Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lonestar Restaurant Supply

Phone: (512) 467-6777 Fax: (512) 467-9757 8131 North I-35, Austin, TX 78753 http://www.lonestarrestaurantsupply.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lonestar Restaurant Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lonestar Restaurant Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lonestar Restaurant Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1984 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 06/22/1984 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Schaefer, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Schaefer, General Manager
Business Category

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies Bakers Equipment Bakers Supplies Cooking Utensils Kitchen Accessories Refrigerators & Freezers - Dealers Hotel Product Sales Furniture - Wholesale Janitors Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
ABC Hotel & Restaurant Supply Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a very expensive commercial oven for my residence, Lonestar had it custom made so there policy is that it is not returnable. They told me this when I ordered the stove, they did not tell me that it can not be used in a residence. The oven was delivered in November and was not usable because it is built for a commercial gas service. A residential gas service is not large enough support the oven. I called Lone Star and told them this and they said they do not return custom made equipment even though I had it made for and delivered to a residence. They said all I could do was sell it as used piece of equipment. I was told they would try to find a buyer for it but they never called me back. I called again today and was told again that I can't return it, company is unwilling to help at all. Commercial ovens should not be sold to residential customers unless they are custom manufactured to residential specifications. I cant use the oven because it does not meet residential codes. I am willing to take a huge loss on the oven but I get no response from company.

Desired Settlement: Come pick up equipment. I just want it gone never been used. I would also like the store to not sell commercial equipment to residential customers in the future.

Business Response: This is in response to complaint
********.  We have fully investigated the complaint and have come to the
following conclusion. Lone Star Restaurant Supply has a strict policy to inform
and enforce with all customers that special ordered equipment is to be sold as
a non-refundable purchase.  This item was ordered to the specifications of
the customer’s needs. By his own admission, the customer was informed that all
items special ordered from us are non-refundable.  The equipment in
question was ordered and delivered in complete working order. Upon title
transfer, the customer accepts full responsibility for the completion of the
transaction.  The employee who completed this transaction is no longer
working here at this location, and there is no record of any conversation about
assisting the customer with the sale of said item.   We empathize with
the customer if he misunderstood and was under the impression that we could
assist in selling this for them.  That is not how we handle customer
returns due to buyers’ remorse. For clarification purposes, LoneStar contacted plans
examiner **** *** *** ***** of the City of ********* who informed us that it is
not against code to install a commercial range in a residence in the City of
********* provided it is done according to manufacturer’s specification and
local building code. LoneStar cannot be held responsible for the customers
incomplete investigation of what is needed to properly install the equipment
prior to making a purchase. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The business absolutely told me that this appliance would work in a residential setting. In order to be used in a residence the appliance must have automatic lighting pilots on all burners and as well as the  oven. This appliance does not. Residential gas meters do not have the capacity to run this appliance nor are they safe. I would be happy to have the city of Southlake come out and look at the oven and provide you with a complete list of modifications which would need to be made to this oven in order for it to meet residential codes. You have to know this, how could you possibly not if you sell this equipment.  I have left no less than 10 messages for this company in regards to this matter over the past six months and have not gotten a single returned phone call. I talked to the people at *** restaurant supply and they told me they would do not sell commercial ovens to residential home owners. I was very nice at first and offered to sell the appliance back to the company as a used piece of equipment at a considerable loss but they did not even respond to my calls. It does not surprise me that this business would respond to the BBB complaint with out even attempting to contact the customer. Do not buy from this company, if there is a problem they will do nothing to try to resolve the issue.   

Regards,

**** ********

5/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have place two order on their website and they have cancelled my order and will not honor it. False advertisement and still not remove the item from the web if they are not intended to honor the price.

Desired Settlement: honor your advertise price on website.

Business Response: We do apologize for this inconvenience.  The items ordered by
the customer were uploaded incorrectly and priced wrong.  One item was
priced as $25.00 when it was actually over $200.  The second item was
prices as $0.00 but was also over $200.  We do have a Legal Disclaimer on
our website that protects us from these improper uploads.  (See Below)



Lone Star does not guarantee the accuracy of any content displayed on the
website, including, but not limited to prices, pictures, and product
information. Although Lone Star makes every effort to maintain the accuracy of
images, some product pictures may contain accessories that are not included
with the purchase of the product. Lone Star reserves the right to alter or
correct any information or content displayed on the website at any time without
notice.



The customer was contacted about this improper upload and explained that we
simply could not honor these prices and that he would be refunded any charges
to his card.  We offered to sell to him at our buying cost but the
customer said no.  The items were also removed from the website
IMMEDIATELY.  They are not still on the website as stated by the customer.
 



Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority at Lonestar Restaurant Supply.
 We try our best to get our customers the items they order in th the
quickest and friendliest manner.