BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Total Improvements Roofing & Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Total Improvements Roofing & Remodeling include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Total Improvements Roofing & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Total Improvements Roofing & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1996 Business started: 01/31/1991 Business started locally: 01/31/1991
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Santiago Espinoza, Owner Irma Espinoza
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Santiago Espinoza, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Outdoor Kitchens Concrete Contractors Contractors - General Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders

Alternate Business Names
Total Improvements
Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 3603 Fredericksburg Rd Ste 141

    San Antonio, TX 78201

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This all started back in March 10, 2012. I had ceramic floors put in. When the work was completed ***** ******** and ***** ******** stated if I had any problems to let them know. So, I called ***** ******** and informed him that the grout is starting to lift in some area in the kitchen, pantry and utility closet. We arranged a time and date for him to come out to fix the problem. Well, in short he never called and never showed up. I contacted Mr. ******** and and the *****. He stated he was in Mexico, but would contact Mr. ******** so he could fix the problem. A week later he called me. We set another time and date. He never showed up and never called me. I received a call from Mr. ******** on Wednesday 10/16/13 regarding other services they offered. I informed him that he ignored my calls and still it has not been fixed. He apologized and set a time and date for the next day. He called me thirty minutes after the scheduled time and stated that his truck broke down. Then we set another time at 10:00am on Saturday. He never showed up. I called him and he is not answering his phone. ******** is aware of all the problems, because I could always here him commenting in the background. I speak spanish and understood everything he would tell Mr. ********. I have been very patient. I know my grout is never going to get fixed. Frankly I am tired of dealing with this company. They promise everything, but once something goes wrong they never come threw.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this company to pay a professional floor person to fix my grout.

Business Response:

In responds to the complaint from Ms. ****** ******, We did the work back in March 2012 she was satisfied with the work we did. She called us back this year and told us about the grout lifting we explain to her that the 1 year guarantee had expired and she got upset with us. We value our client and try and work with them. she did call and speak to ***** ******** and he explain to her that Mr. ******** was out of town and would let him know about the grout. Mr. ******** ******** explain to M. ****** the guarantee is only for a year. She never once call us to complaint about the grout a month later after the work was done until this year when she filed a complaint with the B.B.B.                                                                                                                              Sincerely  ******** ******** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This company was notified several times before the year, every time they said they didn't want any problems and they would come back and fix the grout. They never told me about the warranty. This is the first time I am hearing of this. This company has no integrity in their work. I can't believe how they are lying! 

Regards,

Raquel ******

Business Response:

We want no problems we will call her and set a appointment to go fix the problem 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Total Improvementes (TI) was in charge of leveling our house acording with a contract that my wife signend Sept. 23, 2013 and it supposed to take 2 week for their workers to finish the job, we agree to pay a extra $700.00 for the city of San Antonio permits and engineer for the work, after a week and a half of they working in my house we were asking for the permits, ******** ******** the owner of TI, finaly brouth the permit and the engineer in less than two hrs. after we told him that we will call the city to report this matter,that was just the begining; after almost four and half weeks, yesterday Oct. 31, 2013 they finished with the leveling and Mrs. ******** send Mrs. **** ******** to do the tape a flow to repair the cracks inside my house (that was part of the contract); they were working for about 3 hrs. (We were in the middle of plastic around the house and dust) when suddenly ******** ******** Jr. called Mr. ******** and told him that he does not want him working in my house because he was late, so he needs to pick up all his equipment and leave my house right away, all this without consultin us. Mr. ******** led me his phone to talked to Espinosa Jr. and he was mad already and after a short discussion he hung up on me. When my wife called TI back to find out what the problem was, ******** Jr. stared yelling at her then he transfer the phone to ******** Sr. and he stared yelling at my wife too, he hung up on my wife, so I called him back and he stared yelling at me too, saying that he was in charge and that we had to follow his orders. At that point I had enogh and told him we will see in court. After a few minutes he called back and left a message on my answering machine in which he stated that he will collect one way or another and that he does not need to go to the courts. (Mand you this is after paying him 90% of the money owed in cash "$9,250.00' and we never said we are not going to pay, the amount owed will be sent via certify mail.)

Desired Settlement: Lower Total Improvements rate with BBB. due to unprofessional ethics.

Business Response: this is ******** of the company total improvement, we
received a complain from the mr. ms. *****   they are very
complicated to work with they what to have a control with our workers and
business, they want to make decisions in our company and the decision  are
made by Mr. ******** ********, every day Mr. ***** ****** would inform us that
Mr. *****  did not let him work that he would always complain about the
work that ***** and his men were doing. Mr. ***** would complain that the holes
went to deep, that the beams were not right the posts were wrong, then Mr.
******** told Mr. ***** that don't interfere with the work that the workers
were doing that they are not kids they are grown men that know what they are
doing. the work was inspect by Mr. ***** ******** the engineer and the work
passed the inspection with no issues. the second difficulty with Mr  *****
was when it was raining for 2 days straight and in does 2 days ***** would call
the office and ask why were we not at the job site. and Mr. ******** told him
that his not going to sen his men to get wet and muddy that they are not
animals and ***** told  him that in his house it wasn't raining but it was
raining in all San Antonio and Mr. ******** told him raising his voice that
don't bother me, i am  going to send his men when it stops raining to
continue with the work till we are done. Mr. ******** presented himself to *****
to see if there was any issue and there was a person with him, and *****
commented to Mr. ******** that some floor joints were not connected to beams
 and a post that was not in a area of the beam. Mr ******** explained to
him that the floor joint  in time it will reconnect with the beam and that
the post will be cheeked by Mr. ***** when he gets there. and then wen Mr.
******** walked to his truck and then ***** told Mr.******** that 2 men from a
different company came and cheeked and that the work was wrong, Mr. ********
walked back and told him that not you or does 2 men are going to tell me how to
run my business and i want you to bring does 2 men to tell me in my face that
the work is wrong, then Mr, ******** waited in the truck for the engineer. when
the engineer arrived he when to go talk to ***** and ***** told him about the
floor joints and the engineer told him the same thing Mr. ******** , *****
accepted what the engineer told him and the work pas the 2nd inspection. the
next day Mr.******** hired Mr. **** ******** to do taping flow and texture he
charged Mr. ******** $300 material and labor Mr. ******** told him that he
needs to be there at 8:00 to 8:30 am if not don't even go.

Mr. ***** called Mr.******** and told him that that he was
finished and ******** asked him is the man doing the taping flow and texture
was done and ***** replied that they were a no show. Mr ******** told ***** to
go buy the materials and pick 2 of his men pay them $250 sow the can get the
work done. 45 minutes later Mr. ***** calls Mr. ******** and tells him that his
on his way with the material and the men and then ***** calls ***** to inform
him but ***** told him no there's someone here already. Mr ***** calls
Mr.******** to inform him. then **** ******** called and ******** jr.
 second owner answered and told **** that he called him twice and he
didn't pick up the phone and that he don't work there no more because we had
told him that if he is not there early to not even show up.  then Ms.
*****     asked **** for his phone so she can talk to ******** Jr.
and then ******** Jr. explained her that he cant work for being a irresponsible
worker and Ms. ***** told ******** Jr. that she gives the orders in her house
that she decides who works and don't in her house, then ******** Jr. told her
that no him and my dad are the ones who are in charge of saying who works for
the company and who don't, then Ms. ***** told ******** Jr, that no i decide
who works in my house you brat. then ******** jr. told her don't disrespect me
i am 22 years old and i bin working for my dads company for 5 years  so i
know what i am  doing  and if don't disrespect you don't disrespect
me then Ms. ***** told him look you brat i give the orders here. then
Mr.******** got the phone and told her what is your problem ms. ***** and she
told him that she gives the orders an ******** told her no its my company and i
am in charge not you and he accepts that he did yell at her then she passed the
phone to her husband ***** and he told ********  and they started cursing at
echo there then ***** told Mr. ******** i an not going to pay you ill see you
in court  and he hung up . so Mr ******** called him back he didn't pick
up and he left a message saying your going to pay me my money one way or the
other.  and that was it  

then we received a card from ***** saying  that they
used the money that they owed us to pay the worker to do the taping flow and
texture but we had told them that 2 people were already going to to the job
because we fired him for being late . 

the job had permits and it had all the legal papers.

So for interfering in our decisions ,  our business
 and paying the worker with our money so the 10 year guaranteed that we
give them is terminated for violating the contract and our decicions.  
                     
                  

               
                     
                     
                     
                     
         sincerely .******** ********,
totalimprovement

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

In most of what is in his response the truth has been twisted and he has added quite a few non truth to boot.

He tried yelling and cursing as intimidation to get done with the contract, if it meant short cuts, as soon as we had paid him most of the money.  And yes I made sure everything was done according with the contract and nothing less, after paying over $10,000.00 for the job it is the least I could do for my self and my family.

After that he tried threatening us, as he acknowedges in his response, that did not work (we filed a police report #*****************), then came a call from the ******* ***** law firm telling us to pay up the balance or they would put a lean on our home; they did not know we had been threatened by ******** ******** and that the money owed was already on the way via certify mail. (We never ever said we will not pay)

Now he is trying to get out of the warranty which will not happen.  Should the time come we will sue over all this and then some. I have all the proof I need to get this done property and legaly.  I wil never have anything to do with Total Improvent, ******** ******** or anyone affiliated with him or his company if I can help it.

I will publicize all records of this matter including the court decision, and for my wife calling ******** ******** Jr. a brat that is just a lie and I can prove that too, Mr **** ******** was present during this whole fiasco.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

This is ******** from the company Totalimprovement  this message is about the issue with ******* *****, Mr.******** just wants to say that because they went there way and made a company decision and paid a fired worker with our company money $ ******* ***** whont have any more guarantee on the house leveling. House leveling guarantee is terminated.

We also resived a card from ******* ***** that says how much he paid  the worker with our money and we had told them not to do that and they went there way and did it because they think they make the decisions in our company and only Mr.******** makes does decisions.

The house was finished with engineer inspection and city permits the company toralimprovement finished work in a professional way. We are going to send you the BBB a fax of the letter ******* ***** send us and were it says wat they did and hoy they wanted to make decisions.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As you can see by ********s' responses and the personal experience we have had with him, he does not condut his business in a good faith manner.

We have not received anything from him with the engineer seal that sais the job was complete it according to the contract or city especifications even thew we paid him $700.00 extra for the permit and engineer.

Again we can prove everything we say and when the time comes should ******** and Total Improvements not honor their contract in good faith, we will see him in court along with anyone else we can find that he or his company may have wrong. And we will place another complaint about that when the times comes.



Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

We have the card of the engineer because they put a police report that says we cant get close to their  house and we are not criminals so in that case they have to go to the office to get it, we will not go to their house or send it through mail, and they have to call us when they come.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******** did not provide me an invoice after completion of the repairs even though I asked for one. I had plumbing problems with his company while he was remodeling my bathroom and I paid another plumber to get the desired results. Now one of the walls has several cracks on it due to insufficient support and I have been calling him for about 6 or seven weeks and he has not had someone to come fix the problem even though a couple of times he said he would come by, he did not and did not have the courtesy to call to tell me.

Desired Settlement: this company remodeled my bathroom. the work is guaranteed for one year. there is a big crack on one of the walls that I have been calling the contractor for about 6 weeks and he does not repair. on the first couple of calls, he promised to come by and never appeared and did not have the courtesy to let me know. on about the 3rd or 4th call, he sent a plumber when I had already mentioned to him that I did not have a plumbing issue. I had had a plumbing issue with this contractor and paid another plumber to get the desired results. the plumber he sent informed me that he would go back and tell *** ******** what the issue was but it took another call a week later to get *** ******** to come take a look at the wall. no *** ******** is saying that my house has shifted and caused the issue, but I have lived in my house over 50 years and the house is now settled in that position. All I want is for *** ******** to have the wall repaired before the year's guarantee expires. Also, *** ******** never provided me with an invoice even though I requested one from him.

Consumer Response: From: ***** ******* [mailto:*******************]

Sent: Monday, October 14, 2013 4:36 PM

To: info

Subject: complaint *******

 

    attn **** ****

 

this is nofication
that the complaint against total improvement roofing & remodelling has been
partially resolved.  they have repaired the wall and i have agreed to
paint  and do any additional work that needs finishing rather than deal
with them anymore.

thank you for all
your help

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1