Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American National Properties

Phone: (210) 674-4411 Fax: (210) 674-4414 7121 W Us Highway 90 Ste 200B, San Antonio, TX 78227

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American National Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American National Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American National Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 10/14/1975 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Curtis Middendorf, President/Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis Middendorf, President/Broker
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Liberty National Real Estate Co

Additional Locations

  • 7121 W Us Highway 90 Ste 200B

    San Antonio, TX 78227 (210) 674-4411


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into the house that was under your management in January of 2012 and almost immediately we had problems with the house. the initial complaint was that the master commode was overflowing after URINE was flushed, not feces. We had to wait the weekend with our commode like that because apparently they dont have an answering service that has current phone numbers to get a hold of anyone if there is an emergency. well, after being told REPEATEDLY that our commode overflowed because we needed a plus sized commode because both my husband and I are big people, they finally realized the problem was that the commode was older than me and needed to be replaced. even at that point, the filed with San Antonio Water System to get a FREE commode UNDER MY NAME and that they would have it installed. They also had a work order for my A/C not working that had been NOT WORKING since a few months after we moved in. At that point, we were told that we had the temperature TOO LOW because we are BIG PEOPLE and didnt want to sweat so thats what was causing the problem, was that we had it too low. when the actual property manager came over to see for himself what the problem was, he explained that it was because there was no insulation in the attic, this all happened around May of 2012, so to resolve that he stated that he would have companies come out to do estimates....which never happened. all the while, our house was hotter inside than it was outside. we ended up having to buy a window unit for the house because after being put on the back burner for the central a/c unit being fixed we asked if we could get screens for our windows because since we moved in, there werent any, they refused. after being asked to be reimbursed for the window unit a/c. they refused. all the while, all these problems were being reported and nothing was being done about them. the shower was also leaking into the wall apparently because the adjoining wall had mold. which was never taken care of. Also, we get a call out of the blue that somoene was coming over to install smoke detectors, i said, fine, then we get a bill for them installing smoke detectors. HOW ARE YOU GOING TO CHARGE ME FOR BRINGING YOUR HOUSE UP TO CODE? nothing but problems from the start. so far all these problems, i want my deposit back, $675.00 (my lease expired at the beginning of February of 2013 and was not renewed.

Desired Settlement: i want my deposit returned for ALL OF MY INCONVENIENCES.

Business Response:


**** *** ** * *** ***** *** ******* ** ***** ***** ******** ***** ******** ***

******** ********* ********                                                               January 21, 2014

**** **** ****** ***

*** ******* ** *****

Ref: BBB complaint# *******

Dear Sirs:

I would start of by apologizing for a late response to this complaint. I am behind my schedule because of the holidays and tax season. We will not be refunding any deposits to Mrs. Williams. In fact we would like their forwarding so we can mail them itemized bill of what they owe us.

They owe for back rents, previous bills, and damages to the property. They vacated the property on or about 12-18-13. Some of the damages were broken doors, walls, trash left behind, even animal feces on the floor.

As far as there complaint goes, we replaced the master bedroom commode with an oversized one in

February 2012. The hall bath commode was clogged due a ball point pen lodged in it. We did not have issues with these
commodes from the previous tenant.

We did have issues with the air conditioning and we repaired those in April 2012. This house was built in 1965 and could use insulation make over.

         The rents were reasonable at S675.00 a month. We couldn't justify the expense of re insulating the house when Mrs. ******** was late in rents. We sent 3 eviction notices in 2012 and 6 in 2013.

      Once again we apologize for the delayed response. The only resolution to this complaint is Mrs. ******** gives us a forwarding address so we can send her a bill of               what she owes the owner of that home she damaged.

      ******* **********
      CEO Broker

8/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable