Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Red Wagon Realty

Phone: (210) 695-1100 Fax: (210) 695-1515 16719 Huebner Rd Ste 201, San Antonio, TX 78248 http://www.redwagonproperties.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Red Wagon Realty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Red Wagon Realty include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Red Wagon Realty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Red Wagon Realty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 2009 Business started: 11/28/2006 in TX Business started locally: 11/28/2006 Business incorporated 11/28/2006 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kristopher Hochart, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kristopher Hochart, Owner
Business Category

Real Estate Real Estate Agents Real Estate - Rent to Own Real Estate Consultants Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Vacation Rentals Investment Management Real Estate Investors

Alternate Business Names
Our Red Wagon, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 16719 Huebner Rd Ste 201

    San Antonio, TX 78248 (210) 695-1100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Red Wagon Realty is withholding our $1,950 security deposit and wants to charge us an additional $600 to repair two small scratches on a propert we rented from them. We tried to repair the scratches before we left and had a well respected flooring person give an estimate of $500 to repair the floors after we left. We shared this estimate with Red Wagon and have not received a response from them. While we rented from them, they were made aware of a rat problem in the house and did nothing to rectify the situation, for months and months. We paid our rent on time, even while they did nothing to rectify the situation. We had to stop having people over for dinner because a rat walked across the counter while we had friends over for dinner. They finally skirted the house and the rats went away but now they're wanted to keep our security deposit for two minor scratches. I have pictures of the scratches we have tried to repair. The fact they're not responding to our good faith effort is disappointing.

Desired Settlement: Receive our $1,950 security deposit back, minus $500 to cover the repair.

Business Response: We are not in total disagreement with the tenant.

We agree that the bid we received from a third party vendor did in fact seem high. We questioned the vendor regarding the high estimate and they said "in order for the floors to be fixed to a uniform condition as they were prior to the damage, this was what it would take."   The tenant was aware of this damage because the pictures they took were after they had already attempted to fix the damage themselves. Since this bid was so high we agreed to to allow the tenant to submit a second bid.  This is not our normal practice but it seemed fair and reasonable. The second bid came in so low we were concerned with what work would be done to correct the issue and wanted to ensure the floors would in fact be restored should we decide to higher this vendor. We have called the vendor multiple times and I have left 3 messages and they have never returned my call. I can not honor a bid from a vendor that I can not reach.  So yes, at this point we are at a standstill.  I have a bid from a professional company that will restore the floors that the tenant damaged. I do not have to use that company nor do I wish to pursue a tenant for a balance owed for such a large bill. We are open to negotiating and are open to continue bringing resolution to this issue with the tenant. As for the Rats... Pest control is and always has been a tenant responsibility. There was not a rat problem prior to this tenant taking possession and there has not been one since the new tenant took possession. Had there been an issue it would have been charged to the tenant, so naturally I am glad they were able to rectify the problem. While we are still willing to work with the tenant, we ask the tenant to refrain from posting negative reviews (yelp) about our company online. We are doing our best to allow the tenant an opportunity to reduce their liability for the damages they caused. At this point we ask the tenant to consider if they would like to get another bid from a reputable company for consideration. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

the he quote was from a reputable flooring expert who has been in business for over twenty years and was referred from a friend who lives in Alamo Heights. I have spoken with him and he has talked to Red Wagon and the response he received was "I'll check with the owner." Which is the same response I have received from Red Wagon for almost a month. How long does it take to say yes or no? 

if Red Wagon would correspond with me, then I wouldn't have to post these accurate reviews on a third party website. 

Also, there were dried rat droppings in the air conditioning unit when we went to clean the air conditioner filter after we moved in so there was a rat problem prior to us moving in. A rat problem which continues today according to the tenants who live there now.

we would like for Red Wagon and the owner, **** *******, to approve the $500 repair and refund us the $1,450 blance, which is a reasonable request. 


Thank you you for your help. 

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: I received a return phone call from the vendor that the tenant used to get an estimate for repairs. In his estimate he was going to do a "fix job" that seemed "reasonable" for a property thats a rental property. He also said that if the other vendor that bid the refinishing of the floors was doing the whole floor that the bid seemed cheap for that size of square footage.  His bid was specifically a localized cosmentic fix that would look okay but would not compare to refinishing.   We presented all the findings to the owner.  The owner was adamit that the floors had been fully refinished when she bought the house.  While she does expect normal wear and tear she does not expect deep gouging scratches in the floor to be overlooked as normal.  While the owner has not agreed to refund the security deposit, they have agreed to reduce the amount owed by the tenant to bring the account to a zero balance and not pursue the tenant through court or collections. In this situation no one feels like they are winning.  The owner is upset about the damage to their property and the tenant is upset about the loss of the security deposit.  

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 20 Jan 15, I made a complaint on a public website about Red Wagon Realty, on 21 Jan 15 I was contacted by the owner in regards to removing to complaint; no resolution was made. I was contacted 20 mins later by a more upset owner who informed me I would regret not removing complaint. (Complaint and phone records available). On Jan 25, 2015 an annual inspection was done, by a third party company. I was faulted for needing to replace just an air filter. (Email correspondence from red wagon available). Shortly after, we had a lot of rain over a period of time, the rain began to come thru the ceiling and we had to place a bucket in my son’s room. The first contractor that red wagon sent was under the assumption that he fixed the leak, until it rained again and soaked the room. Red wagon sent another contractor who did a good job and fixed the leak. I soon after got an email from red wagon asking if there was any damage to the carpet or mold. As I replied to Red wagon in the email as I’m no expert “ no as far as I can tell”. (Emails available). Fast forward to our move out date, we received an email that we would not be present at our move out inspection, which is perfectly fine. However on the 29th day of receiving our deposit I get an email that was not itemized; charging me $ 824.12 for oven damage not described and excessive odor. Meaning this was done within 5 months of the last inspection; I paid red wagon a 500.00 cleaning fee upon moving in. I still hired a company to come vacuum the carpets and remove anything not wanted. I had the walls repainted and parts of the yard re done, I also have witness statements from gentleman that helped move my family and receipts from the company used. (I have pictures of every room and carpet at move out available). No one in my house smokes nor do we own any pets of any kind. I believe the excessive odor charge is in retaliation for my initial complaint at the most it could have been from the carpet in my son’s room that was never inspected for water damage.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit back of 1550.00 returned to my family. Red wagon was paid a 500.00 cleaning fee to clean a home, left better than it was received. I have initial emails from when I moved in asking what I should do with left behind items and the yard. So, I believe my pictures will prove that red wagon was left a clean home with normal wear and tear.

Business Response: I am not aware of a public complaint made by this tenant in January or what the complaint was related to nor is in any way related to the items listed in this complaint through the BBB today.    I am aware of a complaint made by this tenant on ******** on the evening of the July 29th to which I immediately responded and told the tenant I would investigate the file to determine if any of the charges in the security deposit were erroneous.  I pulled the file yesterday the 30th and reviewed the work done prior to move in, the move in condition form, our move in inspection report, the mid-term reports, and the move out inspection report.  Today (31st)I had a phone call with the owner of the property to discuss my findings and let them know what I found that I believed to be in the tenants favor. I have responded Today - 48 hrs later - to the review on ********.  The same gist of that information will follow in this response.  The email that was sent to the tenant on the 29th had an attachment called Security Deposit Itemization that is promulgated by the State of ***** and is the document we are required to use as an accounting for the funds in a security deposit refund.  Because we agree that the required document is lacking in the desired detail we included in the body of that email the charges in broken out form. Feel free to review the attachments.  The charges were for: move out inspection fee $75 (per the lease agreement),  damage to the face of the stainless steel oven door $306.55, and carpet odor treatment $442.57.  

After reviewing the account we found that extensive odor treatment and carpet cleanings were done prior to tenant occupancy.  This tells me it is quite possible that this was a pre-existing condition that has now been attempted to be remediated again. This would be a tough item for a tenant to put on a move in condition form because odor can be subjective and you can not necessarily see it if there are no stains (which there were not at move in.)  The tenant claims to have had the carpets cleaned prior to our company going, so it is likely that the condition just can not be remediated any further.  We are going to credit the tenant back $442.57 for the carpet odor treatment based off these findings.  The oven door is dented and it was not on the move in condition nor is it seen in the photo from the move in inspection report so there is nothing I can do to remove that charge.  We do not make any money off the security deposit items and have no incentive to charge them to a tenant. In fact, when charges like this happen it just creates more work that is not vey fun. It is not often we find grounds to reverse fees because they are typically very black and white. In this case I am glad we were able to determine that more than 50% of the charges could be refunded to the tenant.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As a customer of **. **********, I would like to resolve these issues and move forward. However; **. **********, is still engaging in “Bad Faith”. Red Wagon has still not proven that the retention amount from the security deposit was reasonable.  Property code, title 8. Landlord and tenant, chapter 92. Residential tenancies Sec. 92.109. Liability of Landlord. **. **********, stated that “I am not aware of a public complaint made by this tenant in January”. Please, look at page 4 of attached documents, this is a review I placed on yelp about red wagon on 20 Jan 2015. Then please turn back to page 2 of that attached documents and the paper will show 2 incoming calls from **. ********** the morning of the 21 Jan 2015 that number can also be verified on his company website. Under ***** law, it is illegal for a landlord to retaliate against you, which is what **. ********** is doing. Before any conclusion can be made, I ask that **. ********** simply resolve this misunderstanding in “Good Faith”.  

 

MSG *********

Business Response: I honestly did not remember the issue in January the tenant was referring to.  I have since spoken with the tenant and assured him that the items are totally unrelated.  In the end I have sent the tenant additional documentation showing the picture of the stove at the move in and at the mid-term inspections as well as the move out photo. I have sent the tenant a copy of the receipt for the work completed in repairing the dented door so he could see the actual cost incurred was what was charged to him. This was the only remaining item of contention and to my understanding this has been resolved.  For the record, the tenant felt to cost of repairing/replacing the door was to high.  I showed him on the receipt how the charges broke out and I think that made it more understandable.  I wish him the best on his next deployment. 

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Red Wagon was pre-paid a cleaning fee of $500.00. Red Wagon is charging an additional $210.93 cleaning fee that is not covered by any agreement. Any additional services or fees outside of any agreement are the sole responsibilty of Red Wagon.

Desired Settlement: Red Wagon honor the contract and refund the additional $210.93 cleaning fee.

Business Response: This tenant is correct that they had a non-refundable cleaning fee which is reserved for the cleaning of the property upon move out. The cleaning fee that the tenant paid was in fact used to clean the property in it's entirety. 

The tenant also paid a refundable pet deposit of $300.00 which is held to cover any pet damages. This is documented in the pet addendum that is attached to the lease.  In this particular move out there were pet odors in the carpet that required the carpet company to have to do additional odor or enzyme treatments for the pet odor. The cost of the additional pet treatments were 210.93.  We applied the 210.93 to the refundable pet deposit per the pet addendum and refunded the balance of the refundable pet deposit. 

I can certainly understand if the tenant has any confusion regarding the accounting of that charge specifically as the Texas provided Security Deposit Itemization form does not breakout the pet deposit from the standard deposit and lumps them all together.  It thereby makes it confusing that there would be an additional carpet "cleaning" charge for which the tenant already paid the non-refundable cleaning fee. I hope this clears up any confusion.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree with the $210.93 charge. Again, this was incurred by Red Wagon is the sole responsibility of Red Wagon. Additionally, $650.00 was paid in total for the pet deposit, not $300.00. Please see the attached Pet Agreement. Please refund the full amount of the pet deposit ($650.00) and the Security Deposit ($1395.00) less the inspection charges (-$103.09) for a total of $1941.91.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: I agree with the tenants point that the pet deposit was more than the $300 I had previously stated.  Originally the tenant had a pet agreement of $300 for the pet they moved in with and was agreed to by the landlord. In late 2012 the tenant violated their lease and brought an additional pet (cat) onto the premises. The deposit was raised at that time to a total of $600.00 (not $650).  I missed that in the original response.  In section F of the attached pet agreement it clearly states the tenant liabilities.  The deposit is held to offset these liabilities.

2 Special Ozone machines were brought out to the property to deodorize the home as well as a Level 1 Topical Odor Treatment that was applied to the top of the carpet. The cost of this deodorization process was 210.93.  

In section F(2) it states the "tenant will pay all reasonable costs that are necessary to clean, deodorize,…."  According to this section, Red Wagon assessed the additional $210.93 that was used to deodorize the property of it's pet smell.  This fee was above and beyond the cost associated with cleaning the property for which a cleaning fee was paid. Deodorization is not covered in our standard cleanings. 

I have attached the Itemization of security deposit where-in we accuratly state there was a fee for carpet odor testaments.  Because this form does not give a detailed breakdown of charges, I have attached the portion of the email in which we communicated the breakdown in detail to the tenant.

In the pet agreement in Section G, the tenant agreed to "protect, defend, and hold landlord, Landlord's property manager …. harmless for any damages, costs… and expenses that are caused by any pet or tenant."  In this case, the odor treatment was applied due to the pet and the tenant has already agreed to defend and protect our right to bring cure to the property. 




Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The lease was not violated. A violation is non-conformance to the contract. We conformed to the lease at all times. Red Wagon was notified of the additional pet and failed to respond. In conformance of the lease, we paid an additional $300 dollars for the pet deposit. We were told by the Red Wagon representative that we needed to pay an additional $150 penalty or be evicted. Rather than debating the coercive tactics and non-responsive nature of Red Wagon, we chose to pay the $150 fee.  The additional non-recorded (by Red Wagon) $150 fee is recorded in the banking statements. The funds were paid by direct deposit on 11/21/12 and cleared within 48 hours.

Per Red Wagon’s previous statement, the additional refundable amount of $300.00 was previously missed in the calculation. This raises the previously stated $1,995.00 in total deposits to $2,295.00. Even with the debatably appropriate charges of $314.02, this would create a refundable amount of $1976.98; not the $1680.98 previously stated.

I do not understand how the attached “itemization form” can be called an itemization of costs when it fails at giving a “breakdown of charges.” Additionally, no other itemization was attached. Further, I see a lack of justification for such costs.

Regardless of unjustifiable and inaccurate charges, the total refundable amount is still wrong. Even with the non-itemized charges, the total still owed to me is $300.00.
I ask that Red Wagon act with integrity by honoring our contractual agreement and reimburse me for the outstanding balance on the refundable security deposit. I am willing to forgo pursuit of the unjustified charges of $210.93 if Red Wagon refunds the amount of $300.00 that was previously missed in their calculations.


Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:

While I could make this simple to just make it go away, it is important to me that I operate my business with transparency and a standard that is above reproach.  Please review the start to finish clearly outlined accounting of charges below.  For the record this was all emailed to the tenant in very clear dialogue on April 7th.  

 

The form for the security deposit is generated by the Texas Association of Realtors.  It is not our document, therefore I can not fill it out in any way other than what they provided.  I will go back to the beginning to break the charges down in order to show how the accounting is calculated:

 

DEPOSITS:

$ 1395.00  Your original security deposit according to money received, and the TAR-2001 lease signed on Feb 13, 2012 per section 10. (attached hereto)

$ 300.00  Pet deposit according to money received, and the TAR-2004 lease signed on Feb 13, 2012 - Section B(1) (attached hereto)

$ 300.00 Additional Pet deposit paid after you had violated your TAR-2001 Lease Section 9.  This deposit was paid to bring you into lease compliance and is considered in the accounting on TAR-2216. (attached hereto)

___________________________________________

$1995.00  Total deposits paid and accounted for on TAR-2216 

 

CHARGES:

$ 75.00 Move out inspection fee per section 26 of TAR-2001

$ 21.65  HVAC Filter replacement per Section 17.A(3) and Section 26 of TAR-2001

$ 6.44 Smoke Alarm Battery replacement  Per Section 17.A(4) of TAR-2001

$ 210.93  Carpet pet odor treatment per the pet agreement in Section F.2 of TAR-2004

____________________________________________

$314.02 Total Charges accounted for on TAR-2216 

 

 

Total deposits 1995.00 minus the charges -314.02… is $1680.98

The total amount refunded to the tenant on 3-30-2015 and according to TAR-2216 is $1680.98

 

No further accounting is needed.  No additional refund is owed. 

 

 

***There are other fees that the tenant is referencing that are not deposits or considered in the deposit accounting… $150.00 pet fine was charged to the tenant for the lease violation referenced above.  The fine was actually $300.00, it looks like ******* in our office reduced the fine by 50% and only charged $150.00 this is not credited to the tenant or allowed for repairs it is a penalty for violating the lease. 

 

***The argument the tenant has made in the past is that “he should not be charged for carpet deodorization when he has paid a cleaning fee.”  The tenant did pay a non-refundable cleaning fee at move-in. That fee was used to clean the property and covered more bills than are being included in this discourse. I have attached the carpet cleaning bill to evidence that we only charged the items regarding pet odor and the respective tax.  The rest of the bill (and other bills) we in fact covered by the cleaning fee.  This is specifically what a pet deposit is for… homes that do not have pets, pet hair, pet dander, pet urine… do not need these additional treatments. 

 

 

 

 

 

********** *******

Broker/Owner

Red Wagon Properties

***** ******* ***** ***

*** ******** ** *****

* ************

*  ************

* ************

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am currently a tenant, in a house just recently being managed by Red Wagon, I have been staying on the property for over a year now. The owner, switched to Red Wagon just as I was renewing my lease agreement Nov 2014. On 9 Jan 2015, someone broke into the property, breaking the lock to the front door and stole everything of value, along with destroying everything in their path in the house. After notifying the police I called Red Wagon Property Management, I spoke to one of their agents that told me he would have the ******** ******* ********** ******* and the repairs department call me back ASAP. Obviously the message I passed along about the break-in and the two broken doors was not important because I did not hear back from them until I called again two days later 12 Jan 15. On that date I spoke to *** *******, I told him about the break-in and about the doors being broken I also shared my concern with him letting him know that I called two days prior and I never heard back. After I told him everything that happened he said, and I quote "Well, the proper procedure for placing a work order for the broken doors is to submit a work order online through red wagon properties" he also proceeded to say that they only work Mon through Friday that's why I didn't get a call back. I told him that in emergency situations there has to be some kind of exception to submitting a work order online being that my computer was stolen and that I couldn't believe he just said that. After speaking more about the broken doors he told me he would send someone out to fix the locks and that I did not need to be there for it. I then told *** ******, I did not feel safe and I wanted to explore my options on getting out of the lease, *** ******* said "This is kind of one of those life happens events. I know the lease, and this does not excuse you from your lease". In reference to the broken doors, they are still broken and Red Wagon refuses to fix them, even though that kind of repair falls under home owners insurance.

Desired Settlement: 1. Fix the broken doors that cost nothing to the property management company or the owner due to the fact that it falls under home owners insurance. Unless the owner cares nothing about his home! Damage to the property does not fall under renters insurance because its not mine, and I will not pay out of my own pocket for something that was not my fault! 2. Take classes on customer service, I have a perfect rental history and should be treated as such. Nonetheless I serve for you in the USAF!

Business Response: We at Red Wagon are extremely sympathetic to the tenant who has fallen victim to a crime in which her space has been violated and has been stolen from.  We had an office space broken into once and we can empathize with how it feels.  I also understand exactly how it feels when you later find out that, as the tenant, you are held responsible for the damages from the crime of which you were the victim.  There is no way to deliver that information in a way that is palatable or that even comes close to feeling right or justified.  
On Jan 12th I received a call from this tenant who was extremely upset that I did not find it a priority to return a call from over the weekend regarding her breaking and entering. I had not received such a call.  After inquiring about the call she left I discovered she had called the office leasing line with the information, and that her call was not to the Repair line which handles emergencies.  There are two ways to report an emergency to our office one is by calling the emergency repair line ************ ****** an the other is to email ******************************.  Either of those two sources are monitored 24hrs a day. 
After receiving the call on the 12th we sent a repair person to the property immediately to ensure the property was in fact secured. 
On Jan 14th we sent an email correspondence to the tenant: “Our contractor went by the property on Monday to secure the broken doors as you reported but they were both locked & secured at the time. Was there any damage to the home from the break-in that needs to be repaired?”
On Jan 14th the tenant responded that the locks had sustained damage and would need to be fixed. 
We told the tenant we would send a vendor right away to have the item repaired and asked that she pay the vendor when on site.  According to page 10, section 18 D (2) of the lease agreement it states that the landlord will not pay for damage to doors, windows, or screens unless it was caused by landlords negligence.  
In addition to that section, section 21 addresses the complete scope of liability in regard to theft, burglary, and robbery as in this circumstance here. If there is any additional confusion I would strongly encourage review of this section. 
These items are not covered by the homeowners insurance but should be covered by the tenants rental insurance and we have offered to work with her insurance carrier to have these items covered. 
The tenant has not accepted our offer and has not asked us to speak to her carrier. 
Red Wagon is willing to complete the repair as soon as the tenant requests it.  We have completed each step in a timely manner.  
On Feb 2nd we received an email from the tenant stating : “I did not put in a request to have my doors repaired.” The tenant was asking why she had to pay to have the locks re-keyed.  Red wagon does not require to have the locks re-keyed. The cost for rekeying one lock or six locks is the same cost. It is all a part of one package deal.  The suggestion may have been made to just have them rekeyed while Texas re-key was out since her home was broken into, however no one has required that the locks be rekeyed. The home was rekeyed by another management company when this tenant took possession and that is just fine with our office and is in compliance with Texas property code. 
We will be happy to have the repairs completed as soon as the tenant is ready to arrange for vendor payment. We are also willing to let the tenant include the payment with the following months rent if that would make it more convenient for the tenant. Let us know if that is a way we might be able to accommodate the request. 


In regard to lease termination:
It is true that having you home broken into does not excuse a tenant from the responsibilities of the lease.  However, I also made the offer to the tenant at that time and would still be happy to honor the offer made to the tenant.  We will be willing to work according to the terms laid out in section 28 of the lease agreement for an Early Termination.  I have spoken with the tenant’s attorney regarding the availability of this early termination clause and to date the tenant has not elected to move forward in this manor. 


In summary, I am sorry for the tenants difficulty in dealing with being a victim of a crime.  Our company has been available and remains available to assist the tenant when the tenant is ready.  It is unfortunate that the tenant bears the responsibility of clean up and repairs when they are already a victim, but then the party who should be responsible is the one that committed (and got away with) the crime. 

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2nd complaint: I have been out of my home since Jan 11th due to a leak. I came home on Sunday night to find water all over the house. Every bedroom (3), closets, living room, bathrooms, and dinning/kitchen had water. San Antonio water department had left a notice notifing of a leak on the residence side. A pipe in the middle bathroom ruptured and caused the house to flood. Carpets, rugs and flooring were soaked. Water was shut off by SAWS. I have been in contact with realty company via email, I have called the office on hue near but they always say that the agent is not in. I have tried calling at different times of the day and still haven't been able to speak with her. Every conversation is via email so she can have documentation. It's been two weeks and all that has been done is vacuumed water and blowers and humidifiers placed in the home. The blowers have been running non- stop. A plumber did come on Thursday 22nd to fix the plumbing issue. A leak still remains and Red Wagon has been notified. A contractor came to assess the damage and submit a quote to the realty company. The only response I get from Red Wagon is " we are waiting for approval from the owners". Meanwhile I'm going on week 3 of not being able to reside in the home due to the noise of the blowers and humidifiers running, the smell of mold, and water on the floor. My son has already moved to his fathers due to the fact that he couldn't breathe in the home, the constant moving from place to place and having to live out of a suit case. Funds are not available for a hotel for however long they need so we have no choice but to keep staying at other peoples homes. I have my 11 year old daughter to take care of and it's a hassle having to drive back and forth. I have aired out the house to get the smell out but I don't think the realty company have given this issue the attention it needs that it's becoming a greater issue now. Water is now coming back up into the living room and bathroom again that I'm having to move and place my possessions into the garage from further damage. I really don't think it's fair that I have to pay for something that I can reside in because of the lack of attention to a very serious matter. I feel this home is slowly attaining for damage then it needs to if the issue would of been handle in a timely manner. As I've said this is the start of week 3 and I still can't reside at the home.

Desired Settlement: Fix the issues at hand right away or allow me to find residence else where, where I have a home of my own to come home too without having to worry where we are going to stay at tomorrow.

Business Response: This is actually a re-posting of the first complaint by the tenant.  All issues regarding repairs were addressed in a timely manner.  We have not charged the tenant for rent during any of the time the tenant has been unable to reside in the property.  While we were drying the home out it was discovered that there was a second leak in the home causing yet more damage and more inconvenience to the tenant. The home owner did in fact turn this into their insurance and they began taking over parts of the process in conjunction with our company. This complaint was the first time the request was made by the tenant to be released from her lease.  Due to the extent of the damage and the amount of work the home will need for restoration we find that to be a perfectly acceptable solution.  We are granting the termination of the lease with not penalty to the tenant. 

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water leak over the week-end with no one home. flooded the entire home. Emergency cleanup crew came Monday installed 10 blowers to dry floors and carpets. carpets still wet, cleaning crew stated I should not be in the home during this process. Rental agency contacted and ask for a place to live for my family. They stated it was not covered. I would have to pay myself. Owners may pay for it

Desired Settlement: Pay for a place for my family to stay while repairs are being performed. Are the repairs going to be done?

Business Response: I have researched what has transpired since the problem was reported to our office.  This is an open work order that is in process and has the full attention of our team here at Red Wagon.  
This emergency work order was reported to our office on Sunday night at 11:42 PM.  
That same night at 11:59PM our emergency repair staff person responded by email to the tenant to determine what the cause was and give confirmation of a vendor being assigned.
At 12:17 AM Brown Unlimited Plumbing Company was assigned this work order.

The entire process happened Sunday night around midnight over the course of 30 min.  

The tenant stayed in another location that evening due to the condition of the home. Tenant arranged to meet the plumber at 9AM monday morning to begin the extraction process. 

At this time the water extraction has been completed and high power fans have been placed in the home to dry the property out before property repair can commence.  The tenant has asked us to pay for her hotel expenses and that is not something that is covered by our company or the lease.  Those kinds of fees and charges are covered under the tenant's rental insurance. We have encouraged the tenant to keep careful records of the costs involved during this process and submit them to her renter's insurance for reimbursement.  We have also offered that if the tenants insurance refuses to pay this claim we will assist her in the matter and also submit the receipts to the owner of the home for consideration. 

We have told the tenant that we would not be charging them for the pro-rated days that they are not able to occupy the property due to the condition. While they are incurring costs staying in a hotel, they are not incurring the costs of rent at the property while it is being dried out. 

While I understand this is a frustrating time - this is not a complaint against our business practices. As you can see from the above and the current work my staff has in process we have been extremely responsive in addressing the concerns within our control.  As for outstanding issues, such as expense reimbursement, we must first see how the insurance provider responds and then we can move on from there.  We are doing what we can and at this time it will be crediting back the prorated rent from days the home could not be occupied.

********** ******* 


8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved out of the property located at **** ******** Converse, TX 78109 on June 17th, 2013. I received an email after 30 days of moving out regarding the return of my security deposit and this is my response to the deductions. We thoroughly cleaned the rental at **** ******** Converse, TX 78109 before vacating and, in fact, left it cleaner than when we moved in. There were no damages to the property beyond normal wear and tear. We were expecting to get our full deposit back. We were surprised to see the following deductions: 1. HVAC check (dirty filter) – We changed our filter out monthly as demanded in our lease. Our air conditioner was running consistently and filters do become dirty because of that. Also, noted in our move in condition form there was no filter placed at all at move in and the unit was not cooling or maintaining a temperature. 2. Garage door repair – The garage door was in working condition upon move out and had not been altered, damaged or changed within our stay at the property. 3. Gate repair – The fence and gate around the property were damaged, had holes, and were leaning at move in as noted on our move in condition form. 4. Carpet odor treatments – The carpet had stains and foul odor at move in as noted on our move in condition form. This was reported early in our lease as a problem that was not tolerable. Carpet cleaners were sent out to the house. The carpet cleaner explained to us that the carpet had just been cleaned and he would not bring his equipment in and clean it again. He explained it was not necessary because the stains could not be fixed. He proceeded to spray deodorizer on the carpet and told us that would be the best he could do. This did not fix the problem. I bought throw rugs and placed them over the large stains and foul odor areas so my family and I would not have to walk on that area of carpet and the rugs could be washed frequently. 5. Toilet seat – The toilet seat/lid combination was broken at move in and noted on our move in condition form. 6. Broken blinds – Broken blinds were noted on our move in condition form as well. The deductions were in the amount of $431.22. The company stated that they would return the charge for broken blinds, toilet seat, and garage door repair in the amount of $178.82. All of the charges are preexisting and documented in the move in condition form. The home was in disarray upon arriving with a clogged air conditioner, damaged fence, and stained and foul odor on the carpets. A move in condition form, move in inspection, pictures, and neighbor witnesses can all be provided if needed to prove claim. I am filing suit on the 26th of July, 2013 if they do not return my full deposit.

Desired Settlement: $431.22 refunded

Business Response: We spoke with the owner of the property and the owner agreed to release the full amount of the security deposit to the tenant.  The tenant was a great tenant during their stay at our property. This dispute was resolved within 24hrs of it's occurrence.  Because of our expeditious response we request that, with the consent of the complainant,  this negative complaint be struck for the record of the better business bureau. 
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: In order to receive my deposit back I had to demand it.  I had to write multiple emails, make multiple phone calls, and file complaints with the BBB and Texas Board of Realtors in order to get some attention brought to the matter.  It was assumed by Red Wagon that property damages that were pre-existing were done by me even with proof of inspections and hand written reports at move in.  I emailed multiple times stating I had not made the damages and had proof of it through reports signed by the company at move in.  They disregarded those reports.  Red Wagon has returned my entire deposit as of now.  Red Wagon still states on the Itemization of Security Deposit that the damages were all waived.  This is not a true statement considering the damages were pre-existing and not caused by my family or I.  If this complaint is struck from the record of the BBB others may be deceived also by Red Wagon Realty that their practices are fair and reasonable when returning security deposits.

Regards,

***** *** **** *****





























Business Response: When this client initially disputed the security deposit we responded immediately with the information we had at hand.  After additional correspondence we dove into more research regarding the file.  While we are apologetic that we did not come up with the resolution that the tenant initially wanted, we did in the end determine that this tenant was correct in their position.  This entire dispute and resolution was achieved in less than 24 hrs.  Red Wagon has no further position to take at this time.      

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** And **** *****