Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

1836 Realty Lending & Property Management

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 507-6300 Fax: (512) 524-1234 1704 1/2 S. Congress Ste E, Austin, TX 78704 http://www.1836propertymanagement.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1836 Realty Lending & Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1836 Realty Lending & Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 27, 2009 Business started: 05/01/2006 in TX Business started locally: 05/01/2006 Business incorporated 06/30/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
http://www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188, Austin TX 78711
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/default.asp
Phone Number: (512) 936-3000
general.delivery@trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matt Leschber, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Leschber, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals Real Estate Loans Real Estate Real Estate Agents Real Estate Consultants

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
1836 Realty 1836 Realty LLC. and Property Management

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1704 1/2 S. Congress Ste E

    Austin, TX 78704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 50494

    Austin, TX 78763 (512) 507-6300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm being charged $308.00 for an icemaker that I did not break. The repair man saw the icemaker would not stop producing ice but said a box in the freezer was the cause. I did not have any boxes on the top shelf. I have tried to explain this to both 1836 and the contractors that they hired, but all I got in return was a certified letter stating that I had to pay to fix the icemaker or late charges would be applied to my rent. I'm a good tenant who pays my rent in full and on time, but anytime something needs to be fixed, he attempts to find reasons that I should be responsible for repairs. A few months ago, my A/C broke. When I told him, he said it would take 3 days to get someone to come repair it. It was over 100 degrees outside. I have 6 kids, one of which has special needs. I payed to have it fixed, but I later found out that the repairman did not properly fix the problem, only temporarily "rigged" it. When the A/C failed again, I called an independent repairman who fixed the A/C properly and informed me that it had failed again due to being "rigged". I told the landlord that I had it fixed, and he informed me that I was responsible for payment because I hired him myself and should have waited for his repair people. Now I am running into the same issue with the ice maker which I am not responsible for breaking and frankly, cannot afford the cost of a new one. I want them to realize that maintenence is part of property management and should be handled in a timely and efficient manner. Last year a tree fell out of the ground and on my husband's car which they wouldnt fix claiming that it was not their responsibility. The carpet has been bad since I moved in 3 years ago (my kids have been injured by the carpet tacks sticking through), and he said he would not replace it because I have children. They sent someone out but only to cut carpet out of the closet and cover the tacks. This place is not a good business and the only reason I have stayed with them this long is because of my credit.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to do the right thing and fix the ice maker. I did not break it. There were no boxes in there to cause the damage. The repair people put my frozen goods back in my freezer after repairing it in a different way than I had it arranged prior to the repair making it appear that I was at fault. There were NO boxes on the top shelf of the freezer (where the ice maker is) prior to the repair.

Business Response: The independent 3rd party vendor determined the damage to be caused by the tenant. This was documented with a photograph. The lease provides the owner the sole discretion of making repairs and states that those caused by the tenant may be required to be paid in advance. The standardized TAR lease is in place and this is not the only item report by the tenant that is the tenants responsibility. The tenant has been notified that repairs will be made on 10/1/13 and they will have until 11/1/13 to pay the bill for damages determined to be their responsibility.

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was the first person to send in my application for a place, and they also wanted me to send in a cashiers cheque for the deposit and the application fee overnight, that costed be $65 to do. Once they processed my application, they told me to wait while they look at the other applications - like what? You already took it off the market, you already took my couple thousand dollar deposit, and now I'm just going to be on hold? Then it gets worse when they ask me if I want to "increase" my bid. like WHAT? You listed the place for a set amount of money, and now you are turning this into the "tenant wars" whereas at first you state that you will choose "the most qualified tenant" and now it's "the most qualified tenant who is going to pay the most money". The way these people operate is immoral, they have no code of business ethics and will do whatever possible to make sure they are getting as much money as possible out of you, all the while willing to screw you if you're not willing to play "bidding wars". The company gave me my cashier's cheque for the deposit back, however refused to reimburse me for the $65 cost to overnight the check, which was sent at their request. They also did not refund me my application fee. I was the most qualified tenant, and the first tenant to submit my application for this property. I would request a refund of $65 for the cost to overnight the check, and $25 for the application fee as the company decided to increase the rental price of the property after advertising it for a specific amount, this was not agreed to when I submitted my application nor check deposit. I did everything possible to secure the place while 1836 realty was trying to get me to increase my "bid" which is inevitbly why I did not get the property since the other potential tenant went behind 1836 realty and went straight to the landlord to negotiate the cost of the rent.

Desired Settlement: 1. Apology on how the situation was handled 2. Refund of $25 for the application itself 3. Refund of $65 to reimburse me for the cost to overnight the deposit per your request

Business Response: As stated at the complainant's original request for information the property was listed as best qualified applicant. The applicant/complainant was represented by a state licensed real estate agent. Our responsibility is to obtain and secure the best possible applicant/tenant and pricing/terms for our client, the owner. Our fiduciary interest is required by state law. 

As discussed prior the applicant was not the most qualified applicant and the application states that application fees are non-refundable. This is not only standard practice in Texas but stated on the paperwork the applicant signed. The deposit and hold form states that the property will be held when and IF an application is accepted. This application was not accepted. Until it is accepted all parties have the option to counter offer or change the terms just as with a sale. All of this is in writing on the application papers the applicant signed and/or state law.

While rejection may be difficult for to take, the applicant did not have the best application, was not the best applicant and did not make the best offer, thus was not selected. I personally reviewed the details at the applicants prior request.

The cost of overnighting the applications and funds are the applicants responsibility as part of the process. If the applicant lived locally they would not have incurred the overnight mail fee thus it was not required but a result of their geographic location and decision. We did refund their security deposit as stated and required.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

Really? So the other tenant made more than $140k/year in income? In this case it was not your decision to find the most qualified applicant, ultimately the decision was made by the landlord once he chose to lease to the other tenant. This was not a fair playing field. Furthermore you guys asked for an increased rent bid, beyond the advertised rent for the property, this is misleading and false advertising. 

The application was overnighted per your request to "secure" the property. If you informed me upfront that I would not secure the property by being the first one to send you a deposit for the property then I likely would not have rushed it overnight.

Regardless of everything above, this still comes down to bad business practices, with the fact you run a firm that seems to condone misleading statements and false advertising.

Regards,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on 1836 Realty Lending & Property Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)