BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Akimbo Card?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Akimbo Card

Additional Locations

Phone: (855) 625-4626 Fax: (855) 625-4626 PO Box 529, San Antonio, TX 78292 http://www.akimbocard.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Akimbo Card meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Akimbo Card include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Akimbo Card include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Akimbo Card
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 18, 2012 Business started: 01/22/2010 Business started locally: 01/22/2010 Business incorporated: 01/22/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Houston Frost, CEO Mr. Garrett Cox, VP of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Garrett Cox, VP of Operations
Principal: Mr. Houston Frost, CEO
Business Category

Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards

Alternate Business Names
Akimbo Financial Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3463 Magic Dr Ste 202

    San Antonio, TX 78229

  • PO Box 529

    San Antonio, TX 78292

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Akimbo Prepaid Visa Debit Card has been restricted since October 2013. I have a balance of $745.14. I have sent in requested documents numerous times, even a Notarized Affidavit of Identity. When I call, I get the run around. I'm told to call back, or call another number, or send an email. I am thoroughly exhausted trying to get information on my OWN MONEY & ACCOUNT. I have requested for my Akimbo Account to be closed & send me the remaining balance, but Akimbo has not acknowledged any of my phone calls, faxes, or emails. Please help.Thank You

Desired Settlement: Either take the restriction off of my Akimbo Prepaid Visa Debit Card Account, so I can pay bills & spend my money or close my Akimbo Prepaid Visa Debit Card Account & send me my $745.14 ASAP

Business Response: This individual provided identifying documents which were determined to be altered or otherwise counterfeit by our issuing bank, The ******* Bank, Member FDIC.  The ******* Bank identified numerous discrepancies and abnormalities in both the state ID card and the Social Security card provided by the customer.  The same falsified state ID card was shown to a Notary Public in order to obtain the 'affidavit of identity' that was provided to Akimbo and The ******* Bank, and so this affidavit was also not honored.

Both The ******* Bank and Akimbo Financial believe that this individual has provided counterfeit documents and potentially committed a felony offense by affirming these documents were legitimate to both a US financial institution and a notary public.

If the individual believes our determination to be in error, she may follow arbitration proceedings as defined in our cardholder agreement. (***********************************************************)


Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The copies sent are not Counterfeit, they are a copy of a copy and maybe the quality isn't so good.  But in July, when I applied for the account and sent in the same copy of the documents, there wasn't any problems & I was approved for the Account. Obviously Akimbo no longer wants to have me as a customer, and it's been over two months since they blocked the Account, so why haven't they closed it yet? Also, on 11/27/2013, they deposited $245.14, into my account that wasn't my money.  I have a total of $500 of my money, not theirs, in the account. Shouldn't the account be closed and the balance settled?

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

Hi ****,

Thank you for the prompt response, I appreciate your help with this matter.


This individual did not provide these documents in July. Documents were not required to 'open' an Akimbo Card account. This individual used the name, DOB, and SSN for "******* *******," to open the account with Akimbo Card online.

 

It was not until this account had a temporary block placed on itm that these documents were requested and subsequently provided by the individual. Upon review of these documents, multiple irregularities and inconsistencies were found by the Fraud Department of ******* Bank, and these documents were then deemed counterfeit or otherwise altered.

Is Akimbo expected to respond to every allegation this individual makes?


Regards,
******* ***

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I still don't have an answer to what happens to my $500?

Regards,

******* *******

1/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service