BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Clear Channel Communications Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (210) 736-9700 Fax: (210) 832-3428 View Additional Phone Numbers 200 E Basse Rd, San Antonio, TX 78209 http://www.clearchannel.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clear Channel Communications Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clear Channel Communications Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1974 Business started: 02/01/1974 Business started locally: 02/01/1974 Business incorporated: 04/09/1974 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Biondo, VP of Customer Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Biondo, VP of Customer Operations
Business Category

Radio Stations & Broadcast Companies

Alternate Business Names
La Nueva Rumba

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 E Basse Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78209 (210) 822-2828

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6222 IH 10 NW

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 736-9700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1700 HSBC Plaza100 Chestnut Street

    Rochester, NY 14604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10 Columbus Blvd

    Hartford, CT 06106

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1022 Main St

    East Hartford, CT 06108

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3490 Whitney Ave

    Hamden, CT 06518

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Market Street

    Hartford, CT 06101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 85

    New Haven, CT 06501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    44-55 Mitchell Avenue

    Franklin, NJ 07416

  • 920 W. Basin Rd. Suite 400

    New Castle, DE 19720

  • 5595 W. Denneys Road

    Dover, DE 19904

  • 8044 Montgomery Rd  Ste 650

    Cincinnati, OH 45236

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2323 W 5th Ave Ste 400

    Columbus, OH 43204

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6172 Busch Blvd Ste 2000

    Columbus, OH 43229

  • 101 Pine St

    Dayton, OH 45402

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    390 Golden AVE

    Battle Creek, MI 49015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1087 New Circle Road (FORMER)

    Lexington, KY 40505

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1498 Trade Center Dr (FORMER)

    Lexington, KY 40505

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2601 Nicholasville Road

    Lexington, KY 40503

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3549 Russell Cave Pike (FORMER)

    Lexington, KY 40511

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    921 Beasley Street #103 (FORMER)

    Lexington, KY 40509

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Alfred Street

    Savannah, GA 31401

  • 667 W. Market St.

    Lima, OH 45801

  • 667 W. Market St.

    Lima, OH 45801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1819 Peachtree St Ne Ste 700

    Atlanta, GA 30309

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    530 Beacon Parkway West # 600

    Birmingham, AL 35209

  • 555 Broadcast Dr # 3

    Mobile, AL 36606

  • P.O. Box 161489

    Mobile, AL 36616

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12470 Highway 1

    Mt Carmel, IL 62863

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12532 Highway 1

    Mt Carmel, IL 62863

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7413 Old Lee Highway

    Chattanooga, TN 37421

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2-B PAI Park

    Greensboro, NC 27409

  • 555 Broadcast Drive  3rd Floor

    Mobile, AL 36616

  • P.O. Box 161489

    Mobile, AL 36616

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    661 Azalea Rd

    Mobile, AL 36609

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    55 Music Square West

    Nashville, TN 37203

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10 Music Circle East

    Nashville, TN 37203

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    55 Music Square West

    Nashville, TN 37203

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3100 Smoketree Court, Suite 700

    Raleigh, NC 27604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3305 Old Forest Rd.

    Lynchburg, VA 24501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3807 Brandon Ave., SW, Ste. 2350

    Roanoke, VA 24018

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4002 W Gandy Blvd

    Tampa, FL 33611

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1019 Bluff Rd

    Columbia, SC 29201

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1801 Grand Ave

    Des Moines, IA 50309

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2141 Grand Ave

    Des Moines, IA 50312

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12100 W. Howard Ave.

    Milwaukee, WI 53228

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 Desmet Ave

    Harvey, ND 58341

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3405 N Hydraulic St

    Wichita, KS 67219

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9323 E 37th St N

    Wichita, KS 67226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    274 E Central Pkwy

    Altamonte Spgs, FL 32701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2890 Harper Rd

    Melbourne, FL 32904

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    731 Sw 37th Ave

    Ocala, FL 34474

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1001 Highlands Plaza Dr W STE 100

    Saint Louis, MO 63110

  • 1856 S Glenstone Ave

    Springfield, MO 65804

  • 4270 Byrd Dr

    Loveland, CO 80538

  • 4270 Byrd Dr

    Loveland, CO 80538

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5411 Jefferson NE Suite 100

    Albuquerque, NM 87109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5411 Jefferson NE Suite 100

    Albuquerque, NM 87109

  • 5555 Hilton Avenue  Suite 500

    Baton Rouge, LA 70808

  • 17431 Jefferson Highway, Suite B

    Baton Rouge, LA 70817

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2885 Ih 10 E

    Beaumont, TX 77702

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1716 Briarcrest Dr Ste 150

    Bryan, TX 77802

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14001 Dallas Pkwy Ste 1210

    Dallas, TX 75240

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    425 W Irving Blvd

    Irving, TX 75060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4695 S Monaco St

    Denver, CO 80237

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    650 Iwilei Rd Ste 400

    Honolulu, HI 96817

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1555 Bayshore Hwy Ste 130

    Burlingame, CA 94010

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    340 Townsend St

    San Francisco, CA 94107

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    555 12th St Ste 950

    Oakland, CA 94607

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2801s Decker Lake Dr

    Salt Lake City, UT 84119

  • 9660 Granite Ridge Dr #100

    San Diego, CA 92123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    808 E Sprague

    Spokane, WA 99202

  • 645 Elliott Ave W Ste 400

    Seattle, WA 98119

  • 645 Elliott Ave W Ste 400

    Seattle, WA 98119

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3601 6th Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98134

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4949 SW Macadam Ave

    Portland, OR 97239

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 822-2828(Phone)
  • (212) 377-7834(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Clear Channel has been billing for items that were not delivered as discussed. They have not remitted to us $250 owed for "Daily Deals" purchased (that we have now serviced at our business). Even after a full staff meeting with them, they did not deliver on what was discussed. Not even a proper proposal, which was promised - let alone a signed purchase order for the claimed advertising, nor advertising proofs for our records. Even after multiple attempts to get those items, they have continued to ignore us, yet bill us for items that they failed to fulfill - even important components of our advertising requests - which were made clear that they needed to happen all at once for proper marketing saturation. Even the Daily Deal that they ran was repeatedly both unauthorized and grossly mis-worded causing serious client issues - again, even after multiple attempts to calmly solve the problem. Simply put, they have not in any real way responded to our clearly-stated professional advertising needs. Nor have they delivered on what even they themselves had proposed. Additionally, due to the services that we rendered and delivered for clients from the Auction that they ran, Clear Channel still owes us approx. $15,000 worth of special advertising that was promised to us.

Desired Settlement: We would of course like to stop being billed and for our account to reflect a zero balance. We would like the $250 owed to us for Daily Deal services that we rendered and delivered, and the ability to run the additional $15,000 of advertising budget that was promised to us - again, for services (Auction) that we rendered and delivered.

Business Response: We attempted to get additional data and have not received reply back - message below:



From: ********* ******** ******** ********************************
Date: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 10:15 AM
To: ****************** ******************
Subject: Clear Channel Request for Additional Information - BBB Complaint ********


***  *******,


We just received the below complaint and wanted to lend a helping hand.  I would like to research this issue personally and would need to obtain some information from you.  Can you provide me the contact information of the individuals you have been communicating with at Clear Channel.  I will reach out today and help get this resolved.  I look forward to hearing from you.






Customer’s Statement of the Problem:
Clear Channel has been billing for items that were not delivered as discussed. They have not remitted to us $250 owed for "Daily Deals" purchased (that we have now serviced at our business). Even after a full staff meeting with them, they did not deliver on what was discussed. Not even a proper proposal, which was promised - let alone a signed purchase order for the claimed advertising, nor advertising proofs for our records. Even after multiple attempts to get those items, they have continued to ignore us, yet bill us for items that they failed to fulfill - even important components of our advertising requests - which were made clear that they needed to happen all at once for proper marketing saturation. Even the Daily Deal that they ran was repeatedly both unauthorized and grossly mis-worded causing serious client issues - again, even after multiple attempts to calmly solve the problem. Simply put, they have not in any real way responded to our clearly-stated professional advertising needs. Nor have they delivered on what even they themselves had proposed. Additionally, due to the services that we rendered and delivered for clients from the Auction that they ran, Clear Channel still owes us approx. $15,000 worth of special advertising that was promised to us.






Thanks,





******* ****** ** ******** **********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

That is not true. I emailed back the very next day. The reps names are ****** ***** and ***** ********. You never called me.

It is typical of Clear Channel not to do what they say they are going to do.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: *****,

I wanted to let you know that we are still researching this with the local organization - piecing together timelines.  We will circle back as soon as we can.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Still awaiting a real response from Clear Channel. Please note that in the meantime, I have treated many individuals and have not gotten paid yet. Additionally, the time wasted has now cost an entire busy season, when I could have been using that money, energy, and air time to benefit the business. Time is of the essence.

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Please see attached.

Business Response: I'm working with the local market but it would be extremely helpful if I could speak to you..Can you reply to this note with your contact number and a good time to connect?

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

You have my phone number. And personal information is not supposed to be posted here.

Regards, ***** *******

Business Response: Following email has been sent to the customer:



******


Thank you for you time today.  As discussed, we will issue you a check in the amount of $251.25.  We will work to expedite this check and you should receive it within 7-10 business days.  Your outstanding balance of $1250 will be reduced to $0.   See attachment.   Lastly, *** ********* or a member of her team will reach out to you next week to discuss scheduling/programming of your airtime.  You will be issued Airtime credit in the amount of $16,615.00.


Again, thank you for your patience and if you have any questions feel free to contact me.




******* ****** **** ********* ******* **********
Clear Channel Media & Entertainment
iHeartRadio
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased one $50 gift certificate to ******* ***** on ***************** for $29 including shipping and handling fee on 5/24/13 order number *****. Email used was ******************. Contacted ******* a third party processor on the status of the order. ******* stated we would need to contact their client Clear Channel through ****** **** by email of ***************************. ****** was first contacted on 10/16/13 then again 4 more times. Her last email dated 10/23/13 stated that the refund will be sent from San Antonio, TX in two weeks. It is now 11/15/13 and no refund has been received.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the amount paid.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

On behalf of ****** ********* we have received the requested refund from the company.  Please close this case.  



Regards,

****** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered the radio station's contest to win tickets to ***** **** on 11/19 via this link: *********************************************. I later received and email notifying me that I had won such tickets. I made arrangements to come to the show (which is approximately 80 miles from my home) based on such information. I have later received a voicemail saying I am ineligible based on where I live. This information or guideline was not provided upon the contest entry page or anywhere on their website. I have left voicemails, emailed, and reach out to social media regarding this. I have multiple supporting documents but I have included their contest rules. I also have a screenshot of where you can find those contest rules, the email with my winning notification, the screenshot of winners on their website with my entry name, and other rule docs from their parent company, Clear Channel.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the tickets I was notified I had won which is 1 pair of tickets to the ***** **** show 11/19.

Business Response: The Consumer has been contacted by the Radio Station and offered Free Tickets.  Important to note that the terms of the contest were explicit in regards to eligibility.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
97.3's ****** ******* did reach out to me and I am scheduled to pick up the tickets at their headquarters by 5PM the day of the show, November 19. Please note the contest rules were included in documentation to the BBB and the eligibility factor in question was not amongst those rules.

Thank you. 

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/17/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1