BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

All types of Roofing , General Home Repairs & Carpentry

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Agape Roofing & Construction, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Agape Roofing & Construction, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Agape Roofing & Construction, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1983 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated: 08/20/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Main, Owner Mr. Kent Main, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Main, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Carpenters

Method(s) of Payment
Cash , Check , Mastercard , Visa , Discover
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 9631 Roy Croft Ave

    Helotes, TX 78023 (210) 691-2056

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water leak around chimney was repaired on 10/4/2012 with two year warranty on invoice #**** several months later noted leak on porch next to house wallCalled ***** **** on cell phone left message but no return call Contacted him in July/2013 He would inspect roof on afternoon of 7/19/2013but did not show up I contacted Debbie at their office on 11/25/2013 She took information and said I would be contacted after the holidays On 2/19/2014 I reached **** **** on his cell phone and gave him detailed information as to my warranty claim I called the office numbersevertimes and the answering machine answered Agape Roofing and them went to Fax without taking my message On 3/17/2014I Called the Free Estimate number at 9:00am (*** *** ****) and left a detailed message with my leaking roof problem The leak is in the same area as the original leak that was repaired by Agape As of this date 3/21/2014 I am very disappointed in the way that Agape Roofing has handled my Warranty claim In the initial repair their crew replaced several ridge row tiles which fell off several weeks after the original repair in 2012

Desired Settlement: I would like the leak to be repaired .

Business Response: As for the record goes ,after Mr ******** call on 3-17-14 , I attempted contact  3 separate times that day and each time the phone answered but went dead immediately after. Upon the initial inspection in 2012 I advised customer that the roof was in very poor condition and needed replacement ,the tiles were so brittle that foot traffic was nearly impossible , the rear elevation had approx 80-100 broken tiles that had been caulked together from previous repairs  . At that time customer did not want to go to the expense of total replacement . We agreed that we would attempt to repair the chimney flashing which seemed to be the area of leakage . We removed a large area of tiles and installed new underlayment , installed new flashing at the chimney and replaced with tiles that customer had on site from initial construction. The current leak in question , according to customer is not in the initial area that was pointed out upon inspection, but was further down below the area of the initial repairs. I was able to make contact with customer on 3-24-14 , and advised him that I would be willing to come and re inspect , but also advised that the only way we could guarantee any future repairs would be if we replaced at least the entire rear slope of this roof . We strive very hard to offer only quality roof repairs and total roof replacements , but as stated this roof is very brittle and extremely difficult to repair as the product is in very poor condition . This unfortunately is a situation that even though we had the best intentions in helping this customer , we should have never attempted to repair as customer wanted.Also let it be known that the product in question , Maxitile , which is a fiber cement composite product was involved in a class action lawsuit and purchasers of this product have received compensation . I do not know if Mr ****** was compensated for this roof , but again did advise him of the case.
                                                                                                                                             
                                                                                                                                        Sincerely , ****** **** / Agape Roofing & Construction LLC

Consumer Response: Complaint:*******

I am rejecting this response because: I was contacted by phone by Mr. **** on 3/24 and advised he would come to my home and inspect the repair. As of 3/29 I have not heard back from him

Regards,

********* ********

Business Response: I met with customer on 4-1-14 and inspected the roof . As stated before the roof is leaking below the area of initial repairs,  and again I advised customer that the only real resolution would be total replacement , and I was willing to offer a discount on a new roof . The customer still did not want to go to that expense . We were not able to come to a resolution so I asked what I could do to resolve the situation , customer stated that he wanted a refund of $ 1,000.00  , and even though we did fulfill our contract and do the work that was agreed upon , in good faith I agreed. I will be sending a payment next week along with a letter releasing us of all future  liability in this matter to be signed and returned by customer , and balance will be paid upon return of said letter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1