BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bristile Properties LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bristile Properties LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bristile Properties LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 13, 2008 Business started: 10/01/2007 Business started locally: 10/01/2007 Business incorporated: 10/09/2007 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Aubrey Brisendine, President Ms. Jamie Rea, VP of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aubrey Brisendine, President
Business Category

Property Management Property Maintenance


Additional Locations

  • 2009 RR 620 N. Suite # 121

    Austin, TX 78734

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This management company manages the home we rent. In the last year we have had 2 air conditioner problems and two plumbing problems. When we have called on all these problems it has taken on average a week and numerous trips by the contracted service person to fix the problem. The first was our downstairs air conditioner. It took two trips to find and fix the problem. The second incident was a plumbing problem which happened over a weekend. The handle to the shower broke off and water was spewing out all over the bathroom and was beginning to flood it. We called Bristile immediately. The guy we spoke with took the message but according to the maintenance department they never got the message and when I called on Monday they said I should have filled out the online form and that phone calls were emergency only. I felt that having to turn off the water to the entire house for a day and a half constituted an emergency. They contracted a plumbing company and the situation was resolved .the next incident was also a plumbing problem. My sons shower had a leak and again I called. They said that someone would be there first thing Monday. When I called later Monday wondering when someone was going to be there. The maintenance manager stated he never told me that. I called the owner of the company and he said that the maintenance manager is his brother and he would never lie. We then had a disagreement. The owner and the manager came over a half hour later and I showed them what was going on. They both made me feel as though I was an idiot and since I was a women I did not know what I was talking about. After I turned the water to house back on they saw the water pouring out of the shower head and agreed that this was an emergency. The owner on the way out told me that they didn't have to fix it right away. That texas law states that they have 10 days to fix any problems and that a contract is for both parties and that he can come into my house whenever he wants to in order to inspect it and that Bristile can make sure that our contract is not renewed. The plumber came out to the house and then stated I needed a part and he would order it. It took 9 days from my call of the complaint till when they fixed it. This last problem is the worst. Our upstairs air conditioner was not working properly so I filled out the form. The next day I came home from work and there was water all over my floor and water was leaking from the condenser. I called immediately and Bristile called back and said they would have the air conditioner company out the next day. They did come out and said the condenser was frozen. He unthawed it but never bothered to look at the outside unit. It still wasn't working properly but I thought it was because of the 100 degree heat. I was wrong and on Friday morning called back because we had no air coming in. They called the air conditioner company and called me back to say they would be out between 12-5. I had plans so I left for the afternoon. When I got home the air wasn't working so I called the air conditioner company and they said that the evaporator coil was gone and I needed to talk to the maintenance manager at Bristile. I called Bristile and left a message for him and another customer service person called me back. She stated they needed a part and because of the long weekend they won't be able to get it till tues or weds. I asked what they were to do about the temperature of my house and she said she'd look into it. the next day the temperature in my house had gotten up to 92 degrees and I called Bristile again to see what they were going to do about it and all they kept saying was the repair company couldn't fix it. I was trying to explain that I understood that and as the management company what were they going to do. I offered for them to bring over fans, and the representative could only say that the repair company couldn't be there till next week and there was nothing that they could do. We spoke for 5 minutes or so and I kept trying to find out what they were going to do and all they could say was that there was nothing for them to do. I had to go out and buy two fans and as of 6:30 on sat. Night it is still 92 degrees. Tomorrows temperature is going to be even hotter. I am beginning to get concerned for the refrigerator becouse it is working on overtime and we are having to spend extra money in eating out becouse the stove heats the house up even more. We are going to be able to grill meat out but we have to buy the rest of the meal. We have no relatives that live anywhere near here or we could go there. I want Bristile to take responsibility for these problems and to help their tenants.

Desired Settlement: I would like compensation for the trouble and pain that it has caused my family, and for people to realize what type of business this truly is. That they do not listen or treat there tenants with respect and dignity.

Business Response: Mrs. ***** filed an online maintenance request through our
online management portal on Sunday, 8/25/2013 regarding issues with her
upstairs HVAC system.  Upon arriving to
work on Monday, 8/26/2013 my office received the maintenance order and assigned
it to our HVAC vendor (another BBB business with an A+ rating).  On Tuesday, our vendor coordinated with the
residents and arrived at the dwelling to inspect the unit.  Upon arrival, our vendor found that the
upstairs HVAC system was “frozen.”  I have
learned that our vendor’s technicians can’t properly diagnose an HVAC issue
when the system is frozen because they need air flowing through the system in
order to diagnose any current issues. 
The vendor was not at the property very long but took the necessary
steps to allow the unit to thaw out.  Our
vendor failed to follow up with Mrs. ***** and arrange for a follow up
inspection so that the unit could be properly diagnosed after it had thawed out.  In defense of our vendor, they assumed that
once the unit was no longer frozen it started functioning again.  I have been told that frozen HVAC units are a
very common problem in Central Texas and in most cases, simply thawing out will
allow the system to once again function properly.  Regardless, I would like to point out that a
representative from my company should have followed up with Mrs. ***** to
ensure that the unit was functioning properly. 
We failed to take that additional step and as a result we lost two
valuable days with no action to resolve this issue for our customer.  We have already started reviewing our
maintenance processes so that this issue is avoided in the future.

Mrs. ***** contacted our office again on the morning of Friday,
8/30/2013 and informed us that the vendor never came back out to the property
and that the HVAC unit still wasn’t working. 
Upon receiving Mrs. *****’s call my staff immediately created a second
work order and forwarded it over to the vendor. 
They were able to get back out to the property on Friday evening.  Since the unit had thawed out and was no
longer frozen the technician was able to test the unit and found a large leak
in the evaporator coil of the 20+ year old system.  It was determined that the leak was severe
enough that “recharging” the unit by adding more Freon would not resolve the
issue, even temporarily.  The technician informed
the residents that our vendor would be speaking with my company to determine
how to proceed and the *****’s were told to contact our ******** ** ***********
if they had any questions. 
Unfortunately, our ******** ** *********** (**** ** ********) was out of
town in East Texas and had limited cell service from Thursday evening through
Monday evening.  Mrs. ***** then
contacted our after-hours service line on Friday night and was quite frustrated
with the entire situation.  She wanted to
know what else we were going to do for them over the holiday weekend to help
cool down the property and she was informed that we had done everything we
could do.  Our vendor had informed us
that there was no way for us to get a new evaporator coil over the holiday
weekend as that specific coil is not commonly found in today’s marketplace.  Since this dwelling has two HVAC units, one
upstairs and one downstairs, and the downstairs unit was still operating
properly the unit was considered “habitable” by the Texas property code.  In hindsight, I wish that we would have
responded differently to Mrs. *****. 
Obviously, she had reason to be frustrated and not having the ability to
speak to our ******** ** *********** (who was out of town for the holiday
weekend) or a supervisor, only made matters worse.  Mrs. ***** already had experienced a less than
pleasant experience with this specific vendor regarding a plumbing issue
earlier in her tenancy and she should have received a better customer service
experience than what was provided to her.  

Upon arriving back in Austin on Monday evening, I personally
went over to the *****’s home and visited with Mr. ***** while Mrs. ***** and
her mother were out.  I informed him that
per Texas law, my firm had done everything that was “required” and he
understood and agreed with that.  He
explained to me that they were looking for a better customer service experience
and felt that we should have offered to bring fans to the home or at least
compensate them for the purchase of a few box fans.  I agreed with him that we could have handled
the situation in a better manner and I feel that we had a productive
conversation on ways that my company can deliver a better experience to our
customers that are facing an unfortunate and frustrating situation.  On Tuesday morning, I followed up with Mrs.
***** and asked if she was going to be home because I wanted to personally
visit with her.  Before meeting her, I
went to my home and removed a portable AC system from my personal belongings
and brought that to her for their use until this situation is resolved.  I was able to visit with Mrs. ***** and her
mother who was in town visiting and I apologized to them both for the
inconvenience they’ve faced.  Mrs. *****
and I had a very productive conversation on Tuesday and I listened to her
different points, all of which were very valid.  I realized that as a property management firm
we could have been better prepared to provide our clients (property owners) and
customers (residents) with a better set of services and options to address
these difficult and frustrating issues that come up from time to time.  I explained to her that ultimately, it is the
property owner’s decision as to what extra efforts will be made because there
are expenses associated but that we should have been better prepared to offer
different options for her and her family. 
I will be working with our ******** ** *********** and our Portfolio
Manager to determine how we can best improve our processes and services so that
issues like this do not happen again.  As
a property management firm, one of our many responsibilities is to oversee the
different events that occur during tenancy and while we constantly self-reflect
and try to find ways to improve our available services, this issue has provided
a valuable lesson and will result in my company being better prepared to
provide the best property management services available to our clients and
customers.

In closing, Mr. and Mrs. ***** have both proven to be very
polite and professional individuals and I regret that they have been forced to
deal with this issue.  Mrs. *****’s
mother was a pleasure to meet and I sincerely apologize to her that this issue
occurred, but more specifically occurred during the long, holiday weekend which
detracted from them enjoying their time together as a family.  No property management firm can prevent all
maintenance issues and no one ever wants to deal with an HVAC issue but having
to deal with one during a holiday weekend and when you have family in town only
makes matters worse.  The HVAC issue has turned
out to be much more complex than a simple replacement of the evaporator
coil.  It was determined by our vendor
and confirmed by a second vendor that the entire outdated system needs to be
replaced to meet changing governmental standards regarding Freon which will be
completely obsolete by 2015.  This unit
is scheduled for a full replacement on Friday morning and our vendor estimates
the install time will be between 6 and 7 hours. 
I have continued to communicate with Mrs. ***** throughout this process
and believe that she is happy and satisfied with our efforts to address this
issue and improve our services in the future. 
I appreciate her feedback and look forward to working with her and her
family for the remainder of their tenancy.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1