BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of SecureNet Payment Systems?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SecureNet Payment Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SecureNet Payment Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SecureNet Payment Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 07, 2013 Business started: 08/13/1997 in TX Business started locally: 08/13/1997 Business incorporated: 08/26/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brent Warrington, CEO Mr. David Schielein, VP of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brent Warrington, CEO
Business Category

Point of Sale Systems Storage - Data Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies Credit Card - Merchant Services

Alternate Business Names
SecureNet, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 12357 Riata Trace Pkwy Ste B150

    Austin, TX 78727 (888) 231-0060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6011 Executive Bld,Suite 201

    Rockville, MD 20852

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9715 Key West Avenue, #330

    Rockville, MD 20850

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I emailed this company on July 8, 2014 about unauthorized debits on my bank account and asked for a refund. They ignored my complaint. I sent a follow up email on July 18 and was again ignored. On July 25, I requested that my account be cancelled and again was ignored. Then on August 4, 2014 - they did another unauthorized debit to my bank account.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund and my account cancelled asap.

Business Response: Hello

Thank you for your prompt advise with regard to this issue. We are always thankful for your willingness to arbitrate in these unfortunate situations. The Merchant Account in question MID ***** ****** ****** was opened 2012.07.25 and is currently Terminated.

Initial contact was made by the Merchant on 2014.07.08 with an inquiry as to why fees were being billed via email and trouble ticket ****** was auto generated. A response was promptly sent explaining the fees in detail and the trouble ticket was closed. Unfortunately, even after notice was sent that the ticket was closed, the Merchant continued to respond to the initial thread. Because the ticket was closed, no notifications were sent to the Support Teams. It is recommended that all persons dealing with any financial dispute immediately call in to discuss if any
inquiry extends beyond 24 hours.

In reviewing the later inquiry details on the closed ticket I see questions regarding debited fees (email threads attached) and a demand for Refund in the amount of $163.87. The specific questions are with regard to the following:

**** ** **** * ******
This was debited for processing fees due per the Merchant Services agreement. Statement detail is provided.

**** ** **** * ******
This was debited for processing fees due per the Merchant Services agreement. Statement detail is provided.

*** ** **** * ******
This was debited for processing fees due per the Merchant Services agreement. Statement detail is provided.

*** ** **** * ******
This was debited for processing fees due per the Merchant Services agreement. Statement detail is provided.
 

**** ** **** * ******
This was debited for processing fees due per the Merchant Services agreement. Statement detail is provided.

*** ** **** * *****
This was debited for processing fees due per the Merchant Services agreement. Statement detail is provided.  

*Merchant Processing Fees apply each time you create a Transaction is created be it a Charge or Refund*

Additionally, within the text of another email inquiry submitted to the closed ticket, we find the question: Why am I being charged for a monthly fee? To address this we direct you to the notification email sent which is attached to this response. A formally tracked email notification was sent to all Merchants affected by this change in fees in advance per guidelines established by the electronic Card Brand Associations. The notification explained that all customers on this particular sun-setting plan structure were going to be automatically migrated to the new pricing structure. The notification also provided SecureNet contact information for any questions, comments, or concerns. All such notifications are sent to the email address on file and are electronically tracked. The electronic read receipt and
notification that the email was opened by someone with access to the email account is attached.

All Fees debited to this Merchant are valid as provisioned in the Merchant Service Agreement signed by the Merchant. In the sense of good will and understanding, it is acknowledged that it is possible the Merchant has other staffers with access to the email account on file, and while opened, it is possible that it was not properly conveyed within the company. With that in mind we will Approve a Refund for the new $9.99 monthly fee from the time it was first billed in the March cycle to present day. This Refund will be in the amount of $49.95. The Refund will be sent to the banking information on file and should memo post within 7 business days.

We appreciate your contacting SecureNet Payment Systems to resolve this issue and welcome any
feedback you may have available.
 

Best regards,

*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ***

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I process credit cards online with *********. They charge me a monthly fee of $9.99. I had a low balance in May, which resulted in a bounce back when they tried to collect. According to them, they closed my account because of that incident. I was never notified by mail or by email. A few weeks later, I make a sale online on my website and they process the payment. I log in into the ********* terminal to make sure that the payment was captured and it's not fraud. It all checks in. I have screenshots to prove this if needed. I manufacture the ring which takes 5 days. On the 3rd day, I call ********* as I noticed the funds haven't been deposited into my bank account. My agreement with ********* was that I get the funds deposited into my bank account in 2 business days. The customer rep tells me that he has to wait for more info from their "technical" team and that he will call me back with that info later on. I hang up and wait. On the 5th day right after I shipped the package with *****, I contact ********* and they inform me that my account was terminated and that the customer rep. can't help me any further with no info as to when I'm getting paid. I ask to speak with their *******. The customer rep's response was that he's out of the office. I was put on hold until the ******* was back from his playtime. I ask the ******* why I haven't been informed of the bounced charge and of my account closure. His response was "You're not a customer of ours anymore and I don't have to answer that". From my perspective, since I was never notified of my account closure, and since they are holding my money, I am still a customer. I ask the ******* as to why the payment was accepted and processed if according to him my account is terminated. His response was, "It shouldn't have gone through". He just admitted it was their fault, yet I'm the one paying the price. During all this time arguing back and forth, I was never informed as to when I will be paid my money. The ******* later explains that the credit card company has to call the customer and make sure they've received the item and that it's all good. No timeframe was provided. The ******* promised to call after a few days to inform me of the situation, but he never did. The customer received the item on the 2nd day after shipping. ******************************************************************************************* The customer even left a product review on my website. I've made several calls afterwards and was told by the customer service rep. that they need to speak with their ******* and they would have to call me back. I never received a call back from them either. I get an email from my bank as a notification that a payment was posted to my account. ********* deducted the transaction fee directly from my bank account and not from the transaction itself. Every time I call from my company's phone number, I am put on a never-ending hold waiting to speak with a customer rep. I called from a different number, and I was put through in 2 beeps. Please note that the 1st line is still on hold. I don't know what to make of all this anymore. I'm ready to get my lawyer involved. This is 27 days after the transaction was made, no money received yet.

Desired Settlement: Deposit the money into my bank account.

Business Response: Hello:

Thank you for the information provided. I have researched and reviewed the history for this case and have since been in touch with the Merchant. Monthly recurring billing for account maintenance and ongoing services provided are common place in the Merchant Services industry. *********, like other third party processing platforms,
bills Merchants a monthly service fee. When we are unable to collect these fees we attempt contact with the clients to resolve the issue immediately. The Merchant as well as the Processor will be billed NSF and Reject Fees by the banking networks if the issue is not resolved quickly. Unfortunately, we were unable to make contact with this Merchant in a timely manner; the account had been dormant for eight (8) months with no Transactions or other activity; and finally we are unable to debit or deposit funds; The processing account was deemed inactive.

The specific Transaction referenced was attempted after the status change meaning it was against an inactive account which resulted in a Reject; this nullifies the funding of the Transaction. After contact was made by the client, Engineering moved to recycle the Transaction for reprocessing in an attempt to collect funds for the Merchant and the attempt was successful. Funds were held securely in a Reserve account designed for special cases where funding cannot be completed. The Operations and Finance teams review these cases bi monthly to ensure all Merchants have been paid or debited correctly. Upon speaking with the CardHolder to verify receipt of the product sold and their satisfaction with the purchase, funds were released.

There is no excuse or cause for the behavior described in this consumer complaint. I have personally
visited with the Executive in charge of the Risk Department where this individual is employed and have been assured that corrective action will be applied. Every Merchant in contact with ********* regardless of current or
prospective status is important to us and our internal culture does not tolerate less than outstanding Merchant Support from all resources.

Per my conversation with the client, funding for the Transaction has been transmitted and his Merchant account has
been reactivated with *********. We are proud to provide the electronic payment processing for ************ once again and look forward to their continued success with their ecommerce business.


Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *********

3/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 2/7/2014 afternoon I contacted SecureNet customer support. to ask about a fee that appeared on my bank account on 3/4/2014 for the amount of $20.00. I got connected to ‘Hannah’ who told me that $15.00 was for the dispute charge of a sale transaction and $5.00 was the reversal fee. I explained to her that the customer called me on 2/8/2014 to tell me about the unauthorized charge on his account so I refunded him right away after confirming the information However, customer proceeded to contact his issuing bank on/around 2/10/2014 to dispute the same charge and the refund was made the second time. I submitted my documents to the chargeback department and I was granted the favor of the dispute and won the case without question. I asked her why is the merchant got charged fees when they did everything right and the customer made a mistake of filing a dispute when they should not have. I was told many reasons by ****** which are lame and some are out right wrong. The following are some explanation, 1) you refunded the sale *after* the dispute was filed by customer (wrong) 2) the fees belong to you because they file charge against you, whether or not they are right or wrong you have to accept the fee 3) You already got your money back you should use it to pay for the fee 4) Someone has got the pay for it and that should be you because you own the business. After a long time on the phone I did not think she was able to provide me with an answer so I asked for her name and try to contact someoneelse who can give a clear reason or refund for my fee which I believe should not have been charged. I contacted ***** ****** whom I had the number previously and he is a manager at Securenet hoping that he would have a clear answer and policy. I explained to him about the fees and the situation and the first thing he asked me "Did you just speak to ****** ?" which is an unusal question and should not be related to company policy regarding fees at all. While on the call Mr. ****** did not provide me any explanation but with short answers to each of my question he confirmed to me that the fee should be charged to my account and there is no explanation to it. It is just how is done at SecureNet. I raised the question that other company such as Stripe whom I used previously stated this policy clearly on their website and they do refund of the fees when the merchant wins the dispute. Mr. ****** said that is not how they do things at securenet. He told me it was in the Terms & Agreement when I signed up with SecureNet. After reading it I still did not see the said policy so I called him back and he could not find anything in that document regarding this either. He told me that it is an individual agreement SecureNet has with each merchant when they signed up. It could be different from merchant to merchant and asked me to contact sales person who opened my account to ask if they could look into it and change this term for me. I called sales team and got connected to '******' who asked to speak to ***** again and afterwards told me there is nothing that can be done. I was not willing to give up yet and called customer support again hoping there might be one person who would know this policy well enough. I got connected to '******' who said I needed to talk to ***** ****** because ***** asked ****** to transfer my call to him. I did not see any benefit in talking to him again since he did not have any answer for me after a long discussion on the phone. But every person that I talked to seem to refer me back to ***** who cannot provide me with any answers but only insisting that it is how is done. I am pursuing this case because ****** and *****'s answer shows serious flaw in the fee system of SecureNet. Any ill-meaning customers could file wrong dispute cases against the merchant and the merchant still pays for the cost of processing even they have done nothing wrong. Fees should be charged to the party to made the mistake in the dispute not an innocent party.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my fees $20.00 and going forward would like clearly stated company policy regarding dispute fees when merchant win the dispute (for an example, from the website of another payment processing company - ********************************************************************************** *

Business Response: ****** Mr. ****
Thank you very much for reaching out to us regarding Ms. ******.  ChargeBacks can be a difficult thing for Merchants to understand as they are often times found as being very abrasive and intrusive to business.  We certainly empathize with the frustration involved. In this particular case we are very happy to report that the Merchant, Ms. ******, did a fantastic job in that she Refunded the CardHolder immediately and responded to the ChargeBack company with information regarding the initial Sale as well as the Refund process. She won the ChargeBack and got a Reversal! Super Great (her response is attached)

The unfortunate reality is that along with the process of receiving the ChargeBack, pulling the funds from the Merchant, Arbitration by a third party, documentation, a final judgement, and replacing the pulled funds all come with a price. In this case, $15.00 for the ChargeBack processing itself and $5.00 for a Retrieval. Please note that a Retrieval happens when the Card Brand Associations receive word from a Card Issuing Bank that a CardHolder is disputing a charge. A Retrieval is answered by producing the requested documentation on the initial Sale.

It is the responsibility of all Merchants to fund the ChargeBack process as well as answer all ChargeBack related questions to the third party Arbitrators. This is common knowledge and is detailed in the Terms & Conditions of all Merchant Agreements as directed by the Card Brand Associations themselves. These Terms & Conditions must be acknowledged and agreed to by every Merchant before they can begin to Process the very first Transaction.

With that said, there are some Reseller Gateways and Independent Sales Offices that specialize in micro-merchant accounts or very high volume accounts and a few of those simply absorb the processing fee rather than deal with the cumbersome and extensive nature of ChargeBacks. At SecureNet, we are a Full Service Third Party Acquirer and the Service Fee for ChargeBacks is passed along to the Merchant as listed in the Schedule A of the Merchant Agreement. In this case, $15.00 for each ChargeBack Processed and $5.00 for Retrievals. (original application siting ChargeBack Fees is attached)

Ms. ****** is of the mindset that the ChargeBack Fee should be paid by the CardHolder. Candidly, I myself along with most of the market place agree with her. Unfortunately, that is not reality. As a Processor, we are bound to uphold the guidelines set forth by the Card Brand Associations. At this time, the Associations do not allow for Processors to bill a CardHolder for ChargeBack related Fees regardless of fault or mistake on the part of the CardHolder. (Terms & Conditions as noted in the Merchant Application along with separate ChargeBack details are attached)

The persons addressed in the letter are all senior employees and my office is in fact in ear shot of them. I can tell you from overhearing all of them on the phone with Ms. ****** that they were not in any way rude or disrespectful while on the phone. When I realized that Ms. ****** was continuing to call in all around the company looking for an answer she felt was correct and fair, I directed all employees to send her to ***** ***** as he is the head of Risk and Compliance. His decades of experience in the industry would have been of great benefit if he actually had the opportunity to educate her on the scenario. 

I will gladly authorize a Refund of $20.00 for this particular incident as a good faith measure. However, we will indeed bill for ChargeBacks going forward should Ms. ****** have any again. This Fee is clearly listed, common in the industry, and enforceable per the Merchant Agreement.

Regards,

 

*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our accountant found that Securenet was drafting charges from our bank from an account closed over a year ago. What was interesting was the charges were not every month and it was done in different amounts. When I contacted Securenet they stated that our account was not cancelled and they could do nothing but I could cancel the account at that time. So we did. Next month account was charged again at a different amount. When I called they claimed they had no record of the account being closed. However the rep said it could have been lost because it needs to go through "like ten people". She offered me to send another cancelation. When I asked for a number to follow up she said "Just call the main number cause there are just two of us. We are a small company" Who were the 10 people then and how can I please just get you to stop charging my account!

Desired Settlement: We would like the unauthorized funds drafting from our account to stop. We would also like a full refund of unauthorized funds taken from our account dating back to October *01*. We never used Securenet services and we have attempted to correct this situation numerous times.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* applied for a Merchant account with SecureNet via Reseller Partner Big Commerce and was Approved 10/05/*01* 5:39:00 p.m. on the $0.00 per month plan *.9% per Transactions Sales amount as well as $0.30 cents per Transaction. An acknowledgement letter was sent out to email address **************** (which is the same as within the current complaint) and is attached.

 

In response to the email sent, we received a call from Mr. ******* documented as follows:

 

Department: Customer Support

Issue: Funding Issue  **************             10/9/*01* 4:53:*0 PM

Description: Merchant needed to better understand his funding time. Explained to Mr. ******* the process in detail. Merchant also needed his account phone number corrected. Verified that it matched the number on the application and updated the incorrect phone number on merchant account. Advised the merchant to give us a call back with any further updates or questions.           

               

We had no contact with Mr. ******* from 10/09/*01* until 1*/03/*013 and is documented as follows:

 

Transfer to Customer Support : ***************  1*/3/*013 9:40 AM

Merchant called regarding his account, he said the account should not be active as he processes through another processor. Merchant advised to complete cancellation form and return it ASAP.

 

The Customer Support Representative verbally explained that the Merchant must complete an Account Cancellation Form and return it as soon as possible to terminate the account. Due to the sensitive nature of terminating a business’s ability to accept credit cards, most payment processors will not accept a verbal cancellation to protect from cases of disgruntled employees, corporate sabotage, etc.

 

The Customer Support Representative next followed up with an email sent to ****************explaining the cancellation process as well as the cancellation form to be completed and is documented as follows:

 

Email: Cancellation Form

Date       1*/3/*013

Comments           

To: ****************

Attachment: Cancellation Form.pdf

Subject: Cancellation Form

Body:

Hello,

In order to cancel your account, we will need the attached cancellation form to be signed requesting that the account be cancelled.  Please fax a signed copy to ************  or reply to this message with the signed copy attached.

If you currently accept American Express (1-************) you will need to contact them directly to close your merchant account with them.

If you have any additional questions or concerns please feel free to contact us by replying to this message or by phone at ************ option *.

Thank you,

Customer Support

SecureNet Payment Systems

************************************

(cancellation form attached)

 

In reviewing processing statements, (attached) I find that in October of *01* Mr. ******* processed $90.33 in volume and was assessed a total of $*.91 for services rendered.

 

In September *013 notice was sent to all Merchants on the $0.00 per month plan that they would be migrated to the new pricing plan of $9.99 per month as of October 1st and their per Transaction rates and fees would be reduced. A copy of this letter is attached for review. (an electronic validation of reciept can be sent showing the email sent as well as opened upon request – please allow 48hrs for research)

 

Unfortunately, the new pricing schema had a hiccup upon roll out and not all accounts were migrated properly and therefore were not billed the new monthly plan in October. All Merchants were eventually migrated and rebilled for the missed fee on the November statement period for October and November. (Merchant statement attached Oct\$9.99 & Nov\$9.99)

 

The first request for cancellation was received on 1*/03/*013 as noted and the Cancellation Form that was sent out was never returned. While it is not our policy to cancel without the form, as of 01/07/*014, the account was closed as a courtesy to head off conflict.

 

Merchant accounts cost SecureNet upwards of $10 per month to keep open and secure.  Mr. ******* was allowed to maintain an account for almost a year at $0.00 per month before being migrated to the new pricing plan per notice sent. SecureNet did not bill a monthly service fee between 11/30/*01* to 09/30/*013 and Mr. ******* would not be due any Refund for this period. Mr. ******* was billed a $9.99 monthly support fee per the new pricing structure applied to all SecureNet Merchant accounts as of notice of change dated 10/01/*013. The request for cancellation was received from Mr. ******* 1*/03/*013.

 

In final analysis I find it appropriate to Refund $9.99 for the month of December and will process this Refund today.

 

We appreciate your participation in this process and look forward to working with you in the future.

 

Best regards,

****************************

www.securenet.com

 

Business Response: In addition to the information already sent, please find the screen shots from out mailing system showing the increase message being sent out and received by the email address on file in the complaint.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi I had a death in the family And I had to go away for a few weeks I had my ex partner who I thought i could trust (later found out he was mentally ill) take care of the business but instead he ran it into the ground started harassing my customers not sending products running business relationships I spent time making and I believe he started emailing one of your staff a ruben aceves I only had time to read some of the emails but they were pretty bad I wanted to personally apologize for this trouble I’ve been trying to get every thing back on track but it seems that I’ve been but on a blacklist by you guys I can completely understand if you don’t want to do business with us but im trying to recover what’s left of my company I would appreciate if you could take me off the black list so because it wasn’t t me running the business and if there is any financial problems I will of course cover it I am sure this is not common and would really like a fast resolve for this Please let me know if there is anything i can do and please take my name off the black list and apologize to Mr. ****** for me and on behalf of the whole company. Im sure we can work something out to solve this issue Please remove my name from the ***** file

Desired Settlement: Removal from black list

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this client report.  As background, SecureNet is a technology company focusing primarily on payment networks – or providing companies with the ability to accept electronic payments (ie: Credit Cards, ACH, EBT, etc) at their place of business.   As a result, SecureNet assumes 100% liability for all transactions processed at a client location and is obligated to monitor such activity in an effort to limit electronic payment fraud.  While disputes / chargebacks are common in the industry, we actively monitor transaction variances in an effort to identify those businesses conducting fraudulent transactions and are required to report these incidents to the Card Associations (ie: Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover).

Mr. *******, applied for an e-commerce merchant account on January 4, 2013. The account was approved to sell software online. Once risk placed his account on reserve for chargebacks rejecting at his bank, he started to get vulgar with the risk staff and me. The last time I spoke with him, he told me that he did not care if he was placed on *****. SecureNet’s General Counsel has been involved with this issue and has sent ******* several letters and e-mails about the harassment.  

We have reviewed the account and determined the Merchant received numerous chargebacks for non-receipt of merchandise for the months of February, March and April. A chargeback is when a customer / cardholder calls their financial institution and disputes a charge on their card.  The reasons for a chargeback can be for numerous reasons. In his case, the chargebacks were rejecting for non-receipt of merchandise and cardholder does not recognize transaction. Mr. ******* started processing in January 2013 and by February 5, 2013, chargebacks started to come in, 28 in total. On March 6, 2013, I placed the merchant account on reserve because of the chargebacks rejecting at his bank account. Chargebacks are represented at the merchant’s bank account for payment. Mr. ******* either put a stop payment or closed his bank account. As per the credit card association’s regulations, the merchant was reported to ***** (black list) for having over 1% of chargeback to sales ratio. Processors have to report these types of merchants to *****.

***** is a reporting tool for credit card processors that are obligated to report merchants that are committing or receiving chargebacks for fraud.  If SucureNet takes him off the *****, SecureNet would be liable for any losses any processor receives because of the removal of *****.  In his complaint he says that his ex-partner ran the business to the ground, when in fact he does not have a partner. From his letters and faxes, we are able to determine that it’s the same person.
SecureNet remains committed to resolving all issues with clients in any way necessary.  
If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

***** ******* **                                                                                                                                              
****** ******** **** * ************                                                                                                                                                   
SecureNet Payment Systems                                                                                                                                                       
Riata Trace Pkwy Suite 150        

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:This is incorrect there attornty has never worte me letters and the chrage backs happned beaucse they never notfiyed us that we were getting chrage backs so we did not know that our system had an error and some customers werent getting there products  if they did what they were soupused to do and send us our charge back reports this would never happen I want either they take me off the match list or give me a settle ment of 2.555 million dollars for feature loses and how we got there will be average sales per day 1000 and 360 days a year and for 7 years this whole problem is beaucse they didnt do what they were soupused to do and send me my chargebacks  

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: ***** Thank you for your time yesterday.  I’ve included our write up for your reference as well as a few email transmission with the client.  Let me know if you want the email scripts to get a full picture of what occurred or prefer we simply state the facts. 

I appreciate your help.  As stated on the phone, we are committed to working with client to resolve the issue; however, our hands are tied on this one due to Card Association Rules.     

***** *********
**** ********** **********

12/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues