BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hawk Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hawk Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hawk Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 19, 2008 Business started: 09/01/2005 Business started locally: 09/01/2005 Business incorporated: 06/09/1999 in MO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Texas Department of Insurance - State Fire Marshal's Office
PO Box 149221, Austin TX 78714
www.tdi.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 305-7900

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mike Shirley, Regional Vice President Lisa Beckring
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Lisa Beckring
Principal: Mike Shirley, Regional Vice President
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants Medical Alarms Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Interface Security Systems LLC

Additional Locations

  • 10203 Kotzebue St Ste 106

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 822-8941 (866) 543-1246 81778502001902

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 822-8941(Phone)
  • (866) 543-1246(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a Hawk Security Service installed in our home on * March of 2012. We have had nothing but problems everytime there is a storm in the area. Hawk has been here on no less than 5 occasions to repair problems with this system. In September 2013 we returned from an extended vacation to find that the system was inoperable. We could not turn off the system with the remote, could not open the door without the system horn going off, could not operate the garage door because the alarm was on. Again on 10/**/2013 the alarm system has failed due to a thunderstorm. This morning 10/**/2013, we found that the system was again inoperable, it won't turn off due to 'another' malfuction. I called Hawk Security and there is nothing they can do to fix the problem today (Sunday) unless I would pay $137.00 to get a repairman out on Sunday. They will call me on Monday to set an appointment (the last time it took 3 days for them to come out) for sometime this coming week. The system is useless, it will not work when there is a storm, they can not or will not take care of the problem that is causing it to malfunction. They have replaced the keyfob, they have replaced something in the attic several times, but even with repeated repairs - it still does not work properly. I want it removed from my house and discontinue charging me for the service immediately.

Desired Settlement: Remove the system and discontinue the contract and service effective immediately. If they haven't been able to fix it up until now, it is unlikely it is going to be fixed in the future. They said they were available 24/7/365 we do not find this to be true.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This message is in regards to a complaint submitted to your firm by our customer ******* *****.  Ms. ***** contracted with Hawk Security to provide security protection for her home in March 2012.  At that time we installed a new security system for no money down in exchange for a 36 month agreement to provide protection service.  Early cancellation of that term will result in a bill for unused services.

Ms. ***** has had five service calls which have all been provided at no change and covered under warranty with the exception of one, in the nearly two years she has been a customer.  It does seem that many of these calls, the most recent being in October 2013, do seem to revolve around issues with the system when storms come into the area.  This is out of our control and something she may have encountered with the same system monitored by another company as well.  It appears that the most recent call was related to a bad encrypter for her keyfob kit, and that was replaced to take care of the issue, again at no charge.  At this point our technicians have found the system to be in good working order.  Our Customer Care team has not received any calls from this customer to cancel their service or their service issues and we would encourage the customer to contact us should she require any further assistance with her system.

At this point we feel that Hawk Security has made every effort to resolve Ms. *****'s issues and we would very much like for her to continue allowing us to protect her home.  Should she request to cancel her service she will need to contact our Customer Care team at **************. 

Thanks in advance,

**** ********
******** **** ********** ********* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hawk Security installed a home security system in my home in Dec-Jan and after 4 service calls, time off of work, and a technician who never comes during the time agreed upon, the system still delivers console network failure messages. I spoke with the customer service team who was suppose to send a senior technician out to my home in the beginning of April and the technician has yet to arrive. These network failures happen at all hours of the day & night and I must acknowledge each message as a very loud alarm sound with each message. Secondly the sales person who initiated the contract told me that I could purchase my own keypad for the door and they would make the connection with my system. I purchased the same keypad that Hawk advertises however when the technician came for the install he informed me that because I did not purchase their product/install than they could not perform the service. Bottom line is that if I have to be up at all hours to turn off alarm messages than I do not need a security system that is suppose to provide my family with peace of mind. I have no confidence that the system is working properly or that a viable signal is present.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of contract, so that I may gain a service that I can use

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

*** *********** contracted with our company to provide alarm monitoring service to her home in December 2012.  Our company installed approximately $800 worth of equipment in her home with $99 down in exchange for a 36 month agreement.  The system she choose is state of the art and very reliable- it communciates with us via cell phone towers.

In January the customer contacted our service department for some code changes.  When the technician came out to take care of them **** *********** asked him to install an extra part she had purchased on ****.  We explained to her that we were unable to do so as it would void her warranty and we are very sorry for any inconvinience this may have caused her.

In April of 2013 she received a trouble signal on her panel and service was dispatched to take care of the issue.  We replaced a part that appeared to cause the issue and the system tested ok.  Only a couple weeks later she contacted us again with the same issue.  At that point we advised that a senior technician would be out to fix the system once and for all.  At this point we have scheduled this final call with her to take care of the problem and she seems to be satisfied. 

Thanks in advance,
**** ******** ******** **** ********** - Interface Security

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The company has skirted over the attempts that I have made to fix this issue particularly with number of visits and conversations with the technical and sales personnel.  I do not shop on **** and the sales person told me to go to *****, he showed me the equipment needed and to contact the company for installation all of which I did.  I believe I do have state of the art equipment, however equipment is only as good as the signal it receives and in my case a 3 out of 31 signal strength is the issue.  1 month later the senior technician arrived and will be installing an antenna that requires drilling in my home.  I will wait to determine how intrusive this is and whether the problem is fixed.  My main intent was that I should not have had to go to these extremes to get what is apparently a simple fix as the technician went right to the panel and diagnosed the problem.  Hawk Security should accept responsibility for their poor service and not validate poor performance with excuses such as the response that I am responding to.

I have had their services since 2007 in my previous home and would be happy to continue the relationship when the promised products work as intended and promised.  

Regards,

***** ***********





























Business Response: Our company has a service call scheduled for this Saturday to install an antenna and run wire to increse the customer's signal strength.  We will not be doing any work, however, until we have shown the customer what must be done and have thoroughly explained how we plan to go about this task.  We want to keep **** *********** as a customer and are in hopes that our plans to rectify this issue run smoothly.  If by chance the customer is not happy with our plans after they are explained to her on Saturday, or feels running wire would be too intrusive in her home, we will let her out of her current agreement with Hawk Security.

Thanks in advance,
**** ******** ******** **** **********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ***********



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1