BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers ...

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mango Financial, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mango Financial, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mango Financial, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 09, 2010 Business started: 03/02/2009 Business started locally: 03/02/2009 Business incorporated: 03/02/2009 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kelsy Farley, Vice Pres. Bertrand Sosa, President Rogelio (Roy) Sosa, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelsy Farley, Vice Pres.
Business Category

Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards Credit Card Processing Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
Please visit https://www.mangomoney.com/customer-agreements for more information regarding this company's refund and exchange policies.
Alternate Business Names
Revworldwide Inc
Additional Information

Mango Financial, Inc. is an innovative consumer financial services company that seeks to empower underserved customers in the U.S. to achieve their financial goals. Mango provides an unique prepaid debit card program that includes direct deposit, savings, renter's insurance, bill pay, remittance, mobile alerts, and more. Services are provided online at mangomoney.com and our pilot retail location in Austin, TX.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    -----

    Austin, TX 78703 (877) 896-2646

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2067

    Austin, TX 78767

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 853-2474 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello yes, I want to make a complaint about this company. I have deposited $2500 inthis account an they have not released my funds. They had told me after I deposit $20 they will send me a card. They never did. Then they said I need to verify the account then I called the *********** *********** to verify and they asked me some questions and I guess I did not pass my own information, so then they want me to send my id and a utility bill in my name. I did that and no response. I can't get them to give me my money and this is been going on since October 5th 2014. They give me the run around and half the time they say they are not open. I read other reviews and this is common for this company to do this. I believe they are stealing people's money and identity. I also want to mention that this company is supposedly big. If that is the case why is it the same last who answers the phone and the same man who does the verification? This company said that once you deposit $20 you will get your card. I did that and now they say after I verify the account. I did that and they still have not sent my card. This is a on going mess and I want my money returned to me.

Desired Settlement: Please release my funds or send me my check.

Business Response: November 3, 2014

 

*** ********, ******* ********** **********

Better Business Bureau

**** ** ****** ***** ******* ** *****

 

Re: Case # ********: ******* ********

 

Dear Ms. ********:

 

First Bank & Trust of Brookings, SD (‘the Bank’), is in receipt of your letter dated October
21, 2014, regarding a complaint made by ******* ********.  In summary, Mr. ******** is questioning the
availability of a credit in his account and is requesting access to the funds.

 
A deposit was made to Mr. ********’s account on October 7, 2014, however, the item deposited was
not in Mr. ********’s name.  As a result,a block was placed on his account.  On October 15, 2014, Mr. ********
was presented identity verification questions in order to remove the account block and was unable to provide the correct
responses.  It is the Bank’s understanding that Mango Customer Service has informed Mr. ******** on several
occasions of the blocks, the verification documentation required to have the blocks removed, and an e-mail address and a
fax number where the documentation may be sent.  No requested documentation has been received to date.

In order to remove the block from his account, Mr. ******** must provide a copy of a state issued ID or driver’s license and
a utility bill for himself and for the individual named on the received deposit item. The Bank understands Mango Customer Service has
instructed Mr. ******** to send the required documentation to ************************ or fax them to ************. 

The Bank considers Mr. ********’s complaint resolved and offers our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience he may have experienced.

If you have any further questions, please contact me.

 

Sincerely,



***** ******

**** ********* ** ********* **** **********

 

Cc:  ******* ********

**** ** ********* *** * ******** ** *****

10/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the second time in 6 weeks, Mango has "detected a security threat" on my prepaid card and has locked up my account. Both times, there has been no actual occurance leading to any fraud on my account, however it is one pain to try to get access to my money. When this first happened about 6 weeks ago, I was told that in order to access any money from my account I would have to plan ahead and call the agents in order for them to temporarily remove the hold. So clearly they can allow access (for 5 min. when you are in front of an ATM to withdraw what you can) but are powerless to actually address my requests. I spoke with supervisors both times who avoided answering the questions I asked directly. One question I had was what are the possible threats they are proctecting my account from, they were unable to answer in any way. I told them that as the customer, if I am declaring that there is no threat and would like the hold removed permanently, I should be able to do so at my own risk. This clearly was too much to ask and I will yet again have to wait for a new card to arrive (which I am sure will somehow cost me). The expensive fees, joke of security (at this point who knows what is actually happening), among other issues has motivated me to do something different than this!

Desired Settlement: I would like the hold removed on my account as i have asked before, I would also like the account specialist to contact me BEFORE Monday, September 15, 2014 by phone.

Business Response:

First Bank & Trust of Brookings, SD, (the 'Bank') is in receipt of your letter dated September 13, 2014, regarding a complaint made by ****** *******. In summary, Ms. ******* states that her card has been blocked for the second time in six weeks. She is concerned with the ability to access the card, the timing of the receipt of her new card, and any potential fees that may be incurred. Ms. ******* is requesting to have the block removed from the card account.

On September 11, 2014, a MasterCard alert was received indicating that the full magnetic stripe of Ms. *******'s Mango Prepaid MasterCard may have been compromised. For security purposes and account protection, a block was placed on her card to avoid any unauthorized charges or fraudulent activity.

The Bank understands that on September 12, 2014, Mango customer service informed Ms. ******* of the block on her card and sent her a new card. In an attempt to lessen the inconvenience imposed by the security block, Ms. ******* was advised to contact Mango customer service when at an ATM, so the block could temporarily be removed and reinstated after the withdrawal had been completed.

The Bank further understands that no unauthorized charges have been found on Ms. *******'s account at this time, however, to maintain the security of the card account and according to policy, the card is to remain blocked due to the risk posed to Ms. *******. Ms. ******* will not be charged for the new card, which is scheduled to arrive within 7­10 business days from September 12, 2014. Once the new card has been activated, Ms. ******* can resume normal activity with the card account.

The Bank considers Ms. *******'s complaint resolved and offers our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience she may have experienced.

8/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******* ******* from ********, **** and I closed my Mango account back in February 2014. I was told to wait about 30 business days for my refund check (907.00) to be mailed out. I waited two months and no check was ever received. I called and asked what the hold up was and they said there was not obvious reason. I called and gave them another address ( I changed it from my home to my business in case it was lost in the mail) to mail it out to and they said to wait until it was returned and then they could send out another one. By the time month 3 (day 90), I called in and was asked to provide the mailing address. They had sent it to my business address (of which I still have access to) and it has never arrived. Furthermore, when I call in, I keep getting the run around for MY money. 907 dollars in not chump change to just pass up and I want my money as entitled. I am tired of being told that a new check has been mailed out and just has not come yet. It has been almost 160 days, from the original 30 days, and I still do NOT have my money. My account close check still has not come and I keep getting the run around. Is this legal or is there another process I should be going to recover my funds? I called recently and provided my new home address since I have since moved and they said it should have been here by last Friday. It still has not come.

Desired Settlement: I want my $907.00 to be given back to me from my closed account!

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had previously used a Mango prepaid card without issue and signed up again for a card last week. I used the card both times without any issues. I went to logon this morning (7/11/13) and my account was blocked. I called in and spoke to ******* who advised me someone in Lubbock had used my social at a p*wn shop to sign up for a Chance card with a different birthday and that because of this MY card was closed. I do not understand why I am being penalized for someone using my identity in a different city. I have never lived in Lubbock and did go through the verification process last week to verify my card. I was on the line with ******* for over 30 minutes trying to get him to transfer me to someone that could assist me with getting it reopened. I did nothing wrong so I do not understand why my card was closed and want it reopened a.s.a.p. We have hotel reservations this weekend and I have a direct deposit coming in today to this account. Can someone with authority please call me back? I am willing to send in whatever is needed to verify my identity.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account to be reinstated and an apology and service credit from the company for the inconvenience. I am being penalized for identify theft that I had nothing to do with yet I am the one that is being treated like a criminal.

7/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened an account with Mango Financial in April and set up direct deposit into my account. I never received a credit card from them (this was the service I enrolled in) and when I went to log into my account in June it was "blocked" which I assumed meant I had forgotten my password. I contacted the company via e-mail but received no response other than a form e-mail response. When I contacted them today they told me my account had been closed because I hadn't gone through a security check (which they had never notified me of in any way). They walked me through the "security check" questions and I passed so my identification was then verified. They told me they were going to close my account and mail me a check with my balance minus a $10 check fee. I told them I wanted to keep doing business with them but they said my account had been closed and I would never be allowed to do business with them again because I had not completed the security check in 30 days. When I explained they had never notified me that there was any problem with my account, they said I should have called them. When I explained that I had contacted them via their online form and supplied my e-mail but they had never contacted me in the time period even after I had asked about accessing my account, they said they had no processes to contact customers. At this point, I am unable to access 2 months of direct deposit that went to this company while i wait for my check which they said could take 4-6 weeks to return. In addition they are charging me $10 for a problem that they never notified me about, even after I contacted them initially. I find this whole exchange very strange, and while they have made $10 from me and an extended loan of over $1000, I have received nothing from them, no debit card or ability to use their services, and now further inconvenience as I have to wait for my remaining money to be returned to me.

Desired Settlement: I no longer want to do business with this company because they do not seem honest and have terrible customer service, but I would like a refund of my $10 check fee and an expedited return of my money (they said it could take 4-6 weeks for me to receive my bank balance.)

Business Response: This is in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint regarding your Mango account. We have reviewed the situation in its entirety with the following observations and conclusions.

On May **, 2013, an email was received requesting assistance establishing a savings account through our online portal. At that time, it was conveyed to you that for security reasons, we do not divulge account specific information via email. In the attempt to maintain your account fully secure, we ask that customers call customer service to verbally verify specific sets of
security information to establish the identity of the inquirer. After a period of 30 days with an unresolved restriction, an account will be permanently closed.

After a period of 6 weeks, we received the phone call in which you were informed of your account closure. On the same call the identity validation required to resolve your original restriction was resolved in a matter of minutes and we went through the stipulations for issuing a check. We apologize for the inconvenience but once an account is permanently closed, there is not a way to reactivate your services.

As you are aware, there is a $10 fee to have a check issued and a 2-4 week time frame for its arrival. We do not have a way to expedite this service but as a courtesy will waive your $10 fee. We hope this clarifies the circumstances on your account and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while using our services. 


If you have any additional questions or wish to discuss this further, please contact us at **************.

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Saturday April 27th, 2013, I applied for a Pre-Paid Mango MasterCard. Set up my account online, with no problem. Put the required $20.00 to the account to process getting the physical card via mail, and was left with a $15.00 balance. ($5.00 charge per month if the account doesn't have, or does not maintain, or open with a $500 balance). Mango also allows the customer a number of options to transfer and add money to your account, including linking an existing Pay Pal account. I linked Mango to my PayPal, with ease. PayPal sent 2 small increments to Mango, recognized it; and my Mango account /card was added to my PayPal by Monday morning, April 29th 2013. (side note: I have been using PayPal for 10 years with NO problems nor any issues.) That same Monday (April 29th) in the evening, I called Mango Customer Service just to check the status / inquire as to how long it generally takes to get the physical card in the mail. I was told 7-10 days. I called because I received an e-mail that said the following: "By now you should have received your Mango Prepaid MasterCard. This is just a friendly reminder that activating it is quick & easy and best of all there’s no activation fee." I thought that was odd, but figured I'd have the card by the end of the week. At the very latest Saturday May 4th. The following Monday (today, May 6th 2013) I still had / have not received the card. I tried to log online to access my Mango account, and could not. I called customer service to report the log-in problem, and they informed me that my account was closed last Monday (April 29th, the day I inquired about the physical cards being mailed). They provided ZERO explanation, reason, or reasons as to why or what happened. I never received the card. I made NO transactions, so there couldn't possibly be any "suspicious activity". In less than 48 hours, Mango took my money, nd closed my account with ZERO notice, or explanation as to why this happened. Oh wait, they did tell me something; I'm no longer eligible to apply for a Mango card or use their services again. I want a FULL refund of the $20.00 that I transferred to the account to get started.

Desired Settlement: I want a FULL refund of the $20.00 that I transferred to the account to get started.

5/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a pre-paid account with their company on 4/20/2013 by funding the account with a ******** ********. Out of the Initial $110 deposit, I was charged a $5 subscription fee for the first month of service. As they also offer a savings account, I moved $100 of my deposit to their savings account, leaving $5 in my prepaid account. I then decided to link my account to my ****** account, following their instructions, an activity that was carried out following their instructions. On 4/23/2013, I attempted to log into my account and was informed by the website that I was blocked from logging in. I called customer service, and after being transferred, I was told that my account was subjected to an automatic account closure, without any further details, and I was told that the representative spoke to a supervisor -- a courtesy that I was not allowed. I was then told that as my account was closed, they were returning my funds to me, but that I was subject to the $10 account closure fee. Basically, this company has stolen $15 from me without any form of explanation, and I want the remainder of my money back, as to me, closures without any form of explanation are unethical, and quite possibly criminal. They stated they are sending me a check for $95 (my $105 balance, minus the $10 fee).

Desired Settlement: I demand that I receive the full $110 -- the initial $105 deposit, plus the $5 "subscription fee" (as I wasn't given a month's worth of service for the $5 fee), plus a refund of the $10 account-closure fee, as I was also not told why my account was being closed, nor was I able to discuss this with anyone other than a very unhelpful, and rude customer-service agent. Basically, a business that the BBB says is ethical is stealing money to the tune of $15 without any clarification.

Business Response:
Attached is our response to Complaint ******* - **** ******.

Thanks,
*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******




















4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service