BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Port Aransas Escapes LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Port Aransas Escapes LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Port Aransas Escapes LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Port Aransas Escapes LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 31, 2010 Business started: 02/01/2009 Business started locally: 02/01/2009 Business incorporated: 10/31/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Donna Schabilion, Owner Tracey Gaines, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Schabilion, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals


Additional Locations

  • 1900 State Highway 361

    Port Aransas, TX 78373 (361) 749-2300

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Booked a reservation with them for a family reunion, July 25, 26, 27. They incorrectly booked me for the wrong dates, July 24, 25, 26. I was told by a relative that they gave her keys to my condo because they had me arriving on July 24. I never approved the release of keys to my sister, I was still in ****** when I received the text from my sister. When I called them they said it was not their mistake and they emailed me several times, without a response. It was confirmed that they also had incorrect email for me, so I never received emails. But I talked to them several times because I made 3-4 separate payments for the reservation. They did change my reservation but said that I would have to move condos on July 27. I agreed because I wanted to stay July 27 to enjoy last day to ourselves with just kids, that was my intention since I first booked the condo. I have texts with family I shared condo with dated March, April, May and July where I communicate the reservation dates of July 25-27. When I checked out of the first condo, I asked office if they could put the second condo as top priority for cleaning and make ready since I had luggage, and food in my car. They said they would do it as soon as possible but not guaranteed ready until 4pm. I was still patient, thinking that they would still try to rush it, knowing I was out in car with my four children, luggage and at this point the food in their refrigerator. They did not have my condo ready until 3:45 p.m. At around 3:15 p.m. I went to the second condo to unload my luggage and the cleaning staff was finishing up with the cleaning and I gave them brief history of my experience and the woman and her husband both said they would have cleaned it first if they had known. When I returned to the office their 4pm check-in customers where lined up in the office, but the receptionist was extremely sarcastic and rude with me. She embarrassed me by the comments she made, making me seem like a rude and threatening customer. I had already been very patient from 11 am until 4pm and sat at the resort pool with my kids for four hours because we didn't want to go anywhere with our belongings in the car. What made it worse was the receptionist attitude towards me, so at that point I did get loud with my words. I had waited a total of five hours, with no place to stay, and also dealing with the inconvenience of having to move condos when it was not my choice at all to switch condos, but because of their mistake, was told I had to because they had rented the condo to someone else. I spoke with the manage on Monday, July 28 about my experience and requested that they speak to the front office staff about customer service. I also requested a night stay refund because my experience had become very stressful and inconvenient. She said she would talke to the owner. I just got off the phone with the owner and she called me a liar, and she believed her staff over me the customer. She said I changed my reservation at the last minute and that her staff felt threatened that I would resort to violence. I did get loud, but I never had the inclination to raise my hand at any of them. I did not use profanity, I only recounted my experience with them up until that point when the receptionist waved the keys at me with a smile wishing me a nice stay. It is absolutely the worst experience I have every encountered. I believe the whole situation could have been avoided if they could have just asked the cleaning staff to have my condo ready as close to 11 am so I would not be put out for 5 hours. It was a day that I had paid for, just like all the check-in customers had that were checking in on the same day. There were two other bad experiences with Port Aransas Escapes since I made the reservation in March, but the main complaint was the way I was treated on July 27.

Desired Settlement: The experience was extremely stressful, I was put out of the condo for half of the day, and my plans to spend last day with my children was ruined due to their unwillingness to accomodate me, after they had made the mistake.

Business Response: Mrs. ****** booked the wrong dates when she made her reservation. She was emailed 5 times before she arrived and every time it stated the dates she had reserved. She never said we had the dates wrong. She called the day before arrival and tried to say we made a mistake when in actuality she was unable to come that night so she made up this story where we made a mistake. Per our signed contract with her we did not have to let her change her reservation. We did agree to let her stay in another unit but told her that check in time was 4 pm. The unit was a back to back and the people who checked out Sunday morning did so at 12. The house keeper cleaned it in 3hours and 45 minutes, which is pretty fast. Our office had Mrs. ****** family call her on there cell phone the day of check in and she agreed we could give the keys to her family. Mrs. ****** was very loud in our office and did use profanity. In fact on of our reservationist felt threatened and thought Mrs. ****** was going to hit her. There were other customers in the office, one of which was going to call the law due to her conduct. I do not feel that my staff did anything wrong in this matter and I feel that Mrs. ****** was upset because she didn't get preferential treatment.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is unsatisfactory to me.

They continue to be very unprofessional and offensive with accusations that I am a liar.  This is the most hurtful and demeaning experience I have encountered to be treated as the offender, when I honestly feel like the victim.  I did get loud, but never threatening and I apologized to the lady, even though she was the one that was disrespectful to me and made me look like the rude customer.

I would like for Port Aransas Escapes to provide any and all the printed emails showing the dates and email addresses to where they sent to my attention the confirmation of the dates of my reservation.

I would like for Port Aransas Escapes to provide the printed email showing the dates and email address to where they sent to my attention the final statement of payment of the email dated July 13, 2014.

I would like a written signed statement from any and all the customers who said they wanted to call the police on me on July 27, 2014.

I would like proof of documents of all the customers/witness physically putting them in the office that claim to have wanted to call the police at the time of their check-in between 3:30 - 4:00 pm on July 27, 2014.

I would like a written signed statement from the cleaning lady who I spoke with about her claim to have felt threatened by me on July 27, 2014.

I would like a written signed statement from her the husband of the cleaning lady of whom I spoke with as well on July 27, 2014.

I would like a written signed statement from both of the cleaning lade and her husband confirming their comment made to me on July 27, 2014 that it would have been no trouble to clean my condo first, without disrupting the checkout/check in procedures of the same morning.


Regards,

***** ******

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was our 3rd year to stay at ********* ****** and we were extremely disappointed and disgusted. We were in room 508 which was comparable to an hourly rate motel on I-35. It was HORRIBLE! The carpet throughout was stained, every A/C vent was blackened with mold, many doors, walls, and trim pieces were extremely worn, broken, and barely patched, the sinks and showers did not drain properly, the toilet wobbled upon sitting, and there was trash on the bed upon arrival. (Can provide pictures if needed.) I feel that this was not only the property owner's responsibility of basic upkeep, but even more so the PROPERTY MANAGER'S responsibility to ensure a certain standard of property cleanliness and maintenance. The property manager is providing hotel services on behalf of the owners, and these services were far below par. Routine inspections and certain maintenance and updating standards should be required from the owners in order to allow their participation in the rental program. It is ridiculous that we were placed in a unit of such poor quality and then only upon complaint were we placed in a unit of supreme quality. I feel very taken advantage of that I was charged, the same full price rate and was knowingly placed in a such a horrible filthy unit vs. a nice updated unit. Our stay was paid for partially with a ******* voucher sold by this company. Obviously, this business was trying to bring in more business and chose to treat the new clients horribly. As a result, it looks like they have received nothing but negative reviews and clients that will not return. I gave them plenty of opportunity to make things right, and made sure to notify ALL parties connected to the management and ownership of the business. I don't feel that these excuses and lack of attempts to correct the problems are professional at all, nor are they what is to be expected from seasoned real estate professionals that these people claim to be.

Desired Settlement: Complete Refund $199.00

Business Response: Definately, this lady had some legitimate complaints.  I personally inspected the unit, after her departure and the owner of the unit has been inform that it needs some work. 

She purchased a ******* for $199.00 for the 2 nights.  With her first complaint, she was moved to another unit, which was much nicer.  Also, on 10/9 we refunded her $80.87, which is our share of the *******.  The rest of the refund will have to come from *******, we have no control over that.  

Sincerely,

***** **********
*****
Port A Escapes
361-749-2300


Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The $80.87 refunded was NOT Port A Escapes “share of *******”. 
It was the amount reflected on the receipt (provided by Port A Escapes)
for the “departure clean” and “taxes” – 
the overage of fees not included in the ******* purchase price of
$199.00. 

*******
does not issue refunds for poor services on behalf of the business. ******* and
the business which they represent have an agreed upon contract for which they
each receive a portion of the sales of vouchers.  ******* sells the vouchers and collects the
funds.  Following the sale, *******
issues payments to the business for their portion of the sales.  Typically this split is 50/50.  In order for the ******* funds to be refunded
to me, the business would have to provide a refund to me directly.



After 1 totally
unacceptable night in the slum unit 508, we spoke with the office staff on
duty.  The only solution that they could
provide was to move us to another available unit (mind you, this was quite a
pain to take our time, complain about sub-standard accommodations, and move ALL
of our belongings mid-trip… not a good idea of vacation.)  We were told to contact the *****, ******, on
Monday, and that she would be able to take care of us and make things
right.  After all of this time and
effort, this is where we are -- very little cooperation, acceptance of
responsibility, or desire to make things right for a repeat customer.  Rather, this business has chosen to
repeatedly point blame and responsibility on others such as ******* and the
property ***** of the horrible unit.
Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: We will refund Ms. **** a full refund of $199.00 today.  She will receive a check in the mail.
***** **********
Port A Escapes
361-749-2300

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ****

8/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues