BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

AREMACO, Inc.

Phone: (361) 851-8941 View Additional Phone Numbers 6262 Weber Rd Ste 101, Corpus Christi, TX 78413

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Property management of single family homes

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AREMACO, Inc. include:

  • 12 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AREMACO, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AREMACO, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 03/24/1986 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Judy Helm, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Judy Helm, Office Manager
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Real Estate Services Investment Management


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AREMACO, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6262 Weber Rd Ste 101

    Corpus Christi, TX 78413 (361) 851-8941

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (361) 851-8941(Phone)
  • (361) 851-8973 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was there on 6/3/14 to pay my rent I was not greeted or the Hispanic girl that was sitting at the front was on the phone arguing with whomever she was speaking to. when she was done I gave her my rent check and proceeded to ask questions about my lease and why we have not received the paper that ask us if we want to re-new or not she proceeded to tell me they were waiting on the owner if they were going to stay with them. I told her we were not going to be living there anymore she said I will have to schedule a walk through and I will have to get my carpets cleaned by a professional and told her our carpets were not clean when we moved in and I had to clean them. she told me that was not her problem and that I would have to get them cleaned. this employee had a poor attitude and was a poor employee of the company and you could tell she did not want to be there.

Desired Settlement: not to have to pay for the carpets to be cleaned when they were not cleaned when we moved in. I would like an apology from the company and the individual who had poor customer service.

Business Response: When the tenant gave us notice she would be moving out, the agent reminded her of the requirements needed prior to and upon her move out. (copy attached where tenant signed acknowledgement).
Tenant claims carpets were not cleaned before she moved in. Attached is a copy of the carpet cleaning receipt proving that they were cleaned prior to her moving in.
Also attached is a copy of Tenant's own Move-in Condition Form that she filled out.. Nowhere does she note that the carpets were dirty.
If an AREMACO, Inc employee did have an inappropriate attitude, AREMACO, Inc. does not approve or condone this. We are constantly stressing the importance of the right attitude.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I noted that all carpets were dirty and when I went in to turn in paper work there was an older lady that told me they would havw to look into it. I jave had nothing but problems with the customer service that this company provides except for a lady that has been there for years. the carpet may have been cleaned but when weoved in we had copa come to the house because there were squaters that have been in the house and one of the neighbors called the police I even told them that there was signs of drugs being done in that house and there was a whole bunch of drug paraphernalia.

Regards,

******* *********

Business Response: We have no idea what this person is talking about. In regards to Tenants complaint that the carpet wasn't clean when she moved in we have Tenant's own Move In Condition Form that is filled out and signed by Tenant after she moved in that makes no reference to a dirty carpet and the receipt from a professional carpet cleaning company that shows the carpet was cleaned just prior to her moving into the home.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aremaco leased me a dirty and broken home. Things never worked and when we got electricity and water turned on the the house could not handle the utilities. The pipes leaked and toilets would not flush and mildew and mold spread and Aremaco did not fix these things. Sent Maintinence to fix and they were unable to do anything about it so Aremaco told us it would be fixed and never was. It was noted on the move-in form and noted several times throughout the term of the lease and Aremeco did not fix the issues. Sockets, appliances, health concerns all remained and were not taken care of by Aremaco. Then at the conclusion of the lease Aremaco charged me for all the things that did not work knowing they did not work before i moved in and whilst I stayed. Then had SEVERAL incorrect billing charges and REFUSED to address them or correct them. They charged me for furniture that was already there. Charged me for keys that I turned in to thier offices, $200 for cleaning a carpet that was filthy and dank when I moved in, but clean shampooed and vacuumed when I moved out. $200 for cleaning a stove and dishwasher that was disgusting when I moved in and cleaned when I moved out. $30 for light bulbs that I replaced with new energy efficient bulbs and light sockets that never worked and I had work orders to fix but Aremaco was never able to fix. Various shady charges and denial of my rights when I asked to clarify the charges and show me how I can have charges form Aremaco's mistakes. I moved out I'm February and they STILL have not corrected the billings mistakes or contacted me back when I call to speak with the manager about why they refuse to correct oatcakes and give me my money and it's May 2014. I believe because I am African-American they refuse to treat me fairly as they would other ethnicities. That is not right by any means and unprofessional and unethical and perhaps illegal or unlawful from many perspectives, so I am filing a complaint against Aremaco and I hope somebody looks into Aremaco's unethical practices and pits a stop to them.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund my full deposit. I am willing to accept back $860 of my $950 deposit to compensate wear and tear and damages to walls and side boards that I am directly responsible for but I don't want to be penalized for others mistakes and Aremaco makes money by charging previous tenants and then me and them future tenants as well (like they are currently doing). Call me and tell me that you are refunding me my full deposit as a show of good faith or correct your billing mistakes and issue me a check that totals $860 of my $950 deposit by the end of this week just like you demanded I pay $45 for an application $950 deposit $1025 for first months rent all upfront within a week's time period. I gave you approximately $2020 in a One week period. I think $560 should be no problem for you to come up with in the same time period.

Business Response:

We have received complaint #******** and we are deligently researching each of the past tenants purported issues. We will have completed our information gathering and compiled a complete response to each allegation not later than 5:00 P.M. May 20th, 2014.

Business Response:

Attached is a copy of the Security Deposit Deductions the Tenant was charged for, and following the form, we have attached invoices for those charges;

 

Holes in the walls and hallway - $82.00

  Move-out form is acknowledged and signed by the Tenant.

 

Light bulb replacement - $18.25

  Copy of move-out requirements of tenant with Tenant's acknwledgement of this requirement, attached

 

Cleaning charge - $175.00

  Charge for cleaning 3 bedroom, two bath home left filthy by tenant. Cleaning is required of Tenant upon move-out 

  according to the attached Move Out Form which was acknowledged and signed by the Tenant

 

Carpet cleaning  - $200.00

  Tenant is required to clean carpet and provide proof with receipt from professional carpet cleaner as 

  acknowledged by Tenants signature on attached form. Deep cleaning of heavily soiled rug required after Tenant 

  move out. Tenant not charged for carpet repair and streching.

 

Locksmith charge - $118.40

  Tenant did turn in their keys. However the Tenant, upon departing premises, locked all doors from inside with 

  keyless deadbolts and then departed out a window, closing window so it would lock rendering the keys 

  useless. This required we call for the services of a locksmith for which Tenant was charged.

 

Removal of furniture - $86.00

  Tenant left behind, inside the house, a broken bed frame, mattress and table. Tenant was charged for this 

  removal. Tenant was not charged for removal of anything from the garage.

 

Yard clean up and mowing - N/C

  Although the yard was left needing mowing and clean up, Tenant should have been, but was not charged for this

 

It appears that theTenant feels that they should be excused from any personal responsibility for their actions and hoping to insure that they not be held accountable, used the RACE card. How embarassing and offensive! As Manager of the office I had never met or seen this tenant and had no knowledge of their ethenticity. As a true Native American, I personally would never stoop so low as to either discriminate against another or attempt to use my race to justify my actions.

 

As you can see from the attached documentation, all charges were completely justified.

 

**** ****

Office Manager

 

PS  We have pictures available upon request to prove the condition of the property.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Management refuses to contact me and resolve known issues and various inaccuracies in their response. I disagreed with their findings and told the lady on the walkthru and I was informed that if i dont sign, even if I disagree, even if i am disputing and even if i have proof, i forfeit my deposit. I did eveything that was asked of me as a tenant when i was suppose and the business did not honor our agreement. I did not lock a deadbolt and exit out a window. I walked out the front door. Locked it. Then turned in my key like i was suppose to. The need for a locksmith was not even on my invoice, its something the business did to justify a charge. On my move-in form i made indications of things that remained throughout the life of the lease (like burned out light bulbs and non-working appliances, and wear and tear on the house). On my finally walkthrough, there WAS NO FURNITURE PRESENT! We walked in through the front door with no problem. The business is making false claims against me and its illegal and unethical. I signed the walk-thru form and nowheres does it mention furniture, nor does it mention the use of a locksmith to enter. My walk thru is dated 2-22-2014 and my lease was not up until 2-29-14 so if they was any issues, they came AFTER the fact that my keys were turned in and my walkthrough complete. I was present the whole time. No furniture was present or removed and no doors had to be unlocked. But again, management refuses to see the client and correct the business mistake (false billings). Ignoring complaints and failing to resolve issues is unethical and illegal and the business is upset that somebody is reporting their illegal activities.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: to start with when we talked with **** we stated we wanted to move in on February 20th we also put this on the application at no point did any one say anything about only holding it for only 7 days.after we got approved she stated we would have to move in on February 14th or we would lose our $950 deposit. so we were forced to move in sooner and I had to pay that rent plus the rent on my apartment. further more when we moved in the AC had no filter light bulbs were missing light fixtures window blinds were filthy.the garage utility room were filthy we had to clean all this our selves.further more there was trash,debri was all over the back yard chunks of concrete wood nails skrews dangerous items for our children.in addition we have not had hot water since we moved in we have called 4 times a day yesterday I went into the office and spoke to **** she said she would make sure it would get the hot water heaterreplaced by today,after getting the run around all day 4 phone calls later ********* started we wouldn't have a hot water heater till the end of the week. she stated it took so long due to shopping around for a cheaper person to do the job.so because of their actions I have to take my family somewhere else to take showers.also there is a kink I. a pipe going into the water heater which also causes very low water pressure a plumber showed me this when he came out to replaced a busted water line in the utility room which caused the bathroom wall to get wet hopefully we don't get mold.this water heater is an 1985 moldel it should have been addressed way before we moved in.all we have been offered is one day of prorate but we are going to be without hot water for a full week I told ********* I needed to be compensated more she stated **** the office manager would call me directly she never did.in addition to this the drain pipe in the utility room shoots water out when the washer is on the spin cycle they are supposed tohave someone out in the morning to fix that part o ya and the AC wasn't working yesterday that has been fixed.just way too many things in the first week of living here

Desired Settlement: we need to be componsated for 1 full week or until the hot water heater is replaced the kink is fixed and the return hose is fixes or put us in a hotel so we can take a hot shower

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********,

AREMACO, Inc. received a request for repairs from the tenants when they moved into the above referenced property. AREMACO, Inc. immediately started responding to the different issues and before February 28, 2014;

(1.) an electrician was sent to replace a faulty breaker in the breaker box,

(2.) a new kitchen range was delivered,

(3.) a plumber went out and replaced a pipe to increase water pressure,

(4.) the plumber adjusted the drain lines in the utility room and

(5.) a new water heater was installed.

In addition to the above listed repairs, and as a show of good faith, AREMACO, Inc. refunded rent for their inconvenience. We believe we have satisfied all the this family's concerns. We continually strive to insure that our tenants have a pleasant experience in thier home.

**** ****

Manager

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It started with a wet spot on the carpet, then I knew we had a leak coming from somewhere. I immediately called it in on the after hour number provided to us for emergencies. We were told they would contact us the following day in the morning and failed to do so. I then had to call again because the leak had gone to two hallways, one of the rooms and closet. It took them about a week for someone to come out and fix it, in which they do have record of that, but since then they came out to clean that part of the carpet only once. I have told them numerous of times that the carpet must be still dirty or water must have still been underneath because at times when I don't clean it myself, it stinks. I am not a health inspector, but I know this part of the carpet is not healthy for us walk on, or have to smell this odor most of the time. I expect for them to clean it again since this is clearly not my fault, this was caused by a leak. This happened about two months from now and I still don't get a response from them about how they are going to fix, this is unacceptable. Nobody should live like this.

Desired Settlement: I expect for Aremaco to fix the problem, this leak got so bad part of the garage wall got molded. This is how long we had to wait, I missed the part where the water went to the garage as well. All I am asking for is a healthy place to live in, and where my kids can play in the hallway without having to get them off from there every time they are nearby. This is very unacceptable. Please fix the problem.

Business Response:

Have been in direct communication with Mrs. ******* and as of our last conversation, all maintenance had been completed and the tenant is pleased with the results.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple issues. AREMCO used a tenants deposit monies to pay for a home repair (air conditioner) that should have been charged to the owner. AREMCO failed to use a specified (by me, the owner) contractor for above stated repair. AREMCO failed to provide an invoice of above stated repair. AREMCO failed to provide me, the property owner, with a full copy of the lease (all attachment and addendum's) they made with the tenant . AREMCO filed with me, the owner, in a certified letter dated 3 July, 2013 stating they were terminating services as property management with me on 25 July, 2013. First Part: I did not concur with or agree that they were released from their contractual obligation as property manager. Second Part: They decided to terminate their service prior to the date (25 July, 2013) in their certified letter with an e-mail. Breech of contract! Third Part: Aremaco departed from their contractual obligation and commitment to me, the owner, when the tenant (that AREMACO vetted and leased the property to) broke their lease agreement. AREMACO failed to collect and disburse the rent for the month of July 2013. AREMACO failed to provide the required move out inspection and contract close out with the tenant. AREMACO has not attempted to collect from the tenant required fees for the early termination of the contract. AREMACO failed to perform property inspections as required. Discussion: AREMACO representatives did provide two pictures (Electronic e-mailed JPEG's) of the front of the property in June of 2013, However upon my inspection on 27 July, 2013, I found major roof damage to the property that needed immediate repair. In looking closer at the earlier provided AREMACO JPEG's of the house, the damage was apparent in the photos. This is conclusive that they did not perform any type of walk around of the property, but merely a "drive by" photo. If they had walked around, they would have at least noticed the roofing shingles on the walkway and driveway along with the collapsed gutter in the back.

Desired Settlement: AREMACO complete their obligation and commitment to the property management contract. AREMACO provide all items and services listed in the problem/complaint. AREMACO return the deposit monies used for the air conditioning repair (to me). AREMACO have their BBB rating dropped or membership rejected.

Business Response: AREMACO, Inc is currently researching this information but due to the upcoming holiday and the work load at the end and beginning of each month, we will not be able to  respond until September 6, 2013.

Business Response: September 9, 2013

**** *********, % Better
Business Bureau

Ref: Complaint # *******  Mr. *** ***** ******

AREMACO, Inc. had provided property management on *** *******, Corpus Christi, Tx., for Mr. *** ******, for several years. On Jun 25, 2013, The tenant at the property notified AREMACO, Inc. that her husband had been diagnosed with cancer and due to his illness they were going to have to break their lease and move out on July 25, 2013.

AREMACO, Inc. made a business decision at this point to terminate our management contract with the owner (Mr. ******) of the property when the current tenant moved out. Per the Management Contract, AREMACO, Inc. notified Mr. ****** by certified letter of our termination, giving him the required 30 day notice. We also notified him
that AREMACO, Inc. would perform the move out inspection, pick up the keys, and be responsible for the final accounting of all monies.

After receiving this written certified notice, Mr. ****** notified AREMACO, Inc. by e-mail that he would be at the property on July 25, 2013 for the move-out inspection. He
stated that he expected at that time to be paid all deposits and any other monies associated with the property. AREMACO, Inc. informed Mr. ****** that July 25th was just for the move-out inspection. Once that is completed, AREMACO, Inc. must prepare the necessary paperwork explaining to both the Tenant and the Owner the disbursement of any funds. The TAA lease specifies up to 30 days for the completion and disbursement of these funds.

Mr. ****** notified us that 30 days was not acceptable and that he expected final accounting to be expedited and completed by the end of business on July 26, 2013. He stated he wanted the tenant’s security deposit and all monies placed immediately into his account at **** **** Credit Union so he could make his house payment. Mr.
****** then stated that if we could not comply with those deadlines he wanted to take over his own management immediately. He stated he needed a copy of the lease for the tenant. We told him that in order to immediately terminate the management agreement we needed him to sign a Termination Notice which he stated that upon receipt he would sign and return and asked us to immediately deposit all monies into his account. We complied with Mr. ******’s demands and e-mailed him the 6 page lease, the Termination of the Management Agreement,  released all monies into his account, and provided him with the tenant’s contact information. We gave all responsibilities regarding move out and final accounting to Mr. ******. Mr. ****** received 100% of the tenant’s Security Deposit ($950.00), plus Pet Fee ($200.00), less an outstanding
air conditioning repair bill of $95.00, for a total of $1,055.00 which was deposited into his account on July 11, 2013.

When we spoke to Mr. ****** regarding the termination of the lease he stated he wanted a full month’s rent and a late charge. When AREMACO, Inc. received the tenant’s check for pro-rated rent thru July 25, 2013, we contacted Mr. ****** and asked him if he wanted to accept this check. He responded that he did not want to accept
this pro-rated check. We notified the tenant. They immediately stopped payment on the check they had sent. Therefore, AREMACO, Inc. had no rent monies to send
to Mr. ******.

AREMACO, Inc. upheld all aspects of our agreement with Mr. ****** and complied with all his demands. Mr. ****** has yet to return the Management Termination form, as he had agreed to sign on our July 11, 2013 phone conversation.

**** ****
Manager

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The information in the response from AREMACO is not true or accurate.  AREMACO never received an e-mail from me requesting I take over the property management nor have them deposits funds into my account.  Also AREMACO has still not provided the billing statement for the work that was not authorized on the HVAC.  Sadly they keep using the tenants health as an issue to perform bad business practices. One time it is the wife that has cancer, the next time I hear it is the husband.  They did not answer the complaint of not providing requested documentation.  AREMACO has not explained using the tenants monies to pay for a repair. Again AREMACO is showing how much they are lacking trust as service provider.

Please see the attached picture of the house that AREMACO employees took from a car window (that is a what a property inspection from AREMACO consists of) and note the missing shingles from the roof (zoom in on the right peak).  I was never ever informed of the house damage due to severe weather.  I live hundreds of miles away.  I paid a property manager to ensure my property was being properly taken care of.  It was not.

Please see the e-mail below.  I would love to see the request that I never made for the actions taken below. 

Please have Ms. **** answer all of the complaint and provide supporting documentation to her answers.

*** ******

 

 

From: Aremaco Property Management <*********************>

Date: Thu, Jul 11, 2013 at 9:40 AM

Subject: To Mr. ****** from Aremaco

To: "**********" <*******************>

Dear Mr. ******,

Per your requests, we are terminating our management this date, and submitting final paperwork for your signature. Under separate cover as of this date, we are depositing all of the funds we have for tenant's security deposit ($950.00), plus pet fee ($200.00), less $95.00 A/C repair, for a total of $1,055.00, into your **** ******* Account. Since you required tenant to pay $1400.00 for July rent, they have stopped their partial July payment. You can contact Mr. and Mrs. **** ******* at ************ and make arrangements for their July rental payment to come directly to you. The tenants will also arrange a time to give you their keys and go over their final move-out inspection date. 

Sincerely,

**** ****

AREMACO, Inc.

**** ***** ***** ***

****** ******** ** *****

************ Office

****** *********************

 

Business Response: The information listed in AREMACO, Inc's last response is accurate. Attached is Mr. ******** e-mail instructing AREMACO, Inc. to deposit funds into his account (attachment
#1), which he stated he never told us to do.

Also attached (attachment #2) is Mr. ******** e-mail acknowledging his telephone conversation with AREMACO, Inc. (*******) in which he told her he was taking over his own management. Per Mr. ******'s phone request, ******* e-mail Mr. ****** confirming AREMACO, Inc's management termination and included a Change in Management form for Mr. ****** to sign and return and, the Lease information (attachments 3 & 4).

Mr. ****** accused AREMACO, Inc. of using the tenant's Security Deposit to pay for an emergency A/C repair of $95.00. Again this is not true. Attached is a copy of the funds deposited into Mr. ******'s bank account. This deposit shows Mr. ****** recieved 100% of the tenants Security Deposit. The $95.00 repair came out of the non refundable pet fee which is Mr. ******'s money (attachment #5).

Additionally, since Mr. ****** cannot locate his copy of the A/C invoice, attached is another copy of a legitimate and necessary emergency repair (attachment #6).

And finally, the photo, that Mr. ****** admits to having, was taken and sent to him to show him the condition of the house and roof. He was made aware of the damage.

As you can see from the attached documentation, AREMACO, Inc. did perform up to it's responsibilities and their agreement with Mr. ****** but Mr. ****** has yet to live up to his agreement to return the signed Change of Management form.

**** ****
Office Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aremaco property management company was notified of foundation issues that slowly went from bad to worst during our leasing of a property through this company. It was stated that if we resigned that it would be fixed as to not up root our family. We completed 2 full years of contract with this company as they continued to collect our money and not address the foundation matter. In the last half year I communicated to aremaco that my concerns were for the safety of my children as I have moved furniture and carpets in this near 2000 square foot home to prevent them from cutting their feet on the broken tile throughout this home. I did let them know that I would contact the better business Bureau if this was not addressed as I felt the home owner may not even be aware of this matter. Time was taken from work on more than a handful of occations so that I could make the home available for foundation companies to view the matter as arranged by aremaco in the last few months of our residency there. Some of which they were a no show. This matter was never resolved and as stated in my more than 30 day notice this home was no longer a safe environment for my family to live. During our stay there the stove became in need of repair to the top panel. Aremaco rep stated a work order was placed. No repair occured. Upon move out aremaco replaced this unit with a new oven in the amount of 915 dollars and mailed me the bill. Yet it was good enough for me to use for more than 8 full months. During our stay there I saw smoke coming from an air vent in the ceiling. A neighboring fireman was retrieved by me. I confirmed with him that this was not an emergency. He stated that it would be good to let the property management company know what I saw just in case they wanted to check it out. I did this. It was not until almost 24 hours later that I was surprised by an ac repair man whom checked out the unit. This occured in early march of 2013. It was in late july of 2013 that I was charge by aremaco for that repair call. It is stated otherwise in our lease. Upon me trying to find resolutions aremaco reps have raised their voices and become very disrespectful towards me. Often railroading telephone conversations and one time announcing from across the room how to spell their name when I asked them their name.It was neither quiet nor professional. Aremaco did not provide me with the last 3 days of our scheduled lease weekend as I paid for and planned for the necessary cleaning of the home in which I also paid for electricity as cleaning was planned for that time by a professional. Aremaco charged us over 650 dollars in cleaning services. My husband mowed, weedeated and edged the yard just before the ending walkthrough and aremaco charged us for this not being done. Aremaco charged us in the amount of 425 dollars for normal wear and tear for nail holes and the cost of 2 new toilet seats plus 1 new shower rod which were in the same condition as provided to us. Aremaco stated that the bathroom counters were broken as to charge us for the caulking of the bathroom. When a copy of the final walkthrough was requested as my husband was present for aremaco informed me that I was not entitled to this. Currently we have a neutral party for a quick resolution and if one is not found then we will seek legal representation and go to court. It is unfortunate that business is run in this manner.

Desired Settlement: For deductions of our refundable deposits be for the cleaning of the home and carpets as stated in the lease. For deduction of 50 dollars from the refundable deposit for the stove as a work order was placed. It is stated in our lease that when the tenant informs the office that repair is needed that the tenent is responsible for 50 dollars. In the matter of the ac no payment is due from us as we did not request service and if service was given it was on behalf of Aremaco which should be done for a property management company. The yard should not be charged to us as we provided this. There is no charge for normal wear and tear. I have read through all codes of 92.101- 92.109. The total of 425 shows to not be a charge to us under this area for normal wear and tear.

Business Response:

In regards to the BBB complaint filed on August 3, 2013 by the Fry's,
A move out meeting was conducted with Mr. *** and all damages were listed and acknowledged and initialed by Mr. *** and he signed acknowledging that they would be charged for the damages. Normally that would be the end of it but in order to be totally fair, **** **** the Office Manager, reviewed the charges to the Tenant and interpreted them in the most favorable light to the Tenant's. Below are her findings;


1 In regards to the A/C service call of 3/16/2013 that resulted in a no problem finding, the TAA Lease dictates that the Tenant is responsible for the first $50 of this service charge. Therefore we will reduce the $90 charge to $50.
2. We will waive the $40 mowing charge.
3. Due to the neglected and dirty condition of the property, to which Mr *** acknowledged and signed, the $476.30 cleaning charges will remain.
4. Although Mr. *** admitted to breaking the glass control panel on the stove, we will allow a reduction of $261 for depreciation.
5. Additionally, should the ***** agree to this settlement, we will agree to deduct the charges for the damaged and broken items of $425.
This would result in a reduction, if the ***** agree, of final charges due to AREMACO, Inc of $131.16, down from $896.86.
This is our only offer. Should the ***** elect to not accept this offer then we will re-institute the $425 damages from broken and damaged items and pursue the collection of these charges through normal legal procedures.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Master bathroom toliet still has problem running through out the day and night. Microwave does not work but half the time. Air Conditioner went out on Saturday at 10:30 AM. Did not get get the air conditioner fixed until Wed at 1:05 PM. Wife and grandchildren 6-7yrs. old were visiting for the 4th of July weekend. Was informed that the air conditioner repairman was to show up at 8:00AM on Monday. They waited all day in a house that was 97 degrees for the repairman. Aremaco never informed me that they were not going to show up because of paperwork that Aremaco had to do. Was forced to move to hotel for two nights and eat out because the home was not livable. Then return on Wed to wait for the repairman to repair the AC.

Desired Settlement: Repair toliet, Replace microwave or repair. Compensate for the hotel lodging and food and deduct rent for the 4 and a half days that the home was not livable.

Business Response:

I have been out of town for the past two weeks and just recieved your request on the 31st. You provided a 10 day response time from the 24th, which falls on the weekend of the 3rd. I respectfully request a 3 day extension to the response time until the 6th so I can properly investigate this compaint. I appreciate your consideration of this time extension and will provide you with an appropriate response by the 6th.
Sincerely,
**** ****
AREMACO, Inc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this extension of time for a response is satisfactory to me. But nothing has been resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:
**** *** *****

The owner of the above house has a Home Warranty Protection Plan which covers all appliances, systems, air and heat. Therefore when Mr. ***** called AREMACO, Inc. on Saturday, July 6, 2013, regarding an air conditioning issue, AREMACO, Inc had to contact *** ******** Home Warranty. They in turn assigned the service request to thier certified A/C company, ***** ***. *** ******** told AREMACO, Inc that ***** *** would be contacting the tenants to assess the problem. AREMACO, Inc. contacted the tenants and informed them of this. On Sunday, July 7, ***** *** went to the property and determined a new unit was needed. On Monday, July 8, *** ******** approved the replacement and provided the authorization to ***** *** who then ordered out a new unit. ***** *** received and installed the new unit on the morning of July 10, 2013.

This same procedure was followed when Mr. ***** reported a plumbing problem except the service company assigned by *** ******** was **** Plumbing which quickly addressed and handled the problem. And when the microwave malfuntioned, *** ******** again assigned a maintenance company and the problem was resolved.

Mr. ***** is asking for compensation for his hotel and food expenses. According to the TAA residential lease that Mr. ***** agreed to and signed, under paragraph 8 (Insurance), a tenant is required to buy and maintain renter's insurance to handle these situations. Mr. ***** needs to contact his insurance company for any such compensation.

When Home Warranties are in place, AREMACO, Inc does not have the authority to dictate what procedures they follow or the companies that they use to address warranty issues, but it appears that these issues were handled quickly and properly.

Sincerely, 

**** ****
Manager

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
   
In regards to my response of I am rejecting this response because.

1. The company was informed at 10:30 AM on 7/6/13 that the A/C was not working. Waited at the home for the repair guy to show up to fix the A/C. ****** the repairman showed up at 4:30 PM he was there for about a hour. He said that the coils had frozen and it should be fixed.

However, ****** informed me that he would come back at 2:00 PM on 7/7/13 and check the A/C. ****** showed up and at that time informed me that the A/C needed to be replaced and that the unit has had quite a bit of work done to it prior. ****** informed me that ***** *** would be out 7/8/13 at 9:00 AM and replace the A/C.

2.  7/8/13 wife and grandchildren waited at the house waiting for ***** *** to replace the A/C. AREMACO never called my wife or I to inform us that ***** *** would not be out because AREMACO had to do some paperwork. ***** *** informed us that they were getting everything together and that they would be out to replace the A/C. Later that day was informed that AREMACO had not finished the paperwork and that the A/C would not be replaced until 7/10/13 at 9:00 AM.

3. ***** *** came out at 9:00 AM and replaced the A/C and was finished with the job at 12:30 PM.

**** **** of AREMACO stated that I should use my renters insurance. I called the insurance company. They do not cover loss due to failure of A/C units. They cover natural disasters, fire, thief and injuries on property. 

**** also stated that the microwave was fixed. I would like to see the work order on that. I sent a request to repair or replace the microwave via fax to Vanessa no response. Per the lease I sent a certified letter requesting repair or replace the microwave. To date I have had no response.

**** also stated that the toilet was repaired. It was fixed that it will now fill back up with water. However, now the toilet runs about every hour. Also sent a faxed letter requesting repair of toilet. No response. Sent request per lease certified letter and to date no response.     

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

As was previously pointed out, this property is covered by a Home Warranty Package serviced by *** ********. Therefore, when a tenant notifies us of a maintenance request, it is turned over to the Owner's Home Warranty Company, which in this case is *** ********, and from then on it is out of our hands. *** ******** notifies and sends it's designated service company to handle the problem. We have absolutely no contact with or control over these service companies and any further contact regarding this maintenance problem is between the tenant and the service company.
We will notify the home owner of the tenants dissatisfation with *** ********'s designated service company.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The Microwave does not work but maybe half the time. The toliet runs on its own just about every hour. What part of that do you not understand? Show me the work orders or anything else that will prove that you have talked with the home owner about the Microwave and the toliet You are in breach of the lease contract. NOT forgetting that you are charging me for four days for the home that I could not live in. That you will not compensate me for the hotel rooms that I had to live at because the home was over 97 degrees and not livable. Not to mention waiting for the repair man for the days and one day that he did not even show up as was scheduled because the company did not do the required paperwork. 

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The home I had rented from Aremaco ****** ********* ****** ****** ******** ** ****** was is need of a/c repairs, floor repairs, and window repairs, in which were not completed correctly. I had followed the proper procedures they had requested in the contract agreement. Calls were made to the leasing office (mulitple witness's of my calls) or emails were sent to the leasing office (which I have on file), requesting the certain repairs needed to be done. At first it seemed that the repairs were a concern of theirs and they sent a maintenance individual out to complete the repairs. The repairs were not done correctly, and over and over again and I had to call the leasing office. This was mid-summer and the a/c was colling between 82 to 90 degress, depending on what side of the house you were on (pictures can be provided if needed). The a/c ran 24/7 and this is not an exaggeration. After the maintenance man had been out there the 3rd or 4th time, and saw how hot the house was, with my three children inside, during the heat of the summer, he felt bad for us and stated to me that the leasing company was not going to fix the problem and that he was there just to shut me up. The unit outside was apparently to small for the house, they had convereted the garage into a living area and the unit could not keep up with the house. Aside from the a/c unit the windows in my children's room were in need of repair as well, the glass was falling out of the frame of the window, leaving sharp open edges. Their was solution was a thick line of silicon, and even at that it was not sealed correctly and there were still sharp open edges (picture can be proivded if needed), and this was a safety concern of mine for my children. Also the grout keep dislodging from between the tiled floor and we were constanlty stepping on grout that had surfaced onto the tile, which is very uncomfortable to step on with bare feet (pictures can be provided if needed). When I told them I was leaving from the house I had 2 months left on my lease and I had a letter stating why, when I arrived at the leasing office and showed the agent (*****) he refused to sign stating that they were aware of the problems and asked that if they fixed the problems would I stay, I asked them why should I believe them now I had been asking them for months and it had never been resolved. Many family memebers and friends were there to witness the problems I was having either getting the problems fixed or even getting in touch with someone from the leasing office. I paid my rent on time and had even paid a month in advance, I believe I was not being treated fairly or even taken seriously because I was a single mother. I believe Aremaco had taken advantage of my children and myself.

Desired Settlement: I want the final bill they are charging me for to be dissolved and removed from my credit.

Business Response: To begin, tenant signed a TAA lease to run from December, 2010 thru December, 2011. The Tenant's did not fulfill their lease and moved out in October, 2011. They were therefore charged for the balance of their lease, November and  December, 2011, plus the cost of reletting. The tenant was also charged for not leaving the home and carpets in a clean condition. Shortly after the tenant moved out, a written description of her Security Deposit Deductions was mailed to  her with a letter from the Management Company stating if the tenant had any questions to call us (copy attached). We stated that we needed to hear from her within 30 days to avoid any further actions on our part. Not hearing we filed  against her for the amount owed. Obviously, at the time of her move out,  she had no problem. Now, 18 months later, when she finds that she must clear her debts prior to buying something, she suddenly has all these issues. 
 
As to her issues, it is difficult, if not impossible, to verify any supposed problems after this length of time. The tenant admitted in their letter that the management company sent independent contractors on numerous occations to take care of her requests. She now, she suddenly complains that the air conditioner, at some time, was showing 82 degrees. We can only take her word on that. Even if you assume it is correct, any air conditioner professional will say that a 20 degree variants is about all an air conditioner can provide. With the outside temperature in excess of 100 degrees, this is about all any unit would provide. However, we have had the home rented for much of the time since she moved out and we have not had any complaints.
 
Regarding her being treated unfairly because of her gender and familiar status, ridiculous. We are a women owned company staffed by mostly women, most of whom are single mothers. We rented to her based on income and credit, not on her sex or status.
 
The facts show the outstanding charges are legitimate and can be quickly removed from her credit report by her paying for the balance due that she incurred thru her actions. Personal responsibility will not only solve this problem but would
have initially avoided them.
 
Sincerely,
**** ****
*******

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I feel that we were not taken seriously.  That me and my children had to suffer through the a/c conditions, the unsafe window and the grout concerns, and their dismal attempts to correct the issues.  Yes I do understand that this company is woman owned company, and this I found out after I did a little research on my own.  I was told at one point throughout the whole a/c issue,  that this rental company was trying to get in touch with the owner to see what actions were going to be taken in regards to fixing the a/c, this took weeks.  I got to the point of a little investigating of my own and found out that this property was owned by the rental agency and there was no individual OWNER that needed to be contacted.  I was left on the back burner, and that I feel was wrong.  How is it that the property I live in currently, which IS OWNED by a local man who OWNS a local a/c company here in Corpus Christi, the a/c cools just fine, house stays at 75 degrees even when the temperature last summer was WAY UP OVER 100 degrees.  Please explain this to me as  I would love to hear this answer.  And I have asked my current landlord and he states that a house that cools only 20 degrees over the temp outside is incorrect, and that something is wrong with the unit, and he is a licensed A/C technician, kinda funny how that worked out...huh.   I do not feel that as a tenant I was taken care of, as someone who paid their rent in a timely manner I was not taken seriously.  They sent someone out to appease me not to fix the issue.  So they admit, they state in their letter,  that the house would only cool over 20 degrees over the temp the outside, which I know is incorrect because any house I have lived in before and where I currently live, my friend's homes, my family's homes, not a one cools AT ONLY 20 degrees below the temp outside, this is the most ridiculous thing I have heard. 

Yes I signed a contract agreement, I know this, I am not ignorant.  But I ask myself how this management agency thinks that I should be tied to a contract, a property, that they did not maintain, a property that they did not fullfil their obligation by correcting the issues that I continusly asked them to correct.  How do you expect to keep collecting money from someone whom is dissatisfied with your service and they not get tired of the run around?  I was so pleased to get away from this property and this agency that I just left, yes I did, anyone would.  The house was not left in terrible condition, I cleaned it before I left.  My deposit was used towards the cleaning services after I moved I understand that.  I just do not feel that the 2 months plus reletting is fair and appropriate.  Why do they feel that I have to comply with their contract agrrement when they didn't?

In their letter thay state that why did I not contact them once I left with any questions, why would I, they did not take me serious when I was a paying tenant, why would they then?  And trying to clear my debts prior to buying something, I love how they assume this, that is not the case.  Everyone is allowed a free credit report every year and this is how I found this, NOT THAT IT IS ANY OF THEIR BUSINESS.  Their letter also states that I suddenly now complain of the a/c not working, NO........INCORRECT.......I COMPLAINED WHEN I LIVE THERE, I just complained on deaf ears apparently.  And no its not just my word to take, its my family and friends, and pictures.  Why are the current tenants not complaining, guess we have to take their word on that or maybe they finally fixed the issue, whose to say?

 

********* ******

Business Response: Ref#*******
The facts of this case are that the tenant broke a legal binding rental contract and failed to pay the last two months on their contract resulting in delinquent rents, reletting fees, and make ready expenses. The tenant was notified in writing of the charges assessed and given an opportunity to respond within a reasonable time frame. The tenant choose not to respond or challenge the charges. Now, 18 months later, tenant has choosen to file a complaint with BBB making claims and charges that at this late date are unverifiable and therefore irrelevant. The management company sent several contractors to respond to all of the tenants maintenance requests and were of the belief that the issues had been addressed and corrected. The management company strives to provide tenants with a safe, clean and well maintained home for thier families to enjoy and our record supports this claim.

However, to help resolve this issue and arrive at an acceptable resolution, and, as a show of good faith, the management company will clear all the tenants outstanding charges if the tenant will agree to pay the owed November and December, 2011 rents for a total of $2,398.00. If the tenant is unwilling to accept this offer, we have no alternative but to leave all charges in place until tenant pays in full.

**** ****
*******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: 9483201

I am rejecting this response because:

This is not just my belief that there were issues with the home, it is fact.  Aremaco states that they sent multiple contractors out to correct the issues I had brought to their attention and yet they were not corrected to an acceptable living condition standard that they should have been.  In regards to the air conditioner problems, which is the most important issue at hand, I had complained numerous times in which they sent a contractor out everytime but it was never fixed.  I had started taking picture once I realized that this was going to be a problem, my pictures start 07/05/2011 and end 9/27/2011 right about the time I decided that I had to leave, my pictures are dated and time stamped.  For over three months my children and I dealt with the horrid temperatures that made it impossible to enjoy coming home at night.  Aremaco seems to keep bringing up that I broke the contract I had with them, what about their clause 31 RESPONSIBILITIES OF OWNER  #1 that states "we'll act with customary diligence to: maintain fixtures, hot water, heating and A/C equipment?  What about #2 substantially comply with all applicable laws regarding safety, sanitation, and fair housing?  I have a pictures taken 10/06/2011, after they so called fixed the glass windows in my childs room, the glass edges were still exposed, leaving a safety hazard for my children, THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIXED CORRECTLY THE FIRST TIME!!  And I have pictures also taken on 10/06/2011 of the grout that kept losening up and surfacing, this should have been corrected the first time as well, let me tell you it is not fun stepping on that stuff.  I also have a picture taken 10/06/2011 of a portion of the wall, up by the front door, that had been worked on months prior to me leaving, and it still had not been fixed (a portion of the wall, roughly 3' x 3' had been removed along with the base base board, the leak was fixed but they never came back to fix the wall, no paint nor did they put the baseboard back on, it sat up againt the wall for months).  Why should I have to comply with the contract if they did not?  They state that they sent several contractors out to fix the issues, so therefore they knew of the issues (not beliefs, my pictures do not lie), yet they were not fixed.  They never replied to my email sent August 4th, 2011 at 8:46 a.m., where I begged them to come sit in my house and suffer the heat with me.  All my calls that I had made, they never seemed concerned, if they did they would have fixed the unit, the windows, the grout and the repair next to the front door.  I believe that they failed against their own clause 31!!  My rent was current, I just wanted the be comfortable when I got home from work and for months never was, nor did they care.  I tried to give Aremaco my final written notice which I have here typed up on my computer, date and time, stamped and printed, but when I went to their office and confronted Caleb (the agent whom had helped me rent the property), he did not seem to be bothered.


My cries to get the issues at the home corrected were not handled like they should have been.  I do not feel that I owe that last 2 months, because for over 3 months I was shorted comfortable living conditions.


********* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service