Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advantage Metal Roofs

Phone: (512) 416-7663 Fax: (800) 608-3745 View Additional Phone Numbers 303 E Fm 1626, Austin, TX 78748 http://www.advantagemetalroofs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers metal roofing, and radiant barrier attic insulation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advantage Metal Roofs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advantage Metal Roofs include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advantage Metal Roofs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 2007 Business started: 10/01/2007 in TX Business started locally: 10/01/2007 Business incorporated 09/20/2007 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Kristin G. Wright, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Kristin G. Wright, Director
Related Businesses
Precision Car Wash
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Contractor - Metal Roofing Roofing Equipment & Supplies Roofing Materials Energy Conservation Products & Services Roof Structures

Alternate Business Names
Advantage Metal Products Corporation Advantage Renovations
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 303 E Fm 1626

    Austin, TX 78748 (512) 416-7663 (866) 766-3585

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My roof was replaced on November 25 and 26, 2014 however the attic fan was never completely installed and hooked up to electricity. I contacted the electrician on November 29th and was told they would get back with me on a time to complete the install. I contacted Advantage Metal Roofs on December 15, 2014 after waiting two weeks for a returned call from the electrician. An emailed response was sent to me that the electrician had tried to contact me, but could not reach me and for me to contact the electrician again. I called the electrician a second time and spoke with a representative on December 16, 2014 and was told I would receive a returned call before 5:30 pm the same day. As of January 2, 2015 no one has contacted me to finish the project. I do not feel it is my responsibility to continue to contact a sub-contractor this company has hired to finish a job.

Desired Settlement: If the job can not be completed I prefer to receive the monetary compensation for the electrical work and the time I took off from work to wait for a phone call that never arrived. I will hire a more professional electrician which can come out and finish a job as described.

Business Response: Advantage Metal Roofs completed the electrical work for Ms. ***** on Thursday, Jan. 15, the same day we were notified it was incomplete and stepped in again to schedule.

The roof for Ms. ***** was completed in a timely fashion on Nov. 26, but the electrical work to connect her attic fan could not be done at the completion of the job because AMR did not have access to the interior of the home at that point.

The electrician was charged with contacting the homeowner for access and it is our understanding this was attempted three times between Nov. 26 and Dec. 15.  We understand, through the BBB complaint, that Ms. ***** did not feel the electrician followed through with his communication to her to the point of getting the work scheduled.

Due to the initial scheduling difficulties, Ms. ***** was given direct contact information for the electrician on Dec. 16.

AMR was unaware the communication difficulties were still delaying the electrical work on Ms. ***** project until Ms. ***** contacted the BBB in January.  An AMR owner immediately apologized to Ms. ***** for the delay and for staff not following up to be sure an appointment was made between the electrician and client, and extended a gift card to her for her inconvenience.

It is AMR's ongoing priority to meet client needs in a timely fashion every time.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the company claims it did not have access to the inside of my home on November 26th, yet 2 employees of the company were inside my home that day: 1) to fix the exhaust pipe from the hot water heater which extends through the roof, and 2) to sign paperwork regarding job completion.  In addition there are other issues of semantics of which I do not agree.

Perhaps other consumers will find the truth of this matter somewhere in between.  The fact still remains the turnkey job was completed over 50 days after November 26th.  It was not clear to me when I signed an agreement for the job on October 13 that it would be my responsibility to continue to contact contractors to finish a job. I work 8 minutes from my home, if an appointment needed to occur I have the flexibility to leave my job to return home and then return to work. 

I am appreciative the company has responded to my concern and had an electrician hook up the attic fan on January 15th.


Regards,

******* *****

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Non trustworthy roofing company with slick marketing under guise of honesty and "we are your neighbor." Onion Creek resident buyers, beware! Failure to return multiple calls regarding roof leaking issues since October 2013 installation and warranty provisions. Company literature promotes highest value to customer with "supreme customer service." Failure of General Manager ****** ****** to respond to customer complaints. Failure of Corporate Offices, President *****. ******, ******* ***** ******* ******** **** ******** **** ***** ****** **** ****** to respond to multiple requests for intervention.

Desired Settlement: Immediate and proper repairs of roofing problems at this residence as promised under literature (letter dated 1-2-2008) supplied by ******* ***** ******* ******* stating they back up Advantage's workmanship warranty with full support. Advantage Metal Roofing was paid in full in October 2013.Advantage Metal Roofing should cease advertising itself as a "good neighbor" and admit they are no different than any other unreputable company that disappears after they receive their payment.

Business Response: Advantage Metal Roofs (AMR) installed roofs on the Onion Creek Townhouses in October 2013.  **** *****, who owns and resides in one of the townhomes, called AMR on March 18, 2014, to report water leaking under her gutters at the corner of her patio and down onto her patio.  Because the leak was on the exterior, Ms. ***** was informed we would call back when we could work her repair into the schedule and that it might be as much as two weeks before we called back because our crew was working out of town.

On March 26 (eight days later), Ms. ***** called asking when her leak would be repaired. Again, she was told we would call when the schedule allowed time for her repair.

On March 27, we called to tell Ms. ***** that the plan was to be out during the morning of March 28 to complete the repair.

The supervisor assigned to the repair was delayed on another job out of town and did not arrive until 1 pm March 28.  His delay did not get communicated to our office administrator so Ms. ***** did not receive a phone call regarding the delay although she was never given a specific arrival time, nor was she asked to be home for the repair visit.  In the meantime, Ms. ***** called the office at 11 a.m. very angry that no one was there, and was told the supervisor was on his way from Georgetown where the crew was working.  Mrs. ***** called the office at 12:47 pm, refusing to speak to the administrative assistant who handles most client communication, because the supervisor had not arrived.  Kristin Wright, one of the owners, took Ms. *****’s call, informing us that she planned to complain to ******* Metal Roofing Systems, for whom we are
a local dealer, and the Better Business Bureau.  Mrs. ****** listened and told her those steps were not necessary and she would call her back as soon as the supervisor’s timeframe for the repair could be determined.  Mrs. ****** called Ms. ***** back within 10 minutes to let her know that the supervisor had been held up in traffic coming south from Georgetown but was turning into her neighborhood and would arrive momentarily. The supervisor determined on March 28 that Ms. *****’s leak was being caused by improper flashing on an adjoining townhouse roof that was allowing water to pour onto her roof. 

When another AMR supervisor approached the neighbor about performing the repair on April 2, 2014, the neighbor said he did not have a problem with the repair but would like for Ms. ***** to come over and politely request the repair.  When our supervisor asked Ms. ***** to discuss the repair with her neighbor, she said, in effect, that is not going to happen.  Our supervisor then told her if she was unwilling to request the repair, he was not certain what the next step would be and AMR would be back in touch.

We have appealed the neighbor’s decision by speaking with the Townhouse Association president, and he indicated he would take care of it next week.  We will call Ms. ***** this week and let her know that while we are appealing with the association president, a simple conversation with her neighbor also would gain us the approval needed to perform her repair.

Please let us know if there is any other information which we may provide the BBB.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Advantage Metal Roofs
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)