Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alamo Refrigeration Company

Phone: (888) 605-2653 Fax: (210) 653-2504 View Additional Phone Numbers 631 N. WW White Road , San Antonio, TX 78219 http://www.alamorefrigeration.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alamo Refrigeration Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alamo Refrigeration Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alamo Refrigeration Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1969 Business started: 08/29/2005 in TX Business started locally: 08/29/2005 Business incorporated 08/29/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. John Dillree, President Mr. Jason Winters, GM Angel Bennet, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Dillree, President
Principal: Mr. Jason Winters, GM
Business Category

Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Truck Refrigeration Equipment Umbrellas

Products & Services

Alamo Refrigeration Company sells the following brand(s): Alamo, Framec, Fricon

Alternate Business Names
Alamo Refrigeration, LP

Additional Locations

  • 631 N. WW White Road

    San Antonio, TX 78219 (210) 653-2500 (888) 605-2653

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the owner of a national restaurant equipment and supply company in *** ******. We are ranked #5 nationally out of 150 dealers and are an BBB A+ Accredited business. We pride ourselves on this. We purchased equipment from Alamo refrigeration, our salesman's name was Bob. We purchased this equipment via purchase orders that were send, received and processed by Alamo with an agreed upon dealer discounted price of 50/5/5 (50% off and an additional 5% off, and an additional 5%). We sent the orders in and the company processed them as per agreed. We placed a total of 7 orders. During this time, we were getting bills in reflecting only a 50/5 percent discount. Our accounting department called them and advised the of this issue and they advised that they would get back to us on it. They are not honoring the 50/5/5 discount that was agreed on and our purchase orders, that they accepted and processed, and are demanding the 50/5. purchase orders are legal, binding contracts. This price was agreed, they accepted, processed and ship, and are billing a higher amount. That is a bait and switch. Bad Business.a

Desired Settlement: We are willing to pay the accepted price with the 50/5/5 discount. Our Purchase order stated this price and was accepted 7 times!

Business Response: Alamo Refrigeration has informed this customer several times what our discount is and that we do not offer any special pricing. Alamo did send the customer a copy of our price list.  The first purchase order we received from this company is dated 11/25/2014. Invoice date is 11/26/2014. There is no price discrepancy what so ever between the price on the PO and what was billed. This invoice is now 73 days past the Net 30 terms we extended them. There are a total of three other orders that have a small price discrepancy. (Not 7) They were notified upon receiving the Purchase Order that the pricing was incorrect and again when the actual invoice was sent. It wasn't until these invoices became severely past due and after several attempts to collect that they claimed they were told of an additional discount. The disputed amount for the three invoices is $38.08, $76.16 and 67.30 ($181.54 total) On 3/4/2015 we agreed to accept a short payment for the balance due minus the disputed amount and have not gotten a response. These three invoices are now 65, 60 and 59 days
past due. This account has been turned into our collection agency. We believe they are purposely stalling payment. The customer now owes Alamo Refrigeration nearly $15,000 in unpaid invoices, finance charges and collection fees. We can provide additional email back up concerning pricing and collection if needed.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We will provide the purchase orders that were issued to Alamo, accepted at pricing, processed and shipped at the agreed upon discount. Believe me, with over 12m in annual revenue, the amount due is not due to stalling, it is due to a classic Bait and Switch from a shady company. We have turned this over to our corporate council as well. The issue is plain and simple; the purchase orders were acknowledged by Alamo, accepted at the price, they processed the orders, shipped the items and billed us at a higher amount. When the bills came in, our accounting department disputed the amount and we have had no resolution including an e-mail dated 3/4. We will only pay the amount that our purchase order stated. Not a penny more. A purchase order is a legal, binding contract. If the pricing was incorrect, why was it accepted and processed??? Multiple times??? We can easily provide the purchase orders and e-mail's that were sent.  

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response:

As stated in my reply we did offer to accept a short payment for the balance due minus the disputed amount and we never got a response.

 

What concerns us is this company is trying to give us a bad name but at the same time we are fully aware that they are in collection with at least one company for $12,000+. We strongly feel that they filed the complaint in anger for being turned into collection and is using the complaint as a stall tacit.  

 

We will honor the additional 5% discount they believe they are owed on the three invoices only. Total discount will be $181.54

However, because this account has been turned into collection we are respectfully asking that they forward all correspondence and payments to our collection agency:

 

***** ****** ***** *********

******* ***** ###-###-####  x1176

***************************

(Also copied in this email)

 

If you need additional information or if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to call or email.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

We will agree to pay the amount due on our purchase orders ONLY. Not a penny more. Not a stall tactic, we are a #5 dealer out of 150 dealers nation wide in the Excell group. We will pay the amount of our PO's ONLY. If you accept, please advise and I will advise our council.

We are not trying to give you a bad name. It's simply bad business to bill different than a purchase order. If you receive a purchase order from a company, accept it, process it and ship it, you need to bill it for that amount. Not a higher amount. Period. That is why we try not to deal with companies outside of a buying group. 

Adjust the bills, we will pay. Period. Very simple. If we deal with your collection company, we will require a release from them. 

Regards,

**** ********

7/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Ice Cream Freezer cart from them back in May and we paid $1569.50 and were promised that we would receive it by July 2, 2014. We really needed it by July 4, 2014 for a huge event. Apparently, no freezer was EVER shipped out and we lost THOUSANDS of dollars.

Desired Settlement: I would like an immediate refund mailed to: ****** ****** **** ********* ***** *** ****** ** *****

Business Response: The customer was informed several times that we were out of stock on the unit she purchased. It was unfortunate that because of production delays we could no fulfill her order before the deadline. 
A full refund has already been issued (7/9/2014).  

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought 2 refrigerators From RELlABUY one of them Marked ALAMO. The fridges were delivered promptly. Both refrigerators were damaged with scratches and the ALAMO one had several issues with it. The top part of the refrigerator is built lop sided and it is not usable. and is dangerous to me and my employees. We have called and complained to both RELlABUY AND ALAMO. Now two months after start of usage the ALAMO refrigerator does not work at all and gives out hot air. When contacted the service department faced nasty attitude and threats. Stay away from RELIABUY AND ALAMO. RUN LIKE HELL 6 days later still no service all. big pile of junk sitting in my store.

Desired Settlement: I want them to them to take fridge back and give me something that is not substandard.

Business Response: We dispatched service to this customer on 05/01/2014. This call was to have a service technician look at the equipment and tell me what the issue with the lid was. First, it should
be noted that according to our warranty, Alamo Refrigeration may request the customer to evaluate the situation before we send out a technician. After the initial pictures the customer sent to us, he refused to further cooperate with us in evaluating this piece of equipment. Also, in our warranty, it states that "Light bulbs, digital components, cosmetic parts, doors, door adjustments, gaskets, and non refrigeration related issues are not covered under the warranty agreement. Warranty does not cover freight damage. Exterior/ interior structural damage, dings and dents, due to on site abuse or shipment are excluded from this warranty." The first complaint about this unit was a structural complaint. This falls outside our warranty. However, we dispatched service anyway to try and resolve this issue. I received a report from our dispatch company on 05/08/14 stating the following, "Tech arrived onsite to an upset customer.  Customer only wanted tech to take pictures of the unit and no repair work to be completed.  Tech mentioned the unit is working as it should be but the lids seem to have an issue with them.  He will be sending pictures of this later on today and I will pass this along to you." Again, lids are not covered under our warranty. Service was halted on this unit due to the fact that the customer refused to allow the service tech to service this piece of equipment.
On 05/19/14 Alamo Refrigeration receive a call from the customer stating the unit had quit working. After all the other issues previously, I requested to have a service tech return to the site and evaluate this unit. The call was submitted to our dispatch company on 05/20/14. The tech arrived on site on 05/28/14. (Please not that once we submit our
service call, we have no control over how busy or how long it takes for the tech to get to the location.) The tech reported that the electronic control had malfunctioned. Upon inspection of this unit the tech discovered that the unit was plugged into a surge protector, an extension cord, and an outlet that was not dedicated to this piece of equipment. Our warranty clearly states "Use of extension cords, multi units operated on the same circuit breaker are strictly prohibited and will void the warranty." I have attached pictures
from the tech showing the use of extension cords, surge protector and the outlet the unit is plugged into that is not dedicated. Up until this point Alamo Refrigeration has tried to work with this customer on this piece of equipment. we have sent out the required service to evaluate the equipment and upon our evaluation of the reports and pictures sent to us by the technician, it has been found that this piece of equipment has been used in a manner that violates the warranty. The warranty on this unit has been voided moving
forward. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** ********

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company failed to honor it's warranty on a commercial refrigerator bought last year. They cancelled the warranty on a bogus hear-say report from a service tech to claims someone told him that the freezer was laid down on it's back. THIS NEVER HAPPENED! This repair tech seemed unprofessional to us and he never even looked at the fridge! The same tech sent us a different report that said the freezer was working fine and just needed to be plugged in. I even have a written letter from the General Contractor who talked to their service guy that states this freezer had never been laid down and nobody ever said it did. We own several restaurants and are very knowledgeable about refrigeration equipment and we would NEVER lay a unit with a compressor in it on it's back or side. In reading other complaints against this company it appears that cancelling agreements frivolously has happened to other customers. After months of being lied to, and promises that they will look after me by their warranty person I had no choice to get this freezer repaired by a local reputable company. We strongly believe that Alamo deliberately looked for any reason, truthful or not, to cancel our warranty. They said it came down to our word against the technician's word. Our repair company said the repairs has nothing to do with the machine having been laid down and should have been covered under the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I have sent their dealer a copy of the Contractor's letter mentioned above and a copy of my repair invoice. I want to be reimbursed for the $887.64 repair costs I have incured after they refused to send out someone to do these repairs.

Business Response: Good morning ****, this is the email thread we spoke about on Friday.

Laying any piece of equipment on its back is misuse of the equipment. It states in our warranty agreement that misuse of equipment will void the warranty. I have included a copy of our warranty.

If you require any more information please do not hesitate to contact me.

It is not Alamo Refrigeration’s intention to back out of our warranty obligations with the customer. With that being said, if any  unit, with any customer meets all our guidelines we will be MORE than happy to cover any and all repairs pertaining to the refrigeration issue. We must however stick to our warranty guidelines on each
and every call that comes to Alamo Refrigeration.

Again, If you need anything else give me a call!!

Thank you!!

***** *******
Alamo Refrigeration
**********************************
************
**************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This freezer was NEVER laid on it's back like the respondent business claims. This is completely bogus and based on an erroneous report from a technician who visited our store. This technician has no intention of doing any repairs but was simply there to ask questions about the freezer. He later reported back to us that there was nothing wrong with the freezer and that it simply needed to be plugged in. How ridiculous. I have attached a letter from the licensed contractor who was present at our store during this technician visit and took part in his questions. This letter states that this new freezer was never laid down and nobody said that it was. We would have absolutely no reason to do that. Also the repairs that we finally paid for speak for themselves. It was the thermostat and defrost timer that failed in this unit. 

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: Dear Ms *********, we have contacted our service company regarding this matter.  I have correspondence from our service company statement from ***** Refrigeration and Ms  ******** ****** [******************************************] regarding the report from the service technician.   Please be advised If the upright was laid down on its back for any period of time, the refrigerant will migrate from head of the compressor to evaporator and this will cause the compressor to burn-out in very short period of time.  This is direct evidence of abuse or misuse.  I just don’t see any reason why our service company would make up a bogus claim because we guarantee payment for their work.  The letter coming back from the customer contractor was after we received the report of abuse from our service company.  The statement from our service company was made 3rd party and non-bias judgment call from Alamo Refrigeration.  However, we are in a “he-said, she-said” scenario and we can only make a judgment decision based on facts and reports we have from our authorized service company.  In conclusion, this supports our denial to pay for the warranty.   

Thank you,  **

**** ******* - President
*************************
************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The respondent business's denial is basically saying the same thing over and over. This is not a "he said she said" situation. this is a "we all said versus the erroneous report from their service technician". As I said before, the technician gave Alamo a different report than they gave us. This is obviously a case were the service tech was either confused as to what was said at our store, or he simply did not want to perform the warranty work. I checked BBB on-line for Alamo and there is other complaimnts of a similar nature.... basically stating that the owner of Alamo has wrongly cancelled contracts before to avoid standing behind his products or services. I strongly advise any prospective buyer to be very cautious when considering the purchase of any "Ice & Refrigeration" branded products that are produced by Alamo. They manufacture an inferior product and do not stand behind their warranty of such products. They do not conduct business in good faith. They cancelled my warranty based on erroneous hear say and would not stand behind this warranty even though the repairs that were done by another technician clearly demonstrated that the needed repairs were do to faulty wiring at the manufacturer, Alamo. If I don't get reimbursement for these repairs I will take legal action against Alamo to recover these expenses. I have over-whelming evidence and witnesses to prove our claim. This will cost Alamo much more in the long run!!

Regards,

***** ******

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a refridgerator for $899.00 from Alamo in April of 2013 and the unit broke before the end of May. After calling and notifying the company of the problem, a repairman showed up 2 weeks later. ******* **************. He was unable to fix the unit and said he would be back. A week later he came back and still could not fix the unit. Alamo told me that if I pay the shipping for the broken unit back to their facility, then they would send me a new unit. I should not have to cover the shipping for this broken unit.

Desired Settlement: I want Alamo to have their unit picked up and refund my payment.

Business Response: I am in receipt of your BBB in regards to complaint #*******:

*** *****
*** ** ********* ***
********** ** *****
Phone:  ************
Email:  ********************

I apologize for the inconvenience to our customer Ms.*** ***** regarding the purchase of ******* swing glass door cooler.   This model has been back ordered for parts that is imported from *****.  The ***** factory is out another 60 days of Alamo Refrigeration receiving the parts, ie:  new evaporator coil.  Due to the unforeseen delay in receiving the part,  Alamo Refrigeration will offer Ms ***** her full refund of $899.00 for her purchase of *******.  Once we receive the unit back safely in our inventory, I will send her a refund check promptly.  

Please be advised, our normal refund policy is 20% restocking fee and the customer is responsible for return transportation costs.  However, due to the lag time and back order of parts, I will refund her 100% upon the safe return of the goods.  Ms ***** is responsible for the return transportation costs.  The return merchandise authorization requires goods shipped back in its original packaging.  If the original packaging is not available, the customer is require to package on dedicated shipping pallet, with proper shrink wrap and cardboard packing material strapped safely to the pallet.  Should the merchandise be return freight damaged, our company reserves the right to refuse the goods or deduct necessary costs to repair to a like new status.  Ms ***** is responsible for shipping costs back to our facility in *** ******** **.  She can ship the unit back to our warehouse location stated below in this email.

Please refer to our attached commercial freezer and refrigeration warranty that can be downloaded from our website:
********************************************************************************
Sincerely yours,

**** ******* * *********
Alamo Refrigeration, LP
***** ********** *** ** *****
*** ******** ** *****
(**** ******** **** ****
***** ******** * *** ******
***** ******** ****
*************************
*********************************
*******************************  

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/23/2013 called Mr. ****** **** concerning the commercial refrigerator Model #******* that I purchased from Alamo along with other items. Informed Mr. **** that the cooling coil was leaking oil and needed to be replaced. Mr. **** stated he was sorry and stated that in his 9 years of experience that part had never failed. He stated that he would order one for me and that the cost would be around $80 at the most and that he would try to get it for me for less or at no cost. Called several days later to check on status of part. Spoke to Mr. **** and he stated that they had received a skid of part but mine wasn't on it. He asked me to be patient because it may take a while. Called back severl days later to check on status of part again. Spoke to Mr. **** who stated that he hadn't received any email regarding my part and that he would look into it. Mr. **** called me back on a Monday and stated that the man he had emailed had responded and that he was out of the country at the time and would return on Thursday and respond to my status request. Called Thursday Mr. **** informed me that the manufacturer was in China and that it may take a while to get part shipped. He stated that they received pallets of parts almost every day btu the the company didn't give them an advance list of what was in the shipments. he would continue checking and let me know as soon as part came in. Called back on 5/13 to check status once again. Was informed that Mr. **** was off site and would return my call as soon as he got back. Call not returned. Morning on 5/14 received a call from individual named ***** who needed to know how I wanted part shipped so they could order it. I informed him that my part had been ordered back on 4/23 and that I was just waiting for it to arrive. ***** informed me that part hadn't been ordered yet and that the wanted to know how I wanted it shipped. They could order it priority for $245 dollars + the price of the part. I informed ***** that Mr. **** had told me part would be much less or no cost. ***** stated that wasn't true and needed to know how I wanted part shipped. I informed ***** that I had been waiting for 4 weeks for the part already and inquired as to why it wasn't ordered. He stated he didn't know and that they could possible get the part within a week. He reiterated that fact that their contact had been out of country. I reiterated that fact that I had been told part was already on order and that every time I called I was told that it was on the way. After finishing with ***** I called the main number and spoke to ******, I believe and asked her if Alamo had a complaint department that I could speak with. She stated that it would be either ****** **** or the President. I asked to speak to President. She informed me that she was the gatekeeper and that she could refer me to ****** ****. I informed her that Mr. **** had already been delaing with me and that I was misled concerning my part. I also informed her that it wasn't good business to misled a customer. I had been purchasing ice in large quantites in order to keep my product cold and it had cost me quite a bit of money, time and effort only to discover that they hadn't ordered the part after telling me they had and leading me on as to its arrival. She stated that she could forward my complaint to Mr. **** and have him call me back. I informed her that it didn't make sense to refer me to the same person who had misled me in the first place. She stated that she was sorry and understood my problem but she couldn't so anything else. To summarize I called on order a part. I wa told that part was ordered and would cost around $80 or less. For 3 weeks after ordering part I was led to believe that my part was in the pipeline only to discover that it was all a farce.

Desired Settlement: I want my part delivered ASAP at the price quoted by V.P. ****** *****

Business Response: ID# ******* ******** ***** ** ******* was informed that his warranty had expired and he would have to purchase the part, and the customer is responsible for the labor.  He was not happy about the fact that Alamo Refrigeration would not honor the part and labor warranty because it was over one year from date of purchase on his orginal invoice.  He felt that our company should absorb this cost, but the parts and labor warranty had expired.  After further process, he conceded to purchase the part.  We shipped and invoice the part and he received the part via *** #************** tracking number.   After several phone calls to ***** and ****** at Alamo Refrigeration he was not happy and therefore file a BBB complaint.   In my opinion, we took all the required measures set forth in our policies and procedures of the refrigeration warranty.  After the warranty expires, it is the customer responsibility to provide and pay for service.  In this particular case, Mr. ******* did not want to contract Alamo Refrigeration to provide the labor required for us to fix his freezer and he decided to out source it on his own.  (See attached back up documentation and invoice).

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
The response from Alamo Refrigeration has not addressed my complaint. It is true that I was informed that my warranty had expired and I understood that fact. It is not true that I was unhappy they would not honor an expired warranty. I never felt that the company should absorb the cost.
If you will read my original complaint it was filed because Alamo misled me as to both the ordering of the part requested and the cost of said part.
My original complaint was filed because ****** informed me that the part was on order and that it would not cost more than $80 in fact, and I quote "I'll probably get it for you for no cost." My complaint was also filed because ****** told me that the part was on order. Every time I called him to check the status of my order, ****** informed me that "It didn't come in today" or "It's on the way and will be here soon, as soon as I get the tracking number I'll let you know." 4 weeks later ***** calls me and asks me how I want to order my part. When I informed ***** that my part was already on order and I was just waiting on the tracking number, he proceeded to informed that the part was never order as ****** had been telling me for the past few weeks that it was. He then proceeded to inform me that I could order the part at 3 times the amount ****** quoted to my over the phone.
I never complained about having to purchase the part, I complained about the misleading tactics Alamo employed and in my complaint I stated that I wanted to pay the price that ****** quoted me.
I also called Alamo and asked to speak with someone higher up than ****** the lady informed me she was the "gatekeeper" and that she would not allow me to bring my complaint to anyone other than ****** whom misled me for 3 weeks in the first place.
On my original complaint I simply asked for a simply resolution of giving me the price I was quoted by the Vice President of Alamo.

For these reasons I reject their complaint.

As a footnote I did contact the Company ****** gave me for repairs. After calling the number ****** gave me and leaving 3 messages over a 3 day period, I called ****** back and informed him of that and he gave me a second company to contact. They informed me that I had to sign a wavier because, even though they did do work for Alamo they would not guarantee their work for Alamo.

Thank you,
****** *******

Business Response: Mr. ***** *******,

Sir, again, I am sorry to hear about this complaint and the way it has been handled by my company.  I can only explain that our folks try to their best to take care of service and parts to the best of our ability.  I have met with both ***** *******, my lead service technician and ****** **** my ** ** ********** and can only communicate that the claim was not handled correctly.  The part that was ordered, and you received is the true and correct charge for the evaporator part, air freight and shipping from China factory and forwarding to your location.  I believe that my folks were trying to be proactive and give you as much discount and break as possible and try to take care of your problem to the best of our ability.  Obviously ****** communicated in jest and not totally evaluated all the actual costs to ship you this part until after the fact.  Our intentions were not to mislead you.  If you were promised a free part or a charge of $80.00, this is not correct, and ****** **** had made an error.

The part was ordered by air freight China, checked through customs by our freight broker and sent to your final destination.  I have attached the correct invoice with your proof of payment in the previous response and I am satisfied we have completed this transaction to the best of our ability.  I deeply regret your trouble, and if you choose to give our company a second chance on future business, then I will give you a $250.00 credit toward your next purchase for all the trouble that has been caused to you.

Sincerely yours,

**** *******
********* * ***

7/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new Alamo single door commercial freezer, model #cfd-1ff, in September of 2012 for a new business I opened. It was delivered and not plugged in until I was ready (November 2012) for my state's Health Department inspection on Monday. Upon plug-in the freezer did not work and it was Friday. I contacted a local commercial refrigeration specialist and scheduled an appointment. I contacted Alamo Monday morning to apprise of the problem and told them I had a someone coming to inspect. The freezer was checked and evaluated and it was determined that the " capillary tube was restricted" and needed to be replaced. I contacted Alamo to let the repair specialist speak to them for parts information. They provided the model number of the part but my company was unable to locate as we are in New York. Alamo sent the part....................but very long story short.............refused to pay for the full repair cost of $945.56 saying that our contract was voided because we did not contact them first prior to authorizing repair!!!!!!!!!!!! "A brand new business with Health Department inspection scheduled needing to repair a BRAND NEW freezer!!!!! They reviewed the case, invoices etc. and mailed a check for $350. I was unhappy but I let it go!!! Fast forward to Wednesday, June 5, 2013. Problems with the same freezer. When I arrive I notice the temperature goes up to 39 degrees and then goes back down. Later that day, the temperature is up to 65 degrees. I hope that it will go back down. The next morning, Thursday, the temperature is up to 89 degrees. I contact Alamo to apprise because I don't want to "void the contract" this time so I follow their protocol. I am informed that someone will call to set up an appointment. I pull the plug on the freezer, throw out the contents and wait. Friday I call and am told that they were unable to get anyone because it's a weekend and someone will call to Monday or Tuesday to make an appointment. My business is now closed because I have on freezer. Monday morning arrives and I call since I am not at the store and they would not be able to reach me at the number provided. I am told someone would get back to me later that day. Approximately, three hours later I receive a call telling me that they will not be repairing the freezer since I "VOIDED THE CONTRACT" the first time when I authorized the previous repair. So, because of their extremely poor business practices, my business has been shut down for four days.............and it will be several days more because the earliest service call I could get was Wednesday, June 12.

Desired Settlement: Since they refuse to honor the contract and send service/repair men, I feel this business needs to be held accountable and make monetary reparations for this repair costs!!!!

Business Response: The first complaint in the customer statement is that she purchased the unit and did not plug it in until she was ready to use the unit. Our warranty states the unit shall be free of manufacture defects for a period of one  year from the date of purchase as indicated by paid invoice. We have no other way of verifying when a unit is in use other than an invoice date.

We did receive a call Monday, November 5th 2012 stating the unit was not working properly and was informed that the customer called their own service company to evaluate the unit. An Alamo employee explained to the customer our service policy that states The customer is required to call or notify Alamo to obtain a repair service authorization before the work may commence.

Alamo will provide the customer with a repair authorization number. Such return authorized number must be presented to the authorized repair service technician before any work commences and noted on the invoice or such warranty coverage is void." The customer's response was "I will worry about that later. I need my freezer fixed."

After speaking to the customer longer, Alamo Refrigeration decided in good faith to try to reach an agreement with the customers chosen repair company. A phone call was made by an Alamo employee to the service company in attempt to negotiate a service fee with no  avail. An email was sent the same morning stating:
**** ***** *************, Concerning the warranty work at ***** **** for the ****** sin **************** - We can authorize your services up to $85.00 per hour and the initial evaluation call not to exceed $150.00. 

If you are ok with these terms please continue with service on the unit. If not, we will have to find  an authorized refrigeration company to do the warranty work on this unit.

If you have any questions please feel free to call us.

Alamo did not get any response from the service company and they continued to repair the unit per the CUSTOMERS request.

As the unauthorized repair continued, the service company did inform Alamo Refrigeration that the capillary tube war restricted. We made several attempts to educate the service company on how to repair the unit. In fact, the President / CEO of Alamo Refrigeration personally requested the technician to remove a portion of the cap tube to compare with parts that are readily available any where in the United States. The technician insisted the needed the exact dimensions. We had to request this from our factory.

After the repair was complete we did receive the 10 page fax for the services rendered totaling $945.56. We contacted the customer's father about the charges. He agreed with our decision to pay $350.00. He  understood that we were not obligated to pay any amount because the customer did not follow the guidelines in the warranty.

Regretfully, when we received the customers second request for service on June 10th 2013 we were not able to comply. We have strict guidelines we hold our authorized contractors to and we were not able to warranty third party contract work.

Please see attached documentation for back up.

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable