Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hendricks Property Management LLC

Phone: (210) 344-3463 Fax: (210) 342-4933 View Additional Phone Numbers 2227 Lockhill Selma Rd, San Antonio, TX 78230 http://www.sarents.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hendricks Property Management LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hendricks Property Management LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Hendricks Property Management LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1976 in TX Business started locally: 11/01/1976 Business incorporated 01/08/2009 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Don Hendricks, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Hendricks, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Don Hendricks Real Estate Center Hendricks Investment Corp. Hendricks Property Hendricks Property Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hendricks Property Management LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2227 Lockhill Selma Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (800) 460-9608 (210) 344-3463

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One day, out of the blue one of my light fixtures downstairs came crashing down on my pool table. This happened when the entire hanging hook mounted in the ceiling pulled all the way thru it causing the light to fall and leaving a hole in the ceiling. Through this hole came water from some place which also landed on my pool table. This first happened a day or so after a major rain storm. The water is what caused all this to happen and the other disturbing thing is the hole where the water comes from is right next to an electrical area where the main room light is normally mounted so this is also a major potential hazard which has gone ignored by the owner and also Hendricks Property Management, When I first contacted and sent pictures of the damage to the owner of the home directly he sent over some handy man who only came to look things over which he did. He then said he would returned a couple days later to inspect the roof to see if there was a leak someplace but for some inexplicable reason this never happened and he never returned even though I requested this to the owner several times. The owner then said I would be getting a call from their insurance company and this never happened. The owner then said Hendrix Property Management would handle it but instead of them helping the situation they turned around and accused me of being late on a payment. I am a long standing 6 year tenant who has never been late on my payments to them but they made this into something it wasn't instead of taking care of the original issue. Because of their reaction I believe they were trying to extort money from me because of the potential damages that were done by the water. And now recently the water has returned so this is not just a case of repairing a ceiling as the source for the water has to be determined. Until this happens the situation will worsen not to mention the mold which undoubtedly will develope if it hasn't already. I have heard nothing from either the owner or from Hendricks Property Management since this trumped up money dispute.

Desired Settlement: I need Hendricks, the owner or both to first fully repair this problem which includes finding where this water is coming from otherwise this will happen again. I also want to go over damage that was done to my property and I need this done in a reasonable time frame.

Business Response: In September 2015, the tenant called the Owner to let him know about the problem of the light falling on the pool table.  The tenant never contacted us about a problem as he was directed to do so at the beginning of his lease.

On September 23rd, 2015, we received email from the Owner stating that the HOA would handle the repair of the light fixture.  The HOA Maintenance individual investigated and indicated there was no water leak.  WE were unaware that the repair had not been completed until we received the complaint from the BBB.

On December 4, 2015, we issued a work order to a contractor to investigate the possibility of a water leak and to repair the hole caused b the fallen light fixture.  The contactor contacted the Tenant on December 7, 2015.  The tenant said he would call the contractor back to reschedule the repair since had to schedule time off from work.

Regarding damages to the Tenants’ personal property, the Tenant has never contacted us in reference to any personal property damage.  Even if there had been personal property damage, his renters insurance should have covered this loss.

Regarding late fees, the Tenant's lease states the rent is due on the first and late on the third of the month.  We received September rent on the 8th day of the month and the appropriate late fee was applied.hy here...

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I contacted the owner the same day when this all started as the day it happened no one else available to contact. The owner actually sent a handi-man as I initially stated. This guy did nothing except look around and said he would be back and meet me on that Monday to check the roof and further check inside as well as at that time it was still the weekend but he never returned that Monday. I do not believe to roof was ever checked because there was never any mention of anyone coming out or any work order or nothing. The owner kept changing the story as to what was going to happen and at one point said his insurance adjuster would call me directly which also never happened. I believe the owner was worried about the damage this water caused by coming thru the ceiling and knocking down a light fixture onto my pool table. The owner stated he would contact Hendrix Property Management directly and then said I should which I did. They sent an email about a plummer and that is when I called them back more than once explaining that this did not seem like a plumbing problem and the water seemed to return when there was a big rain. The owner seemed disinterested about the issue and then started talking about a late payment which is highly improbably because the payments are sent directly from my bank via their "bill payer" system. ********* **** agent from Hendrix initially said over a phone voicemail that I owed $5.00 for this supposed late payment but when my bank called them directly to investigate why this payment was reaching them late they suddenly ballooned that charge to $112.00! There is a definite conflict here!

So they have another "handi-man" due to come here next Friday the *8th of December so we will see what happens from there.

 

 

Regards,

**** ******

 

PS I have all text messages and voicemail's to back up my side of the story which is the truthful side...

Business Response:

In early September when the light fixture fell the tenant contacted the owner directly and we were not informed of the issue until the end of September.  Once we were brought into the loop we were told by the owner the complexes HOA would be taking care of the fallen light fixture as well as inspect the roof for leaks/damage.  We did not know that the issue still had not been addressed until this BBB complaint was filed on December 3rd.  At that point we submitted a work order on December 4th to a contractor who made contact with tenant on December 7th.  Due to the tenants work schedule and inability to make an appointment during normal business hours the repair has still not been addressed.  As of right now they have an appointment scheduled for this Friday, January *st 2016.  The late fee in the amount of $119.50 is due to a rent payment in September that was received after the 3rd and therefore the late fee was applied accordingly.  

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The businesses response to this is just not what happened and instead of trying to correct the issue they are too busy trying to point fingers. I have already gone over the correct version of events and how everything really happened so I would repeat the entire story but I will say I as well as the owner of this property made Hendrix very aware of what was going on from the beginning. Also, this is not a "light fixture" issue. This is about water coming through the ceiling and causing the fixture to come down. So far water has come through there twice so this isn't about something minor that I could have fixed myself. Also, regarding their repair person I have been waiting patiently and the truth of the matter is we had an appointment set up for December *8th at *0am but the night before the repair guy texted me and said he couldn't come because he had the flu. I didn't hear anything until days later when he said he would try to make it over that next weekend. That weekend had past and I heard nothing. Now he is scheduled to come this Saturday not Friday. I have the truth in my texts so please at least get your story straight...

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response:

I have attached the correspondence record between the contractor and tenant as shown by the contractors phone records.  At the time we responded yesterday morning the appointment was schedule for Friday January *st 2016 and changed after our response was given to the following day.  As shown in the attached document multiple attempts have been made over the last month to resolve this issue but scheduling conflicts have kept our contractor from completing the repair.      

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The text records in the attachment show the actual truth that this wasn't about my schedule so much as the repair person's schedule. He essentially canceled on me twice. One time he sent a text
saying he has the flu and he was canceling and the next time he said nothing and went on his way out of town. Then, as the text records show for *2/29/2015 at 7:10pm he inexplicably "out of the blue" sent the text that read " This Friday morning between 9 and 9:30 for the light".
As you read on you will see the conclusion but this was never about my schedule or the "light fixture" as they try to make it sound. This instead was about the water leakage and the hole in the ceiling that resulted and the companies lack of a response. Plus, their conjuring up
"late fees" on my so called late payment. I have lived here six years and I know I am one of their best tenants because I have never been late in my payments that is until this repairs issue began. As of now, this month's Jan 2016 payment still has not 
been deducted from my bank account even though I sent this directly to them on Monday the 28th of December from a location only about *0 miles away. Who over there is holding onto my checks and cashing them late to charge late fees?   

I originally brought this whole issue up to the company on September *2, 2015. That was a day after this happened but I informed the owner directly on September *1. I had called and sent texts messages several times with the owner of the house and the agent/manager of this home and this is still ongoing. I have been extremely patient and instead of them saying "sorry, we dropped the ball on this one" they have sat there and tried to blame the fact that I have to work for a living but even that is not the case as the text records show and I have much more if necessary. Please lets just fix this and move on... 

Regards,

**** ******

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made two email requests for repair as per lease requirement. Air conditioning unit in bedroom, coils smashed flat, unit freezes up and shuts off leaving 3 rooms, bedroom, bathroom, kitchen too hot to shower etc, cook, sleep. It is a small 110 unit. I would like to have the unit replaced as it cannot be repaired. Back yard: not level due to sewer lines being replaced before I moved in. Water stands in several large areas where mosquitoes breed, also stepping stones on a patio type area are unsafe to navigate around on. I have made several email requests as per lease requirement. I would like it to be repaired up to a safe condition. Also a wooden walkway needs to be replaced as the boards are so rotten that the screws and nails are constantly backing out. A large area with stepping stones to cover dirt on either side of it are uneven and unsafe. I was told the backyard would be landscaped, along with several other things before I would sign lease. I have had mold issues, gas leaks, etc , also the wall heating unit had to have gas line capped off, and I was told it would be replaced. Generally speaking, my repair requests are not being addressed in a timely basis. I would like for all the repairs to be done within the next few months OR be released from the rental agreement so I can move out.

Desired Settlement: I would like all the repair and replacements to be finished in a timely manner according to priority, or I would like to be released from rental lease. I would like an email response on their decision for my records.

Business Response: This response is in answer to the complaint of the tenant at
*** ****** ****

 

The AC window unit cooling the bedroom, bathroom, and
kitchen is scheduled to be replaced on Thursday, July 30th. 
This unit had been tampered with and became un-repairable per our licensed HVAC
technician.

There are stepping stones in the back yard that are placed
so as to provide a walk area to avoid mud when it rains.   As
stepping stones, they are somewhat uneven and irregular.

The older wooden walkway at the rear of the back yard is old
but functional.  A new wooden walkway has been installed at the owner’s
expense from the tenant’s back door.   It was designed to allow for
drainage where the sewer repair was completed.

There have been no commitments made to completely landscape
the back yard and provide low voltage lighting.

All other repairs included a gas leak (pilot light in
stove), damage from a water leak and wall heater have been addressed and
completed in a timely manner.   The wall heating unit has been
approved by the owner and will be installed in the fall.

There are other tenants located on the property who have not
complained about the landscaping, wooden walkway, uneven stones, or the
reported improper drainage.

 

 

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We re-located form ********* to *** ******* in July. We started our rental search in June. We found 2 properties with the Hendricks company that we were interested in, We applied online and provided all documents that were needed in a very timely and professional manner with ***** *****. She was very helpful for the first phone call. From that point on, she would never return a phone call and 3 days to return emails only answering questions with one word answers and skipping questions all together. The most damaging part was that MY confidential employment information with pay stubs and bank information was sent to the wrong employer. I was contacted by my HR rep that someone had contacted them regarding my domestic partner with my social security info and employment info. This was very damaging and made us very concerned about trying to re locate. It delayed our move and concerned my employer. We never received an apology or refund. We deposited a very large sum of money with Hendricks with no services. I understand we were denied for the rental of the house and that is no problem, but we needed to know that and details of what was done with our hard earned money and very secure information we provided. I want answers as to why ***** can treat people this was and I want my all fees returned.

Desired Settlement: return of our application fee money($80)and hotel costs of $640 due to waiting on ***** ***** to return phone calls and hearing NOTHING and ultimately renting another unit in *** *******. ***** had informed us we had no problem renting and that we could move right into the property,

Business Response: Hendricks Property Management received an online application for subject property on 7/2/2014 after business hours at approximately 6 pm.  The online payment was brought over on 7/3/2014 and the applicants' information was input into our credit reporting agency program on 7/3/2014.
In processing, I came across some credit issues and also issues about current employment.  I spoke with the applicant about the issues concerning employment.  It was going to take some work and a little more time to resolve these issues.   I was under the assumption from the application information that the applicant was being transferred by his employer.  I called his listed supervisor to confirm this and she was not available.   I do not give out social security information accept as provided by the applicants on the authorizations to conduct the background checks.  Both applicants were employed by the same employer according to the information listed on the applications.  This was the only employer listed on both applications.  I did reach the applicant about this question of transfer before the supervisor called me back to inform me it was not a transfer as indicated on the application.
I asked questions about the credit issues I had concerns about and had to wait for the applicant to answer questions, but still determined that I could help the applicants in finding a new home here in *** *******.   I could have declined their applications on the first day with reason.
The applicant withdrew the application before the application process was completed.  It was not declined.  This application did take more than the 5 days that is our normal processing time, due to the many issues I had to have resolved before a positive decision could be reached.  We did keep the prospective tenants informed of the problems and our progress to resolve.  We never agreed to a "move right in" as there is a process of approval to follow.
The check for the refund of the applicants' security deposit was made and ready for pick up by the applicant on July 14, 2014.  The applicant did not pick up the check until July 18, 2014.  As we did process the application and made numerous calls to verify the information the applications gave Hendricks we did not return the application fee of $80 and we feel entitles to keep these fees.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The company has not reached out to me in any way or done ANYTHING to resolve this matter. They have dismissed this just like before without considering anything but themselves. Their response was a sugar coated response to a very hurtful, discriminating and costly experience that they put us through. I want the public to know how Hendricks management treats you if they do not think you are worthy of their business and lie to you. They take your hard earned money and leave you in the cold.

Regards,

******* ********

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hendricks Property management has failed to ensure a broken dishwasher be replaced since a repair request was issued 3/18/14. A service man did come to try and fix the dishwasher on March 31, 2014. The service man advised the dishwasher was not repairable and needed to be replaced. Hendricks Property was advised this on March 31, 2014. I inquired again with ***** ***** of Hendricks property on 5/1/2014 by email and have not received a response. I have experienced numerous problems with this property and the management companies response is they work for the owner, not the tenant. There has been a water leak, owner refused to replace broken and missing blinds that appeared to be intact during my 1 viewing of this property. I was not given the opportunity to review the property again before signing the lease, and feel Hendricks property knowingly rushed the rental process and took advantage of my situation to get me to sign this lease. Per ***** ***** she took on the management of this property because the owner is hard to work with yet I am obligated to the lease., yet the owner and leasing company do not abide by this lease,

Desired Settlement: Lease terminated with no negative repercussions to ****** * ****** , A complete refund of $1275.00 Rental deposit and $300.00 pet deposit with professional carpet cleaning by ******* ****** to be refunded within 10 days of vacating the property. There has been no damages to this property by ****** * ******

Business Response: This is in response to the complaint submitted on 5/8/2014, ID ********

Hendricks Property Management, LLC. represents the owner of the property as the owner's property manager.

The owner of the subject property is willing to replace the dishwasher immediately.   This work order has been submitted to the the vendor for processing.  The owner believed that sending a handy man to determine the problem with the dishwasher and waiting to determine if the tenant was using the wrong soap products was reasonable, considering this was a problem with the previous tenant.

Hendricks Property Management did not prevent tenant from reviewing the property prior to move in and possession of the property.

All other requested repairs have been completed in a timely manner.

The carpets were cleaned by the previous tenant upon move out of the premises; therefore the owner does not feel responsible for reimbursing the current tenant for cleaning the carpets during her occupancy.

The normal move out inspection and security deposit disposition would be implemented at the time of vacating the property.
 
The owner has indicated that she is not willing to terminate the lease without penalty.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The replacement of dishwasher is not within a reasonable amount of time it has been more than 30 days since repair man came to evaluate if dishwasher was repairable.  Per the repair man the kind of soap being used is irrelevant due to dishwasher not working the motor went out due to being so old had nothing to do with the kind of soap used.  I did advised ***** Weeks  on or about 2/24/14 that this dishwasher was only used once with liquid soap and has never worked.  Repair man stated motor was out and again had nothing to do with soap..  Owner is just using that as an excuse as to not repair as she refused to replace broken blinds that were in the condo upon walk through  I paid for replacements and have not been reimbursed.  Furthermore this owner hesitated to fix the broken outside fence securing the property for pets even though a $300.00 pet deposit was paid after much persistence on my part she finally agreed as Hendricks property advised the owner to do so.  Furthermore  this lease is not valid due to water leak prevented move in within 30 days of signing lease  Water could not be turned on due leak, work order for water leak was submitted on  Thursday  2/20/14  leak was not repaired until Saturday  2/21/14 due to plumber could not complete repair on Friday 2/21/14- Per lease If tenant is unable to move in within 30 days lease can be terminated. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: This is a response by the Management company to the tenant's response.
The owner of the property did state that the vertical blinds were in "as is" condition and the management company notified the tenant of this fact.  The tenant chose to replace the vertical blinds.  No reimbursement was offered.
The fence repair was completed.  This repair was done by an independent contractor. The $300 pet deposit is for pet damages (if any) during the tenant's occupancy and returned to the tenant at time of move out minus legitimate deductions.
The water leak referred to in the tenant's response was an unknown condition until tenant notified us that the water was off.   The HOA turned the water off due to the leak in this particular unit without notifying the management company.  The management company's chosen independent contractor repaired the leak within 2 days.
The only unresolved issue is the dishwasher.  The owner approved replacement.  The management company's chosen independent contractor has tried to schedule with the tenant.  The tenant told the contractor that she would probably be home Tuesday, May 20th.  The contractor called the tenant on Tuesday, May 20th and the tenant did not answer the phone nor return the contractor's call.
The contractor will try to contact the tenant again to schedule replacement of the dishwasher.

4/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the 3rd property management for this location. I have given them all of my banking information to automatically debit rent from my account on the first of the month. They have made mistakes not taken the rent out at the designated time. Theyhave been taking the rent out of the account on the 13th thru 17 of each month. They have sent me eviction notices and claimed late fees. Yet the rent money has always been available in the accounts I have never paid rent late yet this company just can't get it right.

Desired Settlement: My rent is due on the first of the month every month. Not the 13th or 15th of each month I signed all of the correct documentation so they can ACH the fund directly from my bank account. This has been going on for months and needs to be corrected. I've made several phone calls they keep blowing it off as if its nothing. I've been sent eviction notices and then they just appolagize but this is getting to be ridiculous. This is a businesses that needs to be monitored for fraudulent fees.

Business Response:

HENDRICKS PROPERTY MANAGEMENT LLC

March 24, 2014

Better Business Bureau
Re Complaint
 *******

The tenant complaint is valid. Hendricks Property Management has been sending this tenant late notices and eviction notices in error. The tenant called several months in a row; questioning why notices were sent and no money had been withdrawn from his account. At the time of tenants' calls, Hendricks Property Management would draw on his account which have always been satisfactory, and removed all late charges and fees.

There was an error made in the setting up of his [FT withdrawal date, It was set for the 31S` of each month. There was an additional 3 typed into the date field. Instead of showing the 1st, the computer showed the 31st...Consequently the rent was never pulled on time and it appeared as if the tenant was delinquent...which was not the case, the error was a data entry date.

The problem has been identified and corrected. All fees have been purged from his account. The EFT payments are now scheduled for the first of each month. Hendricks Property Management would like to apologize to this tenant for his time spent in trying to correct this situation...which was our error.

*** ** *********-Broker
Hendricks Property Management, LTC
###-###-####

12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hendricks took advantage of me for not understanding my rights. They never had me sign an agreement. In the 3 years they managed my property while I was out of the country, they stoled over 10K. They made false expenses and posted them in a fake portal account that they later deactivated so that I could not see the report anymore. I still have paper tails of the expenses that were made up. The expenses were above and beyond reasonable and I was never notified of them. In their contract, they state that any expense over 300 needs approval from owner however I have expenses in the thousands that I was never notified of until I found out from my bank that my money was drained out because I was paying mortgage and not receiving the rent money that I should for each year.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that was taken from me for false expenses and expenses that were paid for by me and charged by them. They took it upon themselves to take the money from the rent for carpet cleaning that I paid for. all of their expenses added up to over 7K in 2011, 3K in 2012, and 2k in 2013. These are expenses that are on top of the 10% management fee they charge. This is absolutely robbery. I would like a full refund for the amount that were wrongly taken from me.

Business Response:


We are in receipt
of the complaint from Ms. ****** ****e for the property located at **** ****
*** **., San Antonio, Tx *****. The property was acquired from Bradfield
Property Management February 2009. There have been four tenants at the property
during this time period.

Ms. *****’s complaints in
reference to not receiving rent money are not valid. We provided Ms. ***** with
monthly statement’s of all income and expenses with copies of all receipts. The
rental proceed have been electronically deposited into a Wells Fargo Account
provided by Ms. *****. We have no knowledge of any returns from the money
electronically deposited into Ms. *****’s bank account. At Ms. *****’s request we have supplied her with copies of previously
transmittals that were provided to her in the past. Annual summary of income
and expenses has been provided to Ms. ***** along with her 1099 for IRS.

In regards to
repairs, since 2009, the repairs have been normal repairs associated with
ownership of an older property. The largest amounts of repair expenses were in
2011, when the property required painting and new carpet. These improvements
and additional make ready charges since the prior tenant had occupied the
property for the previous 4 years. Ms. ***** was physically present in San Antonio,
and approved repairs and provided a check in the amount of $2,272 to cover some
of the expenses. All repair requests were emailed to owner, from the email
address provided by Ms. *****. Ms. ***** would call from oversees to my cell
phone and work number to discuss the property and was informed of the repairs
and cost of the repair on numerous occasions.

There have been
several occasions when Ms. ***** asked if we would meet her family members at
the house. At different times we have met at the property, Ms. *****'s son and
brother. While at the property with a family member, they would call Ms. *****
while we were present to discuss repairs so we could complete make ready to put
property back on the rental market. We have spoken to owner daughter on a few
occasions trying to locate Ms. ***** for approval on repairs.

It has come to
our attention that Ms. ***** has contacted the tenants and instructed them to
stop paying their rent to Hendricks Property Management. Ms. ***** provided
tenant with her bank account number so tenant can deposit rent into her
account. This has caused confusion and concern with the tenant, since there has
been no official termination notification from Ms. *****. We have communicated
with the tenant to begin paying rent to the owner. It is our understanding that
during the Ms. ***** conversation with the current tenant, she asked if the repairs’ were really
completed. The tenant stated: “they were completed except a few which needed owner approval (window
screens and pocket door).







In summary, all rent money has been deposited into Ms. *****’s account. All repair requests were forwarded to Ms.
*****s’s email account for their information and
approval. There are no false reports for expenses. We have been Professional in
our business transactions during our property management of the subject
property and have gone above and beyond standard practices. We have accepted
Ms. *****’s verbal request to terminate our
relationship by mutual agreement.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As to respond the message from Hendricks Property Management that you have provided me is not correct. I do have my bank statements, it will proved the Hendricks Property Management did not deposit the rent every month. Also, the expenses document they have provided me are falsely written by themselves.

If you need any further information, please, let me know. I thank you for your time and afford. May God bless you.


Regards,

**** *****

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented from Hendricks Property Management beginning in November 2011. In November 2012, our 1-year lease expired. When we received our Extension of Residential Lease notification, the monthly rent had been changed from $900 a month to $925 a month. I met with the ******** *******, ****** ********, who handles our rental house, in December 2012. While we wanted to renew our lease for a year, we requested if there was any way our rent could be kept at $900. My request was made complicated by the fact that the owner of our house lives out of the country, and there is often a delay in receiving a reply from him. ****** ******** promised that, until we heard back from the owner of the house one way or another, our rent would be kept at $900 a month. I asked if I needed to get that in writing, and our ******* stated that all we needed was his good word, and that he would be getting back to us as soon as possible. We trusted that our rates would be kept where Hendricks Property Management said they would be. When our month's rent was withdrawn from our account, however, the amount withdrawn was $975, rather than the promised $900, the extra $50 presumably being a month-to-month rate. This practice has continued since December 2012, despite numerous phone calls, many, many e-mails, and our determined attempts to resolve this issue. We are still technically going month-to-month, because Hendricks Property Management still has not revised and reissued us a new contract. We have been charged $975 for seven months now, despite the verbal commitment that I received from the ******* for Hendricks Property Management. For months now, we have been asking for that overpayment to be refunded, but the only thing that has happened is that they continue charging us $975 per month, not updating our contract, and not resolving our request. Even if they had not promised us a rate of $900, we would not have been on the higher rate of $975 for so long if they had gotten us an answer on the contract--and a revised contract--in a timely manner. We have been trying our best to renew our rental lease since November 2012. It is unacceptable that we have been left hanging for over seven months. Communication with this company is poor--our ******* is rarely reachable by phone and e-mails and phone calls are frequently left unreturned. After seven months of trying to resolve this with Hendricks Property Management, we are resorting to filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in the highest hopes that it will help bring resolution to our case. Thank you for your time!

Desired Settlement: Either a refund of $525 for the overdraft of $75 a month for the past seven months or an adjustment in our next month's rent to reflect the same amount.

Business Response: The tenants entered into a one year lease on the subject property on December 1, 2012 for
$900 a month.  In October 2012, a lease
renewal was sent to tenants for an additional year at a rental rate of $925,
which was a $25 a month increase.  A
rental market analysis was completed prior to sending the lease renewal. This
analysis indicated the market rent was well above the offered $925.  The tenants asked us to contact the owner to
request an extension of the $900 for another year.  We honored their request to get in contact
with the ***** who lives out of the country. 
We have had severe difficulty in contacting this owner as they have a sporadic
operating phone and an invalid e-mail. 
We received no immediate response from the owner and we continued to try
on a regular basis.  The tenants never
returned their lease renewal, so their lease rate went to $50.00 over the
renewal rate since they were on a “month-to-month” basis.  They remained at this rate through June of
2013.  Finally, we were able to contact
the owner, and he agreed to allow tenants to return to the $900 a month rate
until March 2014.  After receiving the
rental reduction as authorized by the owner, the tenants signed the lease
renewal and filed the complaint.

     In summary, the
tenants were offered a below market rental renewal rate of $925 in December,
but never signed or returned the lease renewal. 
Consequently, the lease went to a month-to-month  basis. 
They could have moved at anytime with a 30-Day Notice if they felt the
rent was too high.  They choose to remain
and paid the month-to-month rent while we were trying to contact the owner.  The owner is unwilling to reimburse any prior
rent from December (2012) to June (2013). 
However, since there was confusion on the  lease renewal and the extraordinary time to
contact the owner, Hendricks Property Management will return the $50 a month
difference between the renewal rate of $925 and the month-to-month rate of $975.  This would be 7 months at $50 a month for a
total of $350.

    

Thank You,

*** ** ********* ********* ******** *********** **********    

Consumer Response: Complaint *******


Better Business Bureau:

We appreciate that Hendricks Property Management had severe difficulty in contacting the owner of our rental house. Likewise, we have experienced severe difficulty in contacting Hendricks. We are grateful that they were willing to consider and pass on our request to maintain our rent at $900 rather than increase it to $925, but please bear in mind that it was just that—a request, one which took over 6 months to resolve. In the mean time, we were charged $975 as a month-to-month rate, despite being verbally told by the ******* representing Hendricks that our rent would be maintained at $900.

Our lease renewal was never returned because our ******* told us—twice—to wait (once at our initial meeting and once at a visit to our home to review some work that a contractor had done). Both times, we were prepared to submit a signed lease, but the ******* said that he was still waiting to hear back from the owner on approval so to hang on to it.

*** ********* is correct in stating that there was confusion on the lease renewal. At any time, he could have said "no" to our renewal request (it was, after all, a request), or offered the option to later modify a signed contract as a possibility. But instead, we were kept hanging from month to month, with the monthly overcharge of $75 being the the de-facto answer we received.

The proposition that *** ********* lays out for returning the difference between the increased rent and the month-to-month rate is logical to us. Although it is less than we were hoping for, we understand his perspective and appreciate what the refund represents on his part. Having reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, we find that this resolution is satisfactory to us.

Though the overcharge is certainly a significant side effect requiring resolution, the cause of our complaint was poor communication, without which the overcharge could have been avoided. To date, we have experienced periods of up to five weeks without a response from our *******, despite multiple attempts on our part for contact during those periods. As such, we will be seeking a plan for better communication moving forward to ensure a happy and mutually beneficial relationship.

For us, "better" communication can be defined as a) at least an acknowledgement from our ******* to e-mail or phone communications within a reasonable amount of time, say 3 business days, b) a resolution or communication about the reason for a lack of resolution every 10 business days after that, without the need for persistent repeated follow-up on our part, and c) if our ******* does not respond within this time frame, a point of contact that can actually help us resolve our request instead of directing us back to our *******. Though we like our current ******* a great deal personally and appreciate his efforts on our behalf during our tenure, we feel that the level of communication outlined above may require a different representative with a more aggressive approach to communication.

We actually did file the complaint with the Better Business Bureau (6/27/13) before signing our lease renewal (6/28/13), after notifying our ******* over 24 hours earlier (6/26/13) that we we intended to do so, with no response from him. As renters, we are not confident that this situation would have progressed to this point were it not for the Better Business Bureau, and are grateful for the assistance.

We are happy and grateful to be in this little house, and look forward to a pleasant continuation of our time here.

Regards,

***** *** ****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Hendricks Property Management LLC
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart