Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Oberg Properties

Phone: (512) 263-5200 Fax: (512) 263-5219 View Additional Phone Numbers 1107 Ranch Road 620 S, Austin, TX 78734 http://www.obergproperties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We specialize in sales, leasing, Lake Travis Vacation Rentals and property management in the Lake Travis, Austin and surrounding areas.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oberg Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oberg Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oberg Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 14, 1992 Business started: 09/01/1984 in TX Business started locally: 09/01/1984 Business incorporated 10/11/1984 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Lynn Oberg, Director Mr. Guy L Oberg II, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Lynn Oberg, Director
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals Leasing Service Real Estate Real Estate - Commercial

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
This company accepts checks, Mastercard, Visa, and American Express.
Alternate Business Names
Oberg Property Management Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1107 Ranch Road 620 S

    Austin, TX 78734 (800) 252-3473 (512) 263-5200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented Unit 2 in Texas Timeshare, ******* for one month and paid $1575 (rent), $500 (security deposit) and $500 (utility deposit). The contract that I signed with Oberg Properties on arrival specifically states: Paragraph 11 "Tenant responsible for cleaning and restocking of all linens and supplies upon vacating." Paragraph 39 "You must thoroughly clean the dwelling.... and follow move out cleaning instructions if they have been provided (they were). If you don't clean adequately, you'll be liable for reasonable cleaning charges...." Paragraph 42: "We'll mail you your security deposit refund.....no later than 30 days..." Prior to our departure I thoroughly cleaned the unit as per the contract. I would like to add I had to buy the cleaning supplies since none were provided. About 6 weeks after we checked out I emailed the company to ask about my security deposit. I was told it was mailed, then told it was mailed to the wrong address, then told that it would be credited back to my credit card. Finally the company called to tell me that the deposit had been refunded. What they didn't tell me was it was only a partial refund and I was charged a "cleaning fee". I explained that I cleaned the unit and asked that they refund the entire amount given I did what was in the contract. They responded that the would ask the cleaning company to refund the money directly to me and then told that they would refund some, but not all of the fee. I emailed multiple times over the next month and have yet to receive the balance. I also emailed the owner, and received no response.

Desired Settlement: Oberg Properties should refund the balance of my security deposit. The company should acknowledge their failure to refund my deposit in the timeframe outlined in the contract.

Business Response: I have been working directly with Ms. **** with regards to her complaint.  All resolved last week to her satisfaction.

BTW, I did not receive the first email notification regarding this complaint, I found it in my spam folder today.  Do you ever send written notice?

Best regards,

**** **** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a voice mail from ****** at Oberg Tuesday 4/1 10:20am stating the ***** wanted to scheduled service on the AC unit. When I arrived home that day a service vehicle was at the property. I spoke with the gentlemen and let them into my home. They were there under 20 mins, stated they would need to come back. I asked them if they had my number, they said yes and management co number. When they were leaving ****** from Oberg showed up at the house to make sure they had access. I never received another call. Not from Oberg or the AC company! On 4/8 @ around 345pm I arrived at home at ***** ******** to a work vehicle at my home and the garage door open. I called out to anyone and no response. I called Oberg, no answer. Finally after screaming out that I was calling the cops a head came down out of the attic stating the management co gave them a key. I stated there are double dead bolts on the doors how did you get in, the man responded thru the back. ( double dead bolts are on front and back doors, back gate is locked ) Not sure how they really accessed the property. I reached ****** at Oberg on the phone she stated she gave them the key, stated she thought AC company had contacted me to schedule service and that she should have confirmed before giving them access. I asked the AC people for copy of work order, which they could not provide me with and so I asked them to leave. The AC and Heat unit were turned off the company and no operable. On 4/8 I asked ****** at Oberg to speak to ******* or **********, I was told they are on vacation. I called ********* the leasing agent at Oberg and left her a detailed message. No calls back that day. NO Heat NO AC On 4/9 I called Oberg at 9:30, 11:30 and 12:30. No calls from Oberg until 12:53pm from ****** stating she has placed calls to the vendor. At 1:45pm I received a voicemail from ********* stating she is “fully aware of what went down yesterday and to give her a call back”. I called ********* back and left message. NO Heat NO AC On 4/10 I started calling Oberg at 9am later that day I received a call from ****** stating the vendor can be there Monday between 9 -10am. No Heat No AC On 4/11 called Oberg to talk to ******* or *****. No Heat NO AC On 4/12 NO Heat No AC On 4/13 NO Heat NO AC On 4/14 I had my boyfriend **** at the property waiting the AC repair vendor. At about 845-9am called ********* to state we were about 15mins away from property. ********* then called me to state the vendor was 15mins away, which was not the case it was us calling her. I spoke with ********* 10:05am she told me the AC repair wouldn’t be there today. The phone had a bad connection and I could not understand what was happening. **** went down to the Oberg office that is 2 minutes from the house. He was told by ********* it is our problem that the AC isn’t fixed (even though he was at the property waiting on the installers that didn’t show). No Heat No AC I have been with out AC or Heat for 6 days. Management co broker lease agreement Management co did not give notice to tenant or repair work order Management co gave key to repair man to property when tenant still occupied, only allowed to personally give access once tenant notified. Not allowed to just give key to anyone. Management co has not properly responded or had acceptable communication w Tenant. Management co

Desired Settlement: Reimburse for Hotel expense, prorate daily rent expense.

Business Response: May 5, 2014




*** ***** ****** ** ***** ******** ******
******* **  *****
Dear *** ******:

Oberg Properties is a property management firm that has been in business for 30 years.  We are hired by property *****s to protect their assets.  In order to do that, we must send maintenance crews to our managed properties when repairs are needed. Sometimes tenants are home, sometimes they are not. The lease that you signed clearly states that we may enter your property in order to make necessary repairs, at any given time. 

The ***** of your property purchased a home warranty to ensure that your home would be well maintained. Part of that warranty includes inspecting the HVAC system twice a year to insure the system is working optimally. On April 1st, *** ****** was called out to your home to perform the spring maintenance for the HVAC system. On that day, they found that the coil system needed to be replaced. They explained to you that they would come back to complete the job once the parts were in. 

On April 8th, *** ****** went back to your home to complete the job. Around 4:00 p.m. that day you called our *********** *******, ******, yelling that people were in your house without notice and that the police were on the way. She immediately went to your home to find you screaming at the crew, throwing them out and threatening to call the police to have them arrested. The ***** of *** ****** refused to allow his crew to return to your house that afternoon because of your hostile behavior and threats. Due to your intervention, *** ****** was not able to finish the job. Once you realized that they had disconnected your air conditioner, you demanded that the ***** pay for your hotel stay. 

I reported your request for reimbursement to the property *****.   I then called and left you a detailed message with his response prior to the filing of this complaint. The property ***** refused to reimburse you for your hotel stay. He strongly expressed that it was your behavior that delayed the repair. Had you not reacted as you did, the repair would have been completed the same day. 

It is our obligation to follow the direction of the property ***** while executing the terms of the lease.  

Sincerely,

********* **** ******** *******

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable