Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sand Key Realty

Phone: (361) 749-4255 Fax: (361) 693-5805 View Additional Phone Numbers 722 Tarpon St, Ste I, Port Aransas, TX 78373 http://www.sandkeyrealtyporta.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Port Aransas Vacation Rentals and property sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sand Key Realty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sand Key Realty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sand Key Realty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 21, 2013 Business started: 09/05/2012 Business started locally: 09/05/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Hall, Broker/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Hall, Broker/Owner
Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals Real Estate Real Estate Agents Property Management

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash and all major credit cards.

Additional Locations

  • 722 Tarpon St, Ste I

    Port Aransas, TX 78373 (855) 749-4255 (361) 749-4255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently booked a room for our vacation stay. When we called to reserve the room we were told it be $130 a night. We paid a portion of the bill $226.50 to hold the room. On July 20 we went to pay for the rest of the bill. My husband was charged a total of $906.00. After thinking the amount didn't add up, the total should have been $650 plus any taxes,he asked about the amount during check out. They proceeded to tell us we were charged $140 a night, a cleaning few of $65, as well as an insurance fee of $50, along with taxes of $91. He was told over the phone there would be a cleaning fee of $50 over the phone of excessive cleaning was needed. The response he was given was "sir you were told your total." Not once was the cleaning or insurance dee ever mentioned. Very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be reimbursed for the $115 we were not told about, or partially reimbursed. That amount was not added in our budget for vacation, due to not being informed of it.

Business Response: I apologize for the confusion during your stay. Customer found this property on a vacation rental website "Flipkey" and proceeded to call us to ask questions and eventually book the property. Customer was told that the base rate for this property is $140/night and was given a total of $906 for 5 nights stay with tax and all fees. Customer said that he would talk to his wife and get back in touch. Customer eventually called back, asked a few more questions and decided to book the property. Our company takes a 25% deposit at the time of booking, with the balance due at arrival. The customer was charged $226.50 at the time of booking and owed $679.50 at check-in.   We then sent the customer a confirmation email with check-in instructions and a receipt showing what was already paid and what amount would be due at check-in. Guests were a late arrival on their check-in date, so we allowed them to check-in and come to our office the next morning to pay the balance. Customer came in the next morning, we went over what was owed and they paid cash for the balance.

Both our company website and Flipkey have a calendar function that allows guests to search by available dates. This function will give guests the exact total for those dates. All fees are clearly disclosed on both our company website and on any third party sites that we use for marketing purposes. In fact, if you were to go to one of these sites to book 5 nights during the summer-time at this property, you would be shown the same exact total of $906.00.

Since our company clearly advertises rates, fees, etc on all marketing materials and the customer was charged this exact price, this is not a case of our company trying to mislead or overcharge the customer. Additionally the customer was given verbal and written confirmation as to the price of this accommodation before and after booking.

I regret that there was a misunderstanding between our company and the customer, however we made every reasonable effort to ensure the customer was properly informed. Because of this, we will not be issuing a refund to the customer.