Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

School District Publishing

Phone: (800) 685-9148 Fax: (800) 699-9793 View Additional Phone Numbers 5120 Highway 6, Riesel, TX 76682


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for School District Publishing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on School District Publishing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business started locally: 03/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Lee Peterson Mr. Andrew Hall, Executive Vice President Ms. Kay Peterson, Publisher
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kay Peterson, Publisher
Principal: Lee Peterson
Business Category

Publishers - Book


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5120 Highway 6

    Riesel, TX 76682

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales representative caused confusion and misunderstanding as to their affiliation, connection, or association with the ******** ************ Independent School District. Unfortunately we made payments for a previous year under the impression that they were associated with this school district. We have, on numerous occasions, requested that they remove us from any future publications and any other publication they are associated with, yet they continue to invoice us for services we do not authorize.

Desired Settlement: Remove their invoice # ******** from our records immediately and cease any future collection efforts

Business Response: Contrary to the assertions contained in the complaint, School District Publishing does not assert in any manner that is associated with, contracted by, supported by, endorsed by or working on behalf of ******** ************ Independent School District.
 
In fact, quite to the contrary, School District Publishing makes a number of efforts to distinguish itself from the District. For instance, at the bottom of each solicitation letter and invoice is contained the following disclaimer: “Texas School Guide is published by School District Publishing, an independent publisher. School District Publishing is not affiliated with any school, school district, association, or public or private department/agency.” Further, in each school guide publication we produce, including the Texas School Guide, there is contained another disclaimer in the table of contents as follows: “School District Publishing, LLC is a private business entity not affiliated with any public or private institution, school, school district, or association.” Thus, we believe we have expressly made very clear that there is no connection between our company and any school district. Any assertion to the contrary is the result of either a misunderstanding or the failure to carefully read our materials.
 
It is interesting that *** ******** ************ has been purchasing advertising in this publication for several years, paying invoices that include the disclosure statement, and are just now claiming not to know School District Publishing is not associated with the School District.
 
There is no question that *** ******** ************ has been a long standing client of School District Publishing as we have paid advertisements from *** ******** ************ dating from as back as 2003 for the Texas School Guide publication. 
 
In regards to the 2011 Texas School Guide invoice, our business records clearly indicate that on November 29, 2011, Mr. ***** ***** of *** ******** ************ agreed to place a 1/4th page advertisement in the 2011 Texas School Guide publication at a price of One Thousand Nine Hundred Seventy Five Dollars ($1,975) with the knowledge that he had until November 2012 to pay for it.  At that time *** ******** ************ already owed One Thousand Nine Hundred Seventy Five Dollars ($1,975) for the 2010 Texas School Guide; however as a repeat client we ran the ad on good faith that the invoices would be paid as previously done.  On February 7, 2013, after several attempts to reach Mr. ***** went unanswered, Mr. ***** sent an email stating that he would pay the two invoices as soon as possible.  A partial payment was then received shortly after and applied to the delinquent 2010 invoice with a final payment received May 23, 2013.  When payment was sought for the remaining open 2011 invoice, Nydia from *** ******** ************ accounting department stated that *** ******** ************ was refusing further payment.
 
School District Publishing invoiced *** ******** ************ for the previously agreed-upon $1,975 and has sought to collect these funds. Curiously, * * * ******** ************ first raised an issue about the legitimacy of the advertisement only after they were unable to pay their invoice.  The advertisement had already appeared, * * * ******** ************ had received the full benefit of School District Publishing advertising services, and School District Publishing sought to collect the monies due and payable.
 
Therefore, the facts are very clear here. * * * ******** ************ purchased an advertisement in both publications and agreed to pay for them. One ad was eventually paid for while the other still remains delinquent. Mr. ******* rather transparent effort to avoid a just obligation by casting School District Publishing in a negative light is most disappointing. 
 
School District Publishing hereby reserves all rights, claims, remedies and defenses against * * * ******** ************ and all other parties in the event that * * * ******** ************ fails to pay its obligations in full ($1,975).

10/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******* called stating he represented the City of Stony Point. We are on the do not call list but they are still calling; gave us a 800 number to call to put a compliant in ###-###-#### No body to talk to.

Desired Settlement: Fine for calling on the do not call list!

Business Response: I apologize for the delayed response; however, this is the first time I have been made aware of the complaint.  I have reviewed our records and show that we did make a business to business call offering advertising space in our independent publication.  Our records also indicate that our last call to ****** ****** ************ was on 08/29/13 at which time they requested we not call again, which we have not.  I have removed ****** ****** ************ from our call list.  Please note that ###-###-#### is a working phone number which goes to our publishing line.  All phone calls are returned promptly.  Paying a fine for this call is not applicable as it was a business to business call.  

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This matter involves ongoing attempts by this company to obtain payments for services that were not rendered and payments in excess of the amounts actually due. The history of this matter extends over a period of three years and involves the placement of advertising in a publication known as the “******* School Guide.” This Company holds itself out to be the owner and publisher of this Guide. In 2010 we were solicited by School District Publishing to place a 1/8 page advertisement in the 2010-2011 ******* School Guide. We agreed to do so at a total cost of $920.00. We provided camera-ready copy for the advertisement together with an initial binder in the contractual amount of amount of $200.00. Our agreement with School District Publishing stipulated that the publisher would provide us with a copy of the Guide as proof of publication, and we would thereupon pay the balance due in three monthly payments of $200.00 each and one final payment of $120.00. However, School District Publishing failed to provide the contractually required proof of publication, but repeatedly billed us for the subsequent payments. After repeated attempts to obtain proof of publication, School District Publishing reluctantly admitted that, in fact, the subject advertisement had not been printed in the 2010-2011 ******* School Guide. Subsequent to this admission, School District Publishing offered to publish our advertisement, in ¼ page size in the 2011-2012 ******* School Guide, at the original $920.00 charge. They further agreed to apply the previous $200.00 binder to this new agreement, leaving a balance due of $720.00, with the balance to be paid upon proof of publication and in the same manner as stated above. A copy of the 2011-2012 ******* School Guide, with our ¼ page advertisement in it (on page 39) was provided as proof of publication. We thereupon made the stipulated payments as scheduled. School District Publishing then initiated a series of attempts to obtain additional monies from us, both by telephone and through the mails. We have, on numerous occasions over the past three years, and at the expense of considerable time and effort, repeatedly explained the facts of this matter to School District Publishing. And we have provided them with documentary evidence in support of these facts. Instead of desisting and correcting their records, School District Publishing is continuing these attempts at unlawful enrichment.

Desired Settlement: School District Publishing will correct its account to show a zero balance and stop harrasing us.

Business Response: Sorry for the delayed response. 

We have reviewed the entire history
on this transaction.  I apologize for any confusion and the amount of time
spent by both parties to clear it up.  We have marked this account paid in
full.  ******, ***** & Company will not be contacted by us in the
future by mail, phone, or any other means.

 
*** ********

Publisher

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******