BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Plumbing Repairs, Replacements and Maintenance

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 18, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1985 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 09/27/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fred Oldenkamp, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Oldenkamp, President
Business Category

Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Leak Detection Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Plumbers

Products & Services

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin sells the following brand(s): AO Smith, Navien, Premier, Pro Flow, State, Toto, Wolverine Brass

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing-Austin offers the following product(s): Faucets, Garbage Disposals, Toilets, Water Filters, Water Heaters, Water Softeners

Method(s) of Payment
cash check or credit card
Refund and Exchange Policy
3 days
Alternate Business Names
A-OK Plumbing, Inc. DBA Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 12224 Roxie Dr Ste C2

    Austin, TX 78729 (512) 419-0055

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Benjamin Franklin Plumbing to come to my home and fix a stopped up sink. They came out ran a 2" cable through my pipes, that didn't unstop it. They went and picked up a Hydrojet and ran it. The cost was $1197.00. I had a 60 warranty. Job done on 5/10/13. On 6/12/13 it was stopped up again. They came out to fix the problem again and ran the 2" cable. They said it must h*** something to do with my disposal and so they replaced it, it cost nearly $300.00, I was not left with a receipt. My sink would stop up on me for days at a time. I was awful to deal with, and smelled really bad. My Mom and me were feeling sick from the fumes all the time. So on 7/01/13 I called them again to come and fix this problem. I called the owner and complained on D*** the man who was here the last 2 times, told owner I never wanted this man back In my house again. He would trash my kitchen and le*** water standing under my sink, on my floors and worst of all over my cabinets behind him and on both sides of him. The water I am referring to also was full of old food and black stuff, he also tracked this through my kitchen and garage. He was more interested in watching TV and looking at us. It was creepy indeed.The owner came with the new man **** this time. They ran the cable and the hydrojet again. No results, we still had standing water in our sink. So they ran a camera down the pipe and said be had a sagging pipe by the stair case. That the only way to fix this problem was to jack hammer the floor about 5' and dig way down, which would cost a lot of money and replace the sagging line to make our sink water flow properly. So they g*** us an estimate to fix the problem at a cost of $9144.00. I was so shocked because Mom and me knew that this was just not right. We felt that because we are two single women, living in a big fine house that they all commented on, with a pool and beautiful back yard they commented on that we were being taken advantage of. That these men just saw dollar signs, and figured they could fool us and make some money off us because after all how would we know the difference if the pipe was really sagging or it was just stopped up with grease from the previous owners. So I called ************ ******** Co. and told them what was going on. They contacted the builder and the all came to the house on 7/11/13. They ran the camera and sink machine to clear GREASE out of the line. Drain line was totally clogged with GREASE in about a 3' (THREE FEET SECTION) section of pipe. It cost me $294.35 and my sink was totally FIXED and I h*** never had anymore problems. ************* ******** also said they were appalled by this and thought the same as we did. They were going to get me for $9144.00 for GREASE in the line on top of the $1197.00 they already had. They said you could call them at 512-********.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back $1197.00 for unsatisfactory work and trying to rip me off.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved