BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Good Feet Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Good Feet Store include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 09, 2003 Business started: 10/03/2002 Business started locally: 10/03/2002 Business incorporated: 10/03/2002 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Arnold Pereira, Owner, President Mr. Troy Zakrzewski, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arnold Pereira, Owner, President
Business Category

Shoes - Orthopedic Shoes - Retail Health & Medical - General Orthopedic Appliances Pain Management Services Retail Stores Foot Appliances General Merchandise - Retail Health & Diet Products - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 125 NW Loop 410 Ste 430

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 598-8859

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: If you call the Good Feet store, the recording tells you that it is "Your one stop pain relief, where you can walk out without pain the same day" store. One of their written materials has the slogan, "Pain Relief From Heel to Toe!" Another section reads, "We have designed a versatile system of supports that work together as a system, to meet the arch support needs of everyone and every shoe." These claims do not hold not true for everyone, especially me. I have extremely flat feet, an extra bone in each foot, and I was recently diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my feet. I have seen podiatrists, who have prescribed custom-made orthotics, for 8 years. In winter 2012, even a new pair of podiatrist-prescribed orthotics failed to provide relief for my foot pain, and my podiatrist recommended surgery. A close friend recommended Good Feet because he said their orthotics helped him with his foot pain more than the orthotics his podiatrist prescribed for him. I first went to Good Feet in April 2013, hoping for similar results so I could avoid surgery if at all possible. **** ***** ******* was the salesperson who explained to me Good Feet's reasons why podiatrists' orthotics did not go as far as their product does in putting feet in the proper position. She sold me three sets of orthotics, "Relaxers," "Maintainers," and "Exercisers," each of which increasingly move the foot into proper position, supposedly. She told me to start each day with the Exercisers, wear them until I felt discomfort, after which I switch to the Maintainers, and then end each day with Relaxers. She said to gradually increase the length of time until I wore the Exercisers until I'm wearing them 8 hours a day. I told her that the Good Feet orthotics felt good, and she even told me I could wear them to walk in a parade that same day. I'm glad I used my common sense and didn't do that, because after an hour or two of the Exercisers I switched to the Maintainers due to discomfort, and even then my feet felt sore. This became a characteristic pattern. I followed the instructions I was given and was never able to wear the Exercisers without discomfort for more than 3-4 hours. And once I switched to the Maintainers, my feet continued to be sore the rest of the day. Eventually I started each day only with Maintainers and my feet didn't hurt as much, although the pain never fully disappeared. I switched to my podiatrist-prescribed custom orthotics for a week in June, to compare them to the Good Feet products, and the Good Feet products felt slightly more comfortable. But I have never been able to wear them as instructed. I have gone back the Good Feet store at least 4 times over the past 6 months. They have switched me to a different set of their orthotics twice. I always have the same result: initial pain relief when I put on the Exercisers, followed by intense discomfort 2-3 hours later, and then some residual soreness and pain that lasts the entire day, even after I switch to the Maintainers as instructed. And if I start the day with Maintainers, I have less pain, but nothing completely relieves pain. Each time I've gone back to the Good Feet store, the *******, ****, or one of the other salespeople tell me I have to "give them a chance"and "work with them." And like ****, the initial salesperson with whom I worked, the other salespeople have promised that if I simply work with them, I can resume exercise walking and other activities I've given up in the past year because of my chronic foot pain. However, there has been more pain rather than less each time I wear their product as instructed, and this has been the case with three different sets of their orthotics, despite the salespeople's promises. I spent $1100 on these orthotics, and applied for credit to pay for them. My podiatrist, my primary care physician and my rheumatologist are not impressed at all with my experience. My podiatrist in particular does not think highly of Good Feet and similar companies. I don't want my money back unless I get to keep the Maintainers and Relaxers because they are less painful than my custom podiatrist-prescribed orthotics. But Good Feet products do not deliver anywhere near the pain relief that their advertisements and salespeople promise. I have found working with Good Feet to be one of the most discouraging customer service experiences I've had in a long time.

Desired Settlement: I want Good Feet to stop the unrealistic, extravagant promises of pain relief to everyone, regardless of their foot condition(s). They need disclaimers or something. They promise something they are unable to deliver. I want to keep their product, because they provide a little relief, but since I didn't receive the extensive pain relief I was promised, maybe some of my $1100 could be refunded. Regardless, Good Feet needs to be held accountable somehow.

Business Response: We will be following up with this client/customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The ******* of the Good Feet store called me today and repeated exactly what I've been told the other times I have dealt with Good Feet: "Let us work with you. You need to let us help you. You need another adjustment. Come to the store and work with us." I explained multiple times that when I use the product as instructed, my feet are in more pain. Then the ******* told me I wasn't using the orthotics properly -- "you're supposed to stop using them when your feet feel uncomfortable, not when they're unbearable." I lost my temper and raised my voice at that point as I told him their instructions obviously weren't clear enough, then. He and I went back and forth some more about whether or not their product can help everyone with every foot condition, why some podiatrists such as my own do not recommend Good Feet (he said the podiatrists are only out to make a buck, and then I reminded him that my Good Feet orthotics cost three times as much as the podiatrist-prescribed ones!), and their advertising claims. I finally hung up on him. He offered me nothing different than every other interaction with Good Feet. Even the same words are used every time. These people are snake oil salesmen. I'm so frustrated I'm about to go work out really hard, on equipment that puts no pressure on my feet, of course. These people make my blood boil.

Regards,

******** ****

Business Response: In every form of advertising the company is mentioning disclaimers, addressing the above customer's concern.    After reviewing the circumstances, the district ******* contacted the customer ******** ***** and offered her a full refund

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Since I am keeping two of the three sets of orthotics I bought (keeping the "Relaxers" and "Maintainers"but giving back the Ëxercisers"), I was told today I will be mailed a partial refund of $324.70. That is indeed satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband purchases shoe inserts 6 days ago and is unable to wear them and does not want to use them any longer. When he purchased the items he asked the sales clerk if they were returnable and ****** ******* who was the sales representative said and I qoute, we will make them work.....the second time my husband asked if there was a return policy ****** said, you wont want to return them, they will work. We were never verbally told there is a no refund policy, I only found that out by calling the 1-800 number of the business and looking at the paperwork my husband signed. I realized it states it in smal print on the paperwork but we asked twice if we could return them and were never told no. I will honor the payment of these items, but the business is misleading in their sale practices. Also the phone number we were given to contact our sale representative never rings at the San Antonio Store. And all request to be contacted by the San Antonio store have never been made.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the items that were sold to my husband and the account created with ***** ***** for payment of these items to be cancelled

Business Response: We contacted the customer, leaving messages upon the first notification.
The customer never responded.  Today, August 14th, **** the store ******* called the customer and reached someone who said they would have *** call **** on his cell phone to get this resolved.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: On July 5th the sales rep that sold my husband the items from the Good Feet store ** ******* called our home at 5:30 pm and said he could not do anything to help us resolve this situation but the store ******* would contact us the next day to take care of things.  On July 6th no phone call was received by anyone from the Good Feet store.  On July 10th, I contacted the home office in California that is listed on the paperwork and left a message with customer service voice mail stating I could not get anyone to contact me from the Good Feet Store in San Antonio Texas.  On July 11th **** who stated he was the store ******* left a message on our home phone with cell number ************ to returned his call to resolve our issue.  My husband called that number and left a message on voice mail at 5:15 pm that we were at work during the day during the week but we were home most evenings and weekends.  On July 15th my husband again called the cell phone number of **** and left a message on voice mail stating he was returning his call, leaving our home phone number and when we were here.  My husband left a third message on the cell phone listed above on July 23rd, again on voice mail, and again we were not contacted.  On July 31st I called the Good Feet store in San Antonio and was told by the answering person someone would call us before the day was out, we recieved not phone call.  Today I am home getting my daugahter ready for college and **** called at 1:45 pm leaving a message for my husband about this issue, as my husband is not here at this....we have mentioned that to everyone several times in the past and yet they still call during the day.  We have only received the phone call from the store ******* on July 11th, and today Aug 14th.  If phone calls were made, they were not made after 5 like we had asked, and no one attempted to leave a message.   

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: we credited the customer in full today, they need to bring back the product.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: as I left the store realized that the charge for the product was extremily excessive for what was purchased (over $700), although i signed and paid, once i was able to look at it clearly i realized i had been duped. They have figued this out by not allowing refunds, which i believe is unethical.

Desired Settlement: the business should have a grace period for returns

Business Response: HI, thank you for notifying us of this.  I wish the customer just would have come back in, we will work with people.  I am asking the store manager to call them today and I will follow up with the outcome of the call. Thanks, **** ************ ext.***

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

* ********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1