Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woody RV Rentals meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woody RV Rentals include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Woody RV Rentals
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 2010 Business started: 03/01/2007 in TX Business started locally: 03/01/2007 Business incorporated 03/13/2009 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Julie Woody, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Julie Woody, Managing Member
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Rent & Lease Vacation Rentals

Method(s) of Payment
CASH, VISA, MASTERCARD, DISCOVER, AMERICAN EXPRESS, WIRE, ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER, 
Alternate Business Names
Woody RV Rentals, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Woody RV Rentals has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4550 S Interstate 35

    Georgetown, TX 78626 (512) 944-5800

  • PO Box 806

    Georgetown, TX 78627

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed there largest enclosed cargo trailer to move a car so I rented there 20'. During the phone conversation with the lady in the office I was told when asked the interior width that they didn't have time to measure it and if I couldn't do it myself then don't rent it. I couldn't believe this reaction but continued anyway. I needed to be in Dallas by 8am so I had a friend of mine pick the trailer up for me within there business hours because they were unable to make any accommodations. This in a way I can understand. During ordering I specifically said I needed to make sure the trailer had tie downs in the floor. Now at 4am in the morning I get to the trailer to find out that there is not a single tie down in the floor at all and the best part is is that the trailer is not even a 20' but only a 16'. So I call Julie woody and surprisingly she answers. She is quite arrogant and her only comment is that they open at 8 at which point she hangs up on me. At this point I want nothing less than to not have to give them any business.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the correct trailer and I feel like it would be appropriate to reimburse me at least what it's going to cost me for the delay in scheduling because now I'm a full day behind because I won't be able to unload in the same day at my destination.

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Woody RV and we (****** *** ***** ******) mutually agreed to end our business/leasing relationship the beginning of November. ***** ******** job moved to Houston so the plan was to use the RV for his temporary housing. Due to the extreme items needed to repair the RV prior to living in the RV, other arrangements needed to be made. On December 30th, Woody RV (***** *****) and the ******* agreed upon a reduce amount of funds/parts owed. After multiple attempts to collect the outstanding funds and parts, Woody RV has not paid or remitted parts. Additionally, the ******* believe the RV was used/rented and the ******* were not reimbursed. The ******* have toll records showing the RV was not located where Woodys RV claims the RV was located. The ******* are asking for reimbursement of rentals for that period. Details Provided to Woody RV: Kindly request your accountant to remit $958.08 ($306.08 + $652.00 for the rental period) and request your parts person to mail the awning strap. Details: Gas not filled: Woody to reimburse Conley $81.26 Missing mattress: Woody to reimburse Conley $150.00 Toll Tags: Woody to reimburse Conley $44.62 Grey and Black tanks not dumped: Woody to reimburse Conley $20.00 Propane not filled: to reimburse Conley $10.20 Strap on Awning Missing: Woody to mail new strap to Conley Unpaid Rental Details: 06/05: Per the toll tag, the RV is in route to out of town via Georgetown and past Buda. 06/08: Per the toll tag, the RV returns the same route via Buda to Georgetown. Date Transaction Tag License Location $$$ 6/5/15 11:16 AM 3353742823 TX-BPT6669 SH 130 Mustang Creek Plaza L01 $1.75 6/5/15 11:26 AM 3353718374 TX-BPT6669 SH 130 Cameron Plaza L08 $1.75 6/5/15 11:35 AM 3353822673 TX-BPT6669 SH 130 Decker Creek Plaza L07 $1.75 6/5/15 11:41 AM 3353800596 TX-BPT6669 SH 130 Airport Plaza L04 $1.75 6/8/15 12:00 PM 3354520827 TX-BPT6669 SH 130 Airport Plaza L08 $1.75 6/8/15 12:06 PM 3354525275 TX-BPT6669 SH 130 Decker Creek Plaza L10 $1.75 6/8/15 12:15 PM 3355216736 TX-BPT6669 SH 130 Cameron Plaza L13 $1.75 6/8/15 12:25 PM 3355550239 TX-BPT6669 SH 130 Mustang Creek Plaza L11 $1.75

Desired Settlement: Woody RV to remit agreed payment plus outstanding rental of $958.08 ($306.08 + $652.00 for the rental period) and plus agreed upon part (awning strap).

Business Response:

Here is what I sent as a response.

I am sorry that *** ****** had an issue with our rental program, indeed renting RV's is not for everyone, you have to choose to allow your RV to be in a rental program knowing that yes wear and tear is going to happen to your coach that being said as long as you are aware of the fact that there is wear and tear that WILL happen to your RV you do have the opportunity to earn considerable income on your RV whether trailer, fifth wheel Class C or Class A motorhome. The fact of the matter is the ******** did....their RV earned fantastic income which ironically enough *** ****** failed to mention in her negative review....on an RV that would have just COST them money in monthly note, insurance, storage they grossed over $10K in the 6 months we had to rent it out despite our having a year long contract, that is fantastic for any RV to earn that much. That being said, I will gladly address Ms. ******** complaints, I firmly disagree with the complaint that her RV was dirty including the toilet, we employ a fantastic full time person that does nothing but clean our RV's and she does a great job. We addressed EVERY item not deemed normal wear and tear by the ******** including reimbursing them for the fuel, propane and missing mattress. *** ****** needs to understand that when one's RV rents enough to earn them over $10K in rental profit yes there is going to be wear and tear and if you are going to leave a negative review over a missing front curtain tie cord then you likely should not put your coach into any rental fleet...

***** *****

Woody RV Rentals, LLC

**********************

************ - Office

************ - Cell


 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the response is inaccurate and does not address the specific issues raised.  To support our complaint, we have pictures, toll tag receipts and witnesses to the condition the RV was received. Woody RV has reimbursed us *******) for a portion of what was requested, however, Woody RV has not shipped/replaced the missing awning strap. Woody RV has also not provided the renter sign-in and sign-out sheets of our RV to confirm a missing 3-day rental (though we have proof the RV was in the shop where Woody RV claims the RV was located).

Though the amount reimbursed reimbursed is not for the full amount expected and though the missing awning strap has not been shipped to us, we do not wish to continue to banter with Woody RV on this issue. In the future, we will not recommend for people to do business with Woody RV.  


Regards,

****** ******

3/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented an RV from Woody's RV Rental for the period of 12/28/15 through 1/4/16 for nearly $6,000. When I went to pick up the RV, it had not been cleaned and the gas tank was near empty. I had to accompany the reps to the gas station to fill it up, which took about 40 minutes. We drove the RV to Denver the next day, and as we passed through Raton, NM, the check engine light came on. Raton, NM is approximately 3 hours from Denver, and we had planned all along on making the drive in 1 day. I called *****, the owner, and she told me to go back to Raton and get the RV checked by a truck stop in the morning (it was very late by now and all the truck stops were closed). Since there was 13 of us, including my very disabled boy who has very poor circulation and therefore can't deal with cold weather, we got 2 hotel rooms. 5 people stayed in the RV, but there was simply not enough room in the RV for 13 people to sleep. In the morning, I located a truck stop that had the computer necessary to diagnose the RV. The computer determined that there was 'an event', but that the RV's computer fixed the problem when the engine was turned off during the night. On our way back from Denver, the front generator started to slide out from the front of the RV. Basically, it's like a big drawer that was coming open because a latch broke. Upon returning to Austin, the front generator slid out again and bent a bolt, thereby preventing it from being able to be slid back in. Two employees from Woody's came to meet me and told me that this was the 3rd time that this had happened with this RV and that they had just replaced the latch 'less than a month ago'. I emailed ***** on January 9 asking her to pay for our hotel rooms and the bill for the truck stop computer check. I emailed her a 2nd time on 1/19 and a third time on 1/23. Finally on 2/1, I get a response from her, which says this: "I apologize for the delay in getting back to you. We will not refund you for a hotel stay, the RV is completely self-contained and checked out fine at both the truck stop as well as here when it was returned to us. We will however offer you a one day credit toward any future rental based on $685 per day. We will be refunding your security deposit less $190 for the repair to the front generator compartment." So ***** at Woody's RV willingly rents me and my family (9 kids in total) an RV for nearly $6,000 for the week. This RV had a particular problem that had occurred on at least 3 occasions according to her own employees, for which she is trying to charge me $190. And, she won't reimburse hotel fees caused because the 'check engine' light came on she told me in a text to pull over because it checked out before we left and after we got home!! My recommendation: do NOT rent anything from Woody's RV Rental in Georgetown, TX!!! I saw another complaint that called them crooks, and I have to agree.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for my hotel fees and not pay for repairs to her RV which were repairs that had not been made properly prior to our renting the RV.

Business Response:

The coach that Mr. ******** rented from Woody RV Rentals, was first and foremost Clean it was not filthy we have a full time staff person that does nothing but clean our RV's and we do not allow any to leave our lot that have not been cleaned. We have our RV's leave our lot (and notate that specifically on their check-out form) the level the fuel is, Mr. ******** wanted more than a quarter of a tank so we took him to the gas station to add more otherwise Mr. ******** could have returned the RV at a quarter of a tank. When Mr. ******** left our lot there was no check engine light on in fact the RV was fully operational and had been completely checked out mechanically as it is every time any RV leaves our lot. I do not know how Mr. ******** drove my RV, I do not know why the check engine light came on. I offered the best advice I could give not knowing the conditions that Mr. ******** was driving my coach. The bottom line, the RV is fully self-contained regardless of anything else it is very comfortable and accommodating. I rent RV's I do not rent Hotel Rooms. If the engine had thrown a legitimate code (it checked out fine on the following day at the shop). When it was returned to us it also had a broken generator latch, yes the latch had been broken previously however a NEW latch had been installed prior to Mr. ******** taking our RV off our premises. We surmised the only possible way that the latch could have failed was for Mr. ******** to slam on the brakes causing the compartment to slide open. We charged Mr. ******** the time to once again replace and repair the latch. We had FULL intentions to refund the Security deposit less the $190 however Mr. ******** contacted his credit card company and did a chargeback on the full $3500. Woody RV Rentals, LLC Always stands by our product and our RV's. If we feel that a true emergency or something mechanically had happened outside of Mr. ********'s control we would have gladly stepped in however mechanically and functionally that RV is sound and we stand by that.

***** *****

Woody RV Rentals, LLC

********************** ************ * ****** ************ * ****

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I are RV *****s, who allowed Woody RV Rentals to lease our vehicle on our behalf. RV *****s are to receive half of the money from each rental. Month after month we got conflicting information from Woody RV regarding rental dates and money owed. We had an unsettled feeling about the business operations of Woody RV and decided after 5 months to pull our RV out of the program, with no hard feelings. Upon picking up our RV there were several items missing and area of damage that we were unhappy about, including an empty propane tank and a missing propane tank, a missing spare tire, missing chocks and leveling blocks, missing coffee pot, broom, and dust pan, the outdoor shower was broken, an outdoor latch had been broken, the holding tanks had not been emptied, and a ***** on an inside cabinets was broken off. Some of the items were replaced (with old,dirty items they found on their property, and others we have taken care of ourselves. We are willing to accept this as a lesson learned about property rental, and are not seeking compensation for these items. Our main concern, however, has to do with our final invoice for February and March. We have yet to receive a March invoice although we have asked for it numerous times. We were told that February and March were combined into one final statement that we received at the end of February. We asked for itemized statements for February and March so we are able to see for ourselves exactly when the RV was rented and what daily rate was received. We have been waiting 3 weeks and still have not received this. The ***** of Woody RV also stated that she would show us the contract from the **** ** ***** *****, who is the client who rented our RV for most of February and March. We would still like to see this document as well. It is our suspicion that the dates and rates were not reported to us accurately, and we are owed money from Woody RV. We feel that we are well within our rights as property *****s to have access regarding rental dates and rates, for our own purpose as well as tax reasons. We are now asking for all records on our RV dating back to October 2013. Any help you can give us to help us resolve this issue would be appreciated. If we are unable to resolve this matter our next step is to pursue legal action.

Desired Settlement: We would like to receive all documentation regarding rental dates and rates on our RV dating back to October 2013. We want these statements to be itemized and to clearly show the rental rate agreed upon between Woody RV and the customer, as well as our portion of 50%. We would also like a copy of the signed lease agreement between Woody RV and **** ** ***** ***** showing the "discounted rate" charged for each RV throughout the months of February and March.

Business Response: Woody RV Rentals, LLC took into consignment the ********* ****** ***** wheel last October, we were able to rent it a few times in the fall, once in January and then we had a long term rental on the trailer to *** ****** **** *** ***** beginning in February.  The *******'s signed our consignment contract allowing us to represent, advertise, manage and rent their RV.  They agreed to our conditions and signed our contract.  We reserve the right to negotiate and set rates up per our discretion especially when we rent multiple units to one event and they are a non for profit event.  We gave the *******'s the exact number they made per what was negotiated with the *****, we did not hide any numbers or fee's it was straight forward as was all the RV's that we delivered, NO OTHER ***** questioned our pricing, all were thankful for the rentals in a typical slow month.  
As far as the missing items, yes, cannot deny that, we had just brought it back from the ***** and did not have proper time to go through it however that is not an excuse, that is just the facts we did in fact have the items, they were just not in the RV when it was picked up by the *******'s we have no issue compensating them for these items that were missing or up to par for the *******'s.
One other item to note, when we received the *******'s fifth wheel the heater was inoperable, we had it diagnosed by ** ********** and found out that it had a mouse living in it.  We repaired the heater and it worked fine.  Those type's of things happen, we also fixed a broken toilet and other items on the trailer for the *******'s.  Their RV was very popular and would have rented well, I am sorry it didn't work out for the *******'s hopefully they personally will enjoy the trailer for their family for many years to come it was a great RV.

1/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Recreational Vehicle supplied by Woody's RV Rental LLC of Georgetown, TX was unsafe, did not meet the specifications advertised, and I was charged for repairs to the vehicle that were already there prior to renting the vehicle. I was charged approximately $300/day for a 6 year old RV that was scratched and dented with 150,000 miles on it, piles of old electronics in the cabinets, a radio that was falling out of the dashboard, two of three slideouts I had to stop and use the hydraulics to slide back in every 40-50 miles, a satellite TV system that never locked in a signal even in the Austin city limits next to the road, storage doors that popped open and I finally had to tape shut with duck tape to keep them closed while driving, A week into the trip I and my family woke up to a cabin filled with smoke because (as it turned out) the power converter fried. When I called for help, ***** Woody told me they did not have anyone who could come fix (or even look) at it; so I would have to take the RV 80 miles to Port Lavaca to have it fixed. In the end, I spent 9 hours of my time going to see a RV technician (****, ********* ****** ** ****** ************). **** looked at the power converter that had failed and stated, "this power converter has a reputation for failing like this. They are a piece of junk". **** then called Woody's representative, ***** and told him exactly the same thing while I was standing there listening to the conversations. After **** replaced the converter, he informed me that the Microwave was also fried and that he couldn't do anything about it. No worries I said. We haven't used/don't use the microwave anyway and Woodies should understand that it is collateral damage from their converter failure. Boy was I wrong. Woodies not only did not refund me for the day I had to spend on the road having their equipment repaired, they charged me almost $700 for a $99 microwave. And, then the big surprise came. Woody's charged me $1100 to repair scratches that they had told me not to worry about before I left the lot when I picked up the vehicle. When I called them, ***** ******* exact words were, "there were tree branches on the vehicle". When I said those scratches were already there and you told me not to worry about them, she refused to answer and handed the phone to her man *****. Bottom line is: Woody's charged me more than $3000 for a vehicle that was not safe and did not meet their advertised specifications and $2100 in repairs (for total of more than $5000) for damage to a vehicle that and my family did not do to the vehicle. They did not reimburse me for the my time and rental loss while taking their vehicle in for repairs. They charged me almost 7 times what a low-end microwave like the one that was already in the RV costs; a microwave that failed because of the failure of their poor power converter. Bottom line is, Woody's rented me a vehicle that was not what was advertised: (1) age, mileage, external and internal condition, (2) serious safety issues as a result of faultya slideouts, external storage doors missing latches and damage which prevented the doors from closing properly, and (3) safety issues resulting from the Automatic Transfer Switch not working properly and a low quality power converter that almost caused a fire while my family and I were sleeping in the vehicle. In addition, Woody's charged me for repairs to items I did not damage claiming I am lying, I caused the damage to the exterior of their vehicle, I did something to their power converter, I did something to their microwave, and their coach was in pristine shape. Dr ********

Desired Settlement: I want payment for 9 hours of my time at my current professional rate of $368/hour ($3312), reimbursement of one day's rental fees ($265) , and reimbursement of $674.99 for the microwave that failed as a result of their equipment failure. Total payment sought is $4251.99.

Business Response: The RV had "piles" of old electronics in the cabinets. This is simply untrue and we're not sure how it would be relevant to the performance of the unit anyway. The RV had a radio that was "falling out of the dashboard."   Again, untrue. Here's a picture and no work has been performed on the radio since Mr. ******** brought it in. Two of the three slideouts had to be slid back in every 40 to 50 miles. We never heard this claim from Mr. ******** when we spoke to him during the rental term. We have never heard of this condition, have never had another complaint of this happening from other customers, and most importantly, we were not able to re-create this condition when we tried.   A satellite TV system that never locked in a signal even in the Austin City limits next to the road. Satellite system operation was explained to Mr. ******** when he picked up the unit and we demonstrated to him how it worked. It worked during the demonstration and it works today. Storage Doors popping open We have not had complaints about storage doors popping open before Mr. ********'s rental or since. If the vehicle is driven roughly or is faster than prudent for conditions, the storage doors will pop open, but not because they are defective. Waking up to smoke because the power converter fried. This issue is discussed above. In an e-mail Mr. ******** sent to us on January 14' he says: "Yes, I bought a heavy-duty RV extension cord and adapter after *****tmas to try to hook up to local power. But the power converter failed BEFORE I had a chance to try hooking up to power locally." But in his complaint to you, he claims that: "A week into the trip I and my family woke up to a cabin filled with smoke because (as it turned out) the power converter fried." He rented the unit on December 22, and only had it for nine days. *****tmas would have been three days into his trip. "A week into the trip" would be two days before he had to return the unit in Georgetown. It was not before he had the opportunity to hook up power locally. Again, Woody's RV has been successful due to repeat customers who enjoy working with us. We value those customers. However, we have to protect the owner units as if they were our own. The vast majority of our customers do the same thing, but not everyone. Mr. ******** is contractually liable for the damages he caused, and we decline his request to refund him any amount of money. We enclose for your review the bodywork invoice for the scratches, the receipt for the electrical work, and finally the receipt for the microwave replacement. On the final invoice, please note that while the work order is dated "12-7-2014" the blow-up of the admittedly faded charge receipt is dated 1/7/14. We appreciate the work BBB does to avoid misunderstandings between customers and merchants. If there is any additional information we can provide you, please do not hesitate to contact us.Woody's RV Rentals thrives on customer loyalty and customer referrals. That's why it is important to us to have happy, repeat customers. Our rental units are owned by individuals just like our renters. We are entrusted by those owners to take very good care of their units as we rent them to our customers. This is a trust that we take very seriously, and when a unit is damaged by our customers due to their carelessness or neglect, we look to those customers to return the unit back to the condition it was in prior to them having it. This is no different than how a customer (or anyone else for that matter) would want to be treated if we had his or her very expensive RV.We are sorry that Mr. ******** is not happy with his experience with the unit he rented from us, but after careful investigation, we believe Mr. ******** is not telling the whole story, and is spinning what he has reported to the BBB in a way that is misleading. We will take this opportunity to go back through Mr. ********'s complaint item by item to respond.The Recreational Vehicle supplied by Woody's RV Rental LLC of Georgetown was unsafe.First and foremost, Woody's RV will not let a unit off the lot if it has any unsafe conditions.Mr. ******** was in possession of the rental vehicle from December 24th through January We had a number of phone conversations with him while he was in possession of the vehicle. AT NO TIME did he ever complain about the vehicle being unsafe. When the vehicle was returned, an inventory was assessed which will be discussed in more detail later. Germane to this discussion is the fact that there were no safety related deficiencies noted on the vehicle when it was brought back in by Mr. ********. In summary, if there were safety-related deficiencies in the vehicle, they didn't exist when Mr. ******** picked it up, he did not tell us of any while he had it, and those deficiencies weren't present when he brought the vehicle back. The Recreational Vehicle supplied by Woody's RV Rental LLC of Georgetown did not meet the specifications advertised. We are at a loss on this claim, as the vehicle is described in detail on our web-page, which is where it is advertised. The description says: "2008 35 ft. ****** by ***** Class C Diesel Motorhome - Sleeps 4 - 8 people on the queen master bed, convertible dinette bed, hide-a-bed sofa, and cabover bunk. With 3 slide-outs, Full Kitchen and Full Bathroom. Two A/C units, Two Flatscreen TV, DVD/CD player. Leather seats, backup camera, and plenty of power. Fully self contained with on­board generator, propane, water and holding tanks" You can see the advertised specifications at http://www.woodyrvrentals.com/2008-35-ft-seneca-iayco I was charged for repairs to the vehicle that were already there prior to renting the vehicle." In order to avoid this very issue with customers, we execute a walk-through report with the customer. We enclose a copy of Mr. ********'s report for your review. Mr. ******** was correct, there was some light scratching noted. Mr. ******** was able to review the report and in fact initialed and signed it in numerous places. When he returned the unit, it was obvious that the unit had been driven through numerous limbs and brush. There was even a limb sticking out of the canopy Telling him that he needn't worry about the pre-existing light scratches did not give him a blank check to run the unit through bushes and trees adjacent to the roads. We attach the invoice we paid to fix those damages caused by Mr. ********.   The microwave worked when Mr. ******** picked up the unit as evidenced by the Walk-Thru report (appliances). When he brought it back, it was shot, along with the power converter. A power converter is an electronic device that converts 120 AC current into 12v direct current. The microwave operated on 12v direct. It was obvious that the land power unit had been plugged into a power source that was rated much higher than the system. This caused an electrical overload that burned out the converter and the microwave. We question whether Mr. ******** has any basis at all for his complaint about replacement pricing when he had no paperwork to substantiate his claims. We attach the paperwork that show the electrical work and microwave replacement Mr. ******** signed a Rental Reservation Form with us that clearly spelled out his responsibilities during the term of the rental which is also included for your review. That agreement specified that: "Renter is responsible for all damage to the rental, missing equipment, downtime, and Woody's administrative expenses connected with damage regardless of whether Renter is at fault." Whether Woody's chooses to enforce that provision is our choice, but with such reckless use of the unit the choice was clear. I was charged approximately 5300.00/day for a 6 year old RV that was scratched and dented with 150,000 miles on it. We are again at a loss of how to respond to this as a complaint. Mr. ******** was charged as per the rental terms on the agreement that he signed. He knew how old the RV was when he rented it, as the year model is clearly stated on the advertisement he refers to earlier. There were existing scratches on it, as were noted by his initials on the inventory form. Finally, Mr. ******** was certainly not obligated the rent the unit if it did not meet his expectations. The RV had "piles" of old electronics in the cabinets. This is simply untrue and we're not sure how it would be relevant to the performance of the unit anyway. The RV had a radio that was "falling out of the dashboard."   Again, untrue. Here's a picture and no work has been performed on the radio since Mr. ******** brought it in. Two of the three slideouts had to be slid back in every 40 to 50 miles. We never heard this claim from Mr. ******** when we spoke to him during the rental term. We have never heard of this condition, have never had another complaint of this happening from other customers, and most importantly, we were not able to re-create this condition when we tried.   A satellite TV system that never locked in a signal even in the Austin City limits next to the road. Satellite system operation was explained to Mr. ******** when he picked up the unit and we demonstrated to him how it worked. It worked during the demonstration and it works today. Storage Doors popping open We have not had complaints about storage doors popping open before Mr. ********'s rental or since. If the vehicle is driven roughly or is faster than prudent for conditions, the storage doors will pop open, but not because they are defective. Waking up to smoke because the power converter fried. This issue is discussed above. In an e-mail Mr. ******** sent to us on January 14th he says: "Yes, I bought a heavy-duty RV extension cord and adapter after *****tmas to try to hook up to local power. But the power converter failed BEFORE I had a chance to try hooking up to power locally." But in his complaint to you, he claims that: "A week into the trip I and my family woke up to a cabin filled with smoke because (as it turned out) the power converter fried." He rented the unit on December 22, and only had it for nine days. *****tmas would have been three days into his trip. "A week into the trip" would be two days before he had to return the unit in Georgetown. It was not before he had the opportunity to hook up power locally. Again, Woody's RV has been successful due to repeat customers who enjoy working with us. We value those customers. However, we have to protect the owner units as if they were our own. The vast majority of our customers do the same thing, but not everyone. Mr. ******** is contractually liable for the damages he caused, and we decline his request to refund him any amount of money. We enclose for your review the bodywork invoice for the scratches, the receipt for the electrical work, and finally the receipt for the microwave replacement. On the final invoice, please note that while the work order is dated "12-7-2014" the blow-up of the admittedly faded charge receipt is dated 1/7/14. We appreciate the work BBB does to avoid misunderstandings between customers and merchants. If there is any additional information we can provide you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

1. We are essentially at a he says - she says bypass.

Everything I said about the unit is 100% true and I am more than willing to take a lie-detector test if it will help prove that I am telling the truth.

2. When I returned the vehicle to the lot I notified the Woody's representative, ***** of all the problems as we walked around the vehicle inspecting it together.  ***** write everything down that I said.

3. After the Woodys representative, ******, walked around the vehicle with me I asked, "Is everything ok?  Are you satisfied?"  ***** replied, "Yes, everything looks good."  I said, " Good", and asked, "since everything is ok, when will I receive my deposit back?". ***** replied (in front of one of the Woddys technicians), "You should have it back by next Friday."  I asked, "So you are saying I will have my deposit back by next Friday?"  ***** replied, "Yes, that's right."

No mention was made of holding me responsible for the failure of the units poor quality power converter.  No mention was made of holding me responsible for the failure of the microwave when the power converter failed. No mention was made of seeing any unusual scratches or damage to the vehicle.

Last, but not least, Woody's had a signed agreement that any damage claims would go through my insurance.  Woodys did not submit a damage claim, did not notify me of any damages, and did not allow my Insurance Agency the opportunity to inspect the damages Woodys claims I made to their vehicle.

4. Woodys has a history of this sort of fraudulent behavior with at least three other identical complaints of trumped up damage claims that Woodys " repaired"  without allowing anyone other than the Woodys personnel to see over the last three-four months.

Bottom line is, Woodys representative ***** released me with the statement, "everything looks good".  I can unequivocal state that any damages found on the vehicle after ****** stated "everything looks good" could only have been done by their own people.

I did not blow up their converter. I did not blow up their microwave. I did not damage their vehicle. All of the safety issues noted in my previous statement are in fact true.  And, I will voluntarily take a lie detector test to prove it if necessary.

** ***** *. ********

Regards,

***** ********

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The RV that I rented was pulling too hard on my vehicle, and I wasn't able to take it more than a few miles, but *****'s was already closed. I had it returned first thing the next morning, and requested a refund for the remaining weeks rental. When the charge showed on my credit card I called to request a refund, and did not receive a response from my message on *****'s mail. I called again 10 days later and reached ***** who referred me to owner ***** *****. Ms. ***** stated that they don't give refunds no matter when it is returned. This policy is not in the contract. She offered a credit, but I do not want to do further business with this company, as I no longer trust their practices.

Desired Settlement: I want the amount of $800 credited back to my credit card.

Business Response:

*********,

I thought I had responded already to this.  Per our contract, all sales/rentals are final including cancellations within a week of the rental date are all paid in full.  What we offered Ms. ******* was a credit toward a future rental which is what we offer all of our rentals.  Ms. ******* still has a $800 credit with ***** RV Rentals which we will be glad to honor based on availability.

 

***** *****

***** RV Rentals, LLC


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Woody RV Rentals
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart