Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blount's Speedy Rooter, LLC

Phone: (254) 774-7211 Fax: (254) 231-4264 ---, Temple, TX 76501 http://www.blountsspeedyrooter.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blount's Speedy Rooter, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blount's Speedy Rooter, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Blount's Speedy Rooter, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 04/06/2011 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jimmy Blount, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Blount, Owner
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Bathroom Remodeling Propane Gas Plumbing Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair

Service Area
This company serves Temple, Killeen and the surrounding service area.
Industry Tips
Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blount's Speedy Rooter, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept 18, 2014 ******'s Speedy Rooter connected the special water meter I had paid the city to monitor the water used for my grass sprinkler system ($428). I was informed by the ****** ****** **** Water Utilities that I had to pay a plumber to hook up the special meter to my sprinkler system. Did not know this. You have on file my BBB complaint against the city on this issue. ******'s Speedy Rooter came out and connected the special meter to my sprinkler system. The gentlemen was using a note pad for all the transaction and for me to sign. I gave him my credit card info to pay $515.21 for the services. I have requested at least 3 times by email for them to send me an invoice for services. I even went to their website and filed in their drop down menu for requested services a request for an invoice with all my information. I have not heard anything from them and it has been over 3 weeks.

Desired Settlement: All I have been requesting is an invoice of the complete explanation of charges. I need to keep this on file for the expenses done to this home. Thank you.

Business Response:

From: ****** ******* ***************************************
Sent: Tuesday, October 14, 2014 5:34 PM
To: ******* **** ****
Subject: RE: Invoice from ******'s Speedy Rooter-BBB ID ********

 

*** ****

In order to get you some communication quickly, I am responding to your request below.

I have my ******* ******* looking over the information.

We hope to have you an answer by tomorrow end of day.

If you have any other questions please let me know.

Otherwise, we will talk tomorrow.

Have a wonderful evening,

 

****** ******* ****** ******* ******** ****** ****** ************  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I have not received the information I requested and did not get any response by ******'s Speedy Rooters until the BBB got involved.  I got an email yesterday stating that the service they provided was based on a flat fee.  Their plumbers are not paid by the hour for the work/labor they do.  I have asked for a documentation list for flat fees which should show why I was charged $558.12 for connecting a water meter to my lawn sprinkler system which was done by one of their employees in less than 1 hr and 45 minutes.  The ******* *******, **** ****** sent me an email today saying that he would like to visit me and discuss my concerns.   He mentioned the hardships his plumbing services has been having over the past months.  
Blount's Speedy Rooters has been procrastinating for the past 3 weeks on providing me the documentation on why I was charged so much.  A total of 4 unanswered emails and now to tell me that this charge/cost was a flat fee.   I asked for their documentation list of "flat fees" which could have been sent to me if they are on file.    My next door neighbor is an attorney who has two water meters.  He is interested in what ******'s Speedy Rooters plans to do to resolved this issue. 
 
Regards,

******* ***

Business Response:

*** ****

 

I have spent some time reviewing your invoice with my ******* *******. I wanted to reach out to you in regards to your questions. Please be assured that we strive to service our customers with curtesy, professionalism, and efficiency. It is not typical behavior for us to not respond to our customers. I see an email to a member of our team that was on vacation. Since these findings we are going to put in some checks and balances so that this doesn’t happen again. It is unsettling to me because we do follow up with our customers to get a response about our services. I do see history of three attempts to contact you during the week and the week after the work was performed. After receiving your email yesterday I did add your email address as a way to get in contact with you.

 

To address the lack of detail on your invoice… our technicians bill from a flat rate system. We do not bill by the hour. In using this type of system your invoice amount is established prior to the work rather than after. An itemized invoice from us looks like the price of each task preformed. In this situation, the job total of $558.12, would be the only price since this was the only task preformed (less any discounts). At this time we were offering your 5% military, $15 food drive (which goes to our local food pantry – Food For Families). I hope this will clarify why you received the invoice in the manner in which  you did.

 

Should you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact me.

 

Thank you,

****** ******* ****** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am awaiting a response from *** **** ******, ******* ******* of ******'s Speedy Rooter.  I am not satisfied on how they are using a flat rate charge of $558 for the plumbing service they preformed in connecting my grass sprinkler system.  *** ******'s response is below.

"
>>"Please forgive me for this delay.  I am afraid that I am the one who is responsible for not replying to your email. 
 
Let me assure you that your satisfaction is our goal and I want to make sure that you are happy.
 
I was closing out a late day in our office playing catch up from being out in the field for a large majority of the last few weeks, when I saw your email.  I am very sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience and I pray that we can make things right for you.  We are a small family business that is staffed lean these days as Jimmy and Donna ******, our owners and my parents, have been in and out for health concerns and are trying to retire while they’re still able to enjoy it some.  Just recently, they were able to take their first vacation in… well, since I was a little kid.  In addition to their absence in the office, I have been out myself for the majority of the time doing training with our techs and taking care of complex jobs.  I mention those factors because this is not a normal occurrence.
 
I wanted to write you as I couldn’t sleep without asking you:  Please let me look over things and would you be able to spare any of your time, I would greatly appreciate an opportunity for me to come by and visit with you?
 
Thank you,

**** ******
******* * ***** ********** ******** ****** ****** **** ***** **** ** ******* **  ***** ************ *** ************ **** ***


Regards,

******* ***

9/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called 7:30 am Saturday 8/17. ***** answered the phone. I asked about their weekend rates and she stated the cost is $49 for them to go out. I said ok. Their plumber came out and worked for just under 2 hours that Saturday and could not repair the problem. He said he couldn't replace the faucet because he didn't have the parts. He would do it Monday. He explained the bill would be $400. We were required to purchase the parts on Monday. He came Monday and worked for just under 2 hours and completed the job. We received the bill and it was $744.26I understand it was weekend rate on Saturday for under 2 hours. But $183.25 per hour total is totally unreasonable! I called and spoke to ***** and she said they did not charge by the hour but by the job. I explained to her it was just labor as we purchased the parts separately. We were quoted $400. She said the $400 quote was just for Saturday. We were not told anything different about the price until the job was completed. We have been cheated by extremely over-priced services. I pray they will honor their $400 quote which is more than reasonable as it is $100 per hour.

Desired Settlement: I pray they will honor their $400 quote which is more than reasonable as it is $100 per hour. There by giving us a $344.26 refund.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9678748

I am rejecting this response because:

Dear ****,

It is with great sadness and discouragement that Blount has not followed through with their promise.  **** promised an email Monday with the new invoice and a refund check soon to follow.  I have not received either. 

I called and talked to ***** in the office yesterday requesting I hear from **** before days end.  She promised to get **** the message I called.  

Can you reopen the case and contact them again?  Any other suggestions you may have I would appreciate.  

Thank you for your help.

***** **********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

We received a $344 check from ***** ******. Along with a nice thank you card. Sorry it took the BBB  to get them to do what was right. $400 is still a lot of money for 4 hours of labor but it is better than $744! 

Thank you for your help. 

*****
************