Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

April Realty

Phone: (512) 442-6500 Fax: (512) 442-5892 5815 W William Cannon Dr Ste 102, Austin, TX 78749 http://www.aprilrealtyservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that April Realty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for April Realty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on April Realty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 1994 Business started: 06/01/1989 in TX Business started locally: 06/01/1989 Business incorporated 07/27/1989 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Allen, President Amy Borowski, VP Ms. Lucy A Borowski, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Allen, President
Customer Contact: Amy Borowski, VP
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
April Realty Services, Incorporated

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

April Realty has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5815 W William Cannon Dr Ste 102

    Austin, TX 78749

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a house in Austin Texas from this company for over a year. I am not sure of the specific dates, but I rented from them for over a year, fulfilling my year-long lease. According to the terms of the lease, after the initial year was up, it changed to a month to month basis. I gave them in writing a 30 notice of vacating the premises according to their company guidelines. I moved out in May of June of 2011. I have since moved out of state and have not rented from them in over 4 years. While checking my credit report, I noticed about 3 maybe 4 months ago that they had turned in a large balance for collection. First, it has been over four years that I have rented from them. Second, if it were to go to collections, it should have gone long before now. I have requested in writing any documents proving that I owe the balance that they claim I owe. I do not owe them any money, and I have had to retain a lawyer to get them to comply with the Fair Credit Reporting Act. To date, I have requested they only respond via United States Postal Service. I have received one phone call from their office just in the last two days.

Desired Settlement: I wish them to remove any balance they claim that I owe from collections, and report it to all 3 of the major credit bureaus.

Business Response: See attached response and copies of letters received.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are trying to cover their bases saying that they did not receive the written notice I gave them vacating the premises.  Fact that it's now over four years since I moved out, it seems a bit shady.  I reject any and all responses from this business unless it is a written notice that they are removing this debt from collections.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: We respectfully request until 10/15/15 to respond. We are reviewing the file to come to a resolution. Thank you. ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I will wait until 10/15/15 for the business to respond.  The only resolution I will accept is the complete removal of this debt that they claim that I owe, which in fact I do not owe.

Regards,

***** *****

4/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a deposit along with pet deposit to the company upon moving into the property along with signing a lease for a year and a half. Upon moving out of the property I provided the company with receipt for professional carpet cleaning and maid services, on Feb 28th. On April 2nd I contacted the company because I still had not received anything about the deposit and the itemized bill for the property for charges they planned to charge me for things they found wrong. Finally in the afternoon of April 2nd I was able to get ahold of someone to fax the itemized list to me in which I found that the company is trying to charge outrageous cost to me that are unjustified. $35 to remove trash, I removed all trash from the property and hired a professional company to clean the house for me $45 to dust, I paid a professional company to clean the house $125.75 Small hole behind the door ? Outrageous charge $78.80 Screen Door ? There was no screen door on the property when I moved in $8.99 Damaged light fixture, there were no damaged light fixtures $87.50 De-Flea ? This was done before move out as I provided the receipt I asked for pictures on April 2nd and the company told me I would have to wait for pictures to be sent to me and they had already mailed out, on April 7th I asked again to find out that company mailed to pictures to the wrong address. The company is now communicating with me trough email but wont just email pictures over to me? Why is this?

Desired Settlement: I understand that some of the charges are true and I am willing to pay the charges out of my deposit that I paid but I don't want to be overcharged and taken advantage of!!!!

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ******** complaint, his Security Deposit Refund and Security Deposit Disposition were mailed out 3/28/2014 to an address provided by Mr. ****** at the bottom of his **** ******* receipt as this was the only forwarding address we received. When Mr. ****** did not receive his Security Deposit Refund and Disposition and contacted us it was discovered that the address he provided was incorrect. It took several days for us to receive this back in the mail due to the incorrect address. In the meantime, Mr. ****** called our office and requested we email him a copy of his Disposition. Once he received this he disputed some of the charges. He also requested we email him the pictures. He was told that the pictures were in the mail to him (we hadn't received them back yet). The pictures are a large file and it is difficult for us to email that large of a file. Per Mr. ******** dispute, the file was reviewed and $125.65 of the $381.04 he disputed was refunded to him. His original Security Deposit Refund and Disposition came back to us and we resent to Mr. ****** at the new address he provided.

At this time, we have not heard back from Mr. ****** and we assume that Mr. ****** is satisfied.

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: the business did send a response but also stated that they would not help with anything more. This is a horrible company and would never recommend or use them again. This company is nothing but fraudsters and should not be in business.

Regards,

***** ******

10/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out of my duplex early, because I had accepted a job in another city. I paid the reletting fee to get out of my lease. I was told by April Realty, **** in general, that I would not be charged for rent as long as I paid the reletting fee. They also informed me that I would be receiving a breakdown of any damages that had occurred within 30 days of me moving out. I have never received any documentation from them at all. I have contacted them several times asking them about it, they informed me it has been sent, and even told me they would send another copy of paperwork. To this day I still have not received any documentation from them. I had several complaints about them when I was still living in the duplex because nothing ever was fixed when I called on it. I had three things I called on at least four times each, and they were never fixed correctly. I was also told that when I moved in the place it would all be freshly painted because the previous tenants had left it completely dirty. It was never painted. Now today, 9-11-13, I receive a call from a collection agency saying I owe April Realty around $1000.00 for damages, but yet I have no idea what damages they are charging me for so I could dispute the charges.

Desired Settlement: I want the charges deleted from my credit report and off April Realty records. I do not believe since I paid the reletting fee, and the security deposit that they can charge me for anything without guaranteeing that I see a list of the charges and giving me ample time to dispute anything they are charging me for. They were poor property managers and have no idea what they are doing.

Business Response: I need to clarify if I have the correct tenant. Our records show for **** ****** **. the tenants to be ****** ******** and ***** ********. Is this the same person and the correct address? We do not manage **** ******. Once I have clarification, I can respond to the complaint. Thank you, ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on April Realty
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart