Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers flexible delinquent property tax financing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Propel Financial Services LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Propel Financial Services LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Propel Financial Services LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 26, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2006 in TX Business started locally: 08/01/2006 Business incorporated 08/01/2006 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner
2601 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
http://www.occc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 538-1579
joann.mcanally@occc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jack Nelson, President Mr. Danny Collins, Director - Sales Ms. Sherry Houston, Client Relations Manager Mr. Sean O'Neill, Director - Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Terry Anderson
Principal: Mr. Jack Nelson, President
Related Businesses
Rio Tax Loans Propel Tax RETax Funding
Business Category

Property Tax Lenders Financial Services

Products & Services

Propel Financial Services LLC sells the following brand(s): Propel Tax, ReTax Funding, Rio Tax

Propel Financial Services LLC offers the following product(s): Delinquent property tax financing, Tax Lien Assignments - Nevada, Tax Lien Transfers - Texas

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
This company accepts credit cards, ACH, and checks.
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Propel Financial Services LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7990 W Ih 10 Ste 200

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (866) 206-9310 (877) 689-2118 (210) 582-2880 (800) 407-1254

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Propel Financial Services purchased my tax loan from Moncor. I send my payments to them through bill pay services at BOA. I have never been late and I pay before my due date. In March 2016 they took the entire payment and applied it as interest. I requested an explanation of why none of that payment is applied to the principal balance. Their response is to set up automatic bank draft. I refuse to have a Robbing institution taking my hard earned money applying it when and how they want. I hereby request a complete audit of their accounts. If this is not resolved I will go higher to a legal authority to get this resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want my account credited for March and in the future extra payments be applied to the principal balance.

Business Response:

August 30, 2016

Mr. ******
**** ****** ***** ******** ** *****

Re:                 Response to BBB Complaint # ********; Propel Account No. ******

Dear Mr. ******, 

Propel Financial Services, LLC was notified that you contacted the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel.   We take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Below is an overview of your account history which we hope will provide the needed clarification.

Our records show that you have one account with Propel, account number *******, which was originated with Moncor on August 3, 2007 in the amount of $4,255.38. Your account was modified on January 18, 2008, bringing the new balance to $8,356.63, with the first monthly payment of $122.09 due on March 1, 2008.  In January 2009 we agreed to modify the contract again to add additional tax years. The final amount financed was $12,407.21, with the first monthly payment of $181.09 due March 1, 2009. The term of your agreement is for 240 months with an APR of 16.9001%, maturing on February 1, 2029.   Propel Financial Services, LLC purchased your account from Moncor in October 2014.

Your payments are applied to interest accrued and then to principal, which is in accordance with your contact.  Simple interest accrues daily, and is calculated from transaction date to transaction date. If there are variances in the number of days between transaction dates the amount of interest due will fluctuate, sometimes you could pay more in interest and sometimes you could pay less dependent on when your payment is received.   You have indicated that your March 2016 payment was all applied to interest.  Our records indicate that your payment was received on March 21, 2016 for $181. 09. From that payment, $143.41 was applied to interest and $37.68 was applied to principal. 

The reason our agent recommended that you sign up for automated drafting from your checking account was to ensure that your payments are made consistently on the same day every month.  By doing this you would eliminate any variances between the number of days your payment is received, which will ensure that your payments are applied to principal and interest as anticipated by your contract.  

I have enclosed with this response a copy of your transaction history, which shows that your payments are being accurately distributed between interest and principal, dependent on when your payments are received. 

We believe that we have handled your account accurately and legally. However, if you have any other questions or concerns, please contact ******* ** ** *****, Customer Service Supervisor, at ************ or **********@propelfs.com. 

Respectfully,

The Customer Service Team
Propel Financial Services 
August 30, 2016

Mr. ******
**** ****** ***** ******** ** *****

Re:                 Response to BBB Complaint # ********; Propel Account No. ******

Dear Mr. ******, 

Propel Financial Services, LLC was notified that you contacted the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel.   We take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Below is an overview of your account history which we hope will provide the needed clarification.

Our records show that you have one account with Propel, account number *******, which was originated with Moncor on August 3, 2007 in the amount of $4,255.38. Your account was modified on January 18, 2008, bringing the new balance to $8,356.63, with the first monthly payment of $122.09 due on March 1, 2008.  In January 2009 we agreed to modify the contract again to add additional tax years. The final amount financed was $12,407.21, with the first monthly payment of $181.09 due March 1, 2009. The term of your agreement is for 240 months with an APR of 16.9001%, maturing on February 1, 2029.   Propel Financial Services, LLC purchased your account from Moncor in October 2014.

Your payments are applied to interest accrued and then to principal, which is in accordance with your contact.  Simple interest accrues daily, and is calculated from transaction date to transaction date. If there are variances in the number of days between transaction dates the amount of interest due will fluctuate, sometimes you could pay more in interest and sometimes you could pay less dependent on when your payment is received.   You have indicated that your March 2016 payment was all applied to interest.  Our records indicate that your payment was received on March 21, 2016 for $181. 09. From that payment, $143.41 was applied to interest and $37.68 was applied to principal. 

The reason our agent recommended that you sign up for automated drafting from your checking account was to ensure that your payments are made consistently on the same day every month.  By doing this you would eliminate any variances between the number of days your payment is received, which will ensure that your payments are applied to principal and interest as anticipated by your contract.  

I have enclosed with this response a copy of your transaction history, which shows that your payments are being accurately distributed between interest and principal, dependent on when your payments are received. 

We believe that we have handled your account accurately and legally. However, if you have any other questions or concerns, please contact ******* ** ** *****, Customer Service Supervisor, at ************ or **********@propelfs.com. 

Respectfully,

The Customer Service Team
Propel Financial Services 
August 30, 2016

Mr. ******
2546 Slaton
Grand Prairie, TX 75052

Re:                 Response to BBB Complaint # ********; Propel Account No. ******

Dear Mr. ******, 

Propel Financial Services, LLC was notified that you contacted the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel.   We take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Below is an overview of your account history which we hope will provide the needed clarification.

Our records show that you have one account with Propel, account number ******8, which was originated with Moncor on August 3, 2007 in the amount of $4,255.38. Your account was modified on January 18, 2008, bringing the new balance to $8,356.63, with the first monthly payment of $122.09 due on March 1, 2008.  In January 2009 we agreed to modify the contract again to add additional tax years. The final amount financed was $12,407.21, with the first monthly payment of $181.09 due March 1, 2009. The term of your agreement is for 240 months with an APR of 16.9001%, maturing on February 1, 2029.   Propel Financial Services, LLC purchased your account from Moncor in October 2014.

Your payments are applied to interest accrued and then to principal, which is in accordance with your contact.  Simple interest accrues daily, and is calculated from transaction date to transaction date. If there are variances in the number of days between transaction dates the amount of interest due will fluctuate, sometimes you could pay more in interest and sometimes you could pay less dependent on when your payment is received.   You have indicated that your March 2016 payment was all applied to interest.  Our records indicate that your payment was received on March 21, 2016 for $181. 09. From that payment, $143.41 was applied to interest and $37.68 was applied to principal. 

The reason our agent recommended that you sign up for automated drafting from your checking account was to ensure that your payments are made consistently on the same day every month.  By doing this you would eliminate any variances between the number of days your payment is received, which will ensure that your payments are applied to principal and interest as anticipated by your contract.  

I have enclosed with this response a copy of your transaction history, which shows that your payments are being accurately distributed between interest and principal, dependent on when your payments are received. 

We believe that we have handled your account accurately and legally. However, if you have any other questions or concerns, please contact ******* ** ** *****, Customer Service Supervisor, at ************ or **********@propelfs.com. 

Respectfully,

The Customer Service Team
Propel Financial Services 


 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I never had a problem until Propel took over this account. The very first day they took the entire payment for interest, and they continue to do this as they please. I cannot let you continue to falsely take money under false statements. I never signed any agreement with you. Look at your own statement.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

Mr. ******
**** ****** ***** ******** ** *****


Re: Response to BBB Complaint # ********; Propel Account No. ******

Dear Mr. ******,


Propel Financial Services, LLC (“Propel”) was notified that you rejected our response to your complaint with the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel. Propel began servicing your account in November 2014.
We believe that we have handled your account accurately and legally. We have prepared a detailed amortization schedule to reflect how your payments have been applied to your Account. Please see the attached spreadsheet.
During the months in which a portion of your payment was not applied to principal, you can see that there are additional days of interest accrued for that period of time as a result of late payment(s). When your payments are received consistently every month you will see that there is a distribution between both interest and principal. I have included the following link that will provide you more information on how simple interest is calculated: http://www.wikihow.com/Calculate-Simple-Interest 
Regarding your concern that you did not sign up to do business with Propel, attached herewith is the Servicing Disclosure Statement, which you executed and acknowledged at the time of closing. Please refer to the section titled Transfer practices and requirements. The language in this paragraph allows the lender to assign, sell, or transfer your account to new servicers.
We hope this response will answer your remaining questions, however, if you have any other questions or concerns, please contact ******* ** ** *****, Customer Service Supervisor, at ************ or **********@propelfs.com. 
While we appreciate your business, please understand that you are always welcome to pay your account off in full at any time without any prepayment penalties.
Respectfully,

 
The Customer Service Team

Propel Financial Services


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I will file my own legal response.

Regards,

***** ******

6/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had two loans for real estate taxes through this company for the year 2013 and 2014. I have paid the 2013 loan off in full with the amount due in the amount of $110 for release of lien. After paying the $110 the amount for this was credited to the incorrect account. After 8 weeks the release of lien has not been filed. I called again and paid another $110 for another release of lien and that payment as well has been credited to the incorrect acct. (2014 acct). I have contacted the company on several occasions to get this resolved. I have been told I would received a call from a manager and have still not received a call. I was told that it could take up to 6 weeks for the release of lien. I have also contacted the county clerk who stated that once the release of lien has been received it will take them three business days to remove the lien but per Propel Financial they are stating that it takes the county clerks office 6 weeks to remove the lien. I want the liens removed from my property and I have not been able to get anything resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to send me a copy of the debt paid in full on both accounts and also the paperwork showing that they have filed the release of lien with the Tarrant County Records Department.

Business Response: We have been in contact with the customer and are working with Mrs. ****** directly to address her concerns and reach a solution that is acceptable to all parties.

3/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were receiving junk mail from numerous tax loan agencies, including Popel Tax, about delayed property tax payments even though our taxes ARE paid in full. The problem is with identify theft issues we had with the IRS and the local tax assessor's refusal to make allowances for that matter. I filed a negative review against Propel Tax a couple of weeks ago and clicked on the link in the BBB email to verify it. The review posted a few days later on Propel's BBB site. However, I received more harassing mail from Propel Tax this week and the review on their BBB site had magically disappeared...? I called Propel Tax and left a message asking them to not contact me by mail or any other means ever again. I also emailed the BBB about the issue, but did not get a response, so I called and was told that I had to resubmit my review, which I did. However, I received no response whatsoever.

Desired Settlement: I am done with reviews. I am filing this complaint to ask that the BBB do their job and make sure this company stops harassing us.

Business Response:

March 29, 2016

 

Dear Ms. *****, 

 

 

Thank you for your inquiry about Propel Tax and your concern about receiving multiple direct mail pieces. Please know that we take all concerns very seriously.  Propel has provided affordable solutions to thousands of property owners who, for various reasons including health issues, loss of job, or personal crisis, are unable to pay their property taxes.  Every Propel employee works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis. 

We certainly understand the frustration regarding unwarranted direct mail.  Even in this day and age of electronic delivery and instant online transactions, the process required to gain delinquent tax information still has some catching up to do.  To clarify, Propel Tax requests data from the taxing entities regarding property owners across the state who show to have delinquent property taxes as of February 1st.  This data is public information and is acquired through various taxing entities as well as third party vendors.  We print a very important disclaimer on every letter and card:  “Please disregard this letter if you have paid your property taxes or are eligible for a disability or elderly deferral.”

When reviewing our marketing practices we ensure each piece follows the BBB Code of Advertising Basic Principles, applicable state laws, and our own core values.  The nature of any solicitation sent by Propel Tax is never to mislead a consumer.

When we are made aware of these concerns, we immediately remove the address in question from future mailing lists.  Please disregard any additional mailers received in the interim as it could take up to 6 weeks to clear current circulations already in the pipeline.

Thank you again for raising this concern and allowing Propel to clarify the process.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact ******* ** ** *****, Customer Service Supervisor at ************ or mdelagarza@propelfs.com.

 

 

Respectfully,

The Customer Service Team

Propel Financial Services 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
This is my third attempt to stop this company from harassing me and the first time they have responded. Not once have they made any attempt to apologize for harassing victims of identity theft. Even in this response they only try to justify their actions. They claim it will take up to 6 weeks to stop all mail to us because they are not caught up with today's instant messaging culture but it did not take them that long at all to send their first letter to us after the first of February had past. I also wonder if this takes into account the month since we first notified them to stop mailing us and they and  the BBB iggnored us or if they plan on counting 6 weeks from now? They can give all the benevolent reasons they want for offering their services but their advertising tactics ARE deplorable. I was being nice the first time by just posting a review rather than a complaint, but they somehow got the BBB to remove it shortly thereafter. I called the company and left a second review, both of which were ignored. I filed this complaint to get both this company and the BBB to do the right thing. I want this company to stop bothering us, but their response indicated they are not interested in ceasing and desisting but justifying. My reviews against the 3 tax loan agencies harassing us since our tax identy issues are my only experience with the BBB, and I have not been impressed, but this company by far has been the least responsive of the three.
Regards,

******* *****

3/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE FALLEN BEHIND AND ASK FOR HELP THEY CLAIM THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THEY ALSO CALL BEFORE 8 AM EVEN THOUGH I HAVE ASKED THEM NOT TO CALL AS THIS IS ILLEGAL BUT THEY STILL CALL BE FORE 8 AM AT 7 AM

Desired Settlement: HELP GETTING BACK ON TRACK WITH PAYMENTS. THE PAST YEAR I HAVE LOST MY JOB AND HAD A DEATH. NO MORE CALLS BEFORE 8 AM

Business Response: We have been in contact with the customer and are working with Mr. ***** directly to address his concerns and reach a solution that is acceptable to all parties. 

3/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a loan from Property Tax Solutions in 2013. My mortgage holder also sent Fort Bend County a tax payment. P.T.S. said if Wells Fargo's payment was accepted there was no loan and I could forget about it. Wells Fargo then starts an escrow on my mortgage. I hear nothing from P.T.S. until December when they say my loan was transferred to ****** and if it was being paid by ACH no action was required on my part. In January of 2014 I get a generic welcome email from ******. The first indication I received there was any kind of a problem was July of 2015 when I am told an ACH payment did not go through. I immediately arrange payment and try to find out what went wrong. The person I spoke to at Wells Fargo could not answer my questions so I just started making payments from my checking account. In late October to early November my wife and I were looking to consolidate our bills and asked ****** for a payoff amount. My wife sent them a payment. We late had a statement saying we owed less than five dollars. I figured she had sent the payment after the quoted date and this was additional interest. We paid it. We then receive in the mail a "Third Notice" saying we owe over five thousand dollars and threatening foreclosure. I called ****** for an explanation and they tell me they were billing the wrong person for my account and that all of the statements they had sent me were factually incorrect. During my second conversation with one of their employees our call was disconnected. My phone battery was low but I believe they hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: Forgiveness of interest and late fees incurred prior to August 1 2015 as a result of their negligence.

Business Response:

Response to BBB Complaint # ********

February 22, 2016

 

Dear Mr. *******, 

 

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your closed account with ****** Financial Services.   We take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Below is an overview of your account history which we hope will provide the needed clarification.

 

Your Property Tax Solutions account was established on June 21, 2013 in the amount of $6,285.31 with the first payment due on August 1, 2013.  According to our records the tax lien covers the 2012 tax year.

 

In December 2013 ****** Financial Services acquired Property Tax Solutions accounts. All accounts were migrated into ******’s data repository with the existing Property Tax Solution information that was on file.  

 

On May 8, 2015 you contacted our office and we advised you that you had an account balance with us.  At this time you claimed that your mortgage payment also covered the taxes.  The representative asked that you provide documentation to support this claim.

 

On July 29, 2015 you contacted our office and requested that we send you a statement of account.

 

 

After additional back and forth with you regarding the account, ****** discovered that there was an error with the payments on your account.  We investigated the matter and resolved the issue.

 

In February 2016 the new statement reflects the corrected balance of $5,209.19 once all payments had been reversed.

 

Enclosed herewith are the following documents:

 

The promissory note executed by ******* ******* and ****** ******* on June 21, 2013.

Fort Bend County Tax Office Payment Information verification Property Tax Solutions paid 2012 taxes. 

Email communication advising of the acquisition of Property Tax Solution accounts base.

Statement of Account

 

 

If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact ******* ** ** *****, Customer Service Supervisor at ************ or ***********************.

 

 

Respectfully,

The Customer Service Team

****** Financial Services 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The reply by the business is non responsive to the issue at hand.  While ****** admits their negligence in the handling of my account they say nothing as to how they intend to address the issue of interest and penalties that have accrued as a result of that negligence.  Since filing my complaint I have received a "Notice of Default and Threat to Accelerate" from a law firm sent on behalf of ******.  I do not believe ****** to be negotiating in good faith on this matter.  What I want from ****** is a clear statement assuring me that they are immediately cancelling  all collection actions by **** *** **********, and forgiving interest and penalties that accrued as a result of negligence.

Regards,

******* *******

12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We found ourselves in trouble awhile back ago and needed help paying out taxes. We decided to go with Propel. Our loan should have been paid off in 2014 when I called in to get our documents showing the loan was paid I was told I owed 567.00 in late fees. I never once received an paperwork or letter from Propel telling me I owed any late fees. I started calling propel in September 2014 and I am still waiting for answers. I actually spoke with ****** their supervisor that stated my loan payments were due on the 1st when we had requested the 15th. So I told ****** I didn't agree with these charges but I did pay 357.00 he had told me that the rest would be worked out. I have continued to call with no response except you owe late fees. Then to my surprise I get a letter from an attorney stating I need to contact Propel. I again have called Propel numerous times to speak with ****** still no call back. I have contacted the attorneys office as well 3 different times. They were to contact Propel and have them contact me... As of today I still have not had any contact with Propel..

Desired Settlement: I don't believe we should have owed any late payments to Propel. As you can see this company has no customer service ability nor do they care about their customers. This issue has been going on way too long. They need to refund me the amount of 357.00 because it was not out fault they did not make the date corrections as asked.

Business Response:

Hello Ms. *******,

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services.  Please know that you are a valued customer. We take all complaints and suggestions very seriously. We have researched your account and we are eager to address your concerns.  Mr. ****** has reached out to you via ***** ********.  If there is a better contact number please let us know.

If you have additional concerns please call Mr. ****** directly at ************ (he will return to the office on Wednesday December 2, 2015) or you can contact Ms. ***** ********, Customer Service Manager, directly at ************.

Thank you,

 

Customer Service Team

Propel Financial Services

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically it's a pretty simple issue and should have been resolved quickly and easily. First off I called Propel financial services to get a pay off of my account in the week of 8/17/2015, I've had this account for approximately 7 years, I was informed that since this would be the last payment it would need to be mailed in in the form of money order or personal check so I mailed a personal check for the entire payoff amount on 8/19/2015, the check cleared my bank on 8/27/2015 so I'm thinking that this is all done and I don't have to mess with this anymore (Big relief any time you get a tax lien off your home). So I log into my bank account on 8/09/2015 and I have a withdrawal from propel financial services for the monthly auto draft amount that I was paying before the pay off, I called and talked to the lady that answered and explained what had happened and she confirmed that the account was in fact paid in full on 8/27/2015 and they would refund my monthly payment amount but would not refund the overdraft charge that my bank charged me ( there was no money in this account because I'm transitioning all of my funds to a different institution) So what I would like to see is that propel financial services own up and refund me the overdraft charge of $25 that I should not have to incurre, I have never missed a single payment the entire time this account was open and I deserve better than to just be tossed away to have to cover a charge that was of no wrong doing by me. Normal operating procedure is that when an account is paid in full it is the responsibility of the business to make sure auto draft is stopped, this is a first for me because the lady that I spoke with made it sound like it was my responsibility to inform them that I wanted to stop the auto draft even after the account was paid in full, don't quiet understand that concept but hopefully we can get this issue resolved, Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Would like the $25 overdraft charge refunded to me to cover the cost of propel financial services mistake.

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to resolve this issue via the Better Business Bureau.  Our customers are very important to Propel and we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  We have made contact with the customer and have provided a satisfactory remedy to this complaint.

Thank you,
Customer Service Team
Propel Financial Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

9/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I became ill last August and had major surgery and was off work and sick until after the first of the year, My contract with this company was to draft ACH from a card for payment. In November the ACH was stopped and I was never notified. This company never sent certified communications which I might have tracked and had a record. No, I received some monthly notice for amount due at random. I call the company to find out my homestead property was being foreclosed on by Propel. No notice, no call, no certified records ever received. ******* ****** ,Account Manager informed me that a large legal fee would be required in order to bring account current. I explained that due to my illness I did not have that kind of money. Ms. ****** assured me the legal fees would continue until I made a full payment of all these fees. I will never make enough money to pay this large lump sum. No payment arrangements have been offered as of this date. They have closed my access to online bill pay which further slows me down. I ask, how does someone trying to make good on something by paying a reasonable amount to stop accruing of these legal fees. I thought in Texas they can't legally take someone's family homestead. I asked what kind of legal fees and Ms. ****** refused to send or tell me or give me an itemized list of charges. I have no idea what they are charging to my account. This is just another way to rip off land owners in their time of need. So as long as the legal fees are unpaid in total, the account continues to build higher and higher until they own the property. In addition, they don't show payments made on the fees, so how do I prove what has been paid?

Desired Settlement: To stop accruing further legal fees, making payment arrangements and itemized list of billing charges from legal. Remove some of the legal fees since no certified documents were sent to notify me or my spouse.

Business Response: Hello Ms. *******,

Thank you for reaching out to Propel through the BBB portal.  We are researching your account in detail. We respectfully request a few more days to complete our in-depth review of your account and provide our response. 

We look forward to working with you to find a manageable resolution.

Thank you,

****** *******
Client Relations Manager


PS - BBB Administrator - Please provide us additional time to submit our formal response.  Thank you.

Business Response:

Hello BBB,

 

Please submit our formal response below to the online complaint #******** and also forward to Ms. *******.

 

***********

Dear Ms. *******, 

 

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services.  Please know that you are a valued customer.   We take all complaints and suggestions very seriously. We are very sorry to hear of your illness and surgery in August of 2014.  We would like to address each of your concerns regarding your Propel account and find a meaningful resolution to help you meet your obligation.

 

You entered into a Property Tax Repayment Agreement with Propel Financial Services on May 20, 2013 in the amount of $2,632.74 with your first payment due on August 1, 2013.  In July 2013 you established payments to be drafted from your debit card on a monthly basis.   The five following debit card payments were declined:  Sept 2013, Oct 2013, April 2014, July 2014 and Nov 2014. Subsequently, your account became delinquent as these payments were never brought up to date. 

 

In addition to monthly statements, between April 25, 2014 and December 15, 2014, Propel made every effort to reach you via the contact information provided on your account.  Propel mailed five written notices to the 880 County Road 4206 address and initiated eight collection calls to number 903-280-0629 plus two emails in an effort to communicate the state of your account and offer assistance.  All attempts to contact you were unsuccessful and on December 18, 2015 your account was approved for foreclosure placement and forwarded to our outside counsel, Kohm & Associates.  Between January 15, 2015 and February 16, 2015, Kohm & Associates mailed two Notices of Default via certified mail to the address on record and both were returned as “undeliverable.”

 

Propel was unable to make contact with you until you reached out to us via online portal on May 4, 2015 and changed your contact information.  At that time your account had already been placed with the 3rd party counsel for foreclosure proceedings to begin.  Third party legal fees have already been assessed.  It is our policy to collect legal fees prior to entering into a payment arrangement for the remaining principal balance.

 

You are important to Propel and we are here to help you find a manageable solution.  At your earliest convenience please contact Hector Molina, Customer Service Supervisor, at 210-572-7012 or hmolina@propelfs.com to discuss possible options.

 

 

Respectfully,

The Customer Service Team

Propel Financial Services

 

******************

 

Thank you,

****** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: this is not an acceptable response to the complaint. Your company has not addressed the fact that no notice of no payment or no certified mail was ever received. I have called and just get lectured and told I cannot get any payment arrangements can be done until the legal fees have been paid. I owe over $100000 in medical bills after insurance.  If I had that much money I would not be having this dialog with you. 


Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: Hello BBB,

Our Customer Service Manager, Ms. ***** ********, has attempted to contact Ms. ******* in an effort to resolve this issue.  Ms. ******** has left voice messages for Ms. ******* on August 21st, 24th, and 27th.

We would ask Ms. ******* to please call ***** ******** directly at 210-581-7713 at her earliest convenience during normal business hours.

We look forward to working with Ms. ******* regarding her concerns.

Thank you,
Propel Financial Services

3/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Propel Financial Services recently took over my tax lien account from Moncor in late 2014. I recently notified Propel of a payment that was made to my account in December of 2014 for $ 160 that was not credited to my account. I have provided them proof of this payment directly from Chase Bank. After multiple contacts with the account manager, Ms. ***** ******, this issue continues to be ignored. I need to know when Ms. ****** or one of the other account managers at Propel will get this issue resolved. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I need the payment in question to be credited to my account, as I have outlined in e-mail correspondence with the account manger at Propel Financial.

Business Response: Hello BBB,

We respectfully request additional time to respond to this complaint.  

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

12/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello my name is **** ***** my address is **** *** ****** ** ******* ** ***** phone ###-###-#### and i am writing to file a complaint on a property tax loan office called propel financial services llc **** ***** *** ******* ** ***** phone 18*********. A few years ago i obtained a loan threw them to pay off my property taxes and this month will be my last payment to pay it of.I called to inquire about my pay off and now they are stating that in order to close my account and have the lien removed from my property i have to pay them an extra $ 104.00 on top of my last payment something that was never mentioned when i got the loan and is not stated anywhere on my contract.I would like to pay off my loan with out having to worrie about hidden fees.I spoke to a lady named ******** and the lady was very rude and told me that there was no way around it and that i would still have to pay that otherwise the lien would never be taking of and that i would accumulate interest.If someone can help me regarding this issue i would really appreciate it thanks.

Desired Settlement: n/a

Business Response: Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services.  Please know that you are a valued customer and we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously. 

We have researched, clarified, and resolved the complaint to your satisfaction.  You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business. Your feedback is invaluable as we continually strive to improve our service. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have additional questions or concerns.  

Respectfully, 
The Customer Service Team
Propel Financial Services

9/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A: I requested a payoff amount via email on 03/03/14. Second email request was made on 03/11/14. ***** ***** responded with procedure informationon 03/11/14. A cashier's check was sent via certified mail on 03/21/14. An email was sent to ******** notifying him that the check was on its way and should be there by Monday 03/24/14. Attached to this email was a copy of the cashier's check and certified mailing information. **** tracking information verified that it was delivered on 03/24/14. I called the Corporate Office Payoff Department and was notified by "****" that my check was received but had not been processed. I asked if my scheduled monthly (03/28/14) payment would be taken and **** notified me that as long as they processed it before 03/28/14 I would not have the payment withdrawn. Payment of $208.04 was taken on 03/28/14. On 03/31/14 I sent an email to *** ***** asking when my payoff payment would be processed and if additional charges would be added since the payoff quote was good through 03/31/14. I have yet to receive any reply form *** *****. I again called to check the status of the account and was told that the Payoff department was very back logged and it would take 4-6 weeks for they payment to process. I called on 04/18/14 (?) and was connected with ***** ****** who notified me that they did not show record of my cashier's check. I sent *** ****** the email I had previously sent *** *****. She said that since I did not make a copy of the envelope verifying the address it was mailed too I would have to cancel that cashier's check and have another issued. On 04/24/14 , forwarded a copy of the cashier's check, the envelope verifying the mailing address and certified mail receipt. On 04/30/14 *** ****** confirmed my payment was received and the release of lien process would begin. At this time also requested a statement which showed I did incur additonal interest charges which *** ****** said would not happen over the phone. On 06/10/14 I emailed *** ****** regarding the refund and release of lien. She notified me that she was sending over the paperwork to have it expedited. On 06/28/14 we received the release of lien. On 06/30/14 I again emailed *** ****** regarding the refund. She notified me that it was sent for approval on 06/20/14. Today 07/23/14 I emailed *** ****** inquiring about the refund and she said it was mailed out yesterday. B: This loan was set up for automatic draft since the beginning (10/2008) with the payment due every 1st of the month. The monies would be drafted as late 12 days after payment was due. This caused additional interest to accrue on the account due to their inability to automatically draft on the day payment was due. After several calls regarding this matter, it was suggested that I change my auto-draft date to an earlier date to ensure payment was made on time. I completed and turned in the paperwork and scheduled drafts for the 28th of each month in September 2012.

Desired Settlement: A: I would like a refund of the overpayment, additional interest accrued after 03/31/14, the fees associated with having the cashier's check reissued, and the additonal fees for another certified mailing. B: I beleive that the obligation lies with Propel to draft payments in a timely manner (2-3 days which accounts for weekends & holidays). I feel my account should be credited for the amount of interest I was overcharged when my payment was drafted on anything past the 3rd of each month.

Business Response: Dear *** ********, 

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your communication with Propel Financial Services.   First and foremost, you are a valued customer and we apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Our company works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis.  

You express a concern in the handling of your recent account payoff.  Your reimbursement is in process.  Our ******** ******* *******, ***** ********, is reaching out to you via phone to confirm any additional fees we should consider in the resolution.  

You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business.  Your feedback is invaluable as we strive for excellence in all we do.  Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any additional information. 

Propel Financial Services
Customer Service

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
**** ********

5/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services. Please know that you are a valued cu**omer. We take all complaints and sugge**ions very seriously.

You have concerns regarding the validity of your account which Propel Financial Services (Propel) acquired from Property Tax Solutions (PTS) on December 2, 2013.  You should soon be in receipt of our packet including confirmed details discovered in our thorough inve**igation of your account. 

Please under**and that key details regarding your original account with PTS are missing from your complaint submission.  To summarize, you executed a promissory note with PTS on November 30, 2007 totaling $19,906 for tax lien transfers (TLTs) covering multiple years of
delinquent taxes in Waller County and Waller ISD, including associated amounts for non-home**ead property located at *** ********* **, ******* ****, TX *****.  On November 22, 2013 PTS paid subsequent delinquent taxes on same property to Waller County and Waller ISD totaling $5,858.56 plus $933 in associated amounts.  It appears that these subsequent taxes were paid in response to the Tax Case No. ************ which was filed by Plaintiff City of ******* **** in the 155th District Court on February 28, 2012.  Total principal amount borrowed from PTS was $26,697.56 with a current balance of $18,248.07.   

We are eager to discuss the details of your account and will make every effort to assist you and explore beneficial options for the repayment of this obligation.  Our Servicing Supervisor has reached out to you by phone on multiple occasions, leaving voice messages.  We hope that you will contact him at your earliest convenience.  

Respectfully,
The Customer Service Team
Propel Financial Services

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We requested a pay off for our 3 accounts finally after 4-5 days we received. I called a week before my payment was to be made to stop automatic withdraw they told me they could not do that. I told them we were paying the account in full on March *. On March * they took the money out of my account to pay the three accounts. I called on March ** to verify they received pay off and they said no. I checked with *** ** and they had received the payment at 8:30 am on MOnday March **. I then called back and they still could not verify and said neither that payment nor the one they took out of my account had been posted yet. I was then told it takes 7 days to post a payment both one that comes in from mail and one that take from your bank account. I explained that they were going to owe me money since they took out my payments because we had send in the payoff. They said call back in 7-10 days and my payments might be posted and then they could tell me about a refund but if I did get one it would take 8 weeks. I asked to speak to someone that could verify that my payment was received and they said you are not allowed to speak to the people that work in accounting. I asked how in the automated world we live in does it take 7-10 days to post a payment that is sitting in your office and one that you took from my bank account. Also how can it take 8 weeks to send some one a check for over payment. They said it just does. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone our loan was transferred to them from another company who we had worked with for over 3 years and they were wonderful. I cant get a straight answer from anyone at this company and the amount of time they take to update your account is ridiculous. Customer Service was rude and could care less about helping you.

Desired Settlement: I want to know that my accounts have been credited and I want the refund they owe me and not in 8 weeks. I also hope they speak to their customer service about how to be helpful.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,
 
Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services. You are a valued customer. Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.

Your concerns regarding your payoff, ACH reimbursement, and customer experience have been heard. We apologize for any frustration and inconvenience this chain of events may have caused you.

We are pleased to report that your concerns have been researched, addressed, and resolved. As a recap of your account:
- On March *, 2014 your regularly scheduled ACH was drafted from your bank account.
- On March **, 2014 the payoff for your three Propel accounts was received and posted.
  -- In the normal course of business, we process a Release of Lien (ROL) within 30 days after an account is paid in full. This is to allow the time necessary for
      the funds to fully clear all channels and to allow time for the county clerk to record the document.   
- On March **, 2014 all three ROLs were expedited and emailed to you.
- The $323.71 ACH payment of March *** was reimbursed to your bank account by March ****.  In the event you have incurred any NSF fees due to this 
  event, simply provide us your bank statement with proof of NSF and we will reimburse you.  

One of our Supervisors reached out to you on March **** and **** by phone as we wanted to discuss all of the above with you to ensure satisfactory completion of your requests. She left  messages on both days.  Please feel free to contact her at the phone number provided if you need any additional information or assistance.

You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business. Please know that Propel embraces core values that promote quality customer care, respect, commitment, loyalty, and excellence in all we do. These longstanding principles are the foundation of Propel’s success and growth.  Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to improve our service. Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs.

Respectfully,

The Customer Service Team
Propel Financial Services


3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TAX ACCOUNT WAS UNDERPAID BY OUR MORTGAGE LENDER BY $48.57. PROPEL FAILED TO NOTIFY THE LENDER, AND THEN OVER A YEAR LATER, IN 2013, SENT US A NOTIFICATION. AT THAT POINT, LATE CHARGES, INTEREST AND ATTORNEY FEES AMOUNTED TO OVER $1800. SINCE NO AGENT WOULD EVER ANSWER AT THE PHONE NUMBER PROPEL PROVIDES ON THE BILL AND ON THEIR WEBSITE, I WAS FORCED TO USE THE CHAT FEATURE ON THEIR WEBSITE TO GET ANY INFORMATION AT ALL. GAVE THE UNDERPAYMENT INFO TO THE MORTGAGE LENDER TO BE DEALT WITH. NOW IN 2014, WE ARE SELLING OUR HOME AND FIND THE PROPEL TAX LIEN STILL ON OUR PROPERTY. ATTEMPTED TO CALL THEM VIA THE PAYMENT LINE (BECAUSE IT APPEARS THEY ARE MOTIVATED TO RECEIVE PAYMENTS) AND FINALLY GOT A REPRESENTATIVE WHO TOLD ME THAT THE CURRENT AMOUNT OWED WAS NOW $2121.82. HE TOLD ME TO CALL BACK AND CHOOSE THE OPTION FOR THE ATTORNEY'S LINE. AFTER BEING ON HOLD FOR ATTORNEY'S OFFICE FOR 37 MINUTES, STILL NO ANSWER. I PERCEIVE THAT THIS COMPANY IS MAKING A FORTUNE ON SMALL OVERSIGHTS LIKE THIS ONE OF $48. I AM READY TO PUT OUT FEELERS FOR OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THIS COMPANY ATTEMPT TO DEFRAUD THEM BY TURNING SMALL PROBLEMS INTO LARGE SUMS OF MONEY OWED TO THEM DUE TO THEIR NON-RESPONSE.

Desired Settlement: CALL ME, THEN THE MORTGAGE LENDER WITH A SOLUTION AND RELEASE OF LIEN. ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF FRAUDULENT PRACTICES. ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF FAILURE TO ANSWER THE PHONES AND PROVIDE TIMELY INFORMATION. PROVIDE DETAIL OF ALL CHARGES IN ADDITION TO THE ORIGINAL AMOUNT OWED OF $48.57

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ******,

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services. You are a valued customer. Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously. Our company works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis. As a leader in the property tax financing industry, Propel has helped more than 25,000 Texas property owners regain their financial stability.

Your concerns regarding your payoff, fees, phone communication, and Propel’s business conduct have been heard. We apologize for any frustration and
inconvenience this chain of events may have caused you. Please know that Propel embraces core values that promote quality customer care, respect, commitment, loyalty, and excellence in all we do. These longstanding principles are the foundation of Propel’s success and growth which, on occasion, can result in a few growing pains.

Thank you for your time on the phone and subsequent email communication. As you know, the Propel team quickly rallied upon learning your concerns which have been researched, addressed, and satisfactorily resolved. Your acknowledged satisfaction and continued support of Propel is greatly appreciated. You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to improve our service. Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any additional information.

****** *******
****** ********* *******
Propel Financial Services



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

This issue was COMPLETELY resolved, and we were TOTALLY satisfied with Propel's response!

We want to say thank you so much to ****** ******* at Propel Financial Services for cutting through all the red tape on this and for working at amazing speed to get the issue resolved. It is only fair to say that the original problem was not even Propel's fault--but it required their help to fix it--and fix it they did!


Once we got through to speak to the right person, the issue was PROMPTLY and VERY COURTEOUSLY corrected. ****** went above and beyond to help us get the account straightened out, and she called us twice to follow up and make sure it was all taken care of. Nothing short of amazing. Because of their responsiveness, we would not hesitate to recommend their services. I would give them an A+ rating for customer service because of how they handled this situation.

Best regards,

**** *** ***** ******

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried contacting this company for two weeks about tax payoff receipts and no one has responded to my phone calls. I have left repeated messages. No one ever picks up the phone at this organization.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to call me and send me the tax payoff receipts I have requested for the property *** ***** *** ********** ** *****.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******, 
 
Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your communication with Propel Financial Services.  

First and foremost, you are a valued customer and we apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced.  Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Our company works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis.  As a leader in the property tax financing industry, Propel has helped more than 25,000 Texas property owners regain their financial stability.  

You express a concern that your payoff requests have gone ignored.  Propel recently discovered that its phone system was experiencing issues.  This resulted in some phone calls and messages going completely unnoticed.  At this time, we believe the phone lines are now appropriately configured and we are diligently monitoring the situation.  

As of 9:00AM Central Time on February 25, 2014, your payoff request was fulfilled and emailed to your representative, ******* ******. On February 26, 2014 I reached out and spoke to you directly by phone to relay that the payoff information had indeed been emailed to Ms. ******.  Your understanding is greatly appreciated and we are happy to have resolved your concern.

You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive for excellence in all we do.  Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any additional information.

Respectfully,

***** ********
******** ******** ******* *** ***********
Propel Financial Services

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A couple of years ago I was in a cash flow crisis and my property taxes were due. I was offered a loan by Propel Financial Services to pay the taxes and repay them by installments. I borrowed approximately $15,000 dollars and set up an auto draft with them to deduct the payments from my bank. I finally found a buyer for my business and tried to call them for a pay off amount to settle the note. It was a priority because the interest fee was 13.5%. I tried several times to call them with no success. No one was ever available to talk to me and no one ever called me back. After a couple of days trying to call them I sent an email requesting the pay off amount. They did answer my email and informed me "Your request has been submitted, please allow 24-72 hours for processing.". This was on 02/04/2014. Finally today, I managed to get a pay off from them and was shocked at the total amount. The principal was $9,697.79 and they added $15.00 for a late fee, $30.00 for another fee, $104.00 for ROL, and $233.15 for "unpaid" interest. My payment isn't due until 03/01/2014 and they indicated I would not be charged a late fee until 03/16/2014. Plus, I don't understand any late charges since they have auto drafted my account for the payments from the very beginning. I tried to call them again today and every time I received a recorded message "Everyone is taking care of other customers, we will connect you with the party's voice mail." Then I was told the party at that number could not take any messages because their mail box was full. I sent them an email and told them I expected a rebate on the excess interest and late charges because they are bogus charges. I can't do much about their tactics except to hope this complaint will prevent someone else from getting taken like I was.

Desired Settlement: I want the overcharged interest and bogus late fees returned to me. They are charging me for at least three weeks interest due to their failure to respond to my request as promised.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******,

Thank you for contacting the Better Business Bureau regarding your account with Propel Financial Services.   You are a valued customer.  Please know that we take all complaints and suggestions very seriously.  Our company works hard to create and maintain an outstanding reputation with our existing and potential customers as well as our vendors and governmental agencies with whom we work on a daily basis.  As the leader in the property tax financing industry, Propel has helped more than
25,000 Texas property owners regain their financial stability.    

You express a concern that your payoff request was not answered in a timely manner which resulted in additional charges to your account.  Propel recently discovered that its phone system was experiencing issues.  This resulted in some phone calls and messages going unnoticed.  At this time, we believe the phone lines are now appropriately configured and we are diligently monitoring the situation.  

On February 26, 2014 I reached out and spoke to you directly by phone.  I relayed that we would waive associated late and NSF fees.  Additionally, we would recalculate the payoff amount as of February 4, 2014 (the date of your original payoff request).  As of 3:00PM on February 26, 2014, your updated payoff request was fulfilled and emailed to you.  Thank you for your understanding and I am pleased to have resolved your concern.

Propel apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused you.  You are important to Propel and we appreciate your business.  Your feedback is invaluable as we strive for excellence in all we do.  Thank you for your patience and for the opportunity to serve you in your property tax needs. 

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any additional information.

***** ******
********** * ********* **********
Propel Financial Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

11/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a loan through propel financial and the payments are automatically drafted from my checking account. For the month October my checking account was drafted twice the amount of the payment. I called 10/07/2013 and a representative told my money would be refunded by the end of business on 10/08/13. He informed me that it was a problem with their computer program and they would have it resolved by the end of the day and money would be refunded by the end of the next day. The morning of 10/09/13 I sent an email because I have not received a refund. I returned a call and again I was told it was a problem with their computer program and I would receive a refund by the end of the business day. Imagine my surprise when I didn't receive a refund. I sent an email informing propel financial I have once again been lied to and I still want my money refunded. A representative named ****** called me today 10/10/13 and guaranteed me my money would be refunded by the end of the business day. To this minute 10:13pm 10/10/13 I have not received a refund. I am tired of being lied to and I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $189.56 plus $50 for a loan fee. If they do not agree its a short term loan then it is theft on their part

Business Response:

Thank you for inquiring about your Propel account.  Due to an unforeseen system error, some of our customers were inadvertently charged more than once for their October monthly payments.  

On Thursday October 10, 2013 we resolved all IT and technical issues and successfully submitted the duplicate ACH reversal for all affected accounts to our bank for processing.   Mr. ******* received a full refund of $189.56 on October 11, 2013 credited to his bank account for the duplicate ACH transaction.  A copy of the transaction can be provided upon request.
 
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused Mr. *******.  Customer service and satisfaction are at the
heart of everything we do at Propel, and we are disappointed that this error occurred. 

Thank you,
The Propel Customer Service Team


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Propel Financial Services LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart