Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alamo Refrigeration Company

Phone: (888) 605-2653 Fax: (210) 653-2504 View Additional Phone Numbers 631 N. WW White Road , San Antonio, TX 78219 http://www.alamorefrigeration.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alamo Refrigeration Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alamo Refrigeration Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alamo Refrigeration Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1969 Business started: 08/29/2005 in TX Business started locally: 08/29/2005 Business incorporated 08/29/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. John Dillree, President Mr. Jason Winters, GM Angel Bennet, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Dillree, President
Principal: Mr. Jason Winters, GM
Business Category

Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Truck Refrigeration Equipment Umbrellas

Products & Services

Alamo Refrigeration Company sells the following brand(s): Alamo, Framec, Fricon

Alternate Business Names
Alamo Refrigeration, LP

Additional Locations

  • 631 N. WW White Road

    San Antonio, TX 78219 (210) 653-2500 (888) 605-2653

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 3 door sandwich prep cooler as brand new, but moth later temperature was dancing between 35 to 80 degree randomly with beep. I called warranty department to check the problem but tech was not dispatched. I made many calls then suddenly a tech guy stopped by when I was out of store, said worked normal without issue. He did not diagnose the unit just checked temperature and said normal. I said again and again temperature was swing up to 80 degrees but he said now no problem. right after he left, the unit was beeping again and temperature was up to 70 degrees. I called and described but ***** told me if he dispatch one more time he would bill for service. I did not understand what was going on the machine. Then I gave up calling to warranty service and called many local techs to get some help. they all said thermostats was possibly wrong. they recommended reset as factory set before replace it. I read all the manual and website, finally reset the digital thermostats, then the unit was working as normal. that day was January 1st 2016. However, Alamo sent a bill $187.50 for service call. I said the unit was still problem until I reset by myself. Tech did not diagnose. He just came and saw then left. It should be covered by warranty.

Desired Settlement: cover by warranty.

Business Response:

Alamo Refrigeration regrets the issue you had and values your business. When a service issue is reported we work diligently to find a licensed service provider to diagnose the problem and remedy it as soon as possible. We rely on the reports from the field technicians as they are our eyes and ears. However, in this instance the tech reported that the unit was working fine. It was running at 35*. The tech observed the units running cycle and found no problems.  Because of the technicians report of no manufacture defects in the unit the service call is deemed to be a nuisance call and the diagnosis charges are billed directly to the customer. Our warranty clearly states: Alamo reserves the right to invoice and collect from the customer for actual and replacement costs in the event the warranty claim is deemed to be a nuisance claim, negligence and/or not associated with a defective product or part

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree with Alamo's argument.

I spoke to ***** he said if I called more he will charge but he did not send tech to store more than once.

As you see the attachment, this is not a nuance call i had actual problem keeping

There is no reason call a tech guy to make hassle. because of brand new unit failed to keep temperature and spoiled foods, that's why i ask to check.

***** did not say charge for that, only if he sent tech one more time he would charge, so I resolved my myself asking to other people. 

I do not agree this invoice. 

 

Please watch these attachments.

Regards

*** ***

Business Response: Our warranty states: Alamo reserves the right to invoice and collect from the customer for actual and replacement costs in the event the warranty claim is deemed to be a nuisance claim, negligence and/or not associated with a defective product or part.
As the technician stated the unit was not malfunctioning and it was operating correctly within the manufacturers parameters. As such, this is deemed a nuisance call and the customer is responsible for payment. The technician mentioned that when he was on site the top lid of the unit was left opened and it is located in a kitchen. These units are meant to have the lids and doors closed when the unit is not in use. This ensures the unit can maintain the correct temperature. If the lids are left open, the cold air will escape and the unit will not maintain temperature. The tech stated he explained this to the customer.
Alamo Refrigeration stands behind its product and warranty. We will repair all legitimate warranty issues that occur within the advertised warranty period. As I told the customer, we will dispatch a service tech back to the location to re-evaluate the unit once this bill has been paid. I also told him that if the tech finds nothing wrong with the unit again, that call would also be deemed a nuisance call and he would again receive the bill for the call.
Alamo Refrigeration’s warranty, policies and procedures are set in place to ensure fair treatment for all parties involved in all of our transactions. As stated before, we will re dispatch service once this service bill is paid in full. If there is an issue with the unit that is deemed a warranty issue, Alamo Refrigeration will gladly repair, at no cost to the customer, any issues the technician finds.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am so disappointed because I kept saying the unit had a fault setting in it's thermostats and controller. 

Lid was opened only we need for cook. most of time we do not let lid opened. Even if lid is opened it is impossible to get 80 degree. 

Making 80 degree and beeping was abnormal operation. 

I attached video files but it was not uploaded last time, so I converted to gif file to check.

Video shows digital controller on back panel, it showed error code E03 but I could not record but I got this video for changing number randomly it beeps too.

It is not a nuance call please understand my situation. I said I resolved by myself spending many days. 

Regards,

*** ***

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased this two doors freezer with ice and refrigeration company who handles the selling and shipping for Alamo but all products actually ship out from Alamo warehouse. However, the freezer i received has a damage on the door that caused the door cannot be closed and hanging out in the air with a lose string on it. we contact ice and refrigeration right away and after all the pictures and information they need from me they said i would need to contact Alamo with a rep called *****. at first ***** said he has many other customers in the email he will needs to handle before he can take care my issue first which i was ok first. and then i waited for about 4 days i still have not heard from him. and then i called their office the lady told me he is gone for a week. so i had to address the problems to that lady who said who will contact ***** and get back to me that afternoon or the next day. Again, i waited for another week i was kinda frustrated so i called them again. (this whole time ice and refrigeration has been really helpful, they tried to contact Alamo for me as well on their end). this time a gentleman called *** was pretty helpful and he said he will get back to me after he reviews all the pictures. i waited three more days then still no answers from them so i called them again . This time ***** was back in the office. but i was so surprised with his attitude. it was rude, disrespectful and not helpful at all. He called me " people like you" doesnt follow their procedures when all i have to do is been sending and providing all the information ice and refrigeration and Alamo need and waiting for their responses. Not to mention i have received the product for about 4 weeks and no one was willing to help from Alamo and then i got yelled on the phone by their employee *****. i don't think i deserve this kind of treatment when i am their customer and all i have been doing is waiting patiently and doing all i can whenever they ask for information.

Desired Settlement: i need them to fix this freezer right away under their responsibilities.

Business Response:

I understand your frustration with this situation.
Alamo Refrigeration has been in constant contact with Ice and Refrigeration on this issue. We are working to try to resolve this issue within the parameters of our company policy. Please refer to our warranty posted on our website. This unit arrived onsite with freight damage. As per our warranty we do not cover freight damage. Also, as shown in pictures provided by the customer, the unit has been laid down on its back. This is misuse and abuse of the equipment as it can cause oil from the compressor to drain potentially damaging the unit when powered up.. As per our warranty this will void the warranty on the equipment. Also, the shipping for this product was set up by a 3rd party. Alamo Refrigeration is not held responsible for any shipping issues on 3rd party shipments. A freight claim must be filed by the party that set up the shipping.
As mentioned previously, we understand the frustration. As of 11/16/2015 Alamo Refrigeration, in good faith,  has requested a service tech go to the location to evaluate the unit. Once this evaluation is completed If the problem is something covered under warranty we will fix the issue at no charge to the customer.  

Thank you, Alamo Refrigeration



Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The unit arrived onsite with no damaged on the box it came with outside of the this unit and i have sent pictures to prove to ICE AND REFRIGERATION already that was the reason they have determined this unit was damaged when it left Alamo warehouse.  also, the unit was laid down on its back in the picture was correct but it was after we sent the pictures to ICE AND REFRIGERATION to prove it was damaged and they have told us to check every other details of the unit and also remove the bottom parts and the pallet that came with.  if we didn't lay it on its back how could we find out that it was also a small damaged on its bottom as shown in the pictures?  therefore, even though Alamo keep mentioning about it has to do with the fright damage but it clearly was not.  As they have mentioned, as in 11/16/2015 they have requested a service tech to come evaluate this unit in their good faith?  i have purchased this item on the 13th of October 2015 and received on the 15th and been contacting them through ICE AND REFRIGERATION and on my own since the day we received the item, and they called it good faith and good service after a month? and also if it was not because Chasity from ice and refrigeration keeps contacting Alamo for me i don't know how long they will continue to ignore my request since i have spoke with 4 different Representatives from Alamo and got yelled and verbal abused from ***** from Alamo thats why i had to ask Chasity for help.  and until today, 11/20/2015 2:22pm no one from Alamo has called since the 16th to confirm or mention about the tech coming out, nor any technician from Alamo has show up in our store.  they are clearly lying on their response because for all the listings i have mention i have all the emails to prove my complaints 

Regards,

***** *

Business Response:

Alamo feels we have gone above and beyond to help resolve the issues the customer is having. We have been completely truthful in our response. We have tried several times to call the customer and no one answers the phone. As we stated, at Alamo Refrigeration’s expense, we requested through our service provider that they send an unbiased technician out to evaluate the unit.  We had no prior contact with the technician before his arrival.

Technician was on site 11/19/2015 and sent this report to our service provider:
Attached are 9 photos of the cooler. they are as follows
1- back right wheel- notice missing paint, panel dented
2- front right door, door closed notice dent at door switch
3- front of unit. still on shipping pallet, notice gap between doors
5- right door, top hinge, no hinge pin electric cord instead of hinge pin
6- right front door switch, notice dented panel
7- left front wheel, broken off
8- front grill, right side pushed into pallet (dented)
9- front right wheel, support channel appears to be bent 
x- side view of top hinge

Per tech the unit appears to have been dropped in shipping causing damage. He didn't remove any panels to assess if the refrigeration system was damaged or if the electric cord had been pulled from the door or from the control box above the door. The bottom panels on the right and front of the unit are damaged. He is unable to determine if the frame was damaged without removing the unit from the pallet and removing the panels but with a broken wheel he didn't want to attempt it.

As stated previously, our warranty states: Exterior / interior structural damage, dings and dents, due to on-site abuse or freight damage are excluded from this warranty. It is the responsibility of the customer to work with the dealer from whom they purchased the unit  from, Ice & Refrigeration Systems, to coordinate a concealed freight damage claim, repair or replace the unit.
Alamo has reached out to Ice & Refrigeration as they are the shipping party and they are in return reaching out to their customer to resolve the issue.  

9/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2015, I purchased several new backbar refrigeration units at a cost of over $5,000 for my new bar/restaurant, ******* ***** **** * **** *** ******* ** ******* *******. While the units cooled properly, the digital sensor did not have an accurate readout. The inside temperature would hold at about 30 F while the sensor constantly oscillates between 10 - 40 F. I have videos showing the rapid fluctuations of the readout at the time I called for service and still now. In late May, I notified Alamo of the issue through their warranty department and they dispatched an independent contractor in my area. Instead of fixing the temperature sensor, he billed Alamo for $*** for an "out of warranty" repair when the contractor did not actually repair the problem. In fact, the contractor did not alter or perform any work on the units. Then Alamo passed this fraudulent bill on to me and threatened to send my account to a Collections firm if I didn't pay for their independent contractor's service call -- a call where nothing was resolved/fixed. I have video evidence taken in early June documenting the problem and have videos now showing that the issue has remained the same as when I made the warranty claim with Alamo.

Desired Settlement: Please send a refund check for the $*** I paid based on your threat of sending my account to collections.

Business Response: In regards to the temperature fluctuation. Due to doors
opening and closing and a defrost cycle, the temperature will fluctuate on this
display. The normal cycling of the unit will cause this temp to fluctuate due
to the fan inside the unit turning on and off and moving air.

As customer stated in complaint, the unit is working
properly and holding correct temp. This is why the customer was billed for the
service call.

If the unit is not cooling or a component is broken that is
preventing it from cooling, these issues will be covered completely under
warranty.

We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and hope
that this clarifies the operating function of the equipment.

~Alamo Refrigeration, LP

 

Thank you, 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

You state that the temperature fluctuation happens due to doors opening and closing but I have taken video and photos of the coolers fluctuating between 10 and 40 degrees without the doors opening at all.  I have this photo evidence from before the service technician came and after which shows that I was billed for a service call where nothing was repaired or resolved.  Thus, stating that "the unit is working properly" is patently false -- unless these units were designed to digitally display temperatures far different than the actual temperature inside the cooler.  A faulty sensor or digital temp display that was the sole reason the repair technician was dispatched to repair under warranty -- but did not fix -- is a breach of warranty under state law.  If you do not refund me the $*** for the fraudulent repair by the shoddy independent contractor you retained to deal with your warranty issues in my area, I will be pursing legal remedies. 


Regards,

**** ****** ****

Business Response: As stated in the response, the temp changes without the
doors opening and closing. This will happen and we are not disputing that fact.
As I mentioned in the original response this is due to the normal cycle of the
unit. When the unit comes on, the condenser fan turns on and begins to move air
into the unit. As the evaporator is around 20 degrees colder than the desired
temp in the cabinet, the sensor will read colder while the unit is on. Once the
unit turns off, the temp in the cabinet will stabilize and the display will
read the average temp. This sensor is placed near the evaporator. Please note
that the actual thermostat probe is located in the same area. In this position
it reads a more constant colder temperature then if it were in the cabinet. If
this sensor is placed in the cabinet with the product, there becomes a chance
that it can be blocked with product and the unit would run to long without
turning off and this could create a temperature that is to cold and the product
could freeze. Below is the report from the tech that serviced this equipment:

Here is an update for a service call that came in while I
was away.  Both units had the same issue.

******* *** * **** *** ******* ** ***** ****** ***************** ****** *****************

Tech found unit to be working properly, but product was
blocking the evaporator and the unit was not getting good air flow to cool the
entire case.  Tech advised location how to stock their product and
confirmed unit is working fine. 

As the customer stated, the units are working properly and
maintaining the correct temp. We do not authorize equipment to be altered from
original factory specs as this is the way the factory designed the equipment
and could cause it not to operate correctly. If someone wishes to relocate a
sensor or alter the equipment in a way that is no longer in line with factory
spec, Alamo Refrigeration cannot be responsible for any issues that may arise
due to these actions. I believe the easiest way to remedy this issue is to
place a small thermometer inside the cabinet. A mercury thermometer will not
fluctuate as fast as digital and this may provide the steady reading the
customer is looking for.

Thank you, 
Alamo Refrigeration, LP

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As show in my pictures, the temperature fluctuation is well over the 20 degrees you stated.  In addition, if the sensor is located so close to the evaporator that this much error is actually NORMAL, then when I put in the service request notifying you of this issue, you should have simply notified me that this (defective) sensor behavior is actually how your refrigerators were designed.  Instead you dispatched an independent contractor who admitted that the units were working properly and then billed me $*** for what you call a normally functioning temperature sensor/display.  Apparently this huge 25+ degree error between the ambient temperature in the cabinet and the displayed digital temperature is how your refrigerators behave out of the box.  Stated simply, you cannot have it both ways:  either admit that your temperature sensor placement being too close to the evaporator is a design defect, or, if you deny this, then admit that your contractor inappropriately billed me for something that you deem to be normal operation and that he should not have been dispatched at all. 

Regards,

**** *****

3/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the owner of a national restaurant equipment and supply company in *** ******. We are ranked #5 nationally out of 150 dealers and are an BBB A+ Accredited business. We pride ourselves on this. We purchased equipment from Alamo refrigeration, our salesman's name was Bob. We purchased this equipment via purchase orders that were send, received and processed by Alamo with an agreed upon dealer discounted price of 50/5/5 (50% off and an additional 5% off, and an additional 5%). We sent the orders in and the company processed them as per agreed. We placed a total of 7 orders. During this time, we were getting bills in reflecting only a 50/5 percent discount. Our accounting department called them and advised the of this issue and they advised that they would get back to us on it. They are not honoring the 50/5/5 discount that was agreed on and our purchase orders, that they accepted and processed, and are demanding the 50/5. purchase orders are legal, binding contracts. This price was agreed, they accepted, processed and ship, and are billing a higher amount. That is a bait and switch. Bad Business.a

Desired Settlement: We are willing to pay the accepted price with the 50/5/5 discount. Our Purchase order stated this price and was accepted 7 times!

Business Response: Alamo Refrigeration has informed this customer several times what our discount is and that we do not offer any special pricing. Alamo did send the customer a copy of our price list.  The first purchase order we received from this company is dated 11/25/2014. Invoice date is 11/26/2014. There is no price discrepancy what so ever between the price on the PO and what was billed. This invoice is now 73 days past the Net 30 terms we extended them. There are a total of three other orders that have a small price discrepancy. (Not 7) They were notified upon receiving the Purchase Order that the pricing was incorrect and again when the actual invoice was sent. It wasn't until these invoices became severely past due and after several attempts to collect that they claimed they were told of an additional discount. The disputed amount for the three invoices is $38.08, $76.16 and 67.30 ($181.54 total) On 3/4/2015 we agreed to accept a short payment for the balance due minus the disputed amount and have not gotten a response. These three invoices are now 65, 60 and 59 days
past due. This account has been turned into our collection agency. We believe they are purposely stalling payment. The customer now owes Alamo Refrigeration nearly $15,000 in unpaid invoices, finance charges and collection fees. We can provide additional email back up concerning pricing and collection if needed.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We will provide the purchase orders that were issued to Alamo, accepted at pricing, processed and shipped at the agreed upon discount. Believe me, with over 12m in annual revenue, the amount due is not due to stalling, it is due to a classic Bait and Switch from a shady company. We have turned this over to our corporate council as well. The issue is plain and simple; the purchase orders were acknowledged by Alamo, accepted at the price, they processed the orders, shipped the items and billed us at a higher amount. When the bills came in, our accounting department disputed the amount and we have had no resolution including an e-mail dated 3/4. We will only pay the amount that our purchase order stated. Not a penny more. A purchase order is a legal, binding contract. If the pricing was incorrect, why was it accepted and processed??? Multiple times??? We can easily provide the purchase orders and e-mail's that were sent.  

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response:

As stated in my reply we did offer to accept a short payment for the balance due minus the disputed amount and we never got a response.

 

What concerns us is this company is trying to give us a bad name but at the same time we are fully aware that they are in collection with at least one company for $12,000+. We strongly feel that they filed the complaint in anger for being turned into collection and is using the complaint as a stall tacit.  

 

We will honor the additional 5% discount they believe they are owed on the three invoices only. Total discount will be $181.54

However, because this account has been turned into collection we are respectfully asking that they forward all correspondence and payments to our collection agency:

 

***** ****** ***** *********

******* ***** ###-###-####  x1176

***************************

(Also copied in this email)

 

If you need additional information or if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to call or email.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

We will agree to pay the amount due on our purchase orders ONLY. Not a penny more. Not a stall tactic, we are a #5 dealer out of 150 dealers nation wide in the Excell group. We will pay the amount of our PO's ONLY. If you accept, please advise and I will advise our council.

We are not trying to give you a bad name. It's simply bad business to bill different than a purchase order. If you receive a purchase order from a company, accept it, process it and ship it, you need to bill it for that amount. Not a higher amount. Period. That is why we try not to deal with companies outside of a buying group. 

Adjust the bills, we will pay. Period. Very simple. If we deal with your collection company, we will require a release from them. 

Regards,

**** ********

7/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Ice Cream Freezer cart from them back in May and we paid $1569.50 and were promised that we would receive it by July 2, 2014. We really needed it by July 4, 2014 for a huge event. Apparently, no freezer was EVER shipped out and we lost THOUSANDS of dollars.

Desired Settlement: I would like an immediate refund mailed to: ****** ****** **** ********* ***** *** ****** ** *****

Business Response: The customer was informed several times that we were out of stock on the unit she purchased. It was unfortunate that because of production delays we could no fulfill her order before the deadline. 
A full refund has already been issued (7/9/2014).  

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought 2 refrigerators From RELlABUY one of them Marked ALAMO. The fridges were delivered promptly. Both refrigerators were damaged with scratches and the ALAMO one had several issues with it. The top part of the refrigerator is built lop sided and it is not usable. and is dangerous to me and my employees. We have called and complained to both RELlABUY AND ALAMO. Now two months after start of usage the ALAMO refrigerator does not work at all and gives out hot air. When contacted the service department faced nasty attitude and threats. Stay away from RELIABUY AND ALAMO. RUN LIKE HELL 6 days later still no service all. big pile of junk sitting in my store.

Desired Settlement: I want them to them to take fridge back and give me something that is not substandard.

Business Response: We dispatched service to this customer on 05/01/2014. This call was to have a service technician look at the equipment and tell me what the issue with the lid was. First, it should
be noted that according to our warranty, Alamo Refrigeration may request the customer to evaluate the situation before we send out a technician. After the initial pictures the customer sent to us, he refused to further cooperate with us in evaluating this piece of equipment. Also, in our warranty, it states that "Light bulbs, digital components, cosmetic parts, doors, door adjustments, gaskets, and non refrigeration related issues are not covered under the warranty agreement. Warranty does not cover freight damage. Exterior/ interior structural damage, dings and dents, due to on site abuse or shipment are excluded from this warranty." The first complaint about this unit was a structural complaint. This falls outside our warranty. However, we dispatched service anyway to try and resolve this issue. I received a report from our dispatch company on 05/08/14 stating the following, "Tech arrived onsite to an upset customer.  Customer only wanted tech to take pictures of the unit and no repair work to be completed.  Tech mentioned the unit is working as it should be but the lids seem to have an issue with them.  He will be sending pictures of this later on today and I will pass this along to you." Again, lids are not covered under our warranty. Service was halted on this unit due to the fact that the customer refused to allow the service tech to service this piece of equipment.
On 05/19/14 Alamo Refrigeration receive a call from the customer stating the unit had quit working. After all the other issues previously, I requested to have a service tech return to the site and evaluate this unit. The call was submitted to our dispatch company on 05/20/14. The tech arrived on site on 05/28/14. (Please not that once we submit our
service call, we have no control over how busy or how long it takes for the tech to get to the location.) The tech reported that the electronic control had malfunctioned. Upon inspection of this unit the tech discovered that the unit was plugged into a surge protector, an extension cord, and an outlet that was not dedicated to this piece of equipment. Our warranty clearly states "Use of extension cords, multi units operated on the same circuit breaker are strictly prohibited and will void the warranty." I have attached pictures
from the tech showing the use of extension cords, surge protector and the outlet the unit is plugged into that is not dedicated. Up until this point Alamo Refrigeration has tried to work with this customer on this piece of equipment. we have sent out the required service to evaluate the equipment and upon our evaluation of the reports and pictures sent to us by the technician, it has been found that this piece of equipment has been used in a manner that violates the warranty. The warranty on this unit has been voided moving
forward. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** ********

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company failed to honor it's warranty on a commercial refrigerator bought last year. They cancelled the warranty on a bogus hear-say report from a service tech to claims someone told him that the freezer was laid down on it's back. THIS NEVER HAPPENED! This repair tech seemed unprofessional to us and he never even looked at the fridge! The same tech sent us a different report that said the freezer was working fine and just needed to be plugged in. I even have a written letter from the General Contractor who talked to their service guy that states this freezer had never been laid down and nobody ever said it did. We own several restaurants and are very knowledgeable about refrigeration equipment and we would NEVER lay a unit with a compressor in it on it's back or side. In reading other complaints against this company it appears that cancelling agreements frivolously has happened to other customers. After months of being lied to, and promises that they will look after me by their warranty person I had no choice to get this freezer repaired by a local reputable company. We strongly believe that Alamo deliberately looked for any reason, truthful or not, to cancel our warranty. They said it came down to our word against the technician's word. Our repair company said the repairs has nothing to do with the machine having been laid down and should have been covered under the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I have sent their dealer a copy of the Contractor's letter mentioned above and a copy of my repair invoice. I want to be reimbursed for the $887.64 repair costs I have incured after they refused to send out someone to do these repairs.

Business Response: Good morning ****, this is the email thread we spoke about on Friday.

Laying any piece of equipment on its back is misuse of the equipment. It states in our warranty agreement that misuse of equipment will void the warranty. I have included a copy of our warranty.

If you require any more information please do not hesitate to contact me.

It is not Alamo Refrigeration’s intention to back out of our warranty obligations with the customer. With that being said, if any  unit, with any customer meets all our guidelines we will be MORE than happy to cover any and all repairs pertaining to the refrigeration issue. We must however stick to our warranty guidelines on each
and every call that comes to Alamo Refrigeration.

Again, If you need anything else give me a call!!

Thank you!!

***** *******
Alamo Refrigeration
**********************************
************
**************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This freezer was NEVER laid on it's back like the respondent business claims. This is completely bogus and based on an erroneous report from a technician who visited our store. This technician has no intention of doing any repairs but was simply there to ask questions about the freezer. He later reported back to us that there was nothing wrong with the freezer and that it simply needed to be plugged in. How ridiculous. I have attached a letter from the licensed contractor who was present at our store during this technician visit and took part in his questions. This letter states that this new freezer was never laid down and nobody said that it was. We would have absolutely no reason to do that. Also the repairs that we finally paid for speak for themselves. It was the thermostat and defrost timer that failed in this unit. 

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: Dear Ms *********, we have contacted our service company regarding this matter.  I have correspondence from our service company statement from ***** Refrigeration and Ms  ******** ****** [******************************************] regarding the report from the service technician.   Please be advised If the upright was laid down on its back for any period of time, the refrigerant will migrate from head of the compressor to evaporator and this will cause the compressor to burn-out in very short period of time.  This is direct evidence of abuse or misuse.  I just don’t see any reason why our service company would make up a bogus claim because we guarantee payment for their work.  The letter coming back from the customer contractor was after we received the report of abuse from our service company.  The statement from our service company was made 3rd party and non-bias judgment call from Alamo Refrigeration.  However, we are in a “he-said, she-said” scenario and we can only make a judgment decision based on facts and reports we have from our authorized service company.  In conclusion, this supports our denial to pay for the warranty.   

Thank you,  **

**** ******* - President
*************************
************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The respondent business's denial is basically saying the same thing over and over. This is not a "he said she said" situation. this is a "we all said versus the erroneous report from their service technician". As I said before, the technician gave Alamo a different report than they gave us. This is obviously a case were the service tech was either confused as to what was said at our store, or he simply did not want to perform the warranty work. I checked BBB on-line for Alamo and there is other complaimnts of a similar nature.... basically stating that the owner of Alamo has wrongly cancelled contracts before to avoid standing behind his products or services. I strongly advise any prospective buyer to be very cautious when considering the purchase of any "Ice & Refrigeration" branded products that are produced by Alamo. They manufacture an inferior product and do not stand behind their warranty of such products. They do not conduct business in good faith. They cancelled my warranty based on erroneous hear say and would not stand behind this warranty even though the repairs that were done by another technician clearly demonstrated that the needed repairs were do to faulty wiring at the manufacturer, Alamo. If I don't get reimbursement for these repairs I will take legal action against Alamo to recover these expenses. I have over-whelming evidence and witnesses to prove our claim. This will cost Alamo much more in the long run!!

Regards,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alamo Refrigeration Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)