Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Miss Kitty's Fishing Getaways meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Miss Kitty's Fishing Getaways include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Miss Kitty's Fishing Getaways
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 12, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2004 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 04/08/2004 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Huff, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dawn Huff, Member
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals Hunting & Fishing Services & Supplies

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Miss Kitty's Fishing Getaways has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4161 Hwy 35 North

    Rockport, TX 78382 (361) 463-9897 (361) 727-0312

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We checked into a home managed by Miss Kitty's fishing getaways on June 17, 2014. We arrived at the property around 6:00pm and quickly dropped our luggage and headed out to dinner. While we were out, we stopped to buy groceries to stock the house with for the week. After we returned to the house, and began to put things away and turn in for the night, we realized that things were not clean. The floors were filthy (I have pictures), the sheets on the downstairs bed had pee stains (I have pictures), and the hand towels had not been changed from the previous guests. (The hand towels had sunscreen smeared on them.) The bathtub downstairs had to be cleaned as it was dirty. The sinks downstairs still had toothpaste globs left from the previous guests. We immediately began cleaning, and after my sister-in-law headed to wal-mart to buy new sheets, I decided to leave a message for Miss Kitty's. By now it was after 12:00am, and I was surprised that **** answered. She seemed irritated, but did offer to send house keeping. I told her that there was no need because we had already cleaned and my sister-in-law had already left to purchase new sheets. She said that the head of housekeeping, *****, would call me in the morning. I spoke with ***** the following morning and she apologized for the mess. I asked for a partial refund and I spend rest of the week trying to get a return call from ****. She never returned my call, but did send an email offering to refund the cleaning fee only. With all taxes and fees, we paid $394.77 per night. I asked for a one night refund for all the trouble that we went through. **** was unwilling to work with us. After researching this company further, I have seen numerous complaints and terrible reviews all across the web. I feel like this company does not care about their customers at all. All the complaints I read were related to cleanliness of the properties. I really don't know how a company like this stays in business.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the price of one night inclusive of all fees and taxes, which is $394.77.

Business Response: These guests checked into the house at 5:46 pm on June 17 and made multiple trips in and out of the house before contacting me at around midnight on the emergency after hours line.  She complained of stains on the sheets and dirty floors.  She told me she had washed the sheets in question and that the stain did not come out so she went to Walmart and bought a new set.  I told her that I would have housekeeping contact her in the morning to take care of any housekeeping issues that she had.  My housekeeping supervisor called her in the morning and offered to send someone out to the property, but she declined.  After that, the guest sent me a long text with a list of housekeeping complaints.  One of her major complaints was that her white socks got dirty when walking on the floor.  I explained to her that after housekeeping is done, and inspector walks through the house and stocks it and prior to her check in that maintenance was there to change light bulbs so it is not unexpected that white socks will get dirty.   I also told her that I was sure that housekeeping had washed the sheets, but that there was a stain that did not come out with washing.  Housekeepers are supposed to report bad stains to the supervisor so they can be replaced, but unfortunately this was not done.  

We have electronic locks on the doors that register all accesses to the property.  I am attaching the schedule for the dates the guests were there.  You can see that housekeeping was at the house for 4.5 hours the day before check in and that the house was inspected and stocked for 30 minutes the day of check in, and then maintenance accessed the property to change light bulbs that were reported as burnt out.  I have a work order that states his reason for being there.  So I do feel confident that the house was cleaned and checked prior to check in.  I do acknowledge however that the guests may have found things that she felt were not adequately cleaned.  I would very much like to see photos that she took during her stay so we can get a more accurate idea of what she found wrong at the house.  She has not sent me those photos.   She accused the housekeeper of not changing any of the towels or sheets in the house, but I find that difficult to believe and see no motivation for housekeeping to be so incompetent. I would be happy to get a statement from the housekeeper stating her assessment of this cleaning.

In reviewing the situation, I decided that a fair compensation for her complaints would be to refund the $176.09 she paid for housekeeping as well as to refund her for the items that she purchased at Walmart.  We offered to send housekeeping out, but she declined and since the situation was not reported until midnight, it was impossible to get someone out there until morning anyway.  The guest is asking for one free night, but I do not agree that her complaints warrant a free night stay.  

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Miss Kitty's Fishing Getaways
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart