Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Camper Clinic, Inc.

Phone: (361) 729-0031 Fax: (361) 729-1677 View Additional Phone Numbers 302 W Market St, Rockport, TX 78382 http://www.camperclinic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Camper Clinic, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Camper Clinic, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Camper Clinic, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1982 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 03/20/1995 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ron Carothers, President Mr. Thomas L. Welsh, Governing Person Mr. Thad Carothers, GM Mr. Bill Leamons, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Carothers, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Thad Carothers, GM
Principal: Mr. Thomas L. Welsh, Governing Person
Related Businesses
Camper Clinic II
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies Recreational Vehicles - Rent & Lease Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Recreational Vehicles - Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning Trailer Sales


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Camper Clinic, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 302 W Market St

    Rockport, TX 78382 (877) 888-9444 (361) 729-0031 (361) 790-5982

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On about February 13, 2014 I agreed to purchase a 2014 model Hemisphere 5th wheel travel trailer for the total price, tax included, of $43,500.00. I told the salesman "I would like the extended service contract included in that price if possible". The salesman said he wasn't sure of the cost of the service contract but he would have the ******* ******* get in touch with me about it. The ******* ******* later called me to tell me that the deal was approved and the buyer's order was being faxed to my bank. I asked the details and was told that the final price was the $43,500 we agreed on and the service contract was included at that price. I later went to my bank and confirmed that the service contract, a $1,950.00 value, was indeed included in the itemized buyer's order. I finalized all of the documents to accept the loan and was given the draft letter to give to Camper Clinic. At least a day later I returned to finalize business with Camper Clinic. It was at that time that the ******* ******* informed me that they would not be including the extended service contract in the original buyer's order that my bank had approved. Because the buyer's order had changed I had to either add $1,950.00 to my down-payment of $5,000.00 or cancel and re-submit all documents for the original loan. I spoke with the ***** *******, "****", who infomed me that the inclusion of the $1,950.00 service contract was a "mistake that had been corrected" and they would not be responsible for it. In any other business or profession, if a mistake is made, the person or business making the mistake should be accountable for that mistake. A $1,950.00 mistake should not be passed on to the customer.

Desired Settlement: The honorable outcome in this situation would be for Camper Clinic to re-instate the extended service contract at no additional charge as the original buyer's order specified. The only alternative to that would be to credit me with $1,950.00 to be used at any affiliated Camper Clinic location (such as "sister stores" like CCRV).

Business Response: I have spoken to both, **** ****** our salesman, **** ***** our ***** *******, and ****** our ******** ******* about *** ****’s complaint.  Apparently *** **** had asked about a new service contract for his new RV from **** ****** and **** said he did not know the price, but we could get this included with the final price once he met with our ******** ******* to finalize all of the paperwork.  Because of a miscommunication between our ******** *******, our sales staff, and *** ****, an order was sent to *** ****’s bank showing the service contract, but without the additional $1,950 charge for the contract.  Once we found the mistake, we contacted *** **** and explained to him that we were not able to proceed with the deal at this $43,500 price because we would lose money because of this miscommunication.  We offered to return *** ****’s deposit and cancel the deal as not to upset *** **** or put him in an uncomfortable purchasing position.  We then gave *** **** the options of taking his deposit back and canceling the purchase, purchasing the service contract for an additional $1,950, or continuing with the original purchase price without the service contract.  *** **** then agreed to go ahead and purchase the RV at the original quoted price without the extended service contract.

Unfortunately, as in any business, there can be miscommunication and issues such as this can happen.  These problems very seldom happen at our dealership and we pride ourselves on never taking advantage of our customers.  This is why we will happily return a deposit and cancel a sale with a customer in order not to pressure them into a purchase that they are not comfortable with.  Once this miscommunication was identified and resolved, we moved ahead as requested by *** ****. 

Consumer Response: Please simply respond that their response was not satisfactory. The amount was in fact calculated into the total prior to sending the paperwork to my bank and providing me a copy. For that reason My bank and I were forced to complete an all new loan. The prior loan/payment agreement included the service contract and since Camper Clinic backed out of the contract on the day I drove to Rockport to pay the balance, I was forced to get a new loan; thus raising the price of the RV or forcing me to pay $1,950.00.

Business Response: I understand the ***** frustration because of the communication problem that we had about the extended contract. However, in order to rectify this, we explained that they do not have to purchase the unit from us at the modified price that included the service contract. We offered to cancel the deal and return their deposit so they would not lose any money and could be comfortable either purchasing a trailer from us or purchasing one from another dealer. We did not force or coerce this customer into buying this against their will and gave them every opportunity to walk away from the purchase without any charges. The customer chose to continue with the purchase at the increased price. If the ***** were unhappy with the price or the deal in general, they should not have purchased the RV. Camper Clinic now considers this matter closed. If there are any more questions, please feel free to call me directly at ###-###-####. **** ********* ****** Manager.