Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Roofing Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Roofing Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Roofing Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 2004 Business started: 07/09/2003 in TX Business started locally: 07/09/2003 Business incorporated 04/13/2011 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary D Whillock, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary D Whillock, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Service Consultants Skylights Contractors - Sheet Metal Chimney Builders & Repair Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
Roof Contractors for Better Homes of Texas, Inc.
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 7000 N Mo Pac Expy Ste 200

    Austin, TX 78731 (512) 249-6835 (512) 491-9050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid Mr ******** $2450.50 to get started on the work and he did zero work. It's been over a year with no work done or refund.

Desired Settlement: Would like complete refund.

Business Response:

This is accurate and we have spoken to the Mr. ***** and agreed to refund his full deposit.  He is to pick it up Friday April 2, 2016 at our office at **** * ***** ****, Suite 200, Austin, TX  78731.  If it's not picked up, it will be mailed to him at the address we have for him on file!  

Mr. ***** has been reminded to pick up his payment this Friday between 3:00 - 5:00 by text message.    

12/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our roof was replaced February 2011 and is still under warranty. In April, we had a roof leak and immediately contacted Austin Roofing Contractors. We have been trying since then to get them to come out and find the leak. Several times they have promised to come to our home, but did not show up. Because of all the recent rain in ******, we now have severe water damage to our ceiling, walls, door frame and wooden floor. We have had many emails back and forth trying to get them to come and meet with us. The last response from Austin Roofing was that they would be out to see us June 4th. Again, no one showed up, which is the sixth 'No show" from the company. We have tried to be more than patient, especially with the present damage we have had to deal with, as well as trying to mop up streams of water during heavy rainfalls.

Desired Settlement: We would like Austin Roofing to commit to a date to find the leak source and we would like the leak source repaired. Because of the damage that has occurred as a result of their negligence in response time, we would like them to be responsible for the cost of repair to our ceiling, wall, door/door frame and floor.

Business Response:

There has been a long dry season from the time we did the work in 2011 until most recently when the weather changed dramatically.  As most people know, the rain has come harder and in more volume than they have in years.  Leaks that people chose to tolerate became a larger issue, like in this case. 

On the attached contract is an option for wood repairs to one of the chimneys along with other options.  The contract total shows $16,925.  These repairs and many other siding repairs were needed to keep water out of the house and preventing damage.  People don’t always take our advice and often opt out of doing everything we suggest.  In this case see the letter dated July 8, 2011 which is a letter of credit for not following through with the chimney/siding repairs.  Also see the attached payments which add up to $15,229.08 not the amount claimed by Mr. ********.  

During the last couple of months we have witnessed time and again, rotted siding, loose boards, lack of caulk and paint that has cause leaks like this and there is no way to prevent leaking without maintaining these areas of homes. 

The issue with Mr. ******** house that is causing the leaks is simply siding and trim issues.   The roof is not leaking! 

See the condition of the house in 2011 in the photos attached.  Circled are key issue areas that should have been updated and rebuilt to prevent this leaking.  The choice not to maintain the siding and trim in multiple areas is the cause of leaking.

Please dismiss this complaint as not valid and unrelated to the work we performed.

Feel free to contact me if you have any further questions.

Thank you,

**** ********

(***) ***-****

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We reject the response from **** ******** of Austin Roofing Contractors.

For simplicity we would like to address some points made by Mr. ******** in his previous letter to us.

1.      Mr. ******** stated:  “leaks that people chose to tolerate became a larger issue, like in this case”

At no time whatsoever, did we “tolerate” our leak.  When the leak initially presented itself, in April 2015, we contacted Mr. ******** immediately.  We are still waiting to see him. 

2.     Mr. ******** explains that we chose to “opt out of doing everything we suggest”.  This is in reference to wood repairs and chimney/siding repairs initially required on our home prior to the roof installation. Austin Roofing Contractors, did in fact replace the wood on both of our chimneys and also installed the ridge vent on the upper ridge of roof. Our original contract shows where we approved these repairs.  What Mr. ******** has forgotten is that in trying to be more competitive with another company we previously received a quote from,  he agreed to remove the ‘cost only’ of the repairs, from our invoice,  to oblige in being more price competitive, which did lower the price from $16,925 to $15,229.08.  However, all repairs were completed as per our contract, by Austin Roofing Contractors.  It is not accurate, therefore, for Mr. ******** to claim we “did not follow through with chimney/siding repairs”. To verify, please see the attached pictures.

3.     Mr. ******** has surmised that our leaking issue is “simply siding and trim issues”.

Mr. ******** is making an assumption as to where our leak is actually coming from because he has never been to our house to inspect.  In fact, in his email to us, dated May 19th, 2015, Mr. ******** states, “where is the leak, what area of the house compared to roof?”  So, he really has no idea what we have been dealing with.

4.      After countless hours on our roof, we have finally found the leak.  It was discovered and verified by a professional roofing contractor who actually came to our house to inspect the roof. 

Upon inspection of the turnback flashing, above the location of the leak, we discovered the following:

a)    A section of the turnback flashing had been caulked in the trough (which caused an obstruction)

b)    The turnback flashing contained a large accumulation of debris (shingle particles, dirt etc.)

c)    Expanding foam interfered with water flow

d)    The turnback “lip” had been flattened in sections.

Therefore when it rained, the above mentioned foam, caulking, and debris caused water to backup and overflow the lip. The water then continued to flow through the nail holes that were installed to hold the flashing down. These nails are rusted and loose which further verifies the source of the leak. Please see the attached pictures.

In summary, our siding/trim is not the source of the leak. If Mr. ******** had provided the customer service required to uphold the contract warranty, we would not have the serious water damage to our home that we are now forced to deal with.  Also, because Mr. ******** has not taken the time, nor the interest in our situation since we first contacted him in April 2015, the accumulation of water damage to our roof and home has made this situation even more difficult to assess.

Regards

***** ********

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response:

Ms. ****,

This is NOT really what happened at all. 

To answer your questions, yes we did respond to the customer and we did address the issue.

  Note well; the issue was not related to any work we had performed.  Note well too this has been stated to the BBB and to the customer many times! 

We were coerced by the customer and the BBB to do repairs that were outside the scope of work covered by the contract.  The BBB actually dropped our rating due to the fact that we did not satisfy this unrealistic customer – so we in turn dug into our pocket and did the EXTRA work.

We have a video and pictures of the work you forced us to do to maintain a good BBB rating. 

Notice once again, it was not in any way related to the work we contracted to do for Mr. ********.  He did state that he would not stop causing pain to us until we fixed it – it’s all that would make him happy.  (This is unrealistic expectations for anyone from the BBB.) 

We have spent our money doing work outside the scope of our contract in an effort to regain our good rating. 

Please note too that this customer was relentless and filed a complaint at the Attorney General’s office which was dropped after our reply and photos similar to our original response to the BBB.  The BBB however did not recognize the abuse and coercion as did the Attorney General’s Office. 

In regards to the many customers that have been lost from our drop in rating – who knows how many – who really knows the damage the BBB has done by this coercion. 

The issues were siding, windows, trim and stonework on the walls above the roofing.  This was NOT a roof leak.  This had nothing to do with our work or contract with Mr. ********. 

There were also three emails sent to the BBB about this issue that received no response at all. 

Please consider the work we did, the extreme measures we went to in efforts to satisfy a customer that did NOT have a legitimate complaint and let me know if you have further questions. 


Thank you,

**** ********

Austin Roofing Contractors 

###-###-#### cell phone 

From: ***** **** [mailto:*****@austin.bbb.org]
Sent: Tuesday, December 15, 2015 12:29 PM
To: *******************************
Subject: Complaint #******** - Re-Opened
Importance: High

 

**** ********,

 

After review of the complaint filed by Mr. ***** ********, we realized I overlooked a few key points stated by the customer.  The customer stated that you never inspected the roof leaks to determine where the leaks may be originating.  Is this accurate?

 

The customer alleges that your company did in fact  complete recommended repairs?  Is this accurate?

 

This complaint has been re-opened pending your response addressing additional consumer issues.

 

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further service.

 

Respectfully,

 

*****

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

In response to Austin Roofers we would like to address the following:

Austin Roofers have claimed that the leaking issue was in no way related to any work they provided to us, which they apparently communicated to us “many times”.  They have also stated that we “coerced them to complete repairs “outside the scope of work covered by the contract”. Austin Roofers have also said that we “would not stop causing pain to them until the problem was fixed”. 

The above statements are not accurate.  As per our last letter to BBB, we originally addressed a statement Austin Roofers had made regarding the false accusation of our refusal of wood repairs and chimney/siding repairs which, they claimed, caused the leak.  We brought to their attention (through BBB), that they had indeed fixed these repairs and their accusation was not true.  Shortly thereafter, Mr. ******** called us,  apologized to us and expressed a very humble offer to make this right.  In an email to us shortly thereafter, Mr. ******** writes: 

      “Let’s clarify. The built in Turn-Back flashing may have been the cause of the leak or at least could have contributed to the leak.  It’s still not known where exactly where all the leak came from.  We expect to understand that fully upon demolition of this wall finish and removal of the turn-back flashing.  In an effort to help resolve this and eliminate the potential of leaking due to turn-back flashing I have offered to remove the siding, trim and old flashings and install new step flashing, Tyvek house wrap, siding and trim on this section of your house at my cost.  In return we will get to video record this information for our use.  Even if we find much of the leaking came from siding issues, window issues or other, this area gets fixed right for you, not a bad offer however, this offer is withdrawn if not accepted as is”.

(note:  we have not changed grammar or sentence structure from Mr. ********)

It is clear from this memo Mr. ******** is not certain what the cause of the leak is and recognizes that it is not possible to know where the leak is coming from until repair work commences.  At no time whatsoever did Mr. ******** ever tell us that the leak was not his fault, or not his responsibility or outside the realm of our contract.  His statement that we forced him to do the work is simply not true.

As per our initial complaint to BBB, we tried for several months to get in touch with Mr. ******** to help us determine the source of our leak.  We were simply reaching out to him in an effort to help us.  When he refused our phone calls and continuously did not show up for appointments at our house, we decided to protect other clients from his neglect by reporting the issue to BBB.  We were never demanding, or rude.  He claims “he (Mr. ********) would not stop causing pain to us until we fixed it – it’s all that would make him happy”.  This is not at all accurate.  It anyone wants to review all the correspondence between Mr. ******** and ourselves, they are most welcome.  Again, we complained to BBB, only because we couldn’t get a response from Mr. ********.  After he began to converse with us, we did not communicate further with BBB.

When Mr. ******** came to our house to discuss the repairs, the conversation was pleasant and cordial between all of us.  When the repairs were completed, Mr. ******** wished us well and shook our hands. His accusations are very confusing as none of it is true.  It seems strange to us that he is using the word “coercion”, when he admitted not knowing exactly where the leak was coming from.  His sudden change in attitude towards us is baffling and further makes us question his motives and business character.  For Mr. ******** to suggest that we “coerced” him into doing these repairs by being “relentless” is completely unfounded.   It would seem highly unlikely that any company could be “forced” by a homeowner into doing work that is not legitimate.

Mr. ******** has also stated that The Attorney General dropped our complaint, after he supplied photos as per his “original response to the BBB”.   This “original response” he is referring to was not accurate as we previously mentioned in this letter.  In it he accused us of not fixing wood repairs and chimney/siding repairs, which he claimed caused our leaks.  We in turn provided photographs proving that he did indeed fix these needed repairs as per the contract.   The file with the Attorney General is still open, as we were recently talking with them.  They sent us a letter, requesting information from us in writing, of any settlement with Austin Roofing.  If Mr. ******** is under the impression this file has been closed, we will certainly be contacting them to provide an update.

Mr. ******** has also mentioned that we did not have “a legitimate” complaint.  Again, let us be clear.  We originally filed a complaint with the BBB and with the Attorney General because we tried for months to communicate with Mr. ********.   Our roof was still under contract and we needed a roofer to dialogue with because of the extensive water damage due to the excessive rains we endured in the spring.  When Mr. ******** didn’t respond to us, we felt it was in the best interests of the community to issue a complaint.  Many elderly people in particular, are very trusting and it was our intent to protect those behind us.  If Mr. ******** feels that our complaint of being ignored by him and his lack of communication is not “legitimate”, but is “coercive”, “unrealistic” and  “relentless”,  then we further stand behind our intent to let the public know what this company is all about.

Regards,


***** & Deborah ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regarding complaint # ******** we have resolved our issues with Austin Roofing Contractors to our mutual agreement.

 

Thanks for your assisting us with this matter

 

*** ********

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an agreement for Austin Roofing Contractors to Re-Roof my home. On 4-14-2014 a payment of half the work estimate was given to **** ********. The complete teardown and re-roof was agreed to start two weeks later on 4-28-2014. Due to problems at the roofing company they were not able to come out for another week. This presented a problem because the roof was compromised for scheduled work that was completed prior to re-roof. That prior work was done and waiting on the re-roof. The following week 5-5-2014, **** called and said again he would not be able to come to do the re-roof for another week. At this time Austin Roofing Contractors and specifically **** ******** had my money for 3 weeks. I asked for my money back and **** said that he would get a check to me in a few days. I still do not have my money over a month later. I have continually called and left messages on his cell phone and at the office but I keep getting excuses as to not being able to refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I have no confidence in **** ******** or with Austin Roofing Contractors. Their word is not reliable and would like my refund to be either cash or a certified check. At this time I will be waiting a few more days before filing any legal proceedings.

Business Response:

**** *********

Better Business Bureau

1005 La Posada Drive

Austin, TX 78752

 

 

Dear Ms. *********,

 

This is a very interesting complaint.  How do you please everyone?  I wish I could but I suppose it’s just not possible. 

 

Our work load runs 4 – 6 weeks, nearly year round.  We take great pride in NOT having a hundred different crews “out of control” so I am always taken back when someone complains about timing, especially when we quoted this job nearly a year ago and agreed to do it for the old price.    

 

This agreement clearly states that it is contingent upon things beyond our control.  It’s a busy season, and fortunately for Austin, there has been rain delays and workmen delays.  The real problem was that Mr. ******* demanded Monday only though not specified in the agreement.  He would not accept us doing the work on the Wednesday, the second week following signing the contract though bumping him up on the schedule nearly a month. 

 

We are not McDonalds.  We have no drive through window.  We specialize in doing work with the best standards in the business and this takes a well trained and supervised crew, not a mix of day laborers off the street, so we require some patience from our customers and they seem to appreciate it once they see how we approach the installation of their new roof. 

 

Mr. ******* kept wanting out of the agreement, so we let him break the agreement and refunded his money by cashier’s check just five weeks, (our normal backlog) after he signed the agreement.

 

 

 

With Warm Regards,

 

**** ********

**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Roofing Contractors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)