BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Woody RV Rentals

Phone: (512) 944-5800 PO Box 806, Georgetown, TX 78627 http://www.woodyrvrentals.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Woody RV Rentals include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Woody RV Rentals include:

  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Woody RV Rentals
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 08, 2010 Business started: 03/13/2009 Business started locally: 03/13/2009 Business incorporated: 03/13/2009 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Julie Woody, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Julie Woody, Owner
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Rent & Lease

Alternate Business Names
Woody RV Rentals, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 806

    Georgetown, TX 78627

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I are RV *****s, who allowed Woody RV Rentals to lease our vehicle on our behalf. RV *****s are to receive half of the money from each rental. Month after month we got conflicting information from Woody RV regarding rental dates and money owed. We had an unsettled feeling about the business operations of Woody RV and decided after 5 months to pull our RV out of the program, with no hard feelings. Upon picking up our RV there were several items missing and area of damage that we were unhappy about, including an empty propane tank and a missing propane tank, a missing spare tire, missing chocks and leveling blocks, missing coffee pot, broom, and dust pan, the outdoor shower was broken, an outdoor latch had been broken, the holding tanks had not been emptied, and a ***** on an inside cabinets was broken off. Some of the items were replaced (with old,dirty items they found on their property, and others we have taken care of ourselves. We are willing to accept this as a lesson learned about property rental, and are not seeking compensation for these items. Our main concern, however, has to do with our final invoice for February and March. We have yet to receive a March invoice although we have asked for it numerous times. We were told that February and March were combined into one final statement that we received at the end of February. We asked for itemized statements for February and March so we are able to see for ourselves exactly when the RV was rented and what daily rate was received. We have been waiting 3 weeks and still have not received this. The ***** of Woody RV also stated that she would show us the contract from the **** ** ***** *****, who is the client who rented our RV for most of February and March. We would still like to see this document as well. It is our suspicion that the dates and rates were not reported to us accurately, and we are owed money from Woody RV. We feel that we are well within our rights as property *****s to have access regarding rental dates and rates, for our own purpose as well as tax reasons. We are now asking for all records on our RV dating back to October 2013. Any help you can give us to help us resolve this issue would be appreciated. If we are unable to resolve this matter our next step is to pursue legal action.

Desired Settlement: We would like to receive all documentation regarding rental dates and rates on our RV dating back to October 2013. We want these statements to be itemized and to clearly show the rental rate agreed upon between Woody RV and the customer, as well as our portion of 50%. We would also like a copy of the signed lease agreement between Woody RV and **** ** ***** ***** showing the "discounted rate" charged for each RV throughout the months of February and March.

Business Response: Woody RV Rentals, LLC took into consignment the ********* ****** ***** wheel last October, we were able to rent it a few times in the fall, once in January and then we had a long term rental on the trailer to *** ****** **** *** ***** beginning in February.  The *******'s signed our consignment contract allowing us to represent, advertise, manage and rent their RV.  They agreed to our conditions and signed our contract.  We reserve the right to negotiate and set rates up per our discretion especially when we rent multiple units to one event and they are a non for profit event.  We gave the *******'s the exact number they made per what was negotiated with the *****, we did not hide any numbers or fee's it was straight forward as was all the RV's that we delivered, NO OTHER ***** questioned our pricing, all were thankful for the rentals in a typical slow month.  
As far as the missing items, yes, cannot deny that, we had just brought it back from the ***** and did not have proper time to go through it however that is not an excuse, that is just the facts we did in fact have the items, they were just not in the RV when it was picked up by the *******'s we have no issue compensating them for these items that were missing or up to par for the *******'s.
One other item to note, when we received the *******'s fifth wheel the heater was inoperable, we had it diagnosed by ** ********** and found out that it had a mouse living in it.  We repaired the heater and it worked fine.  Those type's of things happen, we also fixed a broken toilet and other items on the trailer for the *******'s.  Their RV was very popular and would have rented well, I am sorry it didn't work out for the *******'s hopefully they personally will enjoy the trailer for their family for many years to come it was a great RV.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Recreational Vehicle supplied by Woody's RV Rental LLC of Georgetown, TX was unsafe, did not meet the specifications advertised, and I was charged for repairs to the vehicle that were already there prior to renting the vehicle. I was charged approximately $300/day for a 6 year old RV that was scratched and dented with 150,000 miles on it, piles of old electronics in the cabinets, a radio that was falling out of the dashboard, two of three slideouts I had to stop and use the hydraulics to slide back in every 40-50 miles, a satellite TV system that never locked in a signal even in the Austin city limits next to the road, storage doors that popped open and I finally had to tape shut with duck tape to keep them closed while driving, A week into the trip I and my family woke up to a cabin filled with smoke because (as it turned out) the power converter fried. When I called for help, ***** Woody told me they did not have anyone who could come fix (or even look) at it; so I would have to take the RV 80 miles to Port Lavaca to have it fixed. In the end, I spent 9 hours of my time going to see a RV technician (****, ********* ****** ** ****** ************). **** looked at the power converter that had failed and stated, "this power converter has a reputation for failing like this. They are a piece of junk". **** then called Woody's representative, ***** and told him exactly the same thing while I was standing there listening to the conversations. After **** replaced the converter, he informed me that the Microwave was also fried and that he couldn't do anything about it. No worries I said. We haven't used/don't use the microwave anyway and Woodies should understand that it is collateral damage from their converter failure. Boy was I wrong. Woodies not only did not refund me for the day I had to spend on the road having their equipment repaired, they charged me almost $700 for a $99 microwave. And, then the big surprise came. Woody's charged me $1100 to repair scratches that they had told me not to worry about before I left the lot when I picked up the vehicle. When I called them, ***** ******* exact words were, "there were tree branches on the vehicle". When I said those scratches were already there and you told me not to worry about them, she refused to answer and handed the phone to her man *****. Bottom line is: Woody's charged me more than $3000 for a vehicle that was not safe and did not meet their advertised specifications and $2100 in repairs (for total of more than $5000) for damage to a vehicle that and my family did not do to the vehicle. They did not reimburse me for the my time and rental loss while taking their vehicle in for repairs. They charged me almost 7 times what a low-end microwave like the one that was already in the RV costs; a microwave that failed because of the failure of their poor power converter. Bottom line is, Woody's rented me a vehicle that was not what was advertised: (1) age, mileage, external and internal condition, (2) serious safety issues as a result of faultya slideouts, external storage doors missing latches and damage which prevented the doors from closing properly, and (3) safety issues resulting from the Automatic Transfer Switch not working properly and a low quality power converter that almost caused a fire while my family and I were sleeping in the vehicle. In addition, Woody's charged me for repairs to items I did not damage claiming I am lying, I caused the damage to the exterior of their vehicle, I did something to their power converter, I did something to their microwave, and their coach was in pristine shape. Dr ********

Desired Settlement: I want payment for 9 hours of my time at my current professional rate of $368/hour ($3312), reimbursement of one day's rental fees ($265) , and reimbursement of $674.99 for the microwave that failed as a result of their equipment failure. Total payment sought is $4251.99.

Business Response: The RV had "piles" of old electronics in the cabinets. This is simply untrue and we're not sure how it would be relevant to the performance of the unit anyway. The RV had a radio that was "falling out of the dashboard."   Again, untrue. Here's a picture and no work has been performed on the radio since Mr. ******** brought it in. Two of the three slideouts had to be slid back in every 40 to 50 miles. We never heard this claim from Mr. ******** when we spoke to him during the rental term. We have never heard of this condition, have never had another complaint of this happening from other customers, and most importantly, we were not able to re-create this condition when we tried.   A satellite TV system that never locked in a signal even in the Austin City limits next to the road. Satellite system operation was explained to Mr. ******** when he picked up the unit and we demonstrated to him how it worked. It worked during the demonstration and it works today. Storage Doors popping open We have not had complaints about storage doors popping open before Mr. ********'s rental or since. If the vehicle is driven roughly or is faster than prudent for conditions, the storage doors will pop open, but not because they are defective. Waking up to smoke because the power converter fried. This issue is discussed above. In an e-mail Mr. ******** sent to us on January 14' he says: "Yes, I bought a heavy-duty RV extension cord and adapter after *****tmas to try to hook up to local power. But the power converter failed BEFORE I had a chance to try hooking up to power locally." But in his complaint to you, he claims that: "A week into the trip I and my family woke up to a cabin filled with smoke because (as it turned out) the power converter fried." He rented the unit on December 22, and only had it for nine days. *****tmas would have been three days into his trip. "A week into the trip" would be two days before he had to return the unit in Georgetown. It was not before he had the opportunity to hook up power locally. Again, Woody's RV has been successful due to repeat customers who enjoy working with us. We value those customers. However, we have to protect the owner units as if they were our own. The vast majority of our customers do the same thing, but not everyone. Mr. ******** is contractually liable for the damages he caused, and we decline his request to refund him any amount of money. We enclose for your review the bodywork invoice for the scratches, the receipt for the electrical work, and finally the receipt for the microwave replacement. On the final invoice, please note that while the work order is dated "12-7-2014" the blow-up of the admittedly faded charge receipt is dated 1/7/14. We appreciate the work BBB does to avoid misunderstandings between customers and merchants. If there is any additional information we can provide you, please do not hesitate to contact us.Woody's RV Rentals thrives on customer loyalty and customer referrals. That's why it is important to us to have happy, repeat customers. Our rental units are owned by individuals just like our renters. We are entrusted by those owners to take very good care of their units as we rent them to our customers. This is a trust that we take very seriously, and when a unit is damaged by our customers due to their carelessness or neglect, we look to those customers to return the unit back to the condition it was in prior to them having it. This is no different than how a customer (or anyone else for that matter) would want to be treated if we had his or her very expensive RV.We are sorry that Mr. ******** is not happy with his experience with the unit he rented from us, but after careful investigation, we believe Mr. ******** is not telling the whole story, and is spinning what he has reported to the BBB in a way that is misleading. We will take this opportunity to go back through Mr. ********'s complaint item by item to respond.The Recreational Vehicle supplied by Woody's RV Rental LLC of Georgetown was unsafe.First and foremost, Woody's RV will not let a unit off the lot if it has any unsafe conditions.Mr. ******** was in possession of the rental vehicle from December 24th through January We had a number of phone conversations with him while he was in possession of the vehicle. AT NO TIME did he ever complain about the vehicle being unsafe. When the vehicle was returned, an inventory was assessed which will be discussed in more detail later. Germane to this discussion is the fact that there were no safety related deficiencies noted on the vehicle when it was brought back in by Mr. ********. In summary, if there were safety-related deficiencies in the vehicle, they didn't exist when Mr. ******** picked it up, he did not tell us of any while he had it, and those deficiencies weren't present when he brought the vehicle back. The Recreational Vehicle supplied by Woody's RV Rental LLC of Georgetown did not meet the specifications advertised. We are at a loss on this claim, as the vehicle is described in detail on our web-page, which is where it is advertised. The description says: "2008 35 ft. ****** by ***** Class C Diesel Motorhome - Sleeps 4 - 8 people on the queen master bed, convertible dinette bed, hide-a-bed sofa, and cabover bunk. With 3 slide-outs, Full Kitchen and Full Bathroom. Two A/C units, Two Flatscreen TV, DVD/CD player. Leather seats, backup camera, and plenty of power. Fully self contained with onĀ­board generator, propane, water and holding tanks" You can see the advertised specifications at http://www.woodyrvrentals.com/2008-35-ft-seneca-iayco I was charged for repairs to the vehicle that were already there prior to renting the vehicle." In order to avoid this very issue with customers, we execute a walk-through report with the customer. We enclose a copy of Mr. ********'s report for your review. Mr. ******** was correct, there was some light scratching noted. Mr. ******** was able to review the report and in fact initialed and signed it in numerous places. When he returned the unit, it was obvious that the unit had been driven through numerous limbs and brush. There was even a limb sticking out of the canopy Telling him that he needn't worry about the pre-existing light scratches did not give him a blank check to run the unit through bushes and trees adjacent to the roads. We attach the invoice we paid to fix those damages caused by Mr. ********.   The microwave worked when Mr. ******** picked up the unit as evidenced by the Walk-Thru report (appliances). When he brought it back, it was shot, along with the power converter. A power converter is an electronic device that converts 120 AC current into 12v direct current. The microwave operated on 12v direct. It was obvious that the land power unit had been plugged into a power source that was rated much higher than the system. This caused an electrical overload that burned out the converter and the microwave. We question whether Mr. ******** has any basis at all for his complaint about replacement pricing when he had no paperwork to substantiate his claims. We attach the paperwork that show the electrical work and microwave replacement Mr. ******** signed a Rental Reservation Form with us that clearly spelled out his responsibilities during the term of the rental which is also included for your review. That agreement specified that: "Renter is responsible for all damage to the rental, missing equipment, downtime, and Woody's administrative expenses connected with damage regardless of whether Renter is at fault." Whether Woody's chooses to enforce that provision is our choice, but with such reckless use of the unit the choice was clear. I was charged approximately 5300.00/day for a 6 year old RV that was scratched and dented with 150,000 miles on it. We are again at a loss of how to respond to this as a complaint. Mr. ******** was charged as per the rental terms on the agreement that he signed. He knew how old the RV was when he rented it, as the year model is clearly stated on the advertisement he refers to earlier. There were existing scratches on it, as were noted by his initials on the inventory form. Finally, Mr. ******** was certainly not obligated the rent the unit if it did not meet his expectations. The RV had "piles" of old electronics in the cabinets. This is simply untrue and we're not sure how it would be relevant to the performance of the unit anyway. The RV had a radio that was "falling out of the dashboard."   Again, untrue. Here's a picture and no work has been performed on the radio since Mr. ******** brought it in. Two of the three slideouts had to be slid back in every 40 to 50 miles. We never heard this claim from Mr. ******** when we spoke to him during the rental term. We have never heard of this condition, have never had another complaint of this happening from other customers, and most importantly, we were not able to re-create this condition when we tried.   A satellite TV system that never locked in a signal even in the Austin City limits next to the road. Satellite system operation was explained to Mr. ******** when he picked up the unit and we demonstrated to him how it worked. It worked during the demonstration and it works today. Storage Doors popping open We have not had complaints about storage doors popping open before Mr. ********'s rental or since. If the vehicle is driven roughly or is faster than prudent for conditions, the storage doors will pop open, but not because they are defective. Waking up to smoke because the power converter fried. This issue is discussed above. In an e-mail Mr. ******** sent to us on January 14th he says: "Yes, I bought a heavy-duty RV extension cord and adapter after *****tmas to try to hook up to local power. But the power converter failed BEFORE I had a chance to try hooking up to power locally." But in his complaint to you, he claims that: "A week into the trip I and my family woke up to a cabin filled with smoke because (as it turned out) the power converter fried." He rented the unit on December 22, and only had it for nine days. *****tmas would have been three days into his trip. "A week into the trip" would be two days before he had to return the unit in Georgetown. It was not before he had the opportunity to hook up power locally. Again, Woody's RV has been successful due to repeat customers who enjoy working with us. We value those customers. However, we have to protect the owner units as if they were our own. The vast majority of our customers do the same thing, but not everyone. Mr. ******** is contractually liable for the damages he caused, and we decline his request to refund him any amount of money. We enclose for your review the bodywork invoice for the scratches, the receipt for the electrical work, and finally the receipt for the microwave replacement. On the final invoice, please note that while the work order is dated "12-7-2014" the blow-up of the admittedly faded charge receipt is dated 1/7/14. We appreciate the work BBB does to avoid misunderstandings between customers and merchants. If there is any additional information we can provide you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

1. We are essentially at a he says - she says bypass.

Everything I said about the unit is 100% true and I am more than willing to take a lie-detector test if it will help prove that I am telling the truth.

2. When I returned the vehicle to the lot I notified the Woody's representative, ***** of all the problems as we walked around the vehicle inspecting it together.  ***** write everything down that I said.

3. After the Woodys representative, ******, walked around the vehicle with me I asked, "Is everything ok?  Are you satisfied?"  ***** replied, "Yes, everything looks good."  I said, " Good", and asked, "since everything is ok, when will I receive my deposit back?". ***** replied (in front of one of the Woddys technicians), "You should have it back by next Friday."  I asked, "So you are saying I will have my deposit back by next Friday?"  ***** replied, "Yes, that's right."

No mention was made of holding me responsible for the failure of the units poor quality power converter.  No mention was made of holding me responsible for the failure of the microwave when the power converter failed. No mention was made of seeing any unusual scratches or damage to the vehicle.

Last, but not least, Woody's had a signed agreement that any damage claims would go through my insurance.  Woodys did not submit a damage claim, did not notify me of any damages, and did not allow my Insurance Agency the opportunity to inspect the damages Woodys claims I made to their vehicle.

4. Woodys has a history of this sort of fraudulent behavior with at least three other identical complaints of trumped up damage claims that Woodys " repaired"  without allowing anyone other than the Woodys personnel to see over the last three-four months.

Bottom line is, Woodys representative ***** released me with the statement, "everything looks good".  I can unequivocal state that any damages found on the vehicle after ****** stated "everything looks good" could only have been done by their own people.

I did not blow up their converter. I did not blow up their microwave. I did not damage their vehicle. All of the safety issues noted in my previous statement are in fact true.  And, I will voluntarily take a lie detector test to prove it if necessary.

** ***** *. ********

Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The RV that I rented was pulling too hard on my vehicle, and I wasn't able to take it more than a few miles, but *****'s was already closed. I had it returned first thing the next morning, and requested a refund for the remaining weeks rental. When the charge showed on my credit card I called to request a refund, and did not receive a response from my message on *****'s mail. I called again 10 days later and reached ***** who referred me to owner ***** *****. Ms. ***** stated that they don't give refunds no matter when it is returned. This policy is not in the contract. She offered a credit, but I do not want to do further business with this company, as I no longer trust their practices.

Desired Settlement: I want the amount of $800 credited back to my credit card.

Business Response:

*********,

I thought I had responded already to this.  Per our contract, all sales/rentals are final including cancellations within a week of the rental date are all paid in full.  What we offered Ms. ******* was a credit toward a future rental which is what we offer all of our rentals.  Ms. ******* still has a $800 credit with ***** RV Rentals which we will be glad to honor based on availability.

 

***** *****

***** RV Rentals, LLC

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1