BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential roofing, roof repairs, insurance claims and negotiations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Roofing Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Roofing Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Roofing Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 26, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gary Whillock, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Whillock, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Service Consultants Skylights Contractors - Sheet Metal Chimney Builders & Repair Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
Whillock Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an agreement for Austin Roofing Contractors to Re-Roof my home. On 4-14-2014 a payment of half the work estimate was given to **** ********. The complete teardown and re-roof was agreed to start two weeks later on 4-28-2014. Due to problems at the roofing company they were not able to come out for another week. This presented a problem because the roof was compromised for scheduled work that was completed prior to re-roof. That prior work was done and waiting on the re-roof. The following week 5-5-2014, **** called and said again he would not be able to come to do the re-roof for another week. At this time Austin Roofing Contractors and specifically **** ******** had my money for 3 weeks. I asked for my money back and **** said that he would get a check to me in a few days. I still do not have my money over a month later. I have continually called and left messages on his cell phone and at the office but I keep getting excuses as to not being able to refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I have no confidence in **** ******** or with Austin Roofing Contractors. Their word is not reliable and would like my refund to be either cash or a certified check. At this time I will be waiting a few more days before filing any legal proceedings.

Business Response:

**** *********

Better Business Bureau

1005 La Posada Drive

Austin, TX 78752

 

 

Dear Ms. *********,

 

This is a very interesting complaint.  How do you please everyone?  I wish I could but I suppose it’s just not possible. 

 

Our work load runs 4 – 6 weeks, nearly year round.  We take great pride in NOT having a hundred different crews “out of control” so I am always taken back when someone complains about timing, especially when we quoted this job nearly a year ago and agreed to do it for the old price.    

 

This agreement clearly states that it is contingent upon things beyond our control.  It’s a busy season, and fortunately for Austin, there has been rain delays and workmen delays.  The real problem was that Mr. ******* demanded Monday only though not specified in the agreement.  He would not accept us doing the work on the Wednesday, the second week following signing the contract though bumping him up on the schedule nearly a month. 

 

We are not McDonalds.  We have no drive through window.  We specialize in doing work with the best standards in the business and this takes a well trained and supervised crew, not a mix of day laborers off the street, so we require some patience from our customers and they seem to appreciate it once they see how we approach the installation of their new roof. 

 

Mr. ******* kept wanting out of the agreement, so we let him break the agreement and refunded his money by cashier’s check just five weeks, (our normal backlog) after he signed the agreement.

 

 

 

With Warm Regards,

 

**** ********

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1