BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Brothers Management Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brothers Management Company

Phone: (254) 753-5355 Fax: (254) 756-5408 400 La Salle Ave, Waco, TX 76706 http://www.brothersmanagement.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brothers Management Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brothers Management Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brothers Management Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 23, 1994 Business started: 01/06/1982 in TX Business started locally: 01/06/1982 Business incorporated: 01/06/1982 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Russell Trippet, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell Trippet, President
Business Category

Property Management Apartments

Additional Information

This company offers property management services, primarily student housing and multi-family properties.


Additional Locations

  • 400 La Salle Ave

    Waco, TX 76706 (254) 753-5355

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are renting a house that was owned by ******** realty, there is a severe foundation problem resulting in half the house in a downward slant. An area of the foundation inside the house shifts when stepped on. A 2ft area of stone on the outside wall broke as a result of the shift with numerous cracks along the stone lining along the base of the house. Behind the stones is chicken wire that wraps around the house. ******** send maintenance to come out and glue the stones back thinking this would solve the problem. ******** then put the house on market. Around this time Brothers management owner came to look at the house. He asked me what all needed to be fixed. I told him about the foundation, the broken window in the bathroom, the rot around the entire window frame, a board that was holding another window secure, not locks on the windows except the two nails on the inside of the house that prevent it from being pushed in. Brothers management bought the house and our lease was transferred to them. We started hearing frequent cracking, and notified brothers management. Their maintenance manager told us that they had gotten an engineer to inspect and that there were not any cracks on the outside rock it looked just fine and that there was a slant in the kitchen but that could be fixed. She then told us it was safe. This didn't seem right because the there is an outside crack on the foundation, that is visible underneath the stone wrap around. The maintenance manager apparently thought the foundation was the stone wrap around. Even then there are cracks along it as well, not to mention the glued together piece that ******** realty did. It wasn't taken seriously so we notified the city code inspector, a day later the house was red tagged and said we need to move out in five days. We got a phone call the next day from brothers management saying that we can't lawfully break the lease because they had already had a group of engineers come out to do an inspection. Brothers management said that they had begun talks with the city to try and resolve the problem. The issue was taken lightly when brothers management called us to tell us about there being nothing severely wrong with the house. If there wasn't anything severely wrong then why would the inspector red tag the house. They are preventing us from leaving with the threat that we would be unlawfully breaking our lease.

Desired Settlement: For the sake of safety and the severity of the situation that the city of the **** would red tag this house let us move into safety and give us our safety deposit back. If this is a sensible reasonable and ethical business then you would also refund us a portion of our august 2014 rent we paid on the 1st of August, 495.00.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

************** 

From: ********* ****** * *********************************** 
Sent: Friday, August 08, 2014 7:53 AM
To: info
Subject: Re: Your complaint has been received

 

 This problem was resolved and we are able to move into a structurally safe house. The following is an email sent from the owner of the brothers management. 

 

******,

 

I am emailing you as promised on our telephone conversation of a few minutes ago. As I indicated to you we understand you will be moving out immediately and as such we will do the following:

 

1.       Upon receipt from you of the keys at our office at *** ** ***** and your forwarding address we will process the return of your security deposit and pro-rated rent to the 11th of  August and mail you a check for the amount due you within thirty days.

 

If you have any questions about this procedure please let me know.

 

******* *******

 

Brothers Management

*** ** *****

****, Texas *****

************

2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: January 29, 2013To whom It may concern,I am requesting a termination of my lease per the attached document signed on 12/8/13 stating that in the event the Owner is unable to assign resident/s preferred unit before January 31, 2014, resident may terminate this lease upon written notice by no later than January 31, 2014. I have not received confirmation of assignment of unit at this date of January 29, 2014 and wish to terminate my lease and have my deposit returned. This was the letter, and the document she attached, did state that resident may terminate lease. Company was unwilling to even consider termination, or help us find a way out of the pre-lease arrangement.

Desired Settlement: Terminate lease and be kind and helpful to student.

Business Response: ******** **** and her roommate, ********* ****** signed a lease on December 3, 2013 for an apartment.  Their lease begins on May 29, 2014.  They were assigned an apartment number (909) before January 31, 2014.  ******** was told that we would help them try to release the apartment but,  she and her roommate would have to sign the document giving us permission to do so.  

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a student living at ****** ***** ***. The management company, from day one, has had the attitude that they could not be bothered to deal with me. I am (finally!) moving out of my apartment that I leased from them. When I called to ask for a walk through to determine what any charges for maintenance upon move-out might be, the company's response was that they do not make appointments for a walk through with the client because they had too few staff members. I asked if we could perhaps set up an afternoon where, whenever they had time, someone could come over and go through the most common charges, etc. Once again, they declined. They assured me, however, that their private walkthrough would be done on the day that I move out. From this, I gather that they obviously do have enough people to do a walk through, but that they could not be bothered to do the apartment walk through in my presence. This would not be such an issue if the apartments were better maintained. However, since the apartment had issues before I moved in, (screw holes, stains, small dents in the walls, carpet coming up, etc.), I am afraid of being charged for the damage from past tenants.

Desired Settlement: This issue would be resolved by changing their policy of refusing to perform an end of lease walk through. Unless they change their policy, I would like the company to waive their right to collect cleaning and damage charges for my apartment, since they are effectively giving me no opportunity to rectify any small cleaning requirements that may have been overlooked or explain any damages that were there when I moved in.

Business Response:

In reference to walking units at move out with residents we can do this if we have time but generally we have so many residents moving out at the same time there is no way we would have the time to meet with each resident. We give every resident very clear written instructions as to what is expected of them when they move out.  Also, in the event there are significant charges against the resident due to leaving a unit in poor condition we generally document the charges with photos or videos.

In this case if teh resident is unhappy wiht the dispostion of his move out he is more than welcome to contact our corporate office at ******** and ask for ******* ****** to discuss any issues.

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is **** *******, and I am a first year graduate student at ****** ********** completing coursework for a Master's of Science in Education degree with an emphasis in Sport Management. In addition, I am employed as a Graduate Assistant with the ******** ******** ******* *********** under the direction of legendary of ****** football coach, ***** *****. My other duties include working as a summer intern with ****** Athletic Performance (football) and serving as President of the Sport Management Association at ******. I moved to ****, TX last August from ******* *********** where I graduated from *** ****. I secured an apartment unit with Brothers Management in a complex known as "*** *********". I had minor issues with my dwelling during the first six months of my inhabitance; however, Brothers Management was highly adept in getting my repairs taken care of in a timely fashion. Nevertheless, I ran into an issue that would and still does continue to plague my very well-being as a resident at *** *********. My residence has been infested with roaches for the past 6-7 months. My fellow residents have continuously complained about the same issues, but I decided to take action. Brothers Management has attempted to solve this problem, but to no avail. I have had my apartment sprayed five times with the strongest of pest deterrents and even bombed, yet I still find myself sharing my supposed one bedroom apartment with an influx of roaches. Mind you, I take pride in being a clean individual with respect to washing regularly and abiding by good hygiene practices. However, every waking moment of my very existence at my dwelling is filled with watching pests crawl all over my home and the possessions within it. They leave small black "residue/specks" everywhere- including my dishes. I have even had to clean pests out of my toaster when I noticed a pungent odor coming from it as I was attempting to fix myself breakfast. The last straw came about when I saw a number of pests crawling along my bathroom sink and onto my toothbrush! These sub-par living conditions are completely unacceptable and have severely affected my productivity when housed in my unit. I absolutely dread going home. Nowadays, I can expect to carry a pest or two with me to class and/or work as they usually crawl out when I retrieve my class materials. This has been a tough and embarrassing ordeal for me to the point that I can not let Brothers Management get away with their incompetence in dealing with this issue. I even went to Brothers Management's place of business to fervently voice my concerns with the manager. Instead, I was forced to deal with a "messenger" who served as a liaison to myself and the manager, Ms. ******. She never even came out of her office to hear me out. These are unacceptable business practices, and I will not stand by and be treated as an insignificance just because I may not be able to afford more affluent living arrangements. My current situation leads me to believe that my furniture, dishes, etc. will all be inundated with pests that will most likely come along to my next place of residence- forcing me back into the same situation.

Desired Settlement: I have paid my rent 6 months in advance over the past year only to be forced to live in my current unit fearful that something is crawling on me or that I have consumed something that roaches have left their "mark" on. In light of these injustices, I request for the superiors Brothers Management to be more forthcoming in their communication with me and provide me with suitable compensation to make up for what I have had to deal with as well as for potential issues unseen. I request to have portions of my rent for the past 6 months redistributed to me or applied to my rent obligations at my next choice of living arrangements- effective in August. Also, I would like to have my dishes replaced and my few pieces of furniture cleaned so as not to transport this issue to my next place of residence. Thank you for your time. Please contact me with any further inquiries. **** *******

Business Response:

On June 18th, our property manager, ****** ****, spoke to Mr. ******* regarding the pest control issue in his unit.  We informed him we were changing pest control companies in hopes of a more satisfactory treatment program.  Thus, * * * **** ******* will be treating his unit frequently to help remedy this issue.  It was also agreed that Brothers Management Company will waive Mr. ********* last month's rent in the amount of $485.  Mr. ******* mutually agreed that he would attempt to keep his unit cleaner making pest control treatment more effecitve.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******