BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

American National Properties

Phone: (210) 674-4411 Fax: (210) 674-4414 7121 W Us Highway 90 Ste 200B, San Antonio, TX 78227

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American National Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American National Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American National Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated: 10/14/1975 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curtis Middendorf, President/Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis Middendorf, President/Broker
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Liberty National Real Estate Co

Additional Locations

  • 7121 W Us Highway 90 Ste 200B

    San Antonio, TX 78227 (210) 674-4411

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into the house that was under your management in January of 2012 and almost immediately we had problems with the house. the initial complaint was that the master commode was overflowing after URINE was flushed, not feces. We had to wait the weekend with our commode like that because apparently they dont have an answering service that has current phone numbers to get a hold of anyone if there is an emergency. well, after being told REPEATEDLY that our commode overflowed because we needed a plus sized commode because both my husband and I are big people, they finally realized the problem was that the commode was older than me and needed to be replaced. even at that point, the filed with San Antonio Water System to get a FREE commode UNDER MY NAME and that they would have it installed. They also had a work order for my A/C not working that had been NOT WORKING since a few months after we moved in. At that point, we were told that we had the temperature TOO LOW because we are BIG PEOPLE and didnt want to sweat so thats what was causing the problem, was that we had it too low. when the actual property manager came over to see for himself what the problem was, he explained that it was because there was no insulation in the attic, this all happened around May of 2012, so to resolve that he stated that he would have companies come out to do estimates....which never happened. all the while, our house was hotter inside than it was outside. we ended up having to buy a window unit for the house because after being put on the back burner for the central a/c unit being fixed we asked if we could get screens for our windows because since we moved in, there werent any, they refused. after being asked to be reimbursed for the window unit a/c. they refused. all the while, all these problems were being reported and nothing was being done about them. the shower was also leaking into the wall apparently because the adjoining wall had mold. which was never taken care of. Also, we get a call out of the blue that somoene was coming over to install smoke detectors, i said, fine, then we get a bill for them installing smoke detectors. HOW ARE YOU GOING TO CHARGE ME FOR BRINGING YOUR HOUSE UP TO CODE? nothing but problems from the start. so far all these problems, i want my deposit back, $675.00 (my lease expired at the beginning of February of 2013 and was not renewed.

Desired Settlement: i want my deposit returned for ALL OF MY INCONVENIENCES.

Business Response:

AMERICAN NATIONAL PROPERTIES

**** *** ** * *** ***** *** ******* ** ***** ***** ******** ***** ******** ***

******** ********* ********                                                               January 21, 2014

**** **** ****** ***

*** ******* ** *****

Ref: BBB complaint# *******

Dear Sirs:

I would start of by apologizing for a late response to this complaint. I am behind my schedule because of the holidays and tax season. We will not be refunding any deposits to Mrs. Williams. In fact we would like their forwarding so we can mail them itemized bill of what they owe us.

They owe for back rents, previous bills, and damages to the property. They vacated the property on or about 12-18-13. Some of the damages were broken doors, walls, trash left behind, even animal feces on the floor.

As far as there complaint goes, we replaced the master bedroom commode with an oversized one in

February 2012. The hall bath commode was clogged due a ball point pen lodged in it. We did not have issues with these
commodes from the previous tenant.

We did have issues with the air conditioning and we repaired those in April 2012. This house was built in 1965 and could use insulation make over.



         The rents were reasonable at S675.00 a month. We couldn't justify the expense of re insulating the house when Mrs. ******** was late in rents. We sent 3 eviction notices in 2012 and 6 in 2013.

      Once again we apologize for the delayed response. The only resolution to this complaint is Mrs. ******** gives us a forwarding address so we can send her a bill of               what she owes the owner of that home she damaged.

      ******* **********
      CEO Broker

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1