BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers class jewelry products and graduation announcements.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Commemorative Brands, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Commemorative Brands, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 7
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 36

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 06/01/1913 in RI Business started locally: 06/01/1913 Business incorporated: 12/12/1996 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Clyde Walls, VP of Legal Affairs Jerry Ellis, V P Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Clyde Walls, VP of Legal Affairs
Business Category

Product Sales - General Jewelry Manufacturers Jewelers - Retail

Products & Services

Commemorative Brands, Inc. sells the following brand(s): See Trade Names

Commemorative Brands, Inc. offers the following product(s): Championship Rings, Class Rings, Diplomas, Graduation Announcements, Military Rings, Professional Rings

Method(s) of Payment
Cash; Checks; Visa; Master Card; Discover, American Express
Alternate Business Names
Balfour Austin

Additional Locations

  • 7211 Circle S Rd

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 440-2203 (512) 996-9082 (800) 225-3687

  • PO Box 149107

    Austin, TX 78714

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 444-0571(Phone)
  • (512) 996-9082(Phone)
  • (800) 225-3687(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deposit placed on high school championship rings in January 2013 in the amount of $720.00 has not been returned.

Desired Settlement: Full deposit refund

Business Response:

****,

 

                My apologies for the delay getting something posted, ***** suggested I email you directly.

 

I have confirmation the sales rep, coach and customer have coordinated and returned the check so all should be resolved. Please let us know if that is not the case, but again all should be resolved as of a couple weeks ago. Thank you and again sorry for the posting delay.

 

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Thank you.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a class ring from an agent of Balfour on 10/31/13. The price that was agreed upon was in the amount of $504.29 with a down payment of $168.10 and 2 more payments due in December and January in the amount of $168.10. I signed the contract and am in receipt of the copy of this contract. The first payment, (aka the deposit), was taken out of my account on 11/07/13. Due to financial hardship and rent being due the beginning of the month, I called around 12/04/13 regarding changing the payment due date from the 7th of the month to the 20th of the month and was told this was no problem. However, on the 12th of the month my account was charged without being notified that Balfour decided to change the agreed upon due date from the 20th to the 12th causing my account to become overdrawn because I was unaware they changed the due date. Upon calling on 12/16/13 to inquire as to why the date was changed I was informed the ring had shipped out early and they needed the second payment before it could ship out. I asked why I was not informed because now my account would become overdrawn the gentleman said he would look into it and get back to me. When he called back he explained the same thing again but was unsure as to why I was not notified. He also informed me my remaining 2 payments would indeed come out of the 20th of the following months. I explained I only had 1 remaining payment according to the contract I had signed and he informed me the salesperson did not properly calculate the amount of the merchandise on 10/31 and upon review they added an additional payment onto my agreement. This is unacceptable and poor business practice. I have a signed contract for the amount of 3 payments of 168.10 no more. I refuse to pay anymore than these 3 payments and feel they are in violation of this contract. They have poor communication and do not notify their customers of any changes/issues that arise.

Desired Settlement: I refuse to pay more than the 3 payments of 168.10. I expect them to honor the sign contract that I am in possession of. Due to their inadequate business practice I incurred expenses to my bank because of their failure to notify me when they changed my due date. Now I am expected to pay more than what I agreed to because their salesperson did not add properly? I expect to be charged $168.10 on 01/20/14 and no more!

Business Response: We appreciate ****** reaching out and we understand the frustration. Due to the poor communication and inconvenience created we certainly will honor the $504.29 price. We have credited the account so that the total amount owed at this time is $173.11 and it will be broken out with two final payments one in January for $86.55 and the final payment in February for $86.55.   Please call our customer service with any questions as notes have been placed on your account. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2013, I completed a hard-copy form from ********, ordering a 300 game bowling ring. I then contacted ******** on September 5, 2013 to pay for my requested upgrades. Since the form was a color copy, I was not able to retain a copy of what I had ordered. My order was read back to me and the representative misread my request for CZ Zenith Stone Inset ($50) and I was told I ordered a 10K Yellow Panel ($75). Since this is a once-in-a lifetime achievement, I did not have experience in ordering this type of ring, the order was processed and my credit card charged. Two weeks after the charge, I was notified by my credit card company that my card was used in Ohio, South Dakota and a few other states. My card was cancelled and I contacted both the **** and ******** to let them know they have a possible leak in their credit card system (I did not use the card after that purchase, since I was close to my credit limit). I received my ring on 10-25-2013, with the wrong panel and the inclosed invoice received with my order, does not itemize the charges, just gives a total. \I notified ********, to which the response was "****, Congratulations on your recent 300 Honor score. I had the call pulled and the signet panel in 10kt plus the total amount of the order ($110.00) was approved at the time the order was placed. However, we can change the top to the requested Zenith with CZ. The repair charge would be $50 plus the cost of the new top($50.00) plus $14.95 shipping fee minus the cost of the 10K Gold Panel $75.00 for a total due of $54.90. $50.00 (Repair Charge)+$50.00 (CZ Zenith Top)+ $14.95 (Shipping Fee)-$75.00 (10K Gold Panel)=$54.90 Total due.

Desired Settlement: I just want what I ordered, and seeing as how they initiated the mistake by improperly reading my written order, I don't see how I am liable for the repair charge of $50. The panel I ordered is $25 less than what I received, so I should be credited that towards return shipment.

Consumer Response: I received a phonecall from ****** (rep of the company in
question) and they are willing to repair my ring without cost to me ("call
it even on any addtional charges"). I am happy with this resolution and
will return-ship my ring for repair. I will wait until I receive the repairs
prior to closing this complaint.

 

Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent the ******* Company my 1959 North Texas State College ring to them to be redone. I talked to a lady that said it would be with a new stone. I received it back with the stone, but the ring was still the same. I was charged $188.61. I sent the ring back after talking to them and they agreed to rebuild the ring as was originally requested. This time I paid an additional 110.91. They wanted an additional $175.00, but agreed to do it for half the price. When I received it back the second time, It was excellent. They could have done this the first time. Including shipping and handling, I was out $314.46 on service that according to them that should have been $203.56. This does not take into consideration that I paid to ship it back an extra time or shipped it to them twice.

Desired Settlement: I was out about $120.00 more than I should have been. If I received $100.00 that would be great. I would be surprised if I ever hear from them.

Business Response: Mr. ****,

                Thank you for your time and for the detailed information. In hindsight after reviewing the repair history and eventual remaking of a new ring for you we feel it is only fair to apply some of your repair payment to the cost in making your new ring since the repair was not to your complete satisfaction. We will be aplying a $110 credit back to your credit card and you should see that credit applied back to your card in the next 6-8 business days. We hope you are wearing your rng proudly for all the memories and achievement it symbolizes for you.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought college class ring in 1991 w/lifetime warranty. Company refuses to repair and wants to sell me a brand new ring at $175 I purchased a class ring from Arizona State University and ARTCARVED company in 1991. I have sent the ring back to ARTCARVED once to repair the shank of the ring which had worn through and cracked. I returned the ring, with the same problem, in June, 2013, to Balfour company, which had purchased ARTCARVED, or merged, or something. Anyway, Balfour now tells me that they won't repair the ring as they "can't guarantee that it won't break again" and will only sell me a brand new college class ring for $175 plus tax. That's ridiculous and not honoring my original lifetime warranty with my class ring that I bought. I do not wish to have a new ring. I have sentimental value in my old ring. It seems a shady practice to take my gold ring (which is worth probably more to the company to melt it down and re-use it, so they are making money on that deal) and give me another ring, WHILE CHARGING ME FOR IT!! Gee, they make money off my gold I've sent them (and stone) and then charge me for a new ring, which I don't want. For giggles, before I sent it in to Balfour, I had my local jeweler give me an estimate for repairing the shank and it was $80 (including tax).

Desired Settlement: Fix my original ring. If my local jeweler can repair it for $80 (tax included) that seems reasonable and prudent. Fix my original ring, without insisting that I purchase a brand new one from you.

Business Response: Mr. *****,
                               
We certainly want for you to be able to wear your Arizona State ring again with pride as we know it represents great memories and achievement. The challenge is in the wear and condition of the ring. While we respect another jeweler’s claim to be able to repair the ring and do so for $80 we did evaluate the ring’s condition and we cannot guarantee the ring will survive the repair. As for our $175 charge when having to make a replacement ring as in our opinion is required here it is for a brand new ring. We do respect the sentimental value you have for your ring and understand your desire to repair this ring and not receive a new ring.

So what we could offer is do another evaluation of your ring by our most experienced jeweler and see if it can be repaired. If this artisan feels he can repair it then we must first receive your permission knowing there is a risk the ring might not survive the stress of the repair. If it does survive then great and we will match the $80 charge you were quoted as a good-will gesture, but if the ring does not survive repair efforts then we would need to make you a new ring. As for the $175 charge it is to cover our labor and materials. We respect other jewelers pricing and ability to provide repairs and other services and have no intention of making comparisons in that matter. We have been in business 100 years because of our quality products, fair and ethical practices and will continue to do all we reasonably can for our customers past, current and future. We look forward to hearing from you, thanks.

***** ***** | vice president customer service | commemorative brands, inc | balfour | austin, texas | direct: ************  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered High School Graduation Announcements for mailing in February, 2013. The promised delivery period was 6 to 8 weeks. At the end of April, they had not been received. I began emailing and telephoning to determine what the problem might be and when I might expect delivery. I made dozens of these contacts, each time requiring a significant investment of time. ******* explained that they had some sort of "factory issue" causing a delay. They made no commitment to resolving or delivery of the order. They simply offered to fill when available. In the second week of May, only weeks before graduation, really too late at that time, some generic announcements arrived. Something simple and having nothing to do with my son's high school, and not the invitations designed for his high school. At this time, I went to a local printer and had invitations printed. Given the late date, I had not choice other than simply not sending out announcements. I again contacted ******* about the generic announcements, and ******* explained that it was their policy that if they had none of the High Schools announcements available, to just send these generic announcements. I would have called the credit card company to deny payment, but ******* had run the charge at the time of order which was more than sixty days previous per credit card company policy. Of course, I complained vigorously at this. ******* said that they had some "smudged" ones from reject pile along with 17 "good ones" that they would send. ******* then "found" some from a cancelled order that they arranged, however, this was on about the 20th of May, only days before graduation. I told them that we did not want them, we had already had them printed elsewhere and that I expected ******* to issue a refund to my credit card. After numerous contacts, ******* is simply ignoring me.

Desired Settlement: Full refund. After the extraordinary hassle, a written apology as well.

Business Response:

We certainly want to apologize for the inconvenience and the ensuing issues in placing your order for ********* graduation announcements. We understand this was a special time for ******* and the family. We do show we refunded $118.20 back to the MasterCard on 6/6/13. If there is any discrepancy in the refund amount please let us know as we do not show anything charged except for the amount of $118.20, thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I was about to graduate from college in 1999, Artcarved/Balfour sent a representative to my school to sell class rings. Even though I didn't have a lot of money saved, the representative was successful at selling me a beautiful, state of art $499 18kt yellow gold ring. Please note that this was an in-person business deal, not a phone or online deal. I was told the ring was fully covered with a LIFETIME warranty that covered both damage or loss. In fact, these are the words written in the ring invoice. The ring also could be changed to reflect a new advanced degree. The ring was beautiful and I never regretted that I bought it in spite of the price. In fact, few years later, I bought a graduation ring for my husband, then another one for my niece from this company. However, these two rings did not come with a lifetime warranty. Instead, they came with LIMITED warranty for both loss or damage. It is shown in the rings’ invoices. While purchasing these two rings I told them I was working on my PhD and would be sending them my ring for a change of degree within the next few years. When we relocated two years ago, we lost some of our belongings during the move and my graduation ring and many other valuable personal items were included in the loss. I desperately called the ring company shortly after and after spending a long time on the phone with a representative, I was told they could not find any record that I had bought this ring with them. I was told that I needed to provide proof of purchase for any further talk about a replacement. The representative took my name and phone number and told me that someone would be in touch at a later time after doing some additional record research. I never received a call back. I called another time later on and the same story repeated, no records of me as a customer for this one ring. They had record for the other two ring purchases, but not for my own ring. I thought that was it, my ring and hope were gone. Several weeks ago, like a miracle, I came across the original invoice for my ring while looking for some old photos in the garage. In the middle of a bunch of other papers, I found the ORIGINAL invoice for my college ring along with the original packing: a black leather box with the company’s name engraved in gold color. The invoice has all kinds of information about the ring including the following statement: Congratulations! Your Artcarved College Ring is like no other piece of jewelry you’ll ever own. It carries the memories of your academic achievement and college experience. For these reasons, your ArtCarved College Jewelry is of the finest quality, created with more than thirty hand operations performed by skilled craftsman and enhanced by attractive sculpturing and exquisite detail. These procedures make your jewelry truly one of a kind. Best of all, your ArtCarved College Jewelry is backed up by a FULL LIFETIME WARRANTY, so you can be sure your jewelry will give you a lifetime of satisfaction. We hope that you have as much pride wearing your college jewelry as we take in making it for you. The invoice also states the ring protection plan, date, price, my account number for the purchase and anything else the company needs to be able to identify me as a customer who indeed purchased this this one ring. However, after sending the invoice to them, the issue has changed from not having me as a customer in their records to something else. The LIFETIME warranty does not mean lifetime, instead it’s still limited warranty with me only having the right to get my ring polished and cleaned. The loss protection is only for a one year or whatever. What in the world??????????????????????????? My husband’s and niece’s invoices do have limited warranty and they are spelled out in the invoice. However, my ring DOES HAVE lifetime warranty like it says in the invoice. LIFETIME warranty is lifetime warranty like the term says it. My invoice does not state any of these new limitations that they are trying to explain by mouth. They could not believe me when I told them by mouth that I did purchase one of their rings. I had to prove it that I did. The person who sold me the ring in person at my campus bookstore was clear at explaining what a LIFETIME warranty meant and the benefits of it. I know you are business people and can not be trusted, but my rights are written in the invoice and you can not change that. I don’t care about your new rules or policies or your new Web site since none of these apply to my situation. But I do care about a purchase I made and a contract you have with me for this purchase. You must honor this contract. You need to send me a replacement ring with my new degree in it. It’s our contract and you must honor it.

Desired Settlement: I need a replacement ring with my new degree reflected in the ring. I want the ring to be in 18 Kt yellow gold, traditional style with all the other ring original attributes. I don't want anything more or less, just what the ring supposed to be.

Business Response: The ArtCarved Class ring purchased by *** ******* in 1999 was indeed covered by a lifetime warranty which covered the ring itself from manufacturing defects at the time of delivery and at anytime during the lifetime of the purchaser. This warranty did not cover the loss of a ring. The loss of the ring was covered by a separate policy called the "Ring Loss Protection Plan" and was included in the purchase price of the ring, not an additional charge or cost to the purchaser.  This Ring Loss Protection Plan, copy attached, covered the ring from loss for four (4) years from the date of purchase. In your case you purchased your ring on 12-1-1999, and the Ring Loss Protection Plan covered the loss of the ring until 12-1-2003. In addition, the Ring Loss Protect Plan, as noted on the attached copy, was subject to a $100 deductible and a shipping charge of $9.00. There were certain Requirements for the Policy to pay for the lost ring such as providing us with a copy of the original Ring Loss Protection Plan Certificate, a copy of the original invoice, {which you have provided} and that the replacement ring must be identical specifications as to the original purchase.
You are correct that we also had as part of the warranty, that if you changed degrees, such as Masters vs Doctorate, or college such as Education vs Business, we would accept the original ring for trade in on a new replacement ring with the new degree or school, but with the same University. In your case the ring is lost and not available for trade in for the replacement ring with the Doctorate degree.

We are sorry for your loss but since your purchase date is clearly out of the insurance policy coverage period of four (4) years, we cannot replace the ring under that expired policy. The lost ring is clearly not a defect in the ring that would be covered by the warranty.  

We will however offer to replace your ring with a new ring with your new degree, if we still have the dies for the University of Nebraska ring in the same style as you purchased, and in 18K yellow gold at our replacement cost. I do not have that cost at the moment, but will get it from our manufacturing people once we determine if we still have the dies for that ring back in 1999, some 13 years ago.

Please let us know if you want to accept our offer at replacement cost and we will provide you with that cost if we can in fact still make that exact ring, and if not we will replace the ring with a current model and style closest to your ring style at our replacement cost.

Respectfully,

***** ****** **** ********* * ***** ******* ************ *********************** 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I can not accept an offer without knowing exactly what your "replacement cost"
 really means. Judging from my experience with your company, I know the "Replacement cost" will be VERY close to buying a new ring and if that is the case, I rather take my current and future business someplace else and make sure I get what I'm promised. It is clear to me that you are NOT concerned about me as a customer. The attachment you sent doesn't mean anything to me since that information is news to me. Like I mentioned before I care only for what I was told then, not what you have to say now.

My new training in social media came in handy. If I don't get what I was promised rest assured that from ******* to ********, everyone will know about my experience. I can not impact any summer graduation customers, but I'll make sure a great deal of December graduates will take their business someplace else. Just watch and see. Honoring a contract will mean nothing compared to what this advertisement will do to your company as far as graduation sales at the end of fall semester. Watch and see. This will be my project for fall.


How can you expect me to accept an offer before I know what the offer is?  Well, what else should I expect from you? The only thing you care about is your profit. Have a great day since you are  able to sleep at night.

******** *******





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Balfour had a sales person come to my school and what she was advertising was, order today which was 3-21-13 get by graduation which is 5-4-13. This did not happen and won't arrive until 5-6 because the company refused to do a Sat delivery. For the preceding two weeks when I would call and check on the status it was either at quality control or in process Each time . they would say call in a few days and check on status. Each time I would get a different answer. Also each time I would call they said they would call me and never did. I found the reason for this was they had wrong number. Every time I would call I would verify the number and they would not save the correct number because each time I would call they read back wrong number. All this time getting the run around, I will not receive the ring on time. I asked if the would compensate me in any way and they said the couldn't do that which is unacceptable. Graduation from college is a bog deal and they treated me otherwise. It came off as yes you will get the ring, but it won't be until after graduation I'm sorry, is there anything else I can help you with. The only thing they did was do overnight shipping without sat delivery. The way they handled the situation is unsatisfactory. The people they select to sell their product should not use that sales pitch if he company wouldn't back it up.

Desired Settlement: I am not requesting a full refund. I would request one third of the cost which is 237.00. I am doing instalment payments, which to simplify would I am requesting Balfour waive final payment.

Business Response: The ring was completed in 4 weeks versus our typical 6-8 week delivery in an effort to make the graduation date, however we inadvertently shipped overnight on Friday not designating Saturday delivery, therefore the ring arrived on Monday missing the Saturday graduation.  We apologize for missing that important date, but do want to congratulate Mr. ***** for his achievement. We can imagine the disappointment on the ring not arriving for graduation. We do hope he will wear the ring proudly as it represents his accomplishments and memories during his time at his university.

We will certainly offer a full refund should he choose to not keep the ring (which we hope he does) as that is the specific term of a guaranteed graduation delivery promotion.  However we will offer a $50 credit should Mr. ***** decide to keep his ring. The one condition is that all payments are current to date, as May final payment has not been received.  We will take appropriate action based on Mr. *****’s decision to return the ring for full refund or become current on payments and receive a $50 discount credit. 

Respectfully, ***** *****, * * ******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Early March I ordered my ring at ********** ** ******** ** **********. The sales woman said if I paid three payments I would have my ring on time before graduation on May 10. They called me back and asked me to get a different logo on the side because they could not do the one on my specific ring. I called a month before graduation to check on it and they said it was still in process. A week before graduation I called again and they had said partly because I was not receiving my ring was because they had lost my credit card information. I gave it to them again not understanding why they lost it. They sent an e-mail to the processor to get it done faster. Here it is a month later and I have still not received my ring. I called 6-6 and said that it was to be shipped out that day or Friday and Monday I would be able to call and get a shipping track number. I called to get the tracking number today and it still has not shipped. They have gave me the run around too many times. Something that is suppose to be fun and deserving has now turned something I have to plead to receive.

Desired Settlement: If I am not contacted within 24 hours, I feel that it is my right to call the Arkansas Attorney General's office because I have made 2 payments already and many promises that were not kept. I also would like my ring shipped over-night.

Business Response: Our apologies to *** for the ring delay. She did place her ring order with us mid- March. Unfortunately the school information and promotional offer was not yet updated in our manufacturing system and along with the school seal that was not available created the delay. While we did reach out to *** with an email in March and a vmail on 4/22 about the unavailibility of the school seal, we certainly should have been more dligent in reaching out to her keeping her informed on issues and delays especially since *** also reached out to us as recently as 5/2 to check the status. As of today the ring is shipping out overnight via ***** and will arrive tomorrow (Thursday).  The tracking number is # ************. 

Again our apologies to *** as unfortunately from the time the ring was ordered, it has taken 12 weeks to send the ring which is well outside our normal 8 weeks or less quoted delviery time.  Thank you. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered aCollege graduation package on line, on 4/4/13. My daughter's graduation from college is 5/4/13. The web site said to allow approx 10 working days for the order to be processed. I paid an extra $30 to have the order shipped overnight. I checked on my order on 4/12 and was told it was "in process". The person I was speaking to states she thought the order would ship around the 15th. On 4/18/13 I still had not recieved the order. I called again. I was told the order was "in process". I asked the person I was speaking to if she knew what the problem was. I really need to get the invitations out. I asked that if they could not get them to me in the next 2-3 days that I wanted to cancel the order. She states all she could do was e-mail the processing division and have a supervisor call me. She stated that an order in process cannot be cancelled nor money refunded. Anything refunded would have to be done once I recieved the order and shipped it back. As it was 4pm, she states someone would call me on 4/19/13. I never recieved a return call. I again called on Monday 4/22/13 am. I spoke with Claire who told me that the order was "in process" and all she could do was send an e-mail to the processing dept. I asked to speak to a supervisor. Again I was told they would have to send a message and have the supervisor call me back. I still had not heard anything by mid afternoon, so I again called back and spoke to Mary Bell. After being on hold 10min she came back and said the same thing all of the other people had said. I demanded to speak to a supervisor now and was told they don't come to the phone. A message is sent to them and they have to return the call. I asked for the supervisor to call me back that day. She said all e-mails to the supervisors and the processors can take up to 24hours to be answered. She stated it would be after 5pm or would be on the 23rd. As of 4:25pm on 4/23/13 I still have not heard from them, nor do I have my product. This is very upsetting to my daughter. We have had to use a local printing company who tells us they can have them ready in two days. Of course, they will not have the appearance of the other graduates invitations. I also have had to contact all family by phone or e-mail and explain the situation. Many out of state my not get their invitations until a couple of days before graduation. None of the people that I dealt with expressed any willingness to help, no did anyone apologize for the problems that I have had.

Desired Settlement: I also feel that the CEO of this company be aware of how complaints are handled and how no one is really willing to help the customer out, or show any concern. I also think I deserve an apology for whatever happened to this order.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

From: ***** ******* *******************************
Sent: Friday, April 26, 2013 4:17 PM
To: info
Subject: Complaint #*******
Since filing the complaint, the product was shipped on 4/24/13 and I recieved it on 4/25/13.  I want to continue with my complaint due to the way customer service handled my calls.  I'm no longer asking for a refund of the cost of the product, because I am going to use the invitations.  I still feel I should have been called back by a supervisor when I asked for this to happen. 
 
Thank you,
***** *******

Regards,
***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2012 Delivery Issues
3/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/20/2012 Delivery Issues
11/1/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/17/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
7/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1