Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Red Wagon Realty

Phone: (210) 695-1100 Fax: (210) 695-1515 16719 Huebner Rd Ste 201, San Antonio, TX 78248 http://www.redwagonproperties.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Red Wagon Realty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Red Wagon Realty include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Red Wagon Realty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Red Wagon Realty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 2009 Business started: 11/28/2006 in TX Business started locally: 11/28/2006 Business incorporated 11/28/2006 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kristopher Hochart, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kristopher Hochart, Owner
Business Category

Real Estate Real Estate Agents Real Estate - Rent to Own Real Estate Consultants Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Vacation Rentals Investment Management Real Estate Investors

Alternate Business Names
Our Red Wagon, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 16719 Huebner Rd Ste 201

    San Antonio, TX 78248 (210) 695-1100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am currently a tenant, in a house just recently being managed by Red Wagon, I have been staying on the property for over a year now. The owner, switched to Red Wagon just as I was renewing my lease agreement Nov 2014. On 9 Jan 2015, someone broke into the property, breaking the lock to the front door and stole everything of value, along with destroying everything in their path in the house. After notifying the police I called Red Wagon Property Management, I spoke to one of their agents that told me he would have the ******** ******* ********** ******* and the repairs department call me back ASAP. Obviously the message I passed along about the break-in and the two broken doors was not important because I did not hear back from them until I called again two days later 12 Jan 15. On that date I spoke to *** *******, I told him about the break-in and about the doors being broken I also shared my concern with him letting him know that I called two days prior and I never heard back. After I told him everything that happened he said, and I quote "Well, the proper procedure for placing a work order for the broken doors is to submit a work order online through red wagon properties" he also proceeded to say that they only work Mon through Friday that's why I didn't get a call back. I told him that in emergency situations there has to be some kind of exception to submitting a work order online being that my computer was stolen and that I couldn't believe he just said that. After speaking more about the broken doors he told me he would send someone out to fix the locks and that I did not need to be there for it. I then told *** ******, I did not feel safe and I wanted to explore my options on getting out of the lease, *** ******* said "This is kind of one of those life happens events. I know the lease, and this does not excuse you from your lease". In reference to the broken doors, they are still broken and Red Wagon refuses to fix them, even though that kind of repair falls under home owners insurance.

Desired Settlement: 1. Fix the broken doors that cost nothing to the property management company or the owner due to the fact that it falls under home owners insurance. Unless the owner cares nothing about his home! Damage to the property does not fall under renters insurance because its not mine, and I will not pay out of my own pocket for something that was not my fault! 2. Take classes on customer service, I have a perfect rental history and should be treated as such. Nonetheless I serve for you in the USAF!

Business Response: We at Red Wagon are extremely sympathetic to the tenant who has fallen victim to a crime in which her space has been violated and has been stolen from.  We had an office space broken into once and we can empathize with how it feels.  I also understand exactly how it feels when you later find out that, as the tenant, you are held responsible for the damages from the crime of which you were the victim.  There is no way to deliver that information in a way that is palatable or that even comes close to feeling right or justified.  
On Jan 12th I received a call from this tenant who was extremely upset that I did not find it a priority to return a call from over the weekend regarding her breaking and entering. I had not received such a call.  After inquiring about the call she left I discovered she had called the office leasing line with the information, and that her call was not to the Repair line which handles emergencies.  There are two ways to report an emergency to our office one is by calling the emergency repair line ************ ****** an the other is to email ******************************.  Either of those two sources are monitored 24hrs a day. 
After receiving the call on the 12th we sent a repair person to the property immediately to ensure the property was in fact secured. 
On Jan 14th we sent an email correspondence to the tenant: “Our contractor went by the property on Monday to secure the broken doors as you reported but they were both locked & secured at the time. Was there any damage to the home from the break-in that needs to be repaired?”
On Jan 14th the tenant responded that the locks had sustained damage and would need to be fixed. 
We told the tenant we would send a vendor right away to have the item repaired and asked that she pay the vendor when on site.  According to page 10, section 18 D (2) of the lease agreement it states that the landlord will not pay for damage to doors, windows, or screens unless it was caused by landlords negligence.  
In addition to that section, section 21 addresses the complete scope of liability in regard to theft, burglary, and robbery as in this circumstance here. If there is any additional confusion I would strongly encourage review of this section. 
These items are not covered by the homeowners insurance but should be covered by the tenants rental insurance and we have offered to work with her insurance carrier to have these items covered. 
The tenant has not accepted our offer and has not asked us to speak to her carrier. 
Red Wagon is willing to complete the repair as soon as the tenant requests it.  We have completed each step in a timely manner.  
On Feb 2nd we received an email from the tenant stating : “I did not put in a request to have my doors repaired.” The tenant was asking why she had to pay to have the locks re-keyed.  Red wagon does not require to have the locks re-keyed. The cost for rekeying one lock or six locks is the same cost. It is all a part of one package deal.  The suggestion may have been made to just have them rekeyed while Texas re-key was out since her home was broken into, however no one has required that the locks be rekeyed. The home was rekeyed by another management company when this tenant took possession and that is just fine with our office and is in compliance with Texas property code. 
We will be happy to have the repairs completed as soon as the tenant is ready to arrange for vendor payment. We are also willing to let the tenant include the payment with the following months rent if that would make it more convenient for the tenant. Let us know if that is a way we might be able to accommodate the request. 


In regard to lease termination:
It is true that having you home broken into does not excuse a tenant from the responsibilities of the lease.  However, I also made the offer to the tenant at that time and would still be happy to honor the offer made to the tenant.  We will be willing to work according to the terms laid out in section 28 of the lease agreement for an Early Termination.  I have spoken with the tenant’s attorney regarding the availability of this early termination clause and to date the tenant has not elected to move forward in this manor. 


In summary, I am sorry for the tenants difficulty in dealing with being a victim of a crime.  Our company has been available and remains available to assist the tenant when the tenant is ready.  It is unfortunate that the tenant bears the responsibility of clean up and repairs when they are already a victim, but then the party who should be responsible is the one that committed (and got away with) the crime. 

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2nd complaint: I have been out of my home since Jan 11th due to a leak. I came home on Sunday night to find water all over the house. Every bedroom (3), closets, living room, bathrooms, and dinning/kitchen had water. San Antonio water department had left a notice notifing of a leak on the residence side. A pipe in the middle bathroom ruptured and caused the house to flood. Carpets, rugs and flooring were soaked. Water was shut off by SAWS. I have been in contact with realty company via email, I have called the office on hue near but they always say that the agent is not in. I have tried calling at different times of the day and still haven't been able to speak with her. Every conversation is via email so she can have documentation. It's been two weeks and all that has been done is vacuumed water and blowers and humidifiers placed in the home. The blowers have been running non- stop. A plumber did come on Thursday 22nd to fix the plumbing issue. A leak still remains and Red Wagon has been notified. A contractor came to assess the damage and submit a quote to the realty company. The only response I get from Red Wagon is " we are waiting for approval from the owners". Meanwhile I'm going on week 3 of not being able to reside in the home due to the noise of the blowers and humidifiers running, the smell of mold, and water on the floor. My son has already moved to his fathers due to the fact that he couldn't breathe in the home, the constant moving from place to place and having to live out of a suit case. Funds are not available for a hotel for however long they need so we have no choice but to keep staying at other peoples homes. I have my 11 year old daughter to take care of and it's a hassle having to drive back and forth. I have aired out the house to get the smell out but I don't think the realty company have given this issue the attention it needs that it's becoming a greater issue now. Water is now coming back up into the living room and bathroom again that I'm having to move and place my possessions into the garage from further damage. I really don't think it's fair that I have to pay for something that I can reside in because of the lack of attention to a very serious matter. I feel this home is slowly attaining for damage then it needs to if the issue would of been handle in a timely manner. As I've said this is the start of week 3 and I still can't reside at the home.

Desired Settlement: Fix the issues at hand right away or allow me to find residence else where, where I have a home of my own to come home too without having to worry where we are going to stay at tomorrow.

Business Response: This is actually a re-posting of the first complaint by the tenant.  All issues regarding repairs were addressed in a timely manner.  We have not charged the tenant for rent during any of the time the tenant has been unable to reside in the property.  While we were drying the home out it was discovered that there was a second leak in the home causing yet more damage and more inconvenience to the tenant. The home owner did in fact turn this into their insurance and they began taking over parts of the process in conjunction with our company. This complaint was the first time the request was made by the tenant to be released from her lease.  Due to the extent of the damage and the amount of work the home will need for restoration we find that to be a perfectly acceptable solution.  We are granting the termination of the lease with not penalty to the tenant. 

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water leak over the week-end with no one home. flooded the entire home. Emergency cleanup crew came Monday installed 10 blowers to dry floors and carpets. carpets still wet, cleaning crew stated I should not be in the home during this process. Rental agency contacted and ask for a place to live for my family. They stated it was not covered. I would have to pay myself. Owners may pay for it

Desired Settlement: Pay for a place for my family to stay while repairs are being performed. Are the repairs going to be done?

Business Response: I have researched what has transpired since the problem was reported to our office.  This is an open work order that is in process and has the full attention of our team here at Red Wagon.  
This emergency work order was reported to our office on Sunday night at 11:42 PM.  
That same night at 11:59PM our emergency repair staff person responded by email to the tenant to determine what the cause was and give confirmation of a vendor being assigned.
At 12:17 AM Brown Unlimited Plumbing Company was assigned this work order.

The entire process happened Sunday night around midnight over the course of 30 min.  

The tenant stayed in another location that evening due to the condition of the home. Tenant arranged to meet the plumber at 9AM monday morning to begin the extraction process. 

At this time the water extraction has been completed and high power fans have been placed in the home to dry the property out before property repair can commence.  The tenant has asked us to pay for her hotel expenses and that is not something that is covered by our company or the lease.  Those kinds of fees and charges are covered under the tenant's rental insurance. We have encouraged the tenant to keep careful records of the costs involved during this process and submit them to her renter's insurance for reimbursement.  We have also offered that if the tenants insurance refuses to pay this claim we will assist her in the matter and also submit the receipts to the owner of the home for consideration. 

We have told the tenant that we would not be charging them for the pro-rated days that they are not able to occupy the property due to the condition. While they are incurring costs staying in a hotel, they are not incurring the costs of rent at the property while it is being dried out. 

While I understand this is a frustrating time - this is not a complaint against our business practices. As you can see from the above and the current work my staff has in process we have been extremely responsive in addressing the concerns within our control.  As for outstanding issues, such as expense reimbursement, we must first see how the insurance provider responds and then we can move on from there.  We are doing what we can and at this time it will be crediting back the prorated rent from days the home could not be occupied.

********** ******* 


8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved out of the property located at **** ******** Converse, TX 78109 on June 17th, 2013. I received an email after 30 days of moving out regarding the return of my security deposit and this is my response to the deductions. We thoroughly cleaned the rental at **** ******** Converse, TX 78109 before vacating and, in fact, left it cleaner than when we moved in. There were no damages to the property beyond normal wear and tear. We were expecting to get our full deposit back. We were surprised to see the following deductions: 1. HVAC check (dirty filter) – We changed our filter out monthly as demanded in our lease. Our air conditioner was running consistently and filters do become dirty because of that. Also, noted in our move in condition form there was no filter placed at all at move in and the unit was not cooling or maintaining a temperature. 2. Garage door repair – The garage door was in working condition upon move out and had not been altered, damaged or changed within our stay at the property. 3. Gate repair – The fence and gate around the property were damaged, had holes, and were leaning at move in as noted on our move in condition form. 4. Carpet odor treatments – The carpet had stains and foul odor at move in as noted on our move in condition form. This was reported early in our lease as a problem that was not tolerable. Carpet cleaners were sent out to the house. The carpet cleaner explained to us that the carpet had just been cleaned and he would not bring his equipment in and clean it again. He explained it was not necessary because the stains could not be fixed. He proceeded to spray deodorizer on the carpet and told us that would be the best he could do. This did not fix the problem. I bought throw rugs and placed them over the large stains and foul odor areas so my family and I would not have to walk on that area of carpet and the rugs could be washed frequently. 5. Toilet seat – The toilet seat/lid combination was broken at move in and noted on our move in condition form. 6. Broken blinds – Broken blinds were noted on our move in condition form as well. The deductions were in the amount of $431.22. The company stated that they would return the charge for broken blinds, toilet seat, and garage door repair in the amount of $178.82. All of the charges are preexisting and documented in the move in condition form. The home was in disarray upon arriving with a clogged air conditioner, damaged fence, and stained and foul odor on the carpets. A move in condition form, move in inspection, pictures, and neighbor witnesses can all be provided if needed to prove claim. I am filing suit on the 26th of July, 2013 if they do not return my full deposit.

Desired Settlement: $431.22 refunded

Business Response: We spoke with the owner of the property and the owner agreed to release the full amount of the security deposit to the tenant.  The tenant was a great tenant during their stay at our property. This dispute was resolved within 24hrs of it's occurrence.  Because of our expeditious response we request that, with the consent of the complainant,  this negative complaint be struck for the record of the better business bureau. 
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: In order to receive my deposit back I had to demand it.  I had to write multiple emails, make multiple phone calls, and file complaints with the BBB and Texas Board of Realtors in order to get some attention brought to the matter.  It was assumed by Red Wagon that property damages that were pre-existing were done by me even with proof of inspections and hand written reports at move in.  I emailed multiple times stating I had not made the damages and had proof of it through reports signed by the company at move in.  They disregarded those reports.  Red Wagon has returned my entire deposit as of now.  Red Wagon still states on the Itemization of Security Deposit that the damages were all waived.  This is not a true statement considering the damages were pre-existing and not caused by my family or I.  If this complaint is struck from the record of the BBB others may be deceived also by Red Wagon Realty that their practices are fair and reasonable when returning security deposits.

Regards,

***** *** **** *****





























Business Response: When this client initially disputed the security deposit we responded immediately with the information we had at hand.  After additional correspondence we dove into more research regarding the file.  While we are apologetic that we did not come up with the resolution that the tenant initially wanted, we did in the end determine that this tenant was correct in their position.  This entire dispute and resolution was achieved in less than 24 hrs.  Red Wagon has no further position to take at this time.      

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** And **** *****