BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mango Financial, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 896-2646 View Additional Phone Numbers -----, Austin, TX 78703 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mangomoney.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mango Financial, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mango Financial, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mango Financial, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 09, 2010 Business started: 03/02/2009 Business started locally: 03/02/2009 Business incorporated: 03/02/2009 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kelsy Farley, Vice Pres. Bertrand Sosa, President Rogelio (Roy) Sosa, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelsy Farley, Vice Pres.
Business Category

Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards Credit Card Processing Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
Consumers can view all of our customer agreements by visiting our website and selecting 'Customer Agreements' at the bottom of any page.
Additional Information

Mango Financial, Inc. is an innovative consumer financial services company that seeks to empower underserved customers in the U.S. to achieve their financial goals. Mango provides an unique prepaid debit card program that includes direct deposit, savings, renter's insurance, bill pay, remittance, mobile alerts, and more. Services are provided online at mangomoney.com and our pilot retail location in Austin, TX.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    -----

    Austin, TX 78703 (877) 896-2646

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2067

    Austin, TX 78767

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 853-2474 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******* ******* from ********, **** and I closed my Mango account back in February 2014. I was told to wait about 30 business days for my refund check (907.00) to be mailed out. I waited two months and no check was ever received. I called and asked what the hold up was and they said there was not obvious reason. I called and gave them another address ( I changed it from my home to my business in case it was lost in the mail) to mail it out to and they said to wait until it was returned and then they could send out another one. By the time month 3 (day 90), I called in and was asked to provide the mailing address. They had sent it to my business address (of which I still have access to) and it has never arrived. Furthermore, when I call in, I keep getting the run around for MY money. 907 dollars in not chump change to just pass up and I want my money as entitled. I am tired of being told that a new check has been mailed out and just has not come yet. It has been almost 160 days, from the original 30 days, and I still do NOT have my money. My account close check still has not come and I keep getting the run around. Is this legal or is there another process I should be going to recover my funds? I called recently and provided my new home address since I have since moved and they said it should have been here by last Friday. It still has not come.

Desired Settlement: I want my $907.00 to be given back to me from my closed account!

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened an account with Mango Financial in April and set up direct deposit into my account. I never received a credit card from them (this was the service I enrolled in) and when I went to log into my account in June it was "blocked" which I assumed meant I had forgotten my password. I contacted the company via e-mail but received no response other than a form e-mail response. When I contacted them today they told me my account had been closed because I hadn't gone through a security check (which they had never notified me of in any way). They walked me through the "security check" questions and I passed so my identification was then verified. They told me they were going to close my account and mail me a check with my balance minus a $10 check fee. I told them I wanted to keep doing business with them but they said my account had been closed and I would never be allowed to do business with them again because I had not completed the security check in 30 days. When I explained they had never notified me that there was any problem with my account, they said I should have called them. When I explained that I had contacted them via their online form and supplied my e-mail but they had never contacted me in the time period even after I had asked about accessing my account, they said they had no processes to contact customers. At this point, I am unable to access 2 months of direct deposit that went to this company while i wait for my check which they said could take 4-6 weeks to return. In addition they are charging me $10 for a problem that they never notified me about, even after I contacted them initially. I find this whole exchange very strange, and while they have made $10 from me and an extended loan of over $1000, I have received nothing from them, no debit card or ability to use their services, and now further inconvenience as I have to wait for my remaining money to be returned to me.

Desired Settlement: I no longer want to do business with this company because they do not seem honest and have terrible customer service, but I would like a refund of my $10 check fee and an expedited return of my money (they said it could take 4-6 weeks for me to receive my bank balance.)

Business Response: This is in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint regarding your Mango account. We have reviewed the situation in its entirety with the following observations and conclusions.

On May **, 2013, an email was received requesting assistance establishing a savings account through our online portal. At that time, it was conveyed to you that for security reasons, we do not divulge account specific information via email. In the attempt to maintain your account fully secure, we ask that customers call customer service to verbally verify specific sets of
security information to establish the identity of the inquirer. After a period of 30 days with an unresolved restriction, an account will be permanently closed.

After a period of 6 weeks, we received the phone call in which you were informed of your account closure. On the same call the identity validation required to resolve your original restriction was resolved in a matter of minutes and we went through the stipulations for issuing a check. We apologize for the inconvenience but once an account is permanently closed, there is not a way to reactivate your services.

As you are aware, there is a $10 fee to have a check issued and a 2-4 week time frame for its arrival. We do not have a way to expedite this service but as a courtesy will waive your $10 fee. We hope this clarifies the circumstances on your account and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while using our services. 


If you have any additional questions or wish to discuss this further, please contact us at **************.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Saturday April 27th, 2013, I applied for a Pre-Paid Mango MasterCard. Set up my account online, with no problem. Put the required $20.00 to the account to process getting the physical card via mail, and was left with a $15.00 balance. ($5.00 charge per month if the account doesn't have, or does not maintain, or open with a $500 balance). Mango also allows the customer a number of options to transfer and add money to your account, including linking an existing Pay Pal account. I linked Mango to my PayPal, with ease. PayPal sent 2 small increments to Mango, recognized it; and my Mango account /card was added to my PayPal by Monday morning, April 29th 2013. (side note: I have been using PayPal for 10 years with NO problems nor any issues.) That same Monday (April 29th) in the evening, I called Mango Customer Service just to check the status / inquire as to how long it generally takes to get the physical card in the mail. I was told 7-10 days. I called because I received an e-mail that said the following: "By now you should have received your Mango Prepaid MasterCard. This is just a friendly reminder that activating it is quick & easy and best of all there’s no activation fee." I thought that was odd, but figured I'd have the card by the end of the week. At the very latest Saturday May 4th. The following Monday (today, May 6th 2013) I still had / have not received the card. I tried to log online to access my Mango account, and could not. I called customer service to report the log-in problem, and they informed me that my account was closed last Monday (April 29th, the day I inquired about the physical cards being mailed). They provided ZERO explanation, reason, or reasons as to why or what happened. I never received the card. I made NO transactions, so there couldn't possibly be any "suspicious activity". In less than 48 hours, Mango took my money, nd closed my account with ZERO notice, or explanation as to why this happened. Oh wait, they did tell me something; I'm no longer eligible to apply for a Mango card or use their services again. I want a FULL refund of the $20.00 that I transferred to the account to get started.

Desired Settlement: I want a FULL refund of the $20.00 that I transferred to the account to get started.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Consumer sent message to BBB:

I received a refund in the amount of $20.00 back to my PayPal account as of 11AM (EST) from Mango
Financial, Inc.

Although I wish it didn't have to go this route; this is my first time
reporting any company about their business practice, or customer service.

Hopefully it will be my last.


Thank you for your assistance.


5/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a pre-paid account with their company on 4/20/2013 by funding the account with a ******** ********. Out of the Initial $110 deposit, I was charged a $5 subscription fee for the first month of service. As they also offer a savings account, I moved $100 of my deposit to their savings account, leaving $5 in my prepaid account. I then decided to link my account to my ****** account, following their instructions, an activity that was carried out following their instructions. On 4/23/2013, I attempted to log into my account and was informed by the website that I was blocked from logging in. I called customer service, and after being transferred, I was told that my account was subjected to an automatic account closure, without any further details, and I was told that the representative spoke to a supervisor -- a courtesy that I was not allowed. I was then told that as my account was closed, they were returning my funds to me, but that I was subject to the $10 account closure fee. Basically, this company has stolen $15 from me without any form of explanation, and I want the remainder of my money back, as to me, closures without any form of explanation are unethical, and quite possibly criminal. They stated they are sending me a check for $95 (my $105 balance, minus the $10 fee).

Desired Settlement: I demand that I receive the full $110 -- the initial $105 deposit, plus the $5 "subscription fee" (as I wasn't given a month's worth of service for the $5 fee), plus a refund of the $10 account-closure fee, as I was also not told why my account was being closed, nor was I able to discuss this with anyone other than a very unhelpful, and rude customer-service agent. Basically, a business that the BBB says is ethical is stealing money to the tune of $15 without any clarification.

Business Response:
Attached is our response to Complaint ******* - **** ******.

Thanks,
*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service