product they have received, they would be able to keep them in addition to the reprinted items.

We advised the customer they could return the product and we would refund them their order cost minus a fee for the material we printed (they would receive a refund of $296.80).

We also worked with them and let them know if their graphic designer was not able to recreate the sign with the colors they were looking for, we would be able to make those changes for them with our art team. 

After working with the customer, they opted to pay the $25.06 to cover the shipping cost of having us reprint the 100 license plates. They provided us with new artwork which we used to reprint their order.

I am not quite sure where the total the customer is requesting us to refund is from because that is not an amount they have been charged. 



Since we reprinted the order, the customer has not reach out to us to discuss any additional problems with their order. 

I have reached out to this customer by phone and by email to discuss their order further and to see in what ways we can additionally help them. 

I am currently waiting for a response on their end. 

Thanks,
****** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The total amount that was given because we had the expense to ship the original plates back as well as the shipping of the new plates.  As for the reprint, we have accepted the plates and do not require anything further from the company.

I called *** ***** once as well as emailed her after receiving her message.
  

Regards,

****** *****





























Business Response: I spoke to ***** this morning and found he had shipped his original license plates back to us.  I asked him to provide me the tracking number and advised him once I confirm the items have been shipped back to us, I will refund his card $48.00. 

Thanks- ****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues